Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 14 Dec 2019, 07:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-802/801/800 Final [21 May 2019]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 20 of 30 [448 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3677

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2019, 11:40    Post subject: ln -s /mnt/sda1/fd64.sfs /fd64.sfs inside ramdisk  

So I'm booting fatdog usb stick frugal installed (grub4dos) with the initrd having no fd64.sfs inside it (around a 75MB sized initrd), with multi-session saves, back to usb. Event manager save interval is set to zero, so I can unplug the usb once booted, only need to reattach it if I want to run a save action, or boot again.

Code:
kernel /vmlinuz midshell net=wpa2:xxssidxx:xxpasswordxx:wlan0:dhcp pkeys=uk savefile=direct:multi:uuid:2d5fb1e2-5276-4950-bc8c-0b3c1ec9cfa6:: video=640x400

At my midshell point, i.e. just before initrd loads fd64.sfs, in the initrd cli I have been copying in a fd64.sfs to / in the ramdisk so it uses that when initrd's execution is resumed to load the gui desktop. I have a fd64.sfs on my hdd (sda1), stored in the root folder to facilitate such copying. But I thought I'd try just sym linking that instead, so I mounted sda1, sym linked the hdd fd64.sfs to /fd64.sfs inside the ramdisk, and then resumed initrd boot ... and it worked. htop shows significantly less memory being used, normally after first booting/loading the gui desktop htop is up at around over 1GB used but now its down at 692MB type level. A 300MB saving which ballpark compares to the size of the 340MB fd64.sfs size.



My (muti-session) save file is quite large, contains google chrome etc. and is around 190MB that iirc expands to around 400MB, which is all loaded into ram.

I hadn't expected that sym linking of fd64.sfs from within initrd/ramdisk to a hdd based fd64.sfs to work, I thought that the ramdisks sym link to sda1 fd64.sfs would be lost/broken, or inaccessible after the switch root, but seemingly not. I even fully loaded 3GB+ of ram usage so that swap was being used, and the system continued to work fine. I had also expected that sda1 would have to remain mounted, but no, I can mount and unmount it from within the main gui desktop.

Don't know what's going on, but that's pretty amazing in my book. Currently, with chrome loaded and posting this ...

Code:
# free -m
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:           3406         422        2066         579         917        2022
Swap:         16383           0       16383
#

To double check, I umounted sda1 (my HDD) and using a terminal cd'd to /mnt/sda1 ... and it was empty. Remounting again and /mnt/sda1 showed the files/folders. I guess fd64.sfs has just been cached, rather than allocated to fixed ram ???

EDIT: Noticed in /dev/initrd.err
Quote:
==== end of initrd ====
/usr/bin/auchk: Checking /aufs/pup_save for aufs
/usr/bin/auchk: [Pass 1] Illegal whiteout
/usr/bin/auchk: [Pass 2] Remained pseudo-links
/usr/bin/auchk: [Pass 3] Remained temp files
rmdir: failed to remove '/mnt/+*': No such file or directory

So it could be a feature (undocumented bug) that /mnt/sda1 in initrd isn't released. Also see from the linux documentation that initrd :
Quote:
Note: /dev/initrd is read-only and it can only be used once. As soon
as the last process has closed it, all data is freed and /dev/initrd
can't be opened anymore.

So in /mnt/sda1 being mounted in initrd, after switch-root the initrd isn't freed because of the open mount process. ???

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3677

PostPosted: Sat 06 Jul 2019, 13:17    Post subject: Additional font for next release  

Might I propose adding Terminus bold 32 console font to the next release of Fatdog. At 3KB that's a relatively minor increase whilst adding a better IMO font for the likes of displaying BBS's. Better than the current big font - that is OK, but isn't as good at displaying ansi graphics.

Add to /lib/boot/consolefonts within initrd and /usr/share/consolefonts within the main fd64.sfs ... and use setfont <filename> to activate it.

If that's renamed to bbs.psf.gz then that would fit well alongside the big and bbig choices i.e. ctrl-alt-F2 and login, and then run 'setfont bbs' before telnet'ing to a BBS i..e TERM=linux telnet blackflag.acid.org
ter-i32b.psf.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  ter-i32b.psf.gz 
Filesize  3.15 KB 
Downloaded  149 Time(s) 

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dr. Dan


Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 85
Location: Oregon, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Mon 08 Jul 2019, 22:01    Post subject: Control panel issues and ???  

New (to me) laptop, and it's up and running with 802. It has a 1920x1080 screen, so I've been making adjustments for readability.

I'm seeing an issue with the new control Panel. As the screen capture shows, it doesn't resize smoothly. The Htop screenshots show an issue in the processes running the tabs after resizing. It doesn't happen all at once. I changed the initial dimensions in the script, so I don't have to resize it in the first place. (The high-dpi setting in the script didn't kick in for me.)

Also, I've attached a screenshot of the popup window when a program isn't shutting down correctly. It's been like this for me about from the beginning (4 years ago), but I haven't gotten around to asking about it. Where do I find the file to edit the get readable text?

I hope I've kept the files small.

Thanks all, it continues to be a pleasure.

Dan
out_2019-07-01_204245.mp4.tar
Description 
tar

 Download 
Filename  out_2019-07-01_204245.mp4.tar 
Filesize  25.95 KB 
Downloaded  109 Time(s) 
xscreenshot-20190704T123504.png
 Description   
 Filesize   16.99 KB
 Viewed   1151 Time(s)

xscreenshot-20190704T123504.png

xscreenshot-20190701T205239.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  xscreenshot-20190701T205239.png 
Filesize  59.81 KB 
Downloaded  144 Time(s) 
xscreenshot-20190701T204118.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  xscreenshot-20190701T204118.png 
Filesize  43.1 KB 
Downloaded  161 Time(s) 
xscreenshot-20190701T135644.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  xscreenshot-20190701T135644.png 
Filesize  34.71 KB 
Downloaded  119 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1225

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jul 2019, 14:25    Post subject:  

Dan, re the popup window look, are you using the default Fatdog theme or switched to something else? Does the popup always look like that or does it look right sometimes? What happens if you boot without a savefile, can you test the popup window? Here some steps to open the popup at will:
1. open a terminal window
2. type yad --text-info and press ENTER
3. when yad is displayed switch to the terminal and press Ctrl+Z, this will stop the yad process
4. now close the yad window, either from its X corner or the app bar; yad will not close
5. after a few seconds you'll see the popup dialog.
To eventually close yad go back to the terminal and type fg then press ENTER.
Code:

# yad --text-info
^Z
[1]+  Stopped(SIGTSTP)        yad --text-info
# fg
yad --text-info
Terminated
#


As regards your control panel issue, I can take a deeper look. Contact me privately next week, please. Thank you.

_________________
Fatdog64-810|+Packages|Kodi|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1225

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jul 2019, 14:54    Post subject:  

Dan, some quick thoughts. What's the value of key Xft.dpi in file /root/.Xdefaults?
What happens if you edit /usr/sbin/fatdog-control-panel.sh and insert this line before line 103, so that the new line becomes 103
Code:

   "--fixed" \

Be careful when you paste from the forum; make sure that there are no extra spaces after the end of the line (after the backslash character in this case).

_________________
Fatdog64-810|+Packages|Kodi|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1749

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jul 2019, 15:20    Post subject:  

@Dr. Dan: I can reproduce the pop-up window issue.
It's a "feature" of 23oz Openbox theme.
The relevant colors are defined in /usr/share/themes/23oz/openbox-3/themerc, lines 231 & 239:
Code:
osd.button.unpressed.bg.color:         #303030
...
osd.button.focused.bg.color:         #303030

I guess we should change it to something brighter...

@Step: I can also repro the CP issue, where yad processes are maxing out the CPU and one or more tabs become blank.
It takes some rapid resizing, though, and it seems to be much easier to reproduce in VBox with limited CPU resources, than on real HW.

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dr. Dan


Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 85
Location: Oregon, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 10 Jul 2019, 15:56    Post subject:  

@SFR: I've had the control panel issues on both the new higher dpi unit, and the previous ~1200x800 which was my first 800 series install. I don't typically resize windows like in the screen capture, but I had similar results with both, after just resizing once, and both with i5 processors and sufficient (8Gb, 4Gb) RAM. I've yet to try a VM of anything, but perhaps soon.

Thanks for isolating the 23oz issue. I do use it, somewhat modified, so I'll make changes and offer suggestions.

@step: I'm still on 721 on this computer, so I'll test later and let you know.

Thanks to you both.

Dan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3677

PostPosted: Thu 11 Jul 2019, 16:59    Post subject: ccrypt  

initrd version of dropbear doesn't seem to support encryption of your private ssh key.

I opted to install ccrypt http://ccrypt.sourceforge.net/ as a wrapper to accessing my ~/.ssh db_id_rsa key (that I converted from openssh using drobbearconvert openssh dropbear id_rsa db_id_rsa)
Code:
cd /root/.ssh
ccrypt -c db_id_rsa.cpt >/root/.ssh/db_id_rsa
echo "#!/bin/sh" >/tmp/cleanup
echo "sleep 20" >>/tmp/cleanup
echo "rm /root/.ssh/db_id_rsa" >>/tmp/cleanup
echo "rm /tmp/cleanup" >>/tmp/cleanuup
chmod +x /tmp/cleanup
/tmp/cleanup &
chmod 0600 /root/.ssh/db_id_rsa
ssh -i /root/.ssh/db_id_rsa <userid>@ny1.hashbang.sh

I've set it to leave the ssh key open for 20 seconds to allow for ssh connection (once connected the key is no longer required).

Would be nice/useful if there were a encryption tool such as ccrypt available within initrd by default, as in the absence of anything else (such as dropbear encryption of keys), its good practice to not leave your private keys 'open'.

PS the pre-built ccrypt binary worked for me, just dropped it into initrd's /usr/bin folder and done.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3677

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jul 2019, 05:17    Post subject: fatdog sshfs fd64.sfs  

Fatdog initrd minus fd64.sfs, which instead is stored on a remote ssh server.

Dropped sshfs (along with ssh, scp) into initrd.

Booted with net kernel boot parameter to early net connect (I'm using wireless), exited to shell before fd64.sfs is processed in init and sshfs mounted the remote ssh server to local /hb folder

sym linked /hb/fd64.sfs to /fd64.sfs i.e. remote (via sshfs) ssh servers copy of fd64.sfs sym linked to the root folder of the initrd ... so somewhat like it having already existed in the initrd.

Resumed initrd boot (to load fd64.sfs/fatdog gui desktop) ... and it loads/runs fine. Quite slow initially to get going, as its pulling stuff over ssh (in my case from the US to the UK as my ssh server is located in the US whilst I'm in the UK). But not uncomfortably slow - not much different to booting a full blow fatdog DVD). Once up and running, i.e. more things cached, then no general operational speed differences.

It would seem that switch-root doesn't free processes that are running, so the sshfs mount made within initrd persists after the switch-root. Its just inaccessible from the command line.

Booted from usb that way and its around a 80MB initrd.gz filesize (largely due to kernel modules sfs within initrd). And once booted the boot usb can be unplugged so its all running in ram, with a remote sshfs mount (fd64.sfs).

I have quite a large savefile (multi-session saves that are stored on usb) as I have google chrome included in that (around 140MB of compressed save file space), without that loaded uses around 250MB of ram, with my saves loaded into ram however that rises to around 750MB



Having ssh/sshfs as in openssh rather than the default dropbear ssh within initrd is nice as its more functional. Along with mc and tmux also dropped into initrd and initrd expands to 92MB - but reduces to 80MB if you gzip it. Around a 8MB expansion (initrd without fd64.sfs is around 72MB).

I guess one negative is that once booted to desktop, you can't easily resume the sshfs remote mounted fd64.sfs if the ssh link drops. So this is more a observation than a proposed actual boot choice. It would be simpler/better to just scp the remote fd64.sfs into ram and use that to boot from.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jul 2019, 01:43    Post subject: vainfo  

I've searched this forum, but cannot find an answer. Is it possible to get 'vainfo' functional in Fatdog64 or is there an alternative I can use?

EDIT: I note that 'vainfo' is included in libva-utils. I need this utility to troubleshoot an app that is causing me trouble. Developer has requested 'vainfo.'

EDIT2: I've now done a temporary install of full Ubuntu 19.04 and my problem app is working without issue. I have established libva plays a key role in the functionality of the app, can anyone comment on libva-utils and why it is so far considered optional in Fatdog64?

EDIT3: I finally noticed that libva and libva-intel-driver are both outdated, and I have now compiled newer versions (along with libva-utils). Hopefully this will resolve my issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3677

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jul 2019, 11:56    Post subject: initrd cpio inside vmlinuz  

Fatdog 8.2 kernel-modules.sfs is 65MB. Compiling the kernel with no fd64.sfs inside initrd and kernel-modules.sfs extracted within (unsquashfs'd into) initrd (and kernel-modules.sfs removed from the initrd) ... and that initrd inserted into the kernel (vmlinuz) resulted in a 59MB vmlinuz filesize. i.e. boots with no need to include a initrd entry in menu.lst (just specify the vmlinuz as the initrd is contained within that).

Booting with just a vmlinuz (and external fd64.sfs) is nice in some respects - more secure as initrd is 'hidden' within vmlinuz, the smaller size (6MB saving) is also welcome. But does make accessing/changing things that more difficult (kernel recompilation needed after changing initrd). Built once however (slow first compilation) and subsequent kernel recompiles do run through relatively quickly (few minutes).

The method I used to insert initrd into vmlinuz was to copy initrd to usr/initramfs_data.cpio (/mnt/sdb1/fatdog-kernel/src/linux-4.19.44/usr/initramfs_data.cpio in my case) prior to running make (in /mnt/sdb1/fatdog-kernel/src).

Currently to swap a kernel typically you replace the kernel-modules.sfs and vmlinuz to the new/alternative version. Given that initrd content excluding kernel-modules and fd64.sfs is relatively small having both initrd and kernel-modules combined into a single vmlinuz is a nice alternatively, more so in that the initrd files/scripts could be better matched with the kernel-modules (kernel version) that was being selected.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3677

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jul 2019, 19:33    Post subject:  

/etc/rc.d/rc-cleanup ... is

$BB swapoff -a

strictly necessary? If swap has been heavily used then swapoff -a can take ages. I would have thought that instead a simple 'sync' might suffice?

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 243

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jul 2019, 02:41    Post subject: LLVM  

Hi all. I do not like to make a request like this, however I am having difficulty doing a pkgbuild of LLVM. I need v7.0.0 or newer to compile some other stuff. The laptop (and only machine I have) is locking up for hours during compiling.

Currently only v5.0.2 is available in Gslapt, which is quite dated - latest version is 8.0.1.
llvm-fixed.zip
Description  Recipe for LLVM 8.0.1 (fixed)
zip

 Download 
Filename  llvm-fixed.zip 
Filesize  1.78 KB 
Downloaded  103 Time(s) 

Last edited by jake29 on Sun 28 Jul 2019, 12:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13396
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jul 2019, 11:15    Post subject:  

I downloaded the Fatdog64-802 .iso and burned it to a DVD using Burniso2cd. The DVD booted to a desktop without my intervention, but neither the mouse nor the keyboard worked. (Both are USB.)

When I chose the multisession boot option, it wouldn't boot at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3388
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jul 2019, 05:08    Post subject:  

Sorry guys long time no post, I have been very busy lately.

Just a few comments.

rufwoof - love to see your interesting experiments. Yes, the possibilities are endless and that's what we had in mind when we started Fatdog - something that works out of the box but can be extended in many various ways.

A note about Fatdog's initrd. Fatdog is actually two operating system in one. Fatdog's initrd is actually its own independent CLI-only busybox-based mini operating system called "Bulldog Linux", with the proper Fatdog tacked on top of it. It is not an accident that the busybox in Fatdog's initrd is a complete busybox with almost all applets included; it is by design. In the proper Fatdog environment its only purpose is to setup Fatdog's layered filesystem and as a recovery console; but you can choose not to do that and run Bulldog by itself as a CLI operating system (run with basesfs=none and you'll see what I mean).

About loading fd64.sfs from NBD: it works but the busybox in 800 requires a patch to make this properly (thanks to bitrot). I've an updated ISO which does this - it's the 800tip, contact one of the Fatdog team to get the location.

<Might I propose adding Terminus bold 32 console> ==> link?

<ccrypt> ==> It's 815KB. If it can be made smaller then I'll bring it in. Otherwise I'm sure there are similar others which is in the order of 50K or less (perhaps bcrypt?). Otherwise cryptsetup is already included in initrd, you can have a "secure vault" containing your keys, then open/mount it, start ssh, and close the vault again.

As for LLVM update: LLVM is tightly integrated with the Mesa radeon driver. Updating it requires extensive re-testing to make sure that 3D with radeon/amdgpu still works properly. If you don't use 3D using radeon/amdgpu then it should be okay.

Flash I'll have to defer your problems to others for the moment.

I will disappear again, see you next year maybe Razz
SFR and step, thank you for holding the fort.

_________________
Fatdog64 forum links: Latest version | Contributed packages | ISO builder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 20 of 30 [448 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1144s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0151s) ][ GZIP on ]