Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 13 Nov 2018, 03:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
PaDS 1.1.4 - updated version of 1.0.4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug 2018, 20:39    Post subject:  

PaDS doesn't come with any libs to install. So, there's nothing that could cause conflicts between PaDS and the Muppy Filer.

Could you make some testings (using those Puppies where PaDS failed) after applied/used the changes/instructions I suggested in my last post?

I need to have the results, to make sure, what to change in next version of PaDS.

What's the two extra deb packages you are talking about?

Quote:
but then I tried to make an sfs of Pads

Should work from .sfs loaded as far as I can see (if it works in general)...

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2018, 23:53    Post subject: libs for xdotool
Subject description: Deb or Slack?
 

G'day RSH,

I'm a little bit further with my problems/tests.

Only trying 64-bit Pups since my last post.

For easy testing in a range of my Pups, I made a sfs of PaDS-1.1.3 and then one using links to PaDS files on my data partition. Loading and unloading an sfs is far better than removing pets for me. And when PaDS is ready, I will be using it as a sfs shared around my Pups.

During making these sfs, I had problems with the different library directories in different Pups - lib, lib32, lib64 and odder ones with i386 or gnu or other confusing-to-me words in their names. Much simpler with 32-bit Pups with everything in /usr/lib. This confusion of lib directories for 64-bit Pups was why I gave up with these 64-bit Pups in past explorations in the 64-bit world.

When PaDS did not work....
The problems seemed to be in the xdotool part?
The GUI was fine to start and then to pick a working directory, but then stopped with the 'Load' and a gtk 'message' on the task bar (but no dialog box).
After failures with Slacko Pups and the sfs made with the 64-bit .deb versions of the xdotool files (2 needed according to the repository), I made another PaDS sfs using the Slacko repository of xdotool (only one file needed). And the lib directories were simpler (just lib and lib64) in Slacko.

PaDS successes.....
My PaDS-slacko sfs is working with some of my Slacko64 Pups (including a LxPupSc64), sometimes I need to do the 'All files' selection during the 'Load' stage if it looks like a frozen 'Load' window.
So your 'All files' recommendation has been useful.

I haven't tried my slacko-PaDS sfs in a non-slacko Pup yet.

My original .deb PaDS links-sfs has now worked in two Xenial64 Pups with the 'All files' step. And I had a success with a Slacko64-630 Pup but not with the newer ones on my 64-bit frugals partition.

Next I will make your suggested edit:

Quote:
2. Change the code in file /usr/local/pd2sfsgui/petsNdebs2sfsgui at line 326 from:
Code:
"*.*|*.deb|*.pet|*.tar.gz|*.sfs|*.txz|*.tazpkg"

to:
Code:
""


and see how this goes in both my PaDS-sfs and various Pup breeds.

My problems with libraries in the sfs may be just my problem in navigating the 64-bit differences when creating my sfs.
So there may be no difference because of where the xdotool library file comes from - just where I put it?

I agree that the older 64-bit Pups are better with PaDS at present, and hope you have a gtk magic wand to bring newer Pups into line.

I think I can see 'light at the end of my tunnel' of PaDS difficulties - after all, I have now made combined 64-bit sfses from my many individual application sfs for my Slacko and Xenial 64-bit Pups.

So thanks for your continued tolerance and good advice.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2018, 02:23    Post subject: update of tests as sfs-combiner
Subject description: running well in 64-bit Pups
 

G'day RSH,

I've been using PaDS with the edit to line 326 you suggested and I have not had any problem of freezing or making selections in any 64-bit Pup I have run PaDS in, using it as my 'home-made' links-sfs from your .pet and the 64-bit xdotool lib.

One small comment.
In a made-today 64-bit LxPupSc64-18.06+3, I ran the PaDS sfs to merge all my applications sfses into a single all-applications-sfs to load into each Xenial64 Pup. I'd already made a slacko all-apps-links-sfs with MU's 32-bit SFS-Combiner in an old 32-bit Pup for the LxPupSc64s.

First screenshot shows the PaDS window - no problem choosing a working directory nor a 'Load' directory (next screenshot shows these directories to be merged).

PaDS then made the wanted Xenial-all-sfs sfs plus its md5 check-file in the working directory.

I had made the working directory the directory where I store my all-links.sfses for each Puppy type. So I needed to delete the now unwanted copies of the single app sfses that were copied here during the marge process (third screenshot).

I wonder if a third dialog box (optional?) could be "easily" included in PaDS to tell PaDS where to put the merged sfs rather than in the working directory. Saves me copying it from the working directory to where I store it, or having to delete the working file copies when I made the working directory my sfs-storing directory.
If not "easily" done, or would be too complicated for the user, that's OK. I just need to get used to how to use PaDS the way it is.

Thanks once again for this useful package as my SFS-Combiner replacement in 64-bit Pups

David S.
PaDS-setup-to-merge-sfs.jpg
 Description   PaDS window successfully set up to merge sfs files
 Filesize   110.43 KB
 Viewed   224 Time(s)

PaDS-setup-to-merge-sfs.jpg

directory-of-selected-sfs-to-merge.jpg
 Description   directory of 17 sfs to be merged into one all-links-sfs
 Filesize   89.01 KB
 Viewed   222 Time(s)

directory-of-selected-sfs-to-merge.jpg

new-sfs-but-all-copied-also.jpg
 Description   everything in working directory
 Filesize   104.04 KB
 Viewed   223 Time(s)

new-sfs-but-all-copied-also.jpg

preferred-result-combinedsfs.jpg
 Description   putting the result in a particular directory?
 Filesize   25.68 KB
 Viewed   222 Time(s)

preferred-result-combinedsfs.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2018, 10:39    Post subject:  

Hi davids45.

I never combined several .sfs into a single one.

Though, I know PaDS is copying the .sfs to a different location to extract. Probably there's just a variable not setup or even wrong values in it. This could have happened, as I took code from my X-PaDS to update PaDS.

Going to check this and fix it in next version.

Thanks for the report.

Edit:

In the images you attached I can not read the paths used in complete.

Could you post the full paths used, please?

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 845
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2018, 14:42    Post subject:  

Code:
I wonder if a third dialog box (optional?) could be "easily" included in PaDS to tell PaDS where to put the merged sfs rather than in the working directory. Saves me copying it from the working directory to where I store it, or having to delete the working file copies when I made the working directory my sfs-storing directory.


I agree that would be a great little option.

Thanks RSH for the work...it's a nice little package
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2018, 20:05    Post subject: Paths for my PaDS
Subject description: Combining many sfs into one
 

G'day RSH,

I'm holding my 64-bit stuff on my sdb3 data partition (it's about 300GB of my 500GB sdb drive). My 64-bit Pups are together on sdb6 (about 30GB, with about a dozen 64-bit Pups at present, and about twenty sfs packages there while I sort out what these Pups need by way of a boot-mounted sfs to do what I want. I'm hoping to have just one all-apps-as-links-sfs per Pup 'breed' when I'm finished).

My working directory for PaDS is mostly:

/mnt/sdb3/SFS-Temp

My 'Load' directory is usually of the form:

/mnt/sdb3/Puppy_Archive/sfs_files/64bit/****

****=[A 64-bit Puppy directory holding the individual sfs-links apps I want to add for that particular Puppy as a single combined sfs - so I have at present, Xenial, Slacko Tahr and Stretch directories]

Have I missed a path you'd like to know?

As a bit more background, the starting point of all this is:

/mnt/sdb3/Puppy_Archive/sfs_files/64bit/originalFilesForLinking/

..... where I keep my full (expanded) application packages directories and (expanded) links versions made from these. I then create my app-links sfs with Muppy-Filer from the links-only directories with dir2sfs.
When I've made the links-sfs of an application (e.g. libreoffice-6.0.2), I move this sfs to my master directory of individual application links-sfs.
For each Puppy version, I then copy from the master directory to the directory I made for each Puppy, each links-sfs I need to add to that Pup. These become my 'Load' directory for PaDS.
Some Pups come with some apps already installed or miss some lib files, so I cannot use just the one all-in-one sfs for all my 64-bit Pups.

Mostly, I still boot from a 32-bit Pup on sda1 (its data partition is sda5) where I've set up things as I like Very Happy . I'm trying to do the same for the 64-bitters which is proving a bit difficult Rolling Eyes .

I hope this answers your request and helps explain my present 'folly'.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2018, 00:14    Post subject: Combining 64-bit sfs - .desktop problem
Subject description: adding unwanted lines to 'Menu'
 

G'day RSH,

I have found a problem when using PaDS to combine lots of sfs into one SFS.

I began a thread when I found a strange Menu problem in my 64-bit Pups:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114054

and have now worked out the problem is in PaDS when just combining sfs files.

The 'second' step in PaDS to edit each sfs menu (.desktop file) creates unwanted extra lines in existing .desktop files.
Screenshots in that thread show these added lines and their effect.
The new line (e.g. 'Name[language]=' without following text) are read during jwmrc menu creation in preference to the original 'Name=(my app)'.

So when I load the combined sfs, the Menu has lots of blanks.

Is it simple to modify PaDS so this menu creation 'second step' is only carried out when making new sfs from pets, etc.?
Or to offer a clickable button to miss this step so existing menus/desktop files are left as they are?

Or make a new package (spun off from PaDS) that is only a combiner of sfs files (like the old 32-bit SFS-Combiner)?

Thanks,
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2018, 22:35    Post subject:  

If it comes to the GUI where to edit the contents of the .desktop files, you need to edit the entries related to the current language (or even to the chosen language, if you had chosen a different one).

If you don't edit those entries, they don't have any values at all, of course. So, this is NOT a problem of PaDS, but a neglect by the user.

This GUI mentioned should have buttons to open the directory of the .desktop files, to edit them in a text editor for example. It's easy, to remove entries without values (if you don't want to fill those entries with meaningful values) before exiting the GUI and continuing the build of the .sfs.

To remove that code or to change it doesn't make sense if it comes to users different to EN users.

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2018, 17:23    Post subject:  

PaDS 1.1.4 uploaded.

See opening post.

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2018, 19:54    Post subject: Using PaDS as a simple SFS combiner  

G'day RSH,

Thank you for continuing to investigate my problem when I'm using PaDS as a possible replacement in 64-bit Pups for the 32-bit-only SFS-Combiner.

I will test PaDS-1.1.4 and see how it goes and report back.

My apologies for using PaDS in a different way to how you meant PaDS to be used, so am grateful of your time spent looking at my 'off-topic' use of PaDS.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Wed 15 Aug 2018, 08:22    Post subject: Re: Using PaDS as a simple SFS combiner  

davids45 wrote:
G'day RSH,

Thank you for continuing to investigate my problem when I'm using PaDS as a possible replacement in 64-bit Pups for the 32-bit-only SFS-Combiner.

I will test PaDS-1.1.4 and see how it goes and report back.

My apologies for using PaDS in a different way to how you meant PaDS to be used, so am grateful of your time spent looking at my 'off-topic' use of PaDS.

David S.

Hi davids45.

No need to apologize.

Since I can't test PaDS under all Puppies and circumstances/uses, I'm dependent on reports where PaDS seems to need some updates/fixes/modifications.

I'm very interested to get this to work and to be used universal in all Puppies possible.

So, please continue to use/test/report. Very Happy

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 16 Aug 2018, 18:17    Post subject: PaDS114 success in 32-bit Pup
Subject description: Problem running in 64-bit
 

G'day RSH,
As a test, I ran PaDS-1.1.4 as an sfs in a 32-bit Frugal Pup, combining two large sfs files, one of many smaller applications already combined into one sfs, and a LibreOffice sfs.
This took a little time as these are 'full' sfs files not just sfs files made only of links as I usually do.
I then mounted the resulting sfs (almost 1GB Shocked ) and checked some of the .desktop files in it.
All checked had the extra lines from the earlier PaDS (1.1.3) combined sfs but the 'Name [en]=' line was now not blank but had duplicated the text of the 'Name='.
So the right-click 'Menu' for all these had text, not the blank lines as before.
A good result!!

Unfortunately, I could not make an sfs of PaDS-1.1.4 that would run in a 64-bit Pup. I think I did not get the right 'xdo..' lib file in the right lib directory so 64PaDS stalled with a gtk problem when I was trying to select the 'Load' sfs directory.
I could set the working directory and give the new sfs a name. The 32-bit PaDS-1.1.4 did not run in the 64-bit Pup when tried once.

I'll be away travelling for a couple of weeks so cannot sort out this 64-bit problem until back home - I don't have 64-bit Pups on my laptop and I can't take my desktop with its collection of 64-bit Pups on my travels Smile .

In the meantime, maybe someone else on the forum can try PaDS-1.1.4 in a 64-bit Pup and let me know which version of 'xdotool' and its required lib needs to go where in a 64-bit system with its numerous lib directories and links, so 64PaDS-1.1.4 will combine many sfs into one with good menu texts.

Thanks,
David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ITSMERSH


Joined: 02 May 2018
Posts: 433

PostPosted: Thu 16 Aug 2018, 19:55    Post subject: Xdotool 64bit  

Quote:
So the right-click 'Menu' for all these had text, not the blank lines as before.
A good result!!

That's good...

Attached Xdotool 64bit - probably will work?

Be careful when traveling. It's a weird world...

EDIT:

Extract the archive and do NOT copy the directory. Search for the binary and the lib and copy them separately to their desired location - directories in that archive are not for 64bit, sorry!
Xdotool64-compiled-in-Tahr.tar.gz
Description  Xdotool 64bit
gz

 Download 
Filename  Xdotool64-compiled-in-Tahr.tar.gz 
Filesize  46.39 KB 
Downloaded  34 Time(s) 

_________________
RSH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1161
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 01:36    Post subject: 64PaDS-1.1.4
Subject description: Looking OK as sfs combiner in 64-bitPup
 

G'day RSH,

I'm back from our trip to our drought-ridden outback, and after de-dusting the car, have managed to make a working sfs of PaDS-1.1.4 for my 64-bit Pups from your last post information.

I've attached this to this post so you can check the files against your originals. I deleted a .xcf icon that looked unnecessary, and put the 64-bit xo...so.2 lib file in both /usr/lib/ and in /usr/lib64/ as I don't know which is used. I cannot recall any other changes I made but there could be some Embarassed .

From this 'full' sfs, I made an all-links PaDS sfs which also runs for me and will be the one shared to all my 64-bit Pups via a combined sfs of all my applications in link form.

Testing so far:
Using LxPupSc64-18.06+5, and putting the sfs files to combine in the working directory, I have made combined sfs of three 64-bit large browser sfs files.
I had to choose the 'All files' option, not the default "." option during adding the sfs files.
I ignore the PaDS second stage menu/desktop file editing as there are too many already in my sfs files being combined.

Next testing will be:
Make an all-in-one 64-bit sfs from about thirty sfs of my individual apps; this is what I do in 32-bit Pups with MU's SFS-Combiner that is incompatible in 64-bit Pups.

Thanks again for your efforts and help with this,

David S.

Post-script:
"Next testing" done, with a PaDS-combined sfs file (from about 30 original sfs files) now running my apps in this 64Xenial75 Pup.
No missing name text in any desktop file so right-click menus are all good.
Am adding 64PaDS114-links.sfs to my combined all-links-apps sfs file for each 64Pup group.
64PaDS114a.sfs.gz
Description  remove the trumped-up .gz and I hope you'll have a 'normal' 64-bit sfs to try out (not my all-links version)
gz

 Download 
Filename  64PaDS114a.sfs.gz 
Filesize  80 KB 
Downloaded  24 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [59 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0927s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0175s) ][ GZIP on ]