Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 06 Jul 2020, 18:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Bionicpup64 8.0 CE
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 82 of 87 [1302 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6384
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2020, 08:44    Post subject:  

ozsouth wrote:
@MW - with ethernet cable plugged in, with frisbee, turn off its wireless detection & restart dhcp. Should be OK (I'm posting via it).


Hi, oz.

I've just downloaded & installed Richard's newest SNS upgrade. Currently, it appears to be OK. I prefer SNS in any case; I've had to use Network Wizard to be able to set the static IP addy, but I've always preferred using SNS wherever possible. But in any case.....

....a few more re-boots will attest as to its ability to keep connecting. We shall see!

I will investigate Frisbee over the Easter weekend, and see how it copes with ethernet. I'll report back on this one.

Cheers.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gellert234

Joined: 29 Jun 2019
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2020, 11:40    Post subject: Steam Performance Mode  

Hi 666philb,

I created a new steam package with steam without web renderer.
Steam uses less ram without a web renderer.

https://mega.nz/file/G5gwwaLA#8MvDb_V5EMhK6ieWBaeF5jug6Y3oCuH8dEfsS7TT5Eo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 362
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2020, 13:26    Post subject:  

Hello rerwin

The problem is that dhcpd is not started. I don't know what is supposed to do that.

All I have to do is run /usr/sbin/dhcpcd in a terminal and the network connects, as it is now.

This is what it says in the terminal:
Code:
dhcpcd[5675]: version 6.6.2 starting
dhcpcd[5675]: all: IPv6 kernel autoconf disabled
dhcpcd[5675]: eth0: adding address fe80::1b46:f7cc:3777:1107
dhcpcd[5675]: if_addaddress6: Operation not supported
dhcpcd[5675]: script_runreason: /lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks: WEXITSTATUS 1
dhcpcd[5675]: no interfaces have a carrier
dhcpcd[5675]: forked to background, child pid 5713
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2006
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 10 Apr 2020, 16:43    Post subject:  

I have replaced the network_connect_update-20190309 package with a more appropriate update, network_connect_update-20200410-beta. The earlier package contained support for a tool that was withdrawn. The new package contains only copies from woofCE that were updated after the network_connect_update-20180930 package, including one already in BionicPup64.

It is a "beta" because I inserted tracing in the two scripts involved in boot-up, to start troubleshooting the problems reported above. (Be sure to uninstall 20190309 before installing the replacement.)

Anyone still unable to reconnect upon reboot, please continue working with me but in the network_connect thread:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=952876#952876
which is where the newest package resides. Let's not hijack this thread while we try to resolve the problem.

Specifically, please test the default detection of eth0 before configuring a network manager. Then test with SNS. For any failures to connect, please immediately save and then send me the file, /tmp/bootsysinit.log, which will have the traces I need to see.

Thank you.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ramildialoja

Joined: 13 Apr 2020
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 13 Apr 2020, 14:19    Post subject:  

hi

I tried installing the TOR thru the quickpet but its not working. has anyone made it to work? any help please.

The error says:

The proxy server is refusing connections
Firefox is configured to use a proxy server that is refusing connections.

Check the proxy settings to make sure that they are correct.
Contact your network administrator to make sure the proxy server is working.

Last edited by ramildialoja on Mon 13 Apr 2020, 14:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 2006
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 13 Apr 2020, 14:25    Post subject: Corrected ethernet connectivity!  

With LateAdopter's patient assistance, I think I have corrected both issues with wired ethernet connections.

The 3 corrected packages are network_connect_update-20200412, simple_network_setup-2.3.1 and network_wizard-2.1.2, at:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=952876#952876

ozsouth, Mike Walsh and 666philb, please try the new packages and report any remaining problems, so that 666philb can feel better about adding them (or at least the fixed scripts) to the quickpet update group.

The changes apply to only wired ethernet connections. If there are issues with wireless (not driver- or firmware related), please tell me.

Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1983
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Tue 14 Apr 2020, 05:15    Post subject:  

nice write up here:

https://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/puppy-bionicpup-8.html

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
6502coder


Joined: 23 Mar 2009
Posts: 682
Location: Western United States

PostPosted: Tue 14 Apr 2020, 17:24    Post subject:  

Oops! I just left a link to the same Dedoimedo review over in the Puppy Power forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1422
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Wed 15 Apr 2020, 00:04    Post subject:  

From the second post:

666philb wrote:
This second post will have current issues that people have reported
This is a useful memory aid for me and also allows people to see current issues without reading the whole thread.

Issues
installing sfs from spot can break system .... Revolverve page 32
palemoon seems to have issues with some intel drivers ... see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1016897
Acer R11 Chromebook keyboard doesn't work ... vtpup page 53
Acer R11 Chromebook eMMC drive not visible to boot process ... jd7654 page 55
xorg memory leak .. possibly to do with particular hardware
rox-filer memory leak possibly contributing to the xorg leak


Actually Phil, the Acer R11 Chromeboard keyboard does work with Bionicpup64 if used with ozsouth's patched kernel:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1023784&sid=05a7c8f08a4259c33f04240065ab407a#1023784

pinctrl_cherryview module needs to be enabled in the kernel.

However audio does not work (so far -- still pursuing). The R11 uses Braswell chipset and the chtmax98090 codec. But the soundcard is not detected.

There is a possibly applicable Debian Intel sound firmware set here:

https://packages.debian.org/sid/firmware-intel-sound

_________________
Acer Aspire 5349-2635 laptop Tahrpup.
Acer R11 and C720 Chromebks Bionicpup64
Acer Iconia A1-830 tablet no pup
www.sredmond.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6384
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 15 Apr 2020, 14:41    Post subject:  

@ Richard:-

In my case, simply updating SNS appears to have permanently fixed my problem. A dozen or more boots later, and BP64 is still connecting as requested, and totally without issues now.

What more can I say?

I can certainly try the other two packages if you like, but since SNS has always been my 'connector' of choice, and now appears to be working flawlessly again, to my mind my 'problem' is now solved.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13960
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 16 Apr 2020, 14:27    Post subject:  

666philb,

I know that Quickpet->Info->Bionicpup updates will add Frugalpup Installer and place menu entries for Stickpup, in the menu->Setup.
The version of Frugalpup Installer is V11.

Frugalpup Installer is very much improved and is now at V20.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114340

Here is the problem.
Frugalpup Installer v20 is packaged as an SFS.
When you load it and try to run it.
Frugalpup Installer v11 is starting up.

I got around this by making a Frugalpup Installer v20 pet.
Installed it.
The menu entries seemed to change to starting v20.

But, this is not sticking after several reboots.
It keeps going back to wanting to start the v11 of Frugalpup Installer.


There is still some tweaking going on of Frugalpup Installer. So, v20 may not be the final version.
If nothing else, please provide v20 with Quickpet->Info->Bionicpup updates.

This is what gyro says about this:
Quote:
This is because StickPup is just an alternate frontend to FrugalPup, not an independent program.
FrugalPup v11 is installed in Bionicpup64 8.0 via it's update facility, it's just disabled in the menu. You can edit the menu and make it visible.

The problem is that the Bionicpup64 update facility writes files into the save-layer, i.e. on the top of the stack.
When you add FrugalPup as an extra sfs, it gets appended to the bottom of the stack.
The "v11" files at the top of the stack take precedence over the "v20" files at the bottom.
The only thing that really happens is that the menu item gets activated.

The simplest way out of this is to use another Puppy to delete all the files in '/usr/local/frugalpup' and '/usr/local/mi-utils' from the savefolder of your Bionicpup64 frugal install.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1799
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Apr 2020, 21:29    Post subject: FrugalPup v20  

I have attached 'clear-save_2.sfs', an extra sfs.
This contains the CLI utility 'clear-save' that can remove files from the save-layer without leaving any whiteout files.
Load it as extra sfs with "sfs_load".

After running Bionicpup64 update script,
the FrugalPup v11 files can be removed form the save-layer with the following console command:
Code:
clear-save -mic
Then the FrugalPup loaded as an extra sfs should be available.

Hmm...might look at an alternate Bionicpup64 update script that creates a ydrv rather than extracting files into the save-layer.

gyro
clear-save_2.sfs.gz
Description  unzip to produce .sfs file
gz

 Download 
Filename  clear-save_2.sfs.gz 
Filesize  2.17 KB 
Downloaded  35 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JJVee

Joined: 22 Apr 2020
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 22 Apr 2020, 22:57    Post subject: no wifi
Subject description: wifi interface missing
 

BionicPup64 does not recognize my wireless card, when i go to network connection wizard only eth0 interface is shown.

wlan0 is missing entirely, i tried to load the iwlwifi driver but that didn't solve the problem.on xenial it works flawlessly.

I am using a thinkpad t410.

any help would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 857
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Thu 23 Apr 2020, 00:06    Post subject:  

Hi & welcome. We need some more info. Assuming you mean onboard wifi, in a terminal,
run lspci & copy the results. Then run
dmesg | grep -i firmware & copy the results. Then run
uname -a & copy those results.
Please post all those copies here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4497
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 23 Apr 2020, 02:00    Post subject:  

https://support.lenovo.com/au/en/solutions/pd006109

Communications Network
Intel 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection

802.11bgn wireless PCIe Half Mini Card on selected models.
802.11n wireless PCIe Half Mini Card on selected models.
Intel 802.11agn+802.16e WiMAX wireless on selected models.
Wireless WAN upgradable on selected models.
Wireless WWAN Minicard for AT&T on selected models
Bluetooth with Enhanced Data Rate (BDC-2.1)

"""""""""

How unusual...different versions.

http://www.notebookreview.com/notebookreview/lenovo-thinkpad-t410-review/

::::::::

Might be the answer.

Intel WiFi 1000/6300 or WiMAX 6250

Networking Gigabit Ethernet (Intel 82577LM)
Intel WiFi Link 6200 AGN
ThinkPad 802.11bgn
Intel WiFi 1000/6300 or WiMAX 6250
Mobile Broadband
Gobi 2000 3G with GPS (Optional)
Bluetooth (Optional)

https://www.anandtech.com/show/2976/lenovo-thinkpad-t410-built-for-business/2

::::::::::;

Is your wireless light showing up.

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/T400-T500-and-newer-T-series/WiFi-light-off/td-p/2027289

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 82 of 87 [1302 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2488s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0717s) ][ GZIP on ]