Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 17 Aug 2019, 07:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
nicOS-Remaster-Suite
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [75 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2982
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Tue 09 Oct 2018, 09:57    Post subject:  

Made some changes to the Remaster-Auto-Final (Choose to customise version).
1) The application will ask you to choose to customise or not at the start before any compression is done. This is more convenient for the user as the application will then proceed and finish the process in auto mode.
2) Changed the compression to gzip. This is faster but will yield a bigger remastered sfs file as with xz compression for example. Some people have huge savefiles/folders so this will shorten the time of the total process.

Note: When I tested the script, I used Tahr with changes saved to a savefolder. After doing the remaster, I discovered that I could neither rename nor delete the savefolder during the same session. So this is what I did: after remaster > moved the remastered files from / to a partition of the drive > I use grub4dos as bootloader so edited the menu.lst file by adding pfix=ram to the Tahr (in my case) entry to be able to boot without the savefolder > rebooted > I could now delete or rename the savefolder and the old files > moved the remastered files to the tahr folder and rebooted. The pfix=ram entry should be removed if you are going to use a new savefile/folder. Instead of editing menu.lst one can edit the commandline at the grub4dos bootup screen but that's a bit more technical.

Script uploaded to first post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1174
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Tue 09 Oct 2018, 10:47    Post subject:  

the one which works for me the best...almost perfectly is....
Remasterpup-Updated-Experimental

makes the remaster of a working zoneminder system on tahr,xenial and so far bionic, that will have all components functioning out of the box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2982
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Tue 09 Oct 2018, 10:51    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
the one which works for me the best...almost perfectly is....
Remasterpup-Updated-Experimental

makes the remaster of a working zoneminder system on tahr,xenial and so far bionic, that will have all components functioning out of the box.


Specially designed for your needs, not mainstream. Smile Actually - just checked that version again. It seems that my later releases are based on that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1174
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Tue 09 Oct 2018, 12:12    Post subject:  

I used it to remaster a Tahr and Xenial running real time kernels and recording software as well as equipped with software synthesizers for some musician friends to see what happened .... you know finished systems for guys who play music and can do the basic computer stuff to run it. Like boot from a USB stick

worked perfectly both times. On top of the successful zoneminder system remasters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1174
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Tue 09 Oct 2018, 12:23    Post subject:  

now I am the hero because if they screw it up all I have to do is delete the save folder and reboot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2982
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Tue 09 Oct 2018, 13:35    Post subject:  

I haven't been using a savefile/folder for ages and I also don't do remasters. I use an adrv instead to save small changes (my adrv is about 2MB) and use sfs-addons for additional applications. I don't install anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2982
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Fri 12 Oct 2018, 05:00    Post subject:  

Added nicOS-Remaster-Suite to first post. This (hopefully) concludes my work on the remaster of Puppy. I've made some changes so users are encouraged to download this suite as replacement for my previous scripts which has been deleted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1174
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 13 Oct 2018, 10:45    Post subject:  

thank you nic007! Nice work..well done and very useful. I replace in all my remasters the stock remaster scripts and now include this Suite in it's place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3264
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jan 2019, 11:25    Post subject: Tips  

In response to a question I asked, nic007 posted some valuable information on this thread, starting here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1016376#1016376 and continuing here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1016410#1016410.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3264
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2019, 18:52    Post subject: Small Wrinkle with Unattended
Subject description: first-run doesn't on first boot into
 

Hi nic007 & All,

I think I've tried all the available Remaster applications and find your Remaster Suite the best among them. If I haven't already, and even if I have, a BIG THANK YOU.

If I'm remastering with intention to use the remaster on the same computer, Unattended Remaster works perfectly. And even if I'm going to transport it to a different computer the wrinkle which occurs is actually a benefit. Cool

When booting into a Puppy the first time, the initial application which runs is the same one you can always initiate via Menu>Setup: QuickSetup first run settings.. After an unattended remaster, however, the initial display is the GUI for Internet Connection Settings. "first-run" is never automatically initiated. As there are several ways to make any adjustments to Local, Timezone and such this isn't a major problem, and actually reduces the amount of time necessary to setup a Remastered Puppy on one's own other computers. When changing from one computer to another employing a different monitor, the Remaster does 'make a reasonable guess' at display dimensions. And Xorg Video Wizard can be run if necessary. The worst effect is that some desktop icons properly displaying on the original, larger monitor overlap each other on the second, smaller monitor.

I'm guessing that with a 'not remastered' Puppy, there must be some file or setting which tells it that "first-run" hasn't been run which, when you create a SaveFile/Folder, is deleted, or 'toggled-off'. The remaster incorporate the condition of when a SaveFile exists.

I was wondering how I can recover the initial display of "first-run" when creating a remaster to be used by others who may not be as familiar with how to set up a Puppy for their computers.

Thanks in advance,

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2019, 20:46    Post subject:  

Just remove /etc/personal_settings_popup_disabled before remastering to keep the "first run settings" automated after first boot.
_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3264
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2019, 20:55    Post subject:  

Thanks ITSMERHS,

Easy enough solution. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH

Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 911

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2019, 21:11    Post subject:  

I should have added, this needs to be done with /tmp/etc/personal_settings_popup_disabled when using default puppy remaster script.

Can't say if there's a option to customize /etc since I don't know nic's remaster scripts.

_________________
RSH

Beware of the Dog ähem nic007! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 3403
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) - 3 PC's: DELL SX280 750 MB Pentium4, Acer emachines 2 GB AMD64. DELL XPS15

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2019, 10:39    Post subject:  

And to avoid the pop question saveORnot at reboot / shutdown time?

(as if a save file/dir is available, Puppy saves automatic, it would be enough and good if the default value would be "N" and not "Y" as it is but it seem to complex to be for the most of our system designers... nothing to do else to adapt the default value Embarassed )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2982
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2019, 13:09    Post subject:  

oui wrote:
And to avoid the pop question saveORnot at reboot / shutdown time?

(as if a save file/dir is available, Puppy saves automatic, it would be enough and good if the default value would be "N" and not "Y" as it is but it seem to complex to be for the most of our system designers... nothing to do else to adapt the default value Embarassed )


You can remove or comment out the "save session" section in the /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown script (in this case there will be no pop-up screen) OR change the timeout interval for the pop-up screen in the /usr/sbin/shutdownconfig script (eg: 3 seconds in which case the popup will only show for 3 seconds).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [75 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1313s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0372s) ][ GZIP on ]