Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 14 Nov 2018, 05:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Personal Storage file - Out of space error <Solved>
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 04:35    Post subject:  

It was working ok when it was co-existing with Windows in ntfs.
So, for now, I format sda1 fat, until I find answer.


Edit
But it was savefile then not savefolder.

Last edited by dcung on Mon 30 Jul 2018, 00:58; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 2671
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 06:03    Post subject:  

I'm guessing. You have a savefile for the precise installation (how big is it as it may need resizing) and you have savefolder for the upup installation (this doesn't need resizing)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11252
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 09:06    Post subject:  

Do not go to ntfs.
That is not going to help anything.

If the save was originally made on a ntfs formatted Windows partition.
It had to be a save file.

If the ntfs file system was fragmented, it will also make the save file fragmented.
If you moved a fragmented save file to a ext3 file system, it is still fragmented.
A fragmented save file can have problems.
Windows has defrag program to defrag a ntfs file system.
Put the save back on the ntfs file system and defrag it using Windows defrag program.

Last edited by bigpup on Thu 26 Jul 2018, 09:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 845
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 09:15    Post subject:  

sounds like the boot options need to be reviewed....how are you booting? Grub4Dos generated menu.lst?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 17:52    Post subject:  

nic007 wrote:
I'm guessing. You have a savefile for the precise installation (how big is it as it may need resizing) and you have savefolder for the upup installation (this doesn't need resizing)?

I had savefolder for both installation. That's why I was expecting same behaviour from both installation. ie. no need resizing.


rockedge wrote:
sounds like the boot options need to be reviewed....how are you booting? Grub4Dos generated menu.lst?

Yes, this is correct.

bigpup wrote:
If the save was originally made on a ntfs formatted Windows partition.
It had to be a save file.

No, it is new installation. New savefolder chosen during install.

I had to do 'workaround' since the laptop was needed.
I re-format sda1 to fat and use savefile instead for the time being.
Not too concern about fragmentation atm.
I'll revisit later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 21:37    Post subject: PrecisePup and Savefolder or Savefile?
Subject description: My Precises (from 2013) only have savefiles
 

G'day dcung,

I had a quick look at a couple of my old Precise Pups and they use size-limited save-files, not save-folders. My screenshots show the sub-directory detail for these two PrecisePups and they only have savefiles. I don't think the savefolder option was available back when PrecisePups were coming out.

In my screenshots, the first is of one on my bionicpups' details showing the savefolder as a "Dir" not a single file. I chose the folder option at installation, not the savefile.
Both Precise savefiles I've set to 32MB because just about everything I add is a symlink from my big sda5 data partition and all caches, profiles and configs are also symlinked back to sda5 from this small 'old frugals' partition (sda7 - 30GB with about twenty Pups after my 2018 cull).
I run newer Pups as frugals on sda1 but again with all added apps, etc as links back to sda5 so these new Pups have quite small save-folders composed mostly of symlinks not space-consuming data and program files.

I'd advise you to set a 512MB savefile size with Precise for starters while you are getting familiar with Puppy.

Your screenshot does not show details of the contents of the displayed files - could you re-do your screen shot in the 'list details' mode?
And for both your Pups so we can compare the old Precise details with the newer BionicPup set-up?

Another nice day outside, too Very Happy .

David S.
bionicpup-save-dir.jpg
 Description   a bionicpup on sda1 shows the savefolder as a Dir not a file as per old Pups
 Filesize   60.75 KB
 Viewed   293 Time(s)

bionicpup-save-dir.jpg

precise571-files.jpg
 Description   my precise571 subfolder details showing its 32MB save-file
 Filesize   46.36 KB
 Viewed   294 Time(s)

precise571-files.jpg

ovprecise2018-files.jpg
 Description   save-file is set as 32MB but has less actual data and plenty of free space within that 32MB
 Filesize   51.62 KB
 Viewed   295 Time(s)

ovprecise2018-files.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 22:43    Post subject:  

Gday David,

I'm able to reproduce the issue on another laptop too.
Not sure if Precise support savefolder or otherwise. But for sure, it did offer such recommendation during install, which led me to believe that it does support savefolder. Than again, I've only been playing Puppy a short time... Laughing

I'm actually with rockedge, thinking that it's got something to do with boot options. Hence, I'm tinkering with menu.lst file.

I was actually was about to post a screenshot to show that it was a savefolder...before reading your post... Smile

Nice day indeed.. Wink
capture29635.png
 Description   
 Filesize   73.8 KB
 Viewed   285 Time(s)

capture29635.png

capture22245.png
 Description   
 Filesize   64.88 KB
 Viewed   287 Time(s)

capture22245.png

capture18188.png
 Description   
 Filesize   66.76 KB
 Viewed   289 Time(s)

capture18188.png

capture16880.png
 Description   
 Filesize   29.28 KB
 Viewed   288 Time(s)

capture16880.png

capture13638.png
 Description   
 Filesize   120.73 KB
 Viewed   288 Time(s)

capture13638.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 23:06    Post subject:  

These screenshots from upupbb.
No complain about no space in PPM.
Screenshot3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   90.9 KB
 Viewed   277 Time(s)

Screenshot3.png

Screenshot2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   104.89 KB
 Viewed   278 Time(s)

Screenshot2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11252
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2018, 23:42    Post subject:  

That image you posted of the Lxprecise save is showing it as an inode/directory not an actual directory.
Quote:
inode. The inode is a data structure in a Unix-style file system that describes a filesystem object such as a file or a directory. Each inode stores the attributes and disk block location(s) of the object's data.

Understand that Lxprecise is not a standard official Puppy it is a derivative of the official Precise Puppy.
I am not sure exactly how it is making a save, but it does not seem to be the normal Puppy way.
It may even have a bug in the save making process.

By your image showing it offering to let you make the save bigger.
Try making it bigger and see what happens.
May have to add to the size of the save several times.

If you are new to Puppy, you really need to start by using one of the official versions you can get from here:
http://puppylinux.com/

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 857

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2018, 10:26    Post subject:  

I ran into this problem a few years back, as I recall. The cause then was that the install process needed to find plenty of spare space available in /tmp.

Since puppy runs in RAM, this space is limited. So what I did was redirect /tmp for the install process:
Code:
mkdir /mnt/home/tmp
mount -o bind /tmp /mnt/home/tmp

What this does is redirect /tmp to a mount point on the physical HD you booted from instead of going to RAM.

Then after I'm done installing:
Code:
umount /mnt/home/tmp

Which reverts /tmp to it's normal condition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4361
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2018, 17:57    Post subject:  

@ dcung:-

bigpup wrote:
By your image showing it offering to let you make the save bigger.
Try making it bigger and see what happens.
May have to add to the size of the save several times.


There is actually a 'quick & dirty' way round this. I discovered it almost by accident, over a year ago (quite possibly not the first to do so!), and detailed it here, for anyone else who, for whatever reason, might also wish to dispense with repeating the process several times.

Hope that perhaps helps.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Sun 29 Jul 2018, 09:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 1038
Location: ¿Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.?

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2018, 18:40    Post subject: Re: PrecisePup and Savefolder or Savefile?
Subject description: My Precises (from 2013) only have savefiles
 

davids45 wrote:


I'd advise you to set a 512MB savefile size with Precise for starters while you are getting familiar with Puppy.


Good advise. This is probably the way to success, precise was made with woof , not woof-CE.
Only pups made with woof-CE can do save folders.

bigpup wrote:
That image you posted of the Lxprecise save is showing it as an inode/directory not an actual directory.
Quote:
inode. The inode is a data structure in a Unix-style file system that describes a filesystem object such as a file or a directory. Each inode stores the attributes and disk block location(s) of the object's data.

Understand that Lxprecise is not a standard official Puppy it is a derivative of the official Precise Puppy.
I am not sure exactly how it is making a save, but it does not seem to be the normal Puppy way.
It may even have a bug in the save making process.


Good point. Go with the save file for precise.

.

_________________
Giving with an expectation for return brings misery.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jul 2018, 21:02    Post subject:  

Thank you guys for all your inputs. Smile

I have done my research.
It is actually a known 'bug' that was found in 2013/2014. A few forum members collaborated to 'fix' it. But it was 'unofficial'. Quite a few postings about this issue - in the old Precise571 thread.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87712

My interest to find a 'proper fix', is driven by my curiosity to explore and learn in the process. I have 'implemented' my workaround, ie. use savefile, but this is beside the point.

I know that LxPrecisePup1509 is based on Precise571 (which was old and not maintained anymore). But whoever that currently 'maintain' LxPrecisePup1509 maybe interested to know that their "Precise572" which was supposed to include solution to this issue, does not work or not incorporated properly.
I'm yet to find a good "LxPrecisePup1509 thread" to highlight this. Probably because, not much interest in savefolder for Precise, an outdated Pup.
And I happen to have a laptop that only outdated Puppy, like Precise (or its derivative) would run... Smile


This is probably the most relevant answer to the 'issue'.
perdido wrote:
precise was made with woof , not woof-CE.
Only pups made with woof-CE can do save folders.

From my very limited understanding of Puppy scripts under the hood, the issue revolve around mounting the savefolder.

I was going to confirm this also is 'reproduceable' and 'fixable' in Precise571.
To make "Precise572" I did try to apply the 'fix' found in the thread, ie. a delta file for Precise571 iso to make 'unofficial 572' . But when applied, got a checksum error. Resulting iso was smaller (120MB). Though I checked, both 571 iso and the delta iso checksum was as shown in the thread.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87712&start=379
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87712&start=381

Also put a link here on the thread, in case someone can help.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87712&start=553


Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Sun 29 Jul 2018, 21:37    Post subject:  

I think the thread for LxPrecisePup1509 is actually here:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=862384#862384

But as you say, the link here:
http://lx-pup.weebly.com/upup-precise.html

Mentions:
Quote:
Mavrothal provided enhancements to support save folders to form Precise Puppy 5.7.2

It looks like an early experiment from 2014-2015... but if you post in the LxPup thread maybe peebee will respond or maybe even upgrade the iso (not sure).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Mon 30 Jul 2018, 00:36    Post subject:  

Thanks, Sailor

I have posted there and put a link here.
Hopefully peebee can give clarification.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=89270&start=969
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0884s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]