Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 18 Sep 2019, 20:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPuppy Beta 33
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 59 of 63 [935 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63 Next
Author Message
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2073

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2019, 03:23    Post subject:  

darry19662018 wrote:
Sigh in this distro there is no way to stop polkit so seem to be stuck with this problem may have to find another window manager.


I found a way to get rid of this error message. In /ect/xdg/autostart:
rename:
Code:

lxpolkit.desktop

to
Code:

lxpolkit.desktop-back


in $HOME/.config/lxsession/LXDE/desktop.conf
change:
Code:

polkit/command=lxpolkit

to
Code:

polkit/command=none


The last change was a complete guess so I don't know if it will cause any problems. It did get rid of the GDBus message at startup though Smile

P.S. I did read that you can replace lxpolkit with policykit-1-gnome. However, to do this we would need to compile policykit-1-gnome. The disadvantage of this is that policykit-1-gnome has more dependencies. The advantage though is that policykit-1-gnome is probably less buggy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
darry19662018

Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 618
Location: Rakaia

PostPosted: Sat 27 Apr 2019, 03:49    Post subject:  

Thanks mate working so far will report back any problems.
_________________
Puppy Linux Wiki: http://wikka.puppylinux.com/HomePage

https://freemedia.neocities.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1187
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2019, 07:35    Post subject:  

TazPuppy Beta 26 released

Changes:
* Build from recent slitaz release
* Improve boot process and initrd
* Now supports debian, red hat, slackware, and arch linux packages natively

Download: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1wjMr1uMfagXL_Nk-_xuz2KvbinNXs9Ok

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lEm0n6x5SqTM6PGbfXosXKiUYrbdACSr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2019, 20:18    Post subject:  

Hello.
I have installed beta 26.

One thing I have noticed is that, when I click a desktop icon, for example, "home" icon, I am asked whether to execute the application or not.
(I have logged in as root.)

Such a thing did not happen before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1187
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 01:07    Post subject:  

@thinkpadfreak this will fix the problem

1. Go to PCManFM
2. Click Edit preferences
3. Tick "Don't ask option to launch executable file"
4. Click OK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3987
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 02:26    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@thinkpadfreak this will fix the problem

1. Go to PCManFM
2. Click Edit preferences
3. Tick "Don't ask option to launch executable file"
4. Click OK

Sadly, this is a "feature" of pcmanfm since version 1.3.... and if you tick that option it affects not only .desktop files but also scripts....... which is unfortunate.

There is a workaround whereby you put the .desktop file in a subdirectory of /usr/share/applications with NoDisplay=true set and then make a 2nd Type=Link .desktop file where you want it to be. Rather messy.

e.g.
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Link
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Web Check
URL=/usr/share/applications/cloud/webcheck.desktop
Icon=secondlife_icon

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 08:39    Post subject:  

Hi, mistfire and peebee.

Thank you both for the advice / information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1187
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 29 Apr 2019, 10:07    Post subject:  

TazPuppy Beta 27 released

Changes:
* "Don't ask option to launch executable file" setting in PCManFM is now enabled by default in order to handle desktop files
* Improved rc.update script

Download: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Hj49z6MWxioO4FEx9AFHpLzL3kyt-BpZ
MD5 Checksum: d2c7381aa939e4c0a89e938b77ff56c6

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/19C3JQEWhl2S59iwlzcYQjz6lHfY4DiZg/view?usp=sharing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1187
Location: PH

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2019, 07:56    Post subject:  

About gdbus error, the latest build of slitaz has a bug. lxpolkit requires consolekit. I posted this bug on slitaz forum. I hope they will fix it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1187
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2019, 22:03    Post subject:  

TazPuppy Beta 28 released

* Bugfix on gdbus occuring from later slitaz rolling releases
* Improved underdog


Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1A2hM3s9WGIk8Mzi640yOe-GAGtcx-3gc/view?usp=sharing
MD5 Checksum: 7a4dc63969ed15e1b4787a9c079d2810

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Wc0PRgOLZSjkp94b9uUnePz6OYrkceOz/view?usp=sharing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2019, 09:49    Post subject:  

Hello.
I have installed beta 28.

This time I have noticed that "lxappearance" does not seem to function.
Preview is OK, but the settings are not actually applied.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2073

PostPosted: Fri 10 May 2019, 02:47    Post subject:  

I'm not sure if there is an actual "install" scripts for sfs files. By install, I don't mean copy it into the save file, instead I mean run all the post install scripts.

I was looking at the make-devx script. All the receipts are copied to their normal place. Once the sfs is mounted at some layer (top or bottom?), one could loop through all the files within the sfs located at /var/lib/tazpkg/installed, and run each post install script. The post install script is located in the receipt. Path:
Code:

/var/lib/tazpkg/installed/$PACKAGE/receipt


Here is an example of a receipt with a post install script (from TazPup64):
Code:

# SliTaz package receipt v2.

PACKED_SIZE="288.0K"
UNPACKED_SIZE="888.0K"
PACKAGE="bash"
VERSION="4.4.p23"
CATEGORY="shells"
SHORT_DESC="The GNU bourne shell"
MAINTAINER="pankso@slitaz.org"
LICENSE="GPL3"
WEB_SITE="https://www.gnu.org/software/bash/"
TAGS="LFS shell"
DEPENDS="ncurses readline"
pre_remove() {
   echo
   echo 'Setting /bin/sh as default shell for all users'
   sed -i 's|:/bin/bash$|:/bin/sh|' "$1/etc/passwd"
   [ -f "$1/etc/skel/.bashrc" ] && rm "$1/etc/skel/.bashrc"
}
post_install() {
   mkdir -p "$1/etc/skel"; cp -a "$1/etc/bashrc" "$1/etc/skel/.bashrc"

   # Exit function in non-interactive mode (when user can't answer question)
   ! tty -s && return

   echo -n 'Do you want to set /bin/bash to default (y/N) ? : '
   read -t 30 answer
   [ "$answer" != 'y' ] && return

   echo
   echo 'Setting /bin/bash as default shell for all users'
   sed -i 's|:/bin/[ckz]*sh$|:/bin/bash|' "$1/etc/passwd"

   echo 'Creating ~/.bashrc file for all users'
   for i in $(awk -F: '$7=="/bin/bash"{print $6}' "$1/etc/passwd"); do
      [ -e "$1$i/.bashrc" ] && continue
      cp "$1/etc/bashrc" "$1$i/.bashrc"
      chown $(stat -c%U:%G "$1$i") "$1$i/.bashrc"
   done
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1187
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 13 May 2019, 15:32    Post subject:  

@s243a you can use the make sfs module utility for building devx if you want such feature. The devx package list was in /usr/share/devx.txt

I need some help me right now. Next TazPuppy was too close for release however I cant release it immediately because of only one problem. The dialog command of slitaz does not render properly. Here is something weird. If you boot a normal slitaz, dialog works correctly but it if you extract the slita rootfs and repack it as sfs. The dialog does not properly rendered.

To recreate this problem. Extract the slitaz rootfs in a folder after the extraction, type this command on terminal
Code:
chroot [extracted slitaz rootfs folder] slitaz-config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2073

PostPosted: Mon 13 May 2019, 15:55    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@s243a you can use the make sfs module utility for building devx if you want such feature. The devx package list was in /usr/share/devx.txt

I may do this. At this point it is only an idea of something that might be benificial.

Regarding devx.txt, I already modified this file in TazPup64. See post:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1027733#1027733

the modifications might not be relevant to the official Tazpup.

Quote:
I need some help me right now. Next TazPuppy was too close for release however I cant release it immediately because of only one problem. The dialog command of slitaz does not render properly. Here is something weird. If you boot a normal slitaz, dialog works correctly but it if you extract the slita rootfs and repack it as sfs. The dialog does not properly rendered.

To recreate this problem. Extract the slitaz rootfs in a folder after the extraction, type this command on terminal
Code:
chroot [extracted slitaz rootfs folder] slitaz-config


Can you provide more details? On TazPup64 I did have an issue with tazbox. The fix was as follows:
Code:

tazpkg get-install yad-html --forced

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1026801#1026801

What I think that the above command did was replace yad-gtk with yad-html.

_________________
Find me on minds and on pearltrees.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1187
Location: PH

PostPosted: Mon 13 May 2019, 19:26    Post subject:  

@s243a there is no problem on tazbox. dialog command which is used to display dialog on command terminal is the problem. The dialog box was not properly rendered on terminal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 59 of 63 [935 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0715s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0154s) ][ GZIP on ]