Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 16 Nov 2018, 05:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
how get a clones of own puppy?remaster then copy all root in
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
kiramm


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 504
Location: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=988393#988393

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2018, 14:50    Post subject:  how get a clones of own puppy?remaster then copy all root in
Subject description: inside? how to do this?
 

i observed that all installed pets and sfs seems to be whished built in
(if specific puppy remaster works;)at my loved best suspend working
slackos seems not with me
thar was seems perfect had try thar first:() 2weeks lost with tying many versions of slacko

but nothing ese:( like apereance of desktop and panel arragment

possible somehow to take all root with its folders (there should be verything ?)

and delete the standard root and paste own root in puppy clone ?

how?

is there no real FULLremaster tool doing this automat?

maybe some setting will disturb at other pc where gets fresh started



but one could delete them like wifi ..delete profile ...before copy...

root....


veerry thanking in advance to help me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1152

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2018, 15:42    Post subject:  

When you do the remaster, copy all of /root and all of /etc when given the opportunity to do so during the remaster.

Also, make a copy of your puppy /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin file as a backup before you remaster. This is where your desktop is defined and that might get messed up after first boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kiramm


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 504
Location: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=988393#988393

PostPosted: Thu 04 Oct 2018, 00:41    Post subject:  

thank u

oprtunity is given when all ready before make iso cd?

then paste all in place where iso parts


or replace like here written:



One of them will give you the opportunity to change what you need in /tmp/root folder and in /tmp/etc folder.

When you get that chance replace /tmp/root and /tmp/etc with your current running /root and /etc. This way you should get an exact copy of your system.




u wrote :


Also, make a copy of your puppy /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin file as a backup before you remaster. This is where your desktop is defined and that might get messed up after first boot.


why before why.......when i get the chance....


can i not copy all ur 3 proposals

and paste them ......actually to which place?


i think to have seen remastering which is in puppy
is only to make puppy with other pets and sfs

but it looks same

that means if i paste my apereanc inside i must first delete
or exchange away the original apereance settings

with only pasting will be there my design of puppy and also the original


so what to do?



i tried that ram2sfs.gz too

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=111871

but comand not found...


is this right for me:????

Remasterpup-Suite-2018 ...seems is secret

again 1 night away with looking around Smile))


thank for hlping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1152

PostPosted: Thu 04 Oct 2018, 00:49    Post subject:  

In the standard remaster that comes with Puppy, it will ask you if you want to make any changes to the new root directory. I think it will be /tmp/root, but whereever it is, the script will tell you. That's when you copy /root (your old root) to /tmp/root (new root for remaster).

Then later, it will ask you the same thing about /etc. Once again, copy your /etc to /tmp/etc.

Remember to show hidden files when doing this.

That should accomplish what you want or very close to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kiramm


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 504
Location: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=988393#988393

PostPosted: Thu 04 Oct 2018, 01:16    Post subject:  

thank u!

but the place i copy in there is nothing necessary first to delete?


i mean the puppy walpaper will disapear and other stuff on desktop


or my stuff will get added ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1152

PostPosted: Thu 04 Oct 2018, 02:53    Post subject:  

kiramm wrote:
thank u!

but the place i copy in there is nothing necessary first to delete?


i mean the puppy walpaper will disapear and other stuff on desktop


or my stuff will get added ?


Yes, delete everything in /tmp/root and then copy your /root in its place. Then do the same with /etc. Then everything (almost anyway) will be the same.

At one time there was a really good explanation on this with screenshots and everything, but I couldn't find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1043
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2018, 22:47    Post subject:  

dancytron wrote:


At one time there was a really good explanation on this with screenshots and everything, but I couldn't find it.


A post with pics by CatDude maybe? ---> Remastering a frugal install

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1152

PostPosted: Fri 05 Oct 2018, 23:01    Post subject:  

perdido wrote:
dancytron wrote:


At one time there was a really good explanation on this with screenshots and everything, but I couldn't find it.


A post with pics by CatDude maybe? ---> Remastering a frugal install

.


Yes, that is it. Very Happy

Good enough to archive https://web.archive.org/web/20181006030014/http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=71349

When CatDude says "copy what you want from /etc" I am saying copy everything just like you did with /root to clone the hardware setup too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4373
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2018, 05:59    Post subject:  

I'm a bit fuzzy on all this re-master stuff, guys. Never really needed it.

If I want to transfer a Pup to another machine (or elsewhere), I simply copy the entire thing to a flash drive. I boot the new machine with a 'Puppy-on-a-stick'. I copy the whole thing (from the flash drive) across to where I want it. I then run Grub4DOS, from the running Puppy, and set up the bootloader. Or else edit 'menu.lst' manually, to add another entry.

I never bother with ISOs any more. Don't even use discs these days.

But if Kiramm wants an ISO of his Puppy (as it is), couldn't the same thing work? Copy the entire Puppy partition (or sub-directory) to a 'working' directory.....and then use IsoMaster/pBurn to create an ISO image?

Or is this essentially what the re-master process does? (And no; please don't point me in the direction of a re-master tutorial, etc. I'm really not that interested Laughing .....more curious than anything.)


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3602
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2018, 12:57    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
I'm a bit fuzzy on all this re-master stuff, guys. Never really needed it.

If I want to transfer a Pup to another machine (or elsewhere), I simply copy the entire thing to a flash drive. I boot the new machine with a 'Puppy-on-a-stick'. I copy the whole thing (from the flash drive) across to where I want it. I then run Grub4DOS, from the running Puppy, and set up the bootloader. Or else edit 'menu.lst' manually, to add another entry.



Hi Mike, I used your method to copy a Slacko64 install that I did a
couple of days ago.
Had to run xorgwizard to set video to radeon and screen resolution, ran
the network setup, eth0 became eth1.
It's working well, and I have a backup on the flash drive that I used
and will be putting in a safe place Smile

Thanks.

EDIT: Forgot that I had to run the Alsa Sound Wizard as well.
screenshot2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   84.33 KB
 Viewed   152 Time(s)

screenshot2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kiramm


Joined: 06 May 2016
Posts: 504
Location: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=988393#988393

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2018, 22:45    Post subject:  

thank u for so many answers
so it s possible to copy all puppy sfs + save sfs

and then iso master makes a iso ?
that will run?



2 if i use remaster tutorial then firefox in xfce bar and show desktop will go over to remaster?for example....?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4373
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2018, 05:59    Post subject:  

@ Billtoo:-

Ah, that's good to hear. I thought it should work for others. Of course you'll need to make 'adjustments', here & there; that's to be expected when you're moving from one hardware combo to another.

As I understand it, with a re-master, everything is 'baked-in'; with my method, pets and SFSs remain loaded, and your save-file/folder is already there.

I perform back-ups like this, so I presume you could turn it into an ISO. i don't see any reason why not, unless the ISO-manufacture process deletes or misses out certain things.

I'm more than happy to be further educated on this point....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2675
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2018, 06:20    Post subject:  

You may encounter problems with this method, for instance it may boot to the other machine's desktop but you may have a dead keyboard and dead mouse because of different hardware settings so you stranded in that case. What you can try with your method, is to delete the /etc folder in your savefile before the transfer, this may or may not work.

Edit: Deleting the /etc as I suggested didn't work. So the crux is: if one has a working keyboard and mouse one can get away with your method but you will still have to make corrections and probably have to get audio working as a previous poster mentioned. Remaster without customization is a better option in my view.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3602
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2018, 11:40    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
@ Billtoo:-

Ah, that's good to hear. I thought it should work for others. Of course you'll need to make 'adjustments', here & there; that's to be expected when you're moving from one hardware combo to another.



I used the method on this pc which uses a TV via hdmi as a monitor, the entries in the puppy menu had letters missing here and there.
I found that the font manager needed the settings changed and the problem was fixed.
screenshot2.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  screenshot2.jpg 
Filesize  183.8 KB 
Downloaded  39 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2777
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2018, 13:19    Post subject: Alternatives to Builtin Remaster  

Hi kiramm & All,

Since the builtin remaster application has been around awhile, some (many) users have found it confusing and time-consuming, it's not surprising that several Puppy-fans have published alternatives.

I haven't had a reason to try any of the several which were recently published. About a year ago, when I decided to remaster Tahrpup 6.0.5, I used shinobar's remasterx, http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=780345#780345 and found it much easier and, thus, quicker than the builtin: I didn't have to spend time reading and understanding (I think) detailed instructions and manually copying files to the "work-folder". The application automatically does such copying if you made that choice.

ITSMERSH and stemsee have published alternatives. But I'll point out nic007's work in this area, primarily because although he posted to this thread, he didn't mention it. http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1001289#1001289 The applications posted there seem to be well thought out and easy to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0783s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0206s) ][ GZIP on ]