Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 15 Dec 2018, 07:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
TazPuppy Beta 12
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 47 of 49 [735 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47, 48, 49 Next
Author Message
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 09:51    Post subject:  

Auto-configuration of sound cards seems to have worked for my machine.

At first boot, sound was not activated. But at second boot (with a save file), a speaker icon appeared and now sound is active.

However, I do not insist on auto-configuration. I am accustomed to creating the file /etc/modprobe.d/sound.conf, because I have created the file for other puppies, too. I think sound configuration of beta 6 was fairly satisfactory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: PH

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 10:51    Post subject:  

@thinkpadfreak I implemented autoconfig because of my experiences of using puppy across different computers with save file loaded. It will only trigger when tazpuppy detects changes on hardware setup such as changing video cards or display monitors when the computer booting up. This makes TazPuppy a truly portable OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 492
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 16:52    Post subject:  

Terry H wrote:
mistfire wrote:
TazPuppy Beta 7 released

Changes:
* Autoconfig now works on display monitors
* Improvements for autoconfiguration of sound
* Some fixes on tazbox
* apulse is now added


I am unable to set up sound on beta 7, even thought this has the soundcards.conf, which matches the sound.conf previously provided by thinkpadfreak. I still can not get PCH to be used for sound.

With beta 6, as soon as I included the sound.conf, sound worked straight away. That is not happening with beta 7, for some reason.



I just booted to this beta 7 installation again. As mentioned in previous post, I had no sound when using beta 7. This time, the sound was working immediately on boot without any intervention. I have rebooted to confirm. Strange!

So I beleive the setup you had implemented in beta 7 is good.


Edit: I didn't see thinkpadfreak's post above, regarding sound configuration. I have no issue with having to manually include the modprobe script myself also, if that is consiered the best solution.

Last edited by Terry H on Thu 08 Nov 2018, 17:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 2799
Location: South Australia :-(

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 16:57    Post subject:  

@mistfire, I haven't had a look at TazPuppy for some time and I must say I'm very impressed. It really has that puppy feel about it.

I did notice a couple of things that possibly need attention.

All the below were tested in Qemu.

When selecting Menu > Desktop > Time.is then clicking on a city it drives the processor to the max.

Internet > TazWeb Browser produces "Error opening file: No such file or directory"

Internet > Midori produces error, see attached image tazpuppy.jpg.

There is a lot of duplication in the menus.
tazpuppy.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   71.01 KB
 Viewed   508 Time(s)

tazpuppy.jpg


_________________
Software <-> Distros <-> Tips <-> Newsletters
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 492
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 17:11    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@Terry H I think we need to get deeper to determine the soundcard problem. I was thinking, what if I bring back barry's alsa soundcard which can be found on Puppy 4.X which allows to configure soundcard manually


As per my previous post, sound is OK now.

Quote:

About RTSX kernel module i recompiled now the kernel and it is now builitin (I will to release the fix pretty soon). My customized kernel has the following builtin kernel modules:
* IDE and SATA drivers
* Keyboard and Mouse drivers
* USB and Firewire drivers
* MMC, NVME, PCMCIA, and MEMSTICK drivers
* VESA and FB drivers


Wow, rcompiled kernel already. That is fantastic service. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: PH

PostPosted: Thu 08 Nov 2018, 20:08    Post subject:  

@Terry H glad to hear that sound on your computer works

@smokey01 I made a boot test on beta 7 in pristine state on virtualbox. All it works fine. I think the issue lies on your virtualization. Try to boot it on real hardware or other virtualization software.
About the menus. The menu file contains at lot of possible category names. If the desktop file in /usr/share/applications has multiple categories then it will appear on different categories on the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1118

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 16:03    Post subject:  

@smokey01 and mistfire, I tried Smokey01's test on Qemu running on Fatdog64. I can't confirm that TazBrowser and Midori can't open a local help file - for me both browsers showed the local help page. However, I can confirm the time.is issue, the site opened and showed the time, but the CPU shot up to 100%. Then I tested browsing various sites with Midori. Word lookup on the Merriam-Webster dictionary site locked the CPU at 100%. The VM is configured with 1 processor and 2GB RAM.
_________________
Fatdog64-800|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: PH

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 21:24    Post subject:  

TazPuppy Beta 8 released

Changes:
* Completely modular approach (kernel modules now resides in zdrv and firmware modules in fdrv for very convenient swapping kernel and its modules without repacking the main sfs file)
* RTSX kernel module now builtin to kernel.
* Some fine adjustment to the kernel.

NOTE: To swap kernel just replace vmlinuz of other puppies and put its zdrv file but rename it as zdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_miyPEV6fpKpRjNrmef0CncgIqPMhVwP/view?usp=sharing
MD5 Checksum: 4b2d27a62cb415854e88675ad5cd84eb

Build kit: https://drive.google.com/file/d/180wodlrfwMppNN2W-S0Hn4EpamRd5I2X/view?usp=sharing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: PH

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 22:19    Post subject:  

@step I think the webkit engine was the responsible for 100% cpu usage. I wonder if there is an update in the slitaz repo for webkit
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 492
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Nov 2018, 23:03    Post subject:  

New clean frugal install on Dell laptop Core i3-5005U.

The fdrv you use appears very old. I have Intel 7265 wifi card. It's not even catered for in fdrv, the iwlwifi firmware ends at iwlwifi-7260-7.ucode, this is from March 2014. There is no firmware for 7265 or later. I only load the fdrv to test. I normally don't load the fdrv, as I keep my own firmware and load it manually.

The firmware to cover the realtek nic is also not included in this fdrv, it stops at rtl8168g-3.fw which is also from 2014.

Code:

sh-4.4$ dmesg|grep firm
Spectre V2 : Enabling Restricted Speculation for firmware calls
platform regulatory.0: Direct firmware load for regulatory.db failed with error -2
iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: loaded firmware version 29.610311.0 op_mode iwlmvm
r8169 0000:03:00.0: Direct firmware load for rtl_nic/rtl8168h-2.fw failed with error -2
r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: unable to load firmware patch rtl_nic/rtl8168h-2.fw (-2)
sh-4.4$


The sound was auto config on reboot without any intervention. That's great.

The rtsx_pci is good now. SD Card reader working.


This is another good step forward. System running very well. Thanks once again.


Note: time.is running in tazweb uses about 25% CPU. Even running from midori, was using about 10% CPU.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2018, 01:47    Post subject:  

@Terry H since Tazpuppy is now fully modular you can use the fdrv file of other puppies if you hardware does not support with the shipped fdrv on tazpuppy. To load it on boot automatically, rename the fdrv file as fdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2018, 09:07    Post subject:  

I am experiencing a strange error at boot.

It is a frugal install onto a hard drive (ntfs). I tried various types of tazpupsave (ext2/3/4), but all resulted in the same error.

I am loading an extra sfs (firefox) which I made myself. I've used the sfs with recent releases of tazpuppy without any problem.

I attach the screenshot.

Edit
I booted another Puppy and moved the sfs to another drive. Tazpuppy booted successfully. I am adding this line with Midori. Confused
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   176.5 KB
 Viewed   297 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 492
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sat 10 Nov 2018, 11:17    Post subject:  

mistfire wrote:
@Terry H since Tazpuppy is now fully modular you can use the fdrv file of other puppies if you hardware does not support with the shipped fdrv on tazpuppy. To load it on boot automatically, rename the fdrv file as fdrv_tazpup_5.0.sfs


I'm not sure you followed my intent with the fdrv details I posted. I don't use an fdrv in any puppy, I am aware of how to rename and load an *drv sfs. I only loaded your fdrv to test it.

With such an old fdrv you will get many people reporting wifi and ethenet nic connection failures. It would be advisable to use a more up to date version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
thinkpadfreak

Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2018, 02:15    Post subject:  

I noticed fdrv is listed in sfs_load. It is my understanding that fdrv is not counted as an extra sfs.

I wonder if this is related to the failure to boot when an extra sfs is to be loaded.
sfs_load.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31 KB
 Viewed   183 Time(s)

sfs_load.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: PH

PostPosted: Sun 11 Nov 2018, 11:03    Post subject:  

@thinkpadfreak beta 8 was kernel related update, the main sfs and init was untouched.

The kernel modules is now on zdrv, the zdrv on beta 7 is contains only firmware driver. When I decided to make modular the former zdrv was now renamed as fdrv. By the way i will try to investigate also the fdrv in sfs_load. But based on your screenshot, it is likely the culprit because the filename contains whitespaces

Also the kernel was recompiled and it has some tweaks. I cannot no longer push beyond 4.17.6 because it cannot compiled by my host puppy X-Slacko Slim. So I will resort to the latest 4.9.x backport, If the linux kernel source code has builitin aufs that will be no problem.

Can you help me to find the download link for linux kernel source code 4.9.136 with aufs patched?

@Terry H thanks for your advise however expect the increase of file size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 47 of 49 [735 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47, 48, 49 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0985s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0425s) ][ GZIP on ]