How to install Puppy as the only OS on hard disk?

Booting, installing, newbie
mwelbourne

How to install Puppy as the only OS on hard disk?

#1 Post by mwelbourne »

Hi.

I have an old laptop and I'm trying to get Puppy to work off the hard drive.

I think I've got Xenial installed but I totally didn't know what all the Grub stuff was about. I don't want any other partitions or operating systems - I just want to switch the laptop on and Puppy starts from the hard drive just like Windows XP did.

Currently I've got a wee 13> prompt. I'm a bit of a noob to all this and I'm pretty chuffed I've got this far but this is way beyond my understanding.

Help :)

mwelbourne

#2 Post by mwelbourne »

I've gone through it all again ( a few times now) and I thought I had done the Grub4Dos thing correctly.

I choose Puppy Linux - xenialpup 7.5 full install in sda2

And I get:

setting root to (hd0,1)
Filesystem type is ext2fs. partition type 0x83
kernel /boot/vmlinuz fullinstall roo=UUID=bd3e02f2-0aae-4923-8c7c-07d5be9985a5
pmedia=atahd

Error 15: File not found

mwelbourne

#3 Post by mwelbourne »

I think the problem is: when using the Puppy Universal Installer I get to the bit where I choose DIRECTORY rather than CD and it says 'Please find the latest Puppy files - vmlinuz, initrd.gz and puppy_xenial_7.5.sfs - THEN HIGHLIGHT ANY ONE OF THEM and click the OK button.

I can't find vmlinuz or initrd.gz

This area defaults to a folder called initrd and has folder mnt at the top. Click on mnt I get a folder called tmpfs and click on that and puppy_xenial_7.5.sfs is in there. So I click on that and then click Select.

I think this might be the problem??? Should I be able to find vmlinuz and initrd.gz?

foxpup

#4 Post by foxpup »

Welcome to Puppy, mwelbourne!

You better choose frugal install. That is the proper way for puppylinux.
And it is quite easy.
You create a map ('xenialpup' for example) on the root of a partition.