Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 12 Nov 2018, 21:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 7.9.6 CE beta
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 22 [329 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 20, 21, 22 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11247
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 10:44    Post subject:  

This is general information to everyone posting.

This is in beta release and testing is very much needed.
The testing needs to be on what is actually in this release iso.

Statements about changed kernel, added this program, disabled this program, etc....., is no real help.
If you do not specifically and in detail, give reasons why you did this.
There is no way in knowing what is wrong with this release of the Bionicpup64 iso.

Testing really needs to be on what is in the Bionicpup64 and nothing else. What does not work is what we need to know.
Any specific details on what you found to fix it, if you did fix it.

If you need to change the kernel, for some good reason.
Why?
Details about what is wrong with the kernel already in Bionicpup64.
Example:
Quote:
I have changed to the intel driver which also required a change of kernel.

This is not enough info.
Why did the Intel driver not work with the kernel in Bionicpup64?
What kernel did you change to?
Your hardware specs is always helpful!

Also, how Bionicpup64 is installed and on what device, is a clue to possible issues.

Thanks for all the help you can provide in giving this Puppy version a good testing and bug fixing!!!

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 473
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 11:37    Post subject:  

Nice job on this 666philb, thanks you.

I did a manual frugal install on 32GB Sandisk USB Flash, for my Dell Latitude 3350 Core i3-5005U with 8GB RAM using UEFI.

I initially had no sound, I ran Sound Wizard to get the sound to default to the Laptop's speakers rather than HDMI. After some reboot/save cycles during setup, I now have no sound. Running Sound Wizard again, I no longer get any test sound playing when using Sound Wizard. I have no sound from local stored mp3's or via web browser.


I have posted the output from the report.

Code:

   Manufacturer: Dell Inc.
   Product Name: 0KVTCC

==========================================
     /tmp/services/10alsa.start.log       
==========================================
bionicpup64 7.9.3
Linux puppypc13281 4.14.67 #1 SMP Sun Sep 2 12:34:04 BST 2018 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

 0 snd_hda_intel
 1 snd_hda_intel
 2 snd_pcsp

###################################################
 0 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
                      HDA Intel HDMI at 0xf731c000 irq 48
 1 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7318000 irq 47
 2 [pcsp           ]: PC-Speaker - pcsp
                      Internal PC-Speaker at port 0x61
###################################################

###################################################
snd_pcsp               16384  0
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     57344  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek    81920  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    77824  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_intel          32768  0
snd_hda_codec         114688  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_core           61440  5 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_seq_dummy          16384  0
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss            53248  0
snd_seq_oss            45056  0
snd_mixer_oss          28672  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_midi           16384  0
snd_seq_midi_event     16384  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss
snd_rawmidi            28672  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_pcm                98304  6 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcsp,snd_hda_core
snd_seq                61440  6 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_dummy
snd_seq_device         16384  4 snd_seq,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi
snd_timer              32768  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    77824  15 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hwdep,snd_seq_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_timer,snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcsp,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi,snd_mixer_oss
soundcore              16384  1 snd
###################################################

# alsactl -d -f /etc/asound.state restore
alsactl: set_controls:1479: device='hw:0', doit=0
alsactl: set_controls:1491: card-info-id: 'HDMI'
alsactl: set_controls:1517: maxnumid=35
alsactl: set_controls:1535: result code: 0
alsactl: set_controls:1479: device='hw:0', doit=1
alsactl: set_controls:1491: card-info-id: 'HDMI'
alsactl: set_controls:1517: maxnumid=35
alsactl: set_controls:1535: result code: 0
alsactl: set_controls:1479: device='hw:1', doit=0
alsactl: set_controls:1491: card-info-id: 'PCH'
alsactl: set_controls:1517: maxnumid=27
alsactl: set_controls:1535: result code: 0
alsactl: set_controls:1479: device='hw:1', doit=1
alsactl: set_controls:1491: card-info-id: 'PCH'
alsactl: set_controls:1517: maxnumid=27
alsactl: set_controls:1535: result code: 0
alsactl: set_controls:1479: device='hw:2', doit=0
alsactl: set_controls:1491: card-info-id: 'pcsp'
alsactl: set_controls:1517: maxnumid=3
alsactl: set_controls:1535: result code: 0
alsactl: set_controls:1479: device='hw:2', doit=1
alsactl: set_controls:1491: card-info-id: 'pcsp'
alsactl: set_controls:1517: maxnumid=3
alsactl: set_controls:1535: result code: 0
alsactl: exit code 0



/var/lib/mscw/selected: card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3234 Analog [ALC3234 Analog]
-----------------------

==========================================
            Sound Card Wizard             
==========================================

---------- /etc/asound.conf ---------
defaults.pcm.card 1
defaults.pcm.device 0
defaults.ctl.card 1
-------------------------------------

------------ .retrovolrc ------------
#card=hw:0
card=hw:1
-------------------------------------

Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version k4.14.67.

 0 snd_hda_intel
 1 snd_hda_intel
 2 snd_pcsp

################################################### cards
 0 [HDMI           ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel HDMI
                      HDA Intel HDMI at 0xf731c000 irq 48
 1 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7318000 irq 47
 2 [pcsp           ]: PC-Speaker - pcsp
                      Internal PC-Speaker at port 0x61
###################################################

################################################### aplay -l
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3234 Analog [ALC3234 Analog]
card 2: pcsp [pcsp], device 0: pcspeaker [pcsp]
###################################################

################################################### pcm
00-03: HDMI 0 : HDMI 0 : playback 1
00-07: HDMI 1 : HDMI 1 : playback 1
00-08: HDMI 2 : HDMI 2 : playback 1
00-09: HDMI 3 : HDMI 3 : playback 1
00-10: HDMI 4 : HDMI 4 : playback 1
01-00: ALC3234 Analog : ALC3234 Analog : playback 1 : capture 1
02-00: pcspeaker : pcsp : playback 1
###################################################

################################################### devices
  1:        : sequencer
  2: [ 0]   : control
  3: [ 0- 3]: digital audio playback
  4: [ 0- 7]: digital audio playback
  5: [ 0- 8]: digital audio playback
  6: [ 0- 9]: digital audio playback
  7: [ 0-10]: digital audio playback
  8: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
  9: [ 1]   : control
 10: [ 1- 0]: digital audio playback
 11: [ 1- 0]: digital audio capture
 12: [ 1- 0]: hardware dependent
 13: [ 2]   : control
 14: [ 2- 0]: digital audio playback
 33:        : timer
###################################################



==========================================
          lspci | grep -i audio           
==========================================
00:03.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Broadwell-U Audio Controller (rev 09)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Wildcat Point-LP High Definition Audio Controller (rev 03)
---
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 5500 (rev 09)
xorg driver: modesetting
---

==========================================
     /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf       
==========================================
# BK got this file from Ubuntu, May 2011.
# autoloader aliases
install sound-slot-0 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-0
install sound-slot-1 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-1
install sound-slot-2 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-2
install sound-slot-3 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-3
install sound-slot-4 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-4
install sound-slot-5 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-5
install sound-slot-6 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-6
install sound-slot-7 /sbin/modprobe snd-card-7

# Cause optional modules to be loaded above generic modules
install snd /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-ioctl32 ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq ; }
#
# Workaround at bug #499695 (reverted in Ubuntu see LP #319505)
install snd-pcm /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-pcm $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-pcm-oss ; : ; }
install snd-mixer /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-mixer $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-mixer-oss ; : ; }
install snd-seq /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-seq $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-midi ; /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-oss ; : ; }
#
install snd-rawmidi /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-rawmidi $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq-midi ; : ; }
# Cause optional modules to be loaded above sound card driver modules
install snd-emu10k1 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-emu10k1 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-emu10k1-synth ; }
install snd-via82xx /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install snd-via82xx $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist snd-seq ; }

# Load saa7134-alsa instead of saa7134 (which gets dragged in by it anyway)
install saa7134 /sbin/modprobe --ignore-install saa7134 $CMDLINE_OPTS && { /sbin/modprobe --quiet --use-blacklist saa7134-alsa ; : ; }
# Prevent abnormal drivers from grabbing index 0
options bt87x index=-2
options cx88_alsa index=-2
options saa7134-alsa index=-2
options snd-atiixp-modem index=-2
options snd-intel8x0m index=-2
options snd-via82xx-modem index=-2
options snd-usb-audio index=-2
options snd-usb-caiaq index=-2
options snd-usb-ua101 index=-2
options snd-usb-us122l index=-2
options snd-usb-usx2y index=-2
# Ubuntu #62691, enable MPU for snd-cmipci
options snd-cmipci mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
# Keep snd-pcsp from being loaded as first soundcard
options snd-pcsp index=-2
# Keep snd-usb-audio from beeing loaded as first soundcard
options snd-usb-audio index=-2


Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Last edited by Terry H on Wed 19 Sep 2018, 11:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
roadkill13

Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 148
Location: United States

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 11:41    Post subject:  

I did a manual frugal install to hard drive with save folder for Bionicpup64 on my Dell Optiplex 745 USFF desktop.

Quote:
System: Host: puppypc7357 Kernel: 4.14.67 x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: JWM 2.3.7 Distro: bionicpup64 7.9.3
Machine: Device: laptop System: Dell product: OptiPlex 745 serial: JR9TYD1
Mobo: Dell model: 0GW726 serial: ..CN6986179L0353.
BIOS: Dell v: 2.6.6 date: 06/26/2011
CPU: Dual core Intel Pentium Dual E2180 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
clock speeds: max: 2000 MHz 1: 16 MHz 2: 96 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel 82Q963/Q965 Integrated Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.19.6 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
tty size: 80x26 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio: Card Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.14.67
Network: Card: Broadcom Limited NetXtreme BCM5754 Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express
driver: tg3
IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full
mac: 00:1a:a0:6c:73:4b
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (0.1% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD5000AAKX size: 500.1GB
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info: Processes: 100 Uptime: 16 min Memory: 220.6/3870.8MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8


I am using a save file. Package Manager has been updated. Palemoon is working with the Intel video drivers. So far so good. Thank you for this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2765
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 12:04    Post subject: Just a short update  

Hi All,

Computer specific and adaptions here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1005017#1005017

Usually, applications created/built to function under an OS will have advantages over other versions of the same app. But, IMHO. obtaining those advantages has less priority than having a suite of functional applications which will, at least, enable you to accomplish any task. So, basically, I'm just trying to find out to what extent significant work will have to be done to have Bionicpup64 as functional as Xenialpup64: Which existing applications work, which don't.

Perhaps related to having installed FbBox, reboot presents a slight problem. FbBox has a "Save2Flash" icon on the desktop which functions well. But I've also set the Automatic PupSaveInterval to "Never, Ask at shutdown". At shutdown/reboot, the GUI appears with the two choices "Save" "No Save" with "Save" being highlighted. If I do nothing, it will shutdown/reboot without Saving in 60 seconds. Ordinarily, pressing the "N/n" key will do the same. That doesn't work.. I can, however, Tab to "No Save" and press the Return/Enter Key to relatively shutdown.

What worked:

Via PPM installed a functional LxTerminal. Fredx181's Firefox Quantum Portable Worked. LibreOffice's 6.0.1.SFS worked. The 64-bit Gimp&MyPaint.sfs available here, http://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-tahr64/ functions.

What didn't work:
Avidemux-xp-portable did not start under Wine-portable. Perhaps a different version, or the Linux Version.
Neither Openshot 2.4.1 nor 2.4.2 AppImages ran. Neither did the KDEnlive AppImage -- May have to build an Openshot SFS or install/try flatpak. So far, no easy road to video editing applications.

Mike Walsh's Google-Chrome looked like it was starting, then crashed. For many, the absence of a Chrome/or Clones is a major turn-off.

More, later. And perhaps some details regarding whys and workarounds.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 767
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 12:37    Post subject:  

bigpup (in part) wrote:

Testing really needs to be on what is in the Bionicpup64 and nothing else. What does not work is what we need to know.
...
Your hardware specs is always helpful!

Also, how Bionicpup64 is installed and on what device, is a clue to possible issues.

Thanks a lot, bigpup, for the guidance.

I'm not much of a tester, being essentially an old newbie (who sometimes wonders in what ways a big new distro might benefit me).

Downloaded it, did frugal install to sda1 (128GB SSD) on this Dell E5410.

Posting from the included PaleMoon.

Have not yet saved or rebooted.

That's all at the moment.

Is there a list somewhere of what to test?

_________________
Dell E6410: Xenial, Bionicpup64, etc
Dell Mini 9, Acer Aspire One, EeePC 1018P, PowerBook G4
Intel D865GBF, Intel DQ35JOE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 14:00    Post subject:  

@mikeslr
For google-chrome I use the "update" Fatdog 721 generates. FD
conveniently places the latest version of chrome in its root folder
for export. Works for me on tahrpup64, xenialpup64, Slacko64 6.9.9.9 and now on Bionicpup64.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4357
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 19:00    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:
@mikeslr
For google-chrome I use the "update" Fatdog 721 generates. FD
conveniently places the latest version of chrome in its root folder
for export. Works for me on tahrpup64, xenialpup64, Slacko64 6.9.9.9 and now on Bionicpup64.

Art


@ artsown:-

Any chance of a few more details on this one, please, mate?

Mikeslr alerted me to the 'crashing' of my Chrome SFS packages earlier on by PM. He tells me this is something to do with FatDog placing the Chrome folder actually in '/', rather than in ~/spot?

Is Chrome, then, running as a 'normal user' (Google's words, not mine!).....or as /root.....or something else? (Obviously, I would guess it's not running as root, since it's not then going to be in the /root folder...)

I've tried FatDog in the past, but I just don't like the way jamesbond and Kirk do things. I've tried getting my head round the way it works, but for me it's just too different. They're very clever guys, don't get me wrong - I have a lot of respect for them! - but it's just not my cup of tea, I'm afraid.

Some links and/or 'pointers' would be of enormous help. If I've got to re-build the packages a different way, the sooner I know about it, the better.....

Cheers.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 19:53    Post subject:  

Hi Mike Walsh

Fatdog generates chrome installation file as a .txz which installs to /opt
and runs as spot.

Hop on over to distro.ibiblio/fatdog/iso/ and scroll down to
Fatdog64-721.iso

In fatdog, aim at control panel - Update - Get Google Chrome
You'll find explanations and info as you proceed. Fatdog first downloads
chrome and installs it, As I mentioned, the .txz file it creates is placed in
/root

Hope that helps.

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4357
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 20:07    Post subject:  

Just performed a manual frugal to a sub-directory on one of my large 'testing' partitions. Manually added entry to Grub4DOS, created save-file. Apparently save-file was created, but I ran into the same problem as watchdog.....in fact, the exact same 'bug trace', too.

Apart from that small 'glitch'.....all looking very good. Thanks, Phil!

More to follow, I have no doubt.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3597
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 20:25    Post subject:  

artsown wrote:

In fatdog, aim at control panel - Update - Get Google Chrome
You'll find explanations and info as you proceed. Fatdog first downloads
chrome and installs it, As I mentioned, the .txz file it creates is placed in
/root

Hope that helps.

Art


It's working well here,
Thanks for the tip.

Bill
googlechrome.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   9.28 KB
 Viewed   375 Time(s)

googlechrome.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2628

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 20:31    Post subject:  

In Fatdog you can right mouse click the .txz file and Convert to SFS - but that would be a Fatdog specific sfs ('might' work in other Pup's - but ???).

When I boot liveCD Fatdog, I just burn the .txz to the DVD and 'install' it after each reboot rather than having it as a sfs and loading it. Not much different in the 'load' times, and makes no difference as I don't save any sessions (other than the occassional config changes when I reboot and without loading anything else just make the changes and save a new multi-session savefile). When a new version of Chrome comes out, just boot, run the install google process that creates a new .txz and burn that to the DVD (and don't save the session, so the DVD content is as before but just with the additional chrome tgz file stored on it). I believe (haven't tried it myself), if you save files with the same name to DVD then it shows/loads/installs the one with the latest file date i.e. you could just save (burn) with the same chrome.txz filename each time). Personally I use distinct filenames that include the version/date.

Tend to agree with Mike, the Fatdog crew are very bright, but things are set up 'unconventionally'. OpenBSD is great for consitency and hence simplicity. Linux in general tends to have things all over the place, but you do get a feel for where things might be after a while (systemD has thrown a spanner into that however). Fatdog is different again, but in a consistent way such that it can be good once you're familiar with the layout, but involves yet another learning curve. The code is very well written and laid out and based on linux from scratch. As a whole it works incredibly well. A negative for me however is a concern about updates and in particular security updates. A large support Team such as Debian's is obviously better on that front - one of the advantages/benefits of having 1000+ helping out.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4357
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 20:33    Post subject:  

Huh. Spoke too soon.....

After having said about having the same initial problem as watchdog, three more shut-down/re-boot attempts have resulted in the necessity for a 'hard power-off'. It WILL NOT shut-down cleanly.....not for me, anyway.

Can't use it like this.

Watchdog and I are the only ones who've so far reported this. It's clearly a kernel issue, from the 'bug trace'. I also know that watchdog and I both run pretty elderly hardware'; maybe this is something that early 64-bit CPUs are going to have problems with. No-one else has reported it, anyway.....at least, not yet.

If you feel you do need to re-compile the kernel, or use a different release, I'll try it again in a few weeks time. Until then, it's a 'no-go' area for me. Repeated 'hard power-downs' are not a good idea for 13-yr old hardware.

Sorry, Phil. It's early days yet, though; we can fix most issues when we set our minds to it. We've a good crew here on the Forum!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4357
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 20:54    Post subject:  

Upon mulling it over (and bearing in mind bigpup's pleas to only test what's there!), I'm going to try a kernel swap with Xenial64's 4.9 kernel. If I'm going to run Bionic64, I'll need to try something.

An elderly machine like this doesn't need a bang up-to-date kernel; we all know that newer versions concentrate mainly on newer device driver support. Everything I run is supported by Racy's 3.0.66 kernel, after all.....and Xenial's 4.9 gives me no issues.

So; I'll report back as to whether this fixes the issue for me. I've a feeling it will.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2765
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 20:57    Post subject: About google-chrome  

Hi All,

From time to time I do a frugal install of a FatDog64. More often I'll just read posts to its thread, especially when they turn up while I'm trying to figure out some way to get Puppies to function the way I prefer. I prefer to perform Saves as little as possible, and to provide Google with a little information as possible. Having to run Google-Chrome & Clones as Spot under Puppies presents a "Hobson's Choice": sync my bookmarks to Google's computers, or since Spot is in /root and changes to /root are lost if not Saved, additions to/deletions of google-chrome bookmarks in /root/spot/ have to be Saved.

Searching for an alternative --in particular a way to have the Spot folder at /mnt/home-- I ran across "FatDog's" post that " Spot's home directory has been moved from /root/spot to /home/spot. This has repercussions. Please read the details here." http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=975770#975770 Examination of that FatDog's structure revealed a new folder "Home" did not 'hang' from /root, but was at the same upper level as /bin, lib, /opt /usr and /root. My recollection was that the location from which those first level folders "hang" is symbolized as ~ , but confusingly also referred to as "root" but meaning the Top of the operating system. [Sorry, Mike. I didn't remember that Spot was a folder in /home].

At any rate, the way Mike's Google-Chrome.sfs is supposed to work is that when first loaded files an icon is written to /usr/share/pixmaps; a desktop file written to /usr/share/applications; that the Exec argument of the desktop file is "Exec=/root/spot/chrome.sh" and that such chrome.sh file and all other files relating to Google-Chrome are written to /root/spot. Well, as I discovered after my post, under Bionic64, when Google-Chrome.sfs is loaded, a Menu listing is created, but nothing gets written to /root/spot.

Query: Are the permissions in /Bionic64/root/spot different from those in /Xenialpup64/root/spot? Does "root" no longer have authority to write to /root/spot? Is the bash version different? What else might cause that behavior?

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4357
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 21:14    Post subject:  

Yay! Sorted.

Renamed a copy of Xenial's 'zdrv_xenialpup_7.5.sfs' to 'zdrv_bionicpup_7.9.3.sfs'. Swapped 'em over, along with the vmlinuz.....result!

Bionicpup64 7.9.3 now shuts down/re-boots cleanly, using the 4.9.58 kernel. So it does look like a kernel issue, I'm afraid, Phil.

At least I can now get on with some testing; I couldn't have carried on like that with the newer kernel. This wasn't a kernel swap for the sake of it; it was a necessary kernel swap, with a known 'good' kernel, to fix an obviously kernel-related issue.

And it worked.

Now I can concentrate on more important issues.....like what I'm going to do about Chrome. Again.

(*sigh*)


Mike. Very Happy

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 22 [329 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 20, 21, 22 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1004s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0179s) ][ GZIP on ]