Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 20 Jun 2019, 09:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 34 of 63 [932 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Author Message
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2019, 14:47    Post subject:  

Yes.

Already since 7.9.6.

Code:
#One or more words that identify this distribution:
DISTRO_NAME='bionicpup64'
#version number of this distribution:
DISTRO_VERSION=7.9.6
#The distro whose binary packages were used to build this distribution:
DISTRO_BINARY_COMPAT='ubuntu'
#Prefix for some filenames: exs: bionicpup64save.2fs, bionicpup64-7.9.5.sfs
DISTRO_FILE_PREFIX='bionicpup64'
#The version of the distro whose binary packages were used to build this distro:
DISTRO_COMPAT_VERSION='bionic'
#read by /usr/bin/xwin to bypass Xorg Wizard at first boot:
DISTRO_XORG_AUTO='yes'
DISTRO_KERNEL_PET='Huge_Kernel'
DISTRO_DB_SUBNAME='bionic64'
DISTRO_PUPPYSFS='puppy_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_PUPPYSFS='puppy_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_ZDRVSFS='zdrv_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_ZDRVSFS='zdrv_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_FDRVSFS='fdrv_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_FDRVSFS='fdrv_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_YDRVSFS='ydrv_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_YDRVSFS='ydrv_bionicpup64_8.sfs'
DISTRO_PUPPYDATE='Mar 2018'
DISTRO_PUPPYDATE='Mar 2018'
DISTRO_ARCHDIR='x86_64-linux-gnu'
DISTRO_ARCHDIR='x86_64-linux-gnu'
DISTRO_TARGETARCH='x86_64'
BUILD_FROM_WOOF="No woof-CE-git info available"
#Puppy default filenames...
#Note, the 'SFS' files below are what the 'init' script in initrd.gz searches for,
#for the partition, path and actual files loaded, see PUPSFS and ZDRV in /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE
DISTRO_PUPPYSFS='puppy_bionicpup64_7.9.6.sfs'
DISTRO_ZDRVSFS='zdrv_bionicpup64_7.9.6.sfs'
DISTRO_FDRVSFS='fdrv_bionicpup64_7.9.6.sfs'
DISTRO_ADRVSFS='adrv_bionicpup64_7.9.6.sfs'
DISTRO_YDRVSFS='ydrv_bionicpup64_7.9.6.sfs'
DISTRO_PUPPYDATE='Oct 2018'
#multiarch distros, such as Ubuntu, will have this. ex: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu, so DISTRO_ARCHDIR=i386-linux-gnu
DISTRO_ARCHDIR='x86_64-linux-gnu'

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1948
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2019, 16:08    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Redshiftgui is not working anymore for me. Do anyone has a clue about where I should dig. It worked yesterday.
Thanks for mentioning this. I consider myself as being responsible for redshiftgui-0.2.4.

In order to avoid having redshift start automatically if a user does not elect to use it, I made automatic startup contingent on there being a location set, other than 0,0. So, if you don't set up your location, you will not see redshiftgui at boot-up time.

To recover, simply run redshiftgui from the menu again and set and save your location. The simplest way to set the location may be to use your ISP's location, Method "Lookup by IP".

The only documentation of the "non-zero location" control is in the /root/Startup/redshiftgui_tray script:
"# Automatic minimized startup only if a location other than 0:0 specified." I cannot add that info to the compiled redshiftgui executable.

If you still have a problem with redshiftgui, we can work it via PM, if you care to.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ETP


Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Posts: 1157
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2019, 16:36    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.8 CE RC  

Hi Phil,

Thanks for the above RC.
Another manual frugal install to the 3rd (f2fs) partition on a 16GB USB3 stick. Syslinux 4.04 boot with a new save folder.

Issues:

1. Rshift was not working and a full LDD system scan showed that it had missing libs. Quick fix was to disable it and install fredx181´s rshift-portable-64-v3.tar.gz
which is self contained.

2. pmcputemp seemed to have gone awol so I installed forum member ozsouth's pmcputemp-0.63a.pet
from here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1008276&search_id=974111696#1008276

That correctly displayed both temp & CPU core speeds with my Intel hardware.

3. Upgraded Hardinfo again from the included 2012 (0.52-pre) version to the 2017 (0.6 alpha) via ppm. (Temperatures in that agree with pmcputemp)

The following screenshot shows all of the above including the complete list of items so far installed.

Please press F11 to toggle into full-screen then click on link;---

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=view&id=1p3yQr19hTROe5ornul9lIaWG4l0P8lAi

_________________
Regards ETP

Kennels
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 6576
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2019, 19:48    Post subject:  

rerwin wrote:
In order to avoid having redshift start automatically if a user does not elect to use it, I made automatic startup contingent on there being a location set, other than 0,0. So, if you don't set up your location, you will not see redshiftgui at boot-up time.
It is not the gui that is troublesome (sorry for being incorrect). I am not able to adjust the brightness even if disabling auto-adjust... everything worked yesterday - both by setting location and when adjusting manually. Thanks for a great tool.

EDIT:
Second reboot - everything works fine again. Hmmm! there are still strange things happening with my Yoga.

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 612
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jan 2019, 20:48    Post subject:  

I generally use my laptop, but today did a new frugal install to internal SSD on my Desktop computer. HP with AMD FX6100 8GB DDR3 RAM, Wifi connection via Intel 7260 Wifi-AC card. All running very smoothly after initial setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12217
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jan 2019, 17:34    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 7.9.8
Frugal install + save folder

Booting just to the desktop and no programs started by me.

Looking at Htop.
Seems to be a big amount of processor usage going on.
Seems to be way to much activity just to be booted to the desktop.
syslogd and klogd seem to be the really big users.
Are these really needed?

See attached image.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   86.58 KB
 Viewed   656 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2019, 04:12    Post subject:  

@bigpup

Something is wrong with your installation. On my i5 quad core PC, HTOP
ram useage is 497 meg and core utilization is practically nil (0 to
2% max) at startup.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2019, 05:19    Post subject:  

Hi.

HTOP:

After booting into X desktop there's no such high activity on my machine as bigpup mentioned.

MKSQUASHFS:

When creating a .sfs via dir2sfs HTOP is listing eleven (11) processes of mksqashfs.

JACK Audio:

In 7.9.6 I could use qjackctl (my own compiled version) from .sfs and it worked immediately and properly.

In 7.9.7 I could NOT use qjackctl (my own compiled version) from .sfs. Needed to install to get it working.

In 7.9.8 again I can use qjackctl (my own compiled version) from .sfs and it worked immediately and properly.

I think this is not dependent on qjackctl but on one of the libjack... packages.

Is it intended to be kept the way like it was in 7.9.6 and now again in 7.9.8, so that I would not need to install the libjack... packages into future and final releases?

That of course would be nice! Very Happy

Thanks.
Screenshot.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot.jpg 
Filesize  242.56 KB 
Downloaded  51 Time(s) 

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12217
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2019, 07:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
After booting into X desktop there's no such high activity on my machine as bigpup mentioned.

Did a Quickpet>Info>Bionicpup updates.
Well, booted up today and no high processor activity shown in Htop.

Do notice that syslogd and klogd are now not showing any activity.

Anyone understand what syslogd and klogd are actually doing?

I am now using an old save folder from an install of Bionicpup64 7.9.7
No save was being used when I first saw this high processor activity.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2019, 09:00    Post subject:  

I don't know this for sure (re: syslogd and klogd).

Though I could observe several kworker processes running since the upcoming of Tahr Puppy. Currently there are thirteen (13) running in my OS. The number of running kworker processes seems to differ rarely from time to time.

Probably they are somehow responsible in addition for Kdenlive installing and running so easy in newer Puppies (even from .sfs)?

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12217
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2019, 09:32    Post subject:  

Bionicpup64 7.9.8 fresh frugal install.

Rox file manager
Right click on an image file.
Select default image editor.
Nothing happens.

Default image editor is set as Gimp.
Used Default Application Chooser to set image editor to Mtpaint.

Now image opens in Mtpaint

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2019, 10:04    Post subject:  

Like in 7.9.6 & 7.9.7 the pmount and drive's tool tips in 7.9.8 still showing 0,0G for the drive sizes.
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   85.83 KB
 Viewed   505 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg


_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 846
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jan 2019, 15:59    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:
Like in 7.9.6 & 7.9.7 the pmount and drive's tool tips in 7.9.8 still showing 0,0G for the drive sizes.
It seems to be a problem for ext fs and ntfs, not vfat.
I have a gpt ssd.

EDIT: pmount starts up with errors in terminal:
Code:
root# pmount
/etc/rc.d/functions_x: line 30: printf: 11.8164: invalid number
/etc/rc.d/functions_x: line 30: printf: 19.3359: invalid number
/etc/rc.d/functions_x: line 30: printf: 21.3321: invalid number
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 672:  7260 Terminated              /usr/lib/gtkdialog/box_splash -close never -fontsize large -text "$(gettext 'Please wait, probing hardware...')"
pmount-bug.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   223.1 KB
 Viewed   452 Time(s)

pmount-bug.jpg


Last edited by foxpup on Sun 06 Jan 2019, 14:24; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jan 2019, 06:43    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.8 CE RC  

.
Here's htop using a different kernel.
htop-4.14.91.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   117.23 KB
 Viewed   379 Time(s)

htop-4.14.91.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12217
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jan 2019, 15:17    Post subject:  

Now I see the same as you in Htop.

For some reason, I booted up and syslogd and klogd were going nuts, using large amounts of CPU processing.

After several reboots, those programs are now doing nothing.
They are loaded as active, but no activity being shown.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 34 of 63 [932 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0877s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0353s) ][ GZIP on ]