Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 19 Nov 2018, 12:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
nicOS-Remaster-Suite
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [68 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 854
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 01:35    Post subject:  

yes I did.
the script ran well in tahr 6.0.5 but did not fully copy the necessary directories needed for running a LHMP and zoneminder.

Many of the comonents are there but most are in directories most auto-remaster scripts do not copy...nor does the stock re-master tool.

in my case manual re-mastering seems to be the only way to insure a complete zoneminder system that will start.

otherwise the script was pretty quick and the resulting ISO booted cleanly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 02:17    Post subject:  

The script is based on puppys builtin remasterscript so if that does not work for you, this won't work either. However, I have been experimenting with my own scripts (totally independent from the builtin script) in the past. I attach two of them here. Try them if you like, perhaps you'll have some luck. Note that the working area is /mnt/home presuming that you are using a savefile.

BTW - Can you specify which directories were not copied, seems strange to me? Also - wouldn't it be better to run these components you are talking about as sfs-addon files (that way you don't have to include them in the base sfs file)
Quick-Base-Remaster.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  Quick-Base-Remaster.zip 
Filesize  3.14 KB 
Downloaded  59 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 10:19    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
make an sfs of your savefile and call it the adrv


can i use PackIt for that? It has option "mksquashfs". Should i pick gzip or xz?

Archive Manager does not seem to have sfs option.

THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 10:53    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
nic007 wrote:
make an sfs of your savefile and call it the adrv


can i use PackIt for that? It has option "mksquashfs". Should i pick gzip or xz?

Archive Manager does not seem to have sfs option.

THX

So, you still want to save the work you put into the old save file? I'm asking because it will be less complicated if you use a new savefile, install the stuff anew and then do a remaster. Better still - consider using sfs-addons for the programs you want to use instead of installing pets. This way you can keep your savefile very small (or not use one) and there wouldn't really be a reason to remaster anything. That's how I operate Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 11:11    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
So, you still want to save the work you put into the old save file? I'm asking because it will be less complicated if you use a new savefile, install the stuff anew and then do a remaster.

and remove the built-ins anew as well, right? Cuz i removed a bunch of builtin stuff.

I think you're saying my save-file is corrupt in some way-- that my customizations are not the problem. Correct?

Quote:
consider using sfs-addons for the programs you want to use instead of installing pets.

i'm fine with that, tho i noticed pets seem to work better than addons, for certain programs.

i want to share a live CD with friends. Do i need to manually copy those sfs-addons to the remaster-dir, before making the iso?

THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 11:35    Post subject:  

First decide what you want to do now, I will help you further then. Here are your options:
1. Try to salvage the contents of the old savefile by creating an adrv and then do a pristine remaster if the adrv works. This may or may not work because the contents of that savefile may be corrupted (but it saves you the trouble of installing all the stuff again).
2. Create a new savefile and either install the pets again or load the programs as sfs-addons and do a pristine remaster.

Personally, I woud go with option 2, greater chance of getting things right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 12:13    Post subject:  

sounds like your suspicion is that my save-file is corrupt.

i like Option 2 as well. i want to share a live CD with friends. i assume sfs-addons will be included in the remaster, and loaded on boot automatically, correct?

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 12:19    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
sounds like your suspicion is that my save-file is corrupt.

i like Option 2 as well. i want to share a live CD with friends. i assume sfs-addons will be included in the remaster, and loaded on boot automatically, correct?

Yes, with my auto script all sfs files (except the zdrv) that are loaded at the time of the remaster will be included in the remastered base sfs file. After the remaster you will have the remastered base sfs (which now include all the addon sfs's) and a seperate zdrv.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 15:51    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
i assume sfs-addons will be included in the remaster, and loaded on boot automatically, correct?

nic007 wrote:
Yes, with my auto script all sfs files (except the zdrv) that are loaded at the time of the remaster will be included in the remastered base sfs file.

I think here's some misunderstanding included.

As I do understand johnywhy he asked if the additional .sfs will be in the remastered .iso - but not in the remastered base .sfs.

To have additional .sfs remastered into the .iso it is necessary to copy them into the build directory manually BEFORE creating the .iso. This is NOT done automatically by remasterpup2 or nic007 scripts.

All programs from additional .sfs loaded at remaster will be in the included into new .sfs. So, there's no need to have those additional .sfs placed inside the .iso and so they can't load automatically at boot - at least it doesn't make any sense to load them anyway.

My new version of LazY Remaster Suite will create a .iso (without the need of a mounted .iso or cd) and ALL files/dirs from the boot directory (where the puppy .sfs is stored) will be copied automatically to the build directory and therefor will be placed inside the .iso as well.

Just to mention...

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 16:04    Post subject:  

There shouldn't be any confusion. My last sentence (which you omitted) makes it quite clear, I think. He wants to distribute the iso to friends. Having everything combined into the base sfs and a seperate zdrv would be easier for a new user (who may not know how sfs addons work). My auto script includes the content of all loaded sfs's (excluding the zdrv.) Into the base sfs. Of course, if you don't want it included, unload those extra sfs's you don't want to include. You can of course add anything you like to the ISO later but then you shouldn't use this auto remaster script (because it doesn't pause so you can manually add whatever you want to the ISO, the builtin script DOES give you this opportunity). Like your versions, I also have remasterscripts with options.. However I am not releasing that as the user may just as well use the builtin remasterscript if he wants to choose his own full options. Having said that, I have made improvements to the builtin remasterscript. For instance - If you have loaded extra sfs's which contents you want to combine into the base sfs (like with my auto script) and those extra sfs's contain files in /root, /etc and /var the builtin script will not include those files by default. I've fixed that.

BTW - You'll have to include a bootloader in your "manually made" iso for distribution, if you don't have the actual ISO or CD to copy files from.

Last edited by nic007 on Sun 12 Aug 2018, 16:52; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 16:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
There shouldn't be any confusion.

Though, the confusion has taken place, since he wants to load additional .sfs at boot, which doesn't make any sense if them are included into the base .sfs at remaster.

Quote:
My auto script includes the content of all loaded sfs's (excluding the zdrv.) Into the base sfs.

This is the default of any remaster script I'd used so far and/or had a look into its code.

Just to mention...

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 16:50    Post subject:  

See my edited post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2677
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 16:58    Post subject:  

ITSMERSH wrote:
Quote:
There shouldn't be any confusion.

Though, the confusion has taken place, since he wants to load additional .sfs at boot, which doesn't make any sense if them are included into the base .sfs at remaster.

Quote:
My auto script includes the content of all loaded sfs's (excluding the zdrv.) Into the base sfs.

This is the default of any remaster script I'd used so far and/or had a look into its code.

Just to mention...


There's no confusion regarding the remaster if you read my second sentence which you omitted (why did you omit it, it's important). Yes and your other comment about the default action of the builtin remasterscript is so but not entirely true as pointed out in my previous post. I merely stated the outcome of my remasterscript. You are confusing yourself. Just saying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 465

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 19:36    Post subject:  

No, I'm not confusing anyone. I just pointed out that there's a difference between the statement of johnywhy and the your reply about "remaster" to this statement, since he wanted the additional .sfs inside the .iso to be loaded at boot.

johnywhy wrote:
i like Option 2 as well. i want to share a live CD with friends. i assume sfs-addons will be included in the remaster, and loaded on boot automatically, correct?

nic007 wrote:
Yes, with my auto script all sfs files (except the zdrv) that are loaded at the time of the remaster will be included in the remastered base sfs file.

Markups added by me.

End of my discussion here, since you are still turning yourself very much too fast into something similar to a insulted troll. Wink Laughing

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 854
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 21:23    Post subject:  

Quote:
Can you specify which directories were not copied, seems strange to me?

missing files/folders after remastering a zoneminder system that is able to run :

/var/run/mysqld -> is completely missing.
/etc/passwd -> uses the one from the stock ISO and not the current one
/etc/shadow -> uses the one from the stock ISO and not the current one
/etc/group -> uses the one from the stock ISO and not the current one
/etc/gshadow -> uses the one from the stock ISO and not the current one

/etc/apache2
some of the sub-directories are created but not copied.

Apache can not start because all the symlinks and config files to activate the web-server modules and the VirtualHost blocks are missing.

/etc/php5 -> current directory and all sub-directories and php.ini file are not copied into the re-master causing PHP not to be configured and to fail

strangely the /etc/zm config folder for zoneminder is copied into the re-master.

zoneminder is copied into /usr/share/zoneminder.....this component I made into an SFS but is awkward to add the database to the mariaDB (or mysql) I have attempted to create a complete LAMP - zoneminder SFS which will work but still needs to be generally configured so I met limited success. What worked was a PET of a LHMP (Hiawatha replacing Apache) and zoneminder. the PET installs
auto runs a script that creates the users,folders and corrects permissions....one-click in Tahr and the PET will completely install a running zoneminder.

I have also created manual re-masters that will run zoneminder out of the box....I am hoping to find an automatic script which would really lighten the workload.....there are some more small details....I need a complete snapshot of the system to be re-master it appears.

I will try out your other suggestions!! Thanks for the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [68 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0883s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0183s) ][ GZIP on ]