Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 21 Aug 2019, 03:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 32 of 64 [956 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ..., 62, 63, 64 Next
Author Message
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3440
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2018, 13:30    Post subject:  

yep i'm dropping gimp (although the 7.8.7 gimp had gmic plugins available in the ppm which didn't crash) as i have had to go back to using ubuntu's ffmpeg & mpv which has increased the size somewhat. so it's back to mtpaint.

libreoffice is a dilemma though. abiword iisn't reliable but libre office is huge. but i'm not trying to make a puppy that runs on a pre 2005 computer. coreduo & 2gb ram is going to be the recommended minimum, the old vista ready computers (which ran vista like a slug). the old xp computers are served better by older pups like tahrpup and slacko or peebees 32bit bionic which is modern and stripped down

a working stable word processor is pretty important ,fatdog, easyos & 01mickos latest slacko include LibreOffice, and considering the spec of computer bionicpup is aimed at i'm feeling that it should probably be included.

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12452
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2018, 19:01    Post subject:  

Is it possible to only have LibreOffice writer and not the other LibreOffice programs Idea

However, not sure that would make it much smaller.
Quote:
LibreOffice is sort of a monolithic program. Calc, Writer, Impress etc. are just front-ends to common components. In fact, you can omit installing them, at least under GNU/Linux, but it only will reduce the total size by a couple of hundreds of kilobytes.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
torgo

Joined: 09 Sep 2011
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2018, 19:43    Post subject:  

Suggestion: go with the smaller ISO but put SFS links for LibreOffice and GIMP (if/when working) in QuickPet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2018, 20:25    Post subject:  

Quote:
Is it possible to only have LibreOffice writer and not the other LibreOffice programs?


Out of curiosity, I installed libreoffice writer only (via ppm) on xenialpup64
7.5 ... and a quick check suggests it works ok. Some users might like
and prefer the idea of installing just what they want and nothing else. After
all, slacko doesn't even include gtk+3 needed for several "heavy" browsers.
Neither does the powerful fatdog.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 226
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2018, 13:04    Post subject:  

Loading/unloading sfs is one of the particular option of "our favorites distros" that ,my humble opinion, is usefull(ram speaking),reliable , "attractive" and should by "promote".
Or,if an officesuite be included ,one should consider removing duplicative options integrated softwares... despite their small sizes.
An end user point of view here...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ProDigit

Joined: 28 Dec 2018
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2018, 05:25    Post subject:  

Rox filer always resizes when clicking the up arrow on the left.

I also don't seem to be able to connect to a network. The network card was found, but for some reason I never get to see the password dialog, and it always returns Network configuration of Wlan0 unsuccessful! error.

I also sometimes get an 'ok' window, with a firewall red sign without any text.

I just recently have copied the iwlwifi-7265D-17.ucode file to /lib/firmware, deleting all the others ILWIFI files, like worked on Xenialpup but without any success.
It now no longer recognizes my wifi card, so start anew from scratch.


HP Stream 11.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2018, 05:36    Post subject:  

Quote:
Rox filer always resizes when clicking the up arrow on the left.

This is the default in Rox filer.

Right-clicking a free area in Rox filer window and choosing options to setup Rox filer.

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12452
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 29 Dec 2018, 06:19    Post subject:  

I
Quote:
also don't seem to be able to connect to a network. The network card was found, but for some reason I never get to see the password dialog, and it always returns Network configuration of Wlan0 unsuccessful! error.

What network connection program are you trying to use?

The password entry is usually offered after you select wpa, wpa2, etc..... encryption.

You are probably just not understanding what to do in the connection program.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Revolverve


Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 226
Location: 45°17'28.8"N 72°16'08.8"W_avatar/ mira.ca

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2018, 11:20    Post subject:  

666philb or woof guys...
With browser/run-as-spot things,
a warning like:"you dont have the rights to run/install/layer whatever.sfs from root/spot ,it need to be copy/move to home(or elsewhere)'' should be specified.
The {pupdialog} does "recommend'' it, but its a simple necessity ,cause it break the system,here...
...be advised,just in case you would like to test an sfs from root/spot/download,if it behave like here,you will need hard-reset..
Timeless best wishes to all...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12452
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 31 Dec 2018, 16:33    Post subject:  

666philb,

This is just something to consider.

When Bionicpup64 is first installed. The desktop icons use black color for the names under the icons.

I have a lot of drive icons that go across the bottom of the desktop and over the Bionic dog image.
The black color of the names blends into this image and you cannot see them.

I changed the color of the names to white.
This color still shows up very good on icons in other areas of the desktop.

You must be getting close to final release of Bionicpup64, if this is all I can bitch about Rolling Eyes Laughing Exclamation

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3440
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2019, 14:13    Post subject:  

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!


bionicpup64 7.9.8 RC uploaded. link on first post

gimp removed
libreoffice removed
gcolor2 removed
didwiki removed (did anyone use this?)
EDIT: removed pmcputemp (can't work on all comps)

ppm now auto updates using scottmans pkg
mtpaint back
abiword back
redshift gui added
qbat now has a low battery alarm
janky_BT & bluez added
guvcview added
quickpet added items mixxx, teamviewer, gimp, libreoffice
kernel updated to 4.19.12 and patched so maybe....just maybe, it might work on zigberts comp
gpick added
qjackctl fix
psip updated
swapped back to ubuntu ffmpeg (larger but compatible with all apps in PPM)
swapped back to ubuntus mpv
various other fixes
bionicpup64 is now in woofce (may have to wait until pull request accepted)

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

Last edited by 666philb on Wed 02 Jan 2019, 16:55; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2019, 16:09    Post subject:  

Happy new year to you, Phil! All I can say about 7.9.8 is that it's as nice
and solid as I expected. It's the "king of the road" IMO. Best puppy
ever!

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 646
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2019, 18:33    Post subject:  

Happy New Year to you to Phil and all forum members.

New clean frugal install on my Sandisk UltraFit USB 32GB Flash drive. All set up and running very smoothly.

Thank you.


Just one query. I copy the save2flash.desktop to /usr/share/applications to be able include it in my top panel. I normally then change code to not display on desktop. Problem is it is no longer in rc.sysinit and I am unable to find the code that controls adding the icon on the desktiop. Could you please advise where the code now exists.


Edit: Wallpaper being used is from forum member ETP's collection.
desktop.jpg
 Description   So impressive thought I'd post a pic of desktop as set up.
 Filesize   55.85 KB
 Viewed   656 Time(s)

desktop.jpg


Last edited by Terry H on Tue 01 Jan 2019, 19:12; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Hesse James


Joined: 08 Feb 2010
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2019, 18:43    Post subject:  

Hello Phil
Thank you again for your massive input of time to bring Puppy forward !

Despite 1 of January here are some (minor) glitches I found on short notice.

1.) Bionic64 cannot recognize a Sony eBook for data transfer via USB automatically (pmount doesn't see it too). Manual mounting to generate mount point and 'mount /dev/sdb /mnt/sdb' solved it. Different to 7.9.7 the drive-icon is still missing. Access after manual mounting via /mnt/sdb is then possible.
Some SD-cards are also affected. I had to mount one in the exactly same way as above. Automatic recognition didn't work.

2.) Android connection is requested correctly by bionic64 if a phone (Motorola G3) is plugged in. MTP activated on phone side. A window opens and shows some directories. If you click on of the directories then this just opened window vanishs. Reopening of the window brings no improvement.

3.) Puppy Package Manager seeks only ubuntu bionic64 universe, main and multivers repositories. Configuring PPM brings up the possibility of new ubuntu repositories but no puppy noarch, tahr64 or xenial64 (as it is with 797). Updating the database generates the know repositories from 797 with noarch and so but the new ubuntu repositories are no longer there.

4.) Language packs (esp. german): the offered 20130608 leads to a vanishing desktop menu and right-click does no longer work. Newer ones from 2015 and 2017 alter only the number of shown menu-items. It seems to me that the german language packs cannot be used seriously. I investigated one Italian pack which performed much better.

5.) Sound in Palemoon works on my computer out of the box (headphone), but on my wife's computer I didn't manage to get it working (HDMI-output). Alsa sound wizard multiple cards plays the barking but that all. Maybe a configuration problem. I have to spend some time for it.

6.) Concerning the question whether to use large program packages within a distribution or only a minor set of basic programs:
I think you cannot please everybody. Thanks to quickpet everybody can download and install the program he wants.
I think the current situation of 7.9.7 makes it easier for you to maintain a distribution. You can concentrate on the operation system itself and need not to iron out errors of complex application programs like libreoffice or gimp.
For the standard user it becomes more difficult. The user might want to use e.g. gimp but who cares if his package is buggy ?

That's all for today.
Best wishes for 2019 for all of you.
Christian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jan 2019, 21:23    Post subject: Bionicpup64 7.9.8 CE RC  

.
I installed to the hard drive of my Acer laptop:

Changed kernels.
Added applications with PPM + Quickpet for Firefox.
Turned on touch pad with fn-f7
Touch screen and touch pad work, lower left corner of touch pad for
click,two fingers for scroll.

root# inxi -bw
System: Host: puppypc7471 Kernel: 4.14.91 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: JWM 2.3.7
Distro: bionicpup64 7.9.8
Machine: Device: laptop System: Acer product: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial: NXM49AA03531512EC36600
Mobo: Acer model: Aspire V5-571P v: V2.17 serial: NBM491100831501E946600
UEFI [Legacy]: Phoenix v: V2.17 date: 02/27/2013
Battery BAT0: charge: 26.9 Wh 96.9% condition: 27.8/37.0 Wh (75%)
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-3227U (-MT-MCP-) speed/max: 942/1901 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1366x768@60.10hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile version: 4.2 Mesa 18.0.5
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: bcma-pci-bridge
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (2.9% used)
Weather: Conditions: 23 F (-5 C) - Scattered Clouds Time: January 1, 8:00 PM EST
Info: Processes: 118 Uptime: 1:05 Memory: 331.6/5764.8MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56
root#

Also tried 7.9.8 on my lenovo desktop with nvidia card, couldn't get
proprietary drivers to work, default kernel, also tried the nvidia pet
in quickpet, that didn't work either.

Thanks for new version.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   93.44 KB
 Viewed   616 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 32 of 64 [956 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, ..., 62, 63, 64 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0724s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0101s) ][ GZIP on ]