Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Oct 2018, 04:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Install Puppy on HDD- It do not see 2 partitions
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
nick21

Joined: 24 May 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 04:54    Post subject:  Install Puppy on HDD- It do not see 2 partitions  

Install Puppy on HDD- do not see 2 partitions

Hello,

I bought the next system: Intel Core 2 Duo CPU 3.16GHz / 4G RAM / HDD ATA WDC WD2500AAKX-7 -238G, Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3646h, a old computer made in 2008.

I partitioned my HDD in:
Sda1 - 30G -ext2 -boot (on manage flags)
Sda2 - 200G- ext2
Sda3 -8G - LinuxSwap

I wanted install Precise 571 on HDD after I restarted my computer, but unfortunately, after click "Universal Installer" and "Internal (IDE or SATA) hard drive", received the massage: "sda ATA WDC WD2500AAKX-7, size 238G". click this and puppy indicated me to partition my HDD with Gparted . The puppy installer saw only one partition, although I made three partitions: sda1,sda2,sda3. These partitions can be seen on the desktop.

What can I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 12839
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 06:19    Post subject: Re: Install Puppy on HDD- It do not see 2 partitions  

nick21 wrote:
Install Puppy on HDD- do not see 2 partitions

Hello,

I bought the next system: Intel Core 2 Duo CPU 3.16GHz / 4G RAM / HDD ATA WDC WD2500AAKX-7 -238G, Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3646h, a old computer made in 2008.

I partitioned my HDD in:
Sda1 - 30G -ext2 -boot (on manage flags)
Sda2 - 200G- ext2
Sda3 -8G - LinuxSwap

I wanted install Precise 571 on HDD after I restarted my computer, but unfortunately, after click "Universal Installer" and "Internal (IDE or SATA) hard drive", received the massage: "sda ATA WDC WD2500AAKX-7, size 238G". click this and puppy indicated me to partition my HDD with Gparted . The puppy installer saw only one partition, although I made three partitions: sda1,sda2,sda3. These partitions can be seen on the desktop.

What can I do?

Hi nick21.

A couple of notes, if I may.
-- It is normal for the swap partition not to be seen, don't worry about it.

-- Although you can make a full install of any Puppy, Puppy works best
when installed frugally ("frugal install").

To do so:
burn the iso to a CD or DVD and boot from this disc.

Once on the Puppy desktop, open sda1 and create a directory called
< Precise-571 > (without the chevrons) in it.

Adapt the Puppy to your time zone and language, etc., in the panel
presented.

Do not try to install any favorite programs at this point. Do that only on 2nd
boot, please.

Once finished with the personal parameters, click on reboot in the menu.

At this point the Puppy will ask you if you wish to save your session.

Answer YES and follow / answer the other prompts.

Use the suggested defaults if in doubt
-- EXCEPT choose a pupsave FILE, not the folder option.
(A pupsave file is more easily transferable to another computer or support
media. This way you can transport your Puppy to another computer if need
be, with very minimal edits to your personal parameters, if any.)

512 Mg's is a good size for a new pupsave file. You can make it bigger later
if needed.

Finish answering the prompts and reboot.

(Note: Do not answer anything at the boot prompt when the CD reboots.
Just wait the required number of seconds or hit Enter.)

After a few seconds, you should now be back in the Precise-571 with your
personal parameters.

If all went well, you can now install new programs, store your music or
pictures, etc., in your new Puppy.

Happy Puppy-ing!

Let us know how it went?

BFN.

~~~~~~~~
PS --
You can "refine" the booting later if you wish, by installing Grub4DOS to HD.

But this type of booting [Puppy OS on CD with pupsave on HD, above] is
very efficient also and arguably more secure -- because the Puppy OS is set
"in metal", so to speak, it cannot be hacked.

As a final safety note, please make sure you back-up your pupsave file at
frequent intervals (e.g. every day or every 2nd day before shutdown).
Look in the menu, Puppy offers various ways to do backups of itself.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Fidèle elle commença, ainsi elle restera. (Prov. canadien) /
Faithful she began, so will she stay. (Canadian prov.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11141
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 11:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
The puppy installer saw only one partition, although I made three partitions: sda1,sda2,sda3. These partitions can be seen on the desktop.

If sda3 is showing on the desktop, something is very much wrong with your partitioning.
You say sda3 is a Linux swap.
The swap is never shown on desktop.
It is just there to use by the OS.
Never seen or displayed visually, except in Gparted program.

What program did you use to do the partitioning?

About the Universal installer in Precise 571.
That is an older version of the installer.
Talking about using Gparted to setup partitions was more of info you need to do if you have not already done it.
Usually the installer would auto select the first partition on the selected hard drive, but there should be an option to select other partitions.

I strongly suggest you use ext 3 or 4 for the partition formats.
Ext 2 is very bad about getting corrupted and it does not self correct.

Ext 3 or 4 self correct automatically.

Wonder why you want to use Precise 571?
One of the newer Puppy versions should work very well on that hardware.
http://puppylinux.com/
A lot has been updated and improved since Precise 571 was produced.

Note:
If computer has 4GB of ram.
A swap partition is probably not going to be used, unless you do some very, very ram intensive stuff.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nick21

Joined: 24 May 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 12:05    Post subject:  

Thank you very much for your answer, but I want install my Puppy directly on HDD, and run on HDD without boot CD. What you say is ok, I save .2fs file in HDD or USB flash drivere and is ok, it is best solutions because it's more safe, I will do it. But, I don't understand why I can't install Puppy directly on HDD, can you explain me why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nick21

Joined: 24 May 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 12:27    Post subject:  

For bigpup.

Thank you for answer.

I really can't see sda3 partition on desktop because is swap, it's ok. I made these partitions with Gparted and it is ok. I was working for three years with Puppy 5.7.1 for a little online shop and I love it because it can't be hacked. About latest Puppy I have a superstition for his author, regarding number 666. I use on laptop Quirky Xerus and is ok, I learn C/C++ with code::blocks, linux, stay on Internet, is ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nick21

Joined: 24 May 2018
Posts: 19

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 13:27    Post subject:  

I found it. I changed in ext.4 sda1+sda2 and now it's working. Puppy's install see sda1 and sda2 and I can pick them to install Puppy on HDD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0725s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0136s) ][ GZIP on ]