Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Jul 2019, 16:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 36 of 63 [945 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12334
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2019, 02:52    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Bigpup, Goddamn, take your Donald-Trump-like behavior and keep it to yourself.

Thank you for those kind words!

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12334
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2019, 03:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
I updated the kernel that I'm using:

CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (-MCP-) speed/max: 2750/3003 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: nvidia Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2 version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.87
N

Working well so far.

Please tell me how this provides any useful information about how Bionicpup64 7.9.8 is working as it is released?

This says it must not be working, because they changed the kernel.
No info on why they changed the kernel.
Did they change it just to change it?
Did something not work?
What?
If you did something as drastic, as having to change the kernel to fix it.
I think 666philb would like some details!

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2019, 06:03    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.8 CE RC  

.
@bigpup

Did you read the changelog in the 4.19.14 kernel?
Might be some important security fixes,better hardware support,etc there.
Why does peebee make new kernels available as soon as they are released?
Why does quickpet have the change kernels option?
Running with the latest version of the kernel is advisable don't you think?
Are new kernels released just for the hell of it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3054

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2019, 09:14    Post subject:  

"Which kernel" (from the horse's mouth)
Now, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS used 4.13 and LTS2 is using 4.15, none of which are LTS kernels (long story)
BionicPup decided to go with the latest stable 4.19 (now 5.0) relying on the puppy rather than the ubuntu community for any off-tree drivers. Thus changing to the latest stable is recommended for BionicPup!
However, reporting issues, or the lack thereof for the original, or any difference between the two, also helps.
If there is really no difference between the one in RC and the latest stable, why not go with the latest stable for the release of the final?

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12334
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2019, 12:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
Running with the latest version of the kernel is advisable don't you think

I wish it was that simple.
Changing the kernel just because there is a newer one can break stuff.
Some things are compiled for a specific kernel and have to be recompiled if the kernel changes.

Example:
These are Nvidia driver pets of the same driver version. Each one only works with a specific Linux kernel.
nvidia-410.78_K4.19.12_x86_64.pet
nvidia-410.78_K4.19.4_x86_64.pet

Changing to a newer kernel can remove support for older hardware.
Even changing to a different kernel can bring new bugs that were not there before.
Also a Linux kernel is configured to have certain features enabled or disabled. You do that when it is compiled.
Example:
PAE feature could be enabled or disabled.
There are many things that can be disabled or enabled.

I think of it like making a new car.
At some point you have to decide exactly what engine will be in this car. Set up everything to work with that engine.
Completely test everything using that engine.
The kernel is the engine in Puppy Linux.

Quote:
Why does quickpet have the change kernels option

Because people wanted to be able to change the kernel and wanted an easy way to do it.
Hopefully they understand what they are doing and why.
If you look at the kernels offered in change kernel.
Click on the kernels button.
They are ones already used in a Puppy version and those kernels are already compiled for how Puppy works.

The only time changing the kernel, did anything for me, was when I got a very new wifi router.
The kernel I was using was too old and did not have the driver modules for it.
A newer kernel did have the modules.
But after changing the kernel, my Nvidia driver no longer worked.
I had to compile a new Nvidia driver for that kernel.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2019, 12:49    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
Running with the latest version of the kernel is advisable don't you think

I wish it was that simple.
Changing the kernel just because there is a newer one can break stuff.
Some things are compiled for a specific kernel and have to be recompiled if the kernel changes.

Example:
These are Nvidia driver pets of the same driver version. Each one only works with a specific Linux kernel.
nvidia-410.78_K4.19.12_x86_64.pet
nvidia-410.78_K4.19.4_x86_64.pet



If you had uninstalled the nvidia driver, changed the kernel, loaded the new kernel sources sfs and rebooted, then re-installed the Nvidia driver, rebooted once again and exited to the prompt and run xorgwizard I think that would have worked.

Maybe uninstalling the first pet and rebooting, then installing the second pet would work?

Read the 4-19-14 changelog if you get a chance, seems like a worthwhile update to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12334
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Jan 2019, 13:09    Post subject:  

Yes 666philb changed the kernel to a different kernel during development.
He was kind enough to make a new Nvidia driver pet for that different kernel.
But the old save still had the setup for the wrong driver.
Luckily the old save booted to fallback to using the generic Nouveau driver, so it did still boot.
So installing the correct driver pet worked for that.

Quote:
Read the 4-19-14 changelog if you get a chance, seems like a worthwhile update to me.

I agree, this could be a good thing to go with a newer kernel.
Seems funny to me when you read a kernel changelog.
How did the older kernel ever work, if they had to make all those changes in this newer kernel.

What kernel is going to be in the Bionicpup64 release is up to 666philb.
But he will have to decide what features it will have enabled.
Configure and compile it.
If he does change the kernel again.
Completely testing everything, will really need to start over fresh.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106084&start=45
Read some of the posts on the last pages of this topic to see some issues in compiling a kernel and using it.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Chili Dog


Joined: 20 Dec 2011
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2019, 04:52    Post subject:  

I don't have sound in Firefox (YouTube) either. I am using the quickpet package and the latest flash from the installer.

Also tried updating Firefox from "about Firefox". I don't think it's the Firefox version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1846
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2019, 05:20    Post subject:  

Try to update firefox to the latest version after installing the package in quickpet.


The version of firefox 62.0.2 needs some mods about the sandbox for sound working. Update to the latest version 64.0.2. Other users suggest to use the portable firefox by fredx181:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=112376

EDIT: I have edited this post many times. Sorry. I'm not perfect. But I do post and give feedback. Perhaps I should take more time to post. Sorry again.

Last edited by watchdog on Sun 13 Jan 2019, 08:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 341

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2019, 08:02    Post subject:  

Concerning firefox, I see no reason to keep on wasting time with it since
both waterfox and basilisk provide excellent "firefox-like" alternatives.
Also, palemoon probably works well enough to suit many users.

Concerning the "musical kernels" game, I have three frugals of 7.9.8
installed, including kernels 4.9.15 and 4.9.58 (xenialpup). Both work just
as well for me as phil's current kernel. Each uses its own fresh save folder.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2019, 09:26    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.8 CE RC  

.
I wasn't going to post to this thread anymore but here it is.

New install to HP desktop, changed kernel to 4.9.149.
Firefox works well on this pc, I'm almost certain the problem of no
sound on the dual core is the Nvidia proprietary driver, got around it
by using a usb sound card.
Wonder if the --no-drm at the end of the nvidia run file is the cause
because Slacko64 doesn't need that for the nvidia run file and sound
works fine in Firefox.

VIDEO REPORT: bionicpup64, version 7.9.8
Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor

X.Org X Server 1.19.6
Release Date: 2017-12-20

Chip description:
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
[AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/7570] [1002:68d9]
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Radeon HD 5570 [103c:6872]
Kernel driver in use: radeon
Kernel modules: radeon

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): radeon
Loaded modules: ati dbe dri2 evdev fb fbdevhw glamoregl glx ramdac

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1920x1080 pixels (508x285 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: AMD REDWOOD (DRM 2.49.0 / 4.9.149, LLVM 6.0.0)
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.3 (Core Profile) Mesa 18.0.5


Monitor : card0-HDMI-A-1
Model : HP 27b Curved
WxH (cm) : 60x34
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   89.52 KB
 Viewed   423 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Chili Dog


Joined: 20 Dec 2011
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2019, 20:04    Post subject:  

Thanks, I tried updating Firefox, but no change. Still no sound.

Mp3s play good. But the audio sounds tinny oftentimes. I have to turn the sound down.

I don't know why it's like this. I tried compiling alsa from source, but that didn't seem to help. Am I missing a library link or something?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12334
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2019, 20:38    Post subject:  

The settings in the Retrovol mixer look OK?
Right click on speaker icon in tray and select Mixer.

Can you post a link to something that gives no sound.
Let me see what it does for me in Firefox from Quickpet.

The Alsa in Bionicpup64 should be working OK.
Should not need to do anything to it other than a possible setting tweak, maybe.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12334
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2019, 20:51    Post subject:  

Billtoo wrote:
Wonder if the --no-drm at the end of the nvidia run file is the cause

Could be.
I guess it would depend on what it is you are trying to listen to.

I looked in Firefox preferences>General and there is a selection for playing DRM content with a learn more that gives detailed info.
Maybe something to check. Idea

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Chili Dog


Joined: 20 Dec 2011
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jan 2019, 21:10    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
The settings in the Retrovol mixer look OK?
Right click on speaker icon in tray and select Mixer.

Can you post a link to something that gives no sound.
Let me see what it does for me in Firefox from Quickpet.

The Alsa in Bionicpup64 should be working OK.
Should not need to do anything to it other than a possible setting tweak, maybe.


Any YouTube video I try doesn't seem to have sound.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 36 of 63 [945 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0878s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0311s) ][ GZIP on ]