TazPuppy 5.0 rc2

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#526 Post by Terry H »

s243a wrote:Are there any tools to make the screen brighter? On a laptop I have, i can't see any button to make the screen brighter on the keyboard.
On my Dell laptop, the F11 & F12 keys do work for brightness.

thinkpadfreak
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon 17 Oct 2016, 05:11

#527 Post by thinkpadfreak »

s243a wrote:
> I only tried save folders both on USB and hard drive. However, you can try saving with either:
> Code:
> ash -x /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy
> or
> Code:
> bash -x /usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy

Thank you for responding.

Both the commands you suggested appear to have been executed normally.
Actually, the lines are too many, and I cannot see all the lines.

But I see the message:
tail: cannon open '+2' for reading: No such file or directory
at shutdown.

I placed a script in /etc/profile.d, which goes like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
cd /sys/devices/platform/i8042/serio4/serio5
echo -n 120 > speed
echo -n 240 > sensitivity

cd /root
echo 2 > /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness
This script is for setting the sensitivity of the mouse and the brightness of the display. The script disappears on reboot, and takes no effect.

When TazPup is installed to a hard drive (frugal install with a save file), the script does not disappear, and those values are set as expected.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#528 Post by s243a »



thinkpadfreak
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon 17 Oct 2016, 05:11

#529 Post by thinkpadfreak »

s243a wrote:
> I think that "tail +2" isn't as universal, and that "tail -n +2" should be used for greater compatibility.

I opened snapmergepuppy and replaced "tail +2" with "tail -n +2".

This seems to have fixed the problem.

I no longer see the message at shutdown:
tail: cannon open '+2' for reading: No such file or directory

After reboot, there remain the changes I made in the previous session. Thank you.

wiak
Posts: 2040
Joined: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 05:12
Location: not Bulgaria

#530 Post by wiak »

thinkpadfreak wrote:s243a wrote:
> I think that "tail +2" isn't as universal, and that "tail -n +2" should be used for greater compatibility.
tail +N is an old syntax, but busybox tail still supports it; and I thought Slitaz included busybox and snapmergepuppy calls 'busybox tail +2', which should work, unless someone has removed the reference to busybox, which is the mistake really.

But if not using busybox tail, then, yes, tail -n +N would work with any current version of tail (including that in busybox as it happens).

Main thing I'd suggest is that if you have busybox on your system and your script has been written to use busybox then don't change the script or you may well end up with these odd effects, and not only for tail command.

wiak

thinkpadfreak
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon 17 Oct 2016, 05:11

#531 Post by thinkpadfreak »

s243a wrote:
> Try this:
> Code:
> grep -rn '/etc' -e 'tail +2'

Apparently, nothing happens. The command is just executed.


wiak wrote:
> Main thing I'd suggest is that if you have busybox on your system and your script has been written to use busybox then don't change the script or you may well end up with these odd effects, and not only for tail command.

Thank you for advice.
So, the fix would be to have "busybox tail +2" instead of "tail -n +2", wouldn't it?

I tried this, and then I didn't see that "cannot open" error message.

Anyway, I think some fix will have to be made to Alpha 14.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#532 Post by mistfire »

Tazpup alpha 15 released

* Puppy installer now fully functional
* Init script for full install fixed
* Fix regression on snapmergepuppy for save session
* More fixes


Download:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FjH88y ... sp=sharing

Build kit now available
https://drive.google.com/file/d/10kef01 ... sp=sharing

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#533 Post by mistfire »

This is the experimental TazWoof. This will build TazPup entirely from Slitaz Packages. The missing part was compiling kernel for TazPup (I put a blank function to place that routine) also make live cd was disabled.

I hope someone will complete this build system.

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VyhLlf ... sp=sharing

User avatar
ally
Posts: 1957
Joined: Sat 19 May 2012, 19:29
Location: lincoln, uk
Contact:

#534 Post by ally »

I've tried running the tazwoof script, failed to squash with 'cannot stat source directory "rootfs" No such file or directory

not clever enough to go any further

:)

ps - can you add a -nc to wget so it doesn't download local files again
Attachments
tazwoof.png
(94.8 KiB) Downloaded 92 times

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#535 Post by greengeek »

thinkpadfreak wrote:I placed a script in /etc/profile.d, which goes like this:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
cd /sys/devices/platform/i8042/serio4/serio5
echo -n 120 > speed
echo -n 240 > sensitivity

cd /root
echo 2 > /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness
This script is for setting the sensitivity of the mouse and the brightness of the display. The script disappears on reboot, and takes no effect.
I am interested in your method of trying to set mouse parameters. I have not seen mouse adjustment done like that before - although your method of setting video brightness is the same one I use.

On some of my machines the touchpad does not get detected as a synaptics or alps device - it just gets detected as "mouse" and as a result "touch-to-click" remains permanently activated.

Just wondered if you think your method of mouse adjustement might have some ability to switch off the tap-to-click?

How did you determine that "platform/i8042/serio4/serio5" was relative to your mouse??

cheers!

wiak
Posts: 2040
Joined: Tue 11 Dec 2007, 05:12
Location: not Bulgaria

#536 Post by wiak »

thinkpadfreak wrote: wiak wrote:
> Main thing I'd suggest is that if you have busybox on your system and your script has been written to use busybox then don't change the script or you may well end up with these odd effects, and not only for tail command.

Thank you for advice.
So, the fix would be to have "busybox tail +2" instead of "tail -n +2", wouldn't it?

I tried this, and then I didn't see that "cannot open" error message.

Anyway, I think some fix will have to be made to Alpha 14.
No, though busybox tail +2 likely works, I was really meaning to avoid removing references to busybox in Slitaz scripts (so, for example, tail +2 alone doesn't work). However, better is 'busybox tail -n +2' (which also should work fine), I feel, since the other syntax (without the -n) appears to be deprecated generally. However, if no change to be made, 'busybox tail +2' should also be fine (just make sure to use busybox version as script so designed for).

wiak

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#537 Post by s243a »

mistfire wrote:This is the experimental TazWoof. This will build TazPup entirely from Slitaz Packages. The missing part was compiling kernel for TazPup (I put a blank function to place that routine) also make live cd was disabled.

I hope someone will complete this build system.

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VyhLlf ... sp=sharing
I tried thetazwoof-devx.sh script and it failed with a " 502 Proxy Error". Maybe run wget as a subprocess, check the exit status and keep track of which items failed. Then show people which items failed to download and ask them if they want to continue building devx.

Code: Select all

bash -x tazwoof-devx.sh
...
+ '[' 0 -ne 0 ']'
+ for pkg in '$(cat $curdir/temp-devx/download-devx-packages.txt)'
+ download_pkgs libmediainfo-dev
+ pkgs=libmediainfo-dev
++ echo '^libmediainfo-dev-[0-9]'
++ sed -e 's#\+#\\+#g'
+ PTRN='^libmediainfo-dev-[0-9]'
++ cat /mnt/sdc6/TazPup/tazwoof-test/tazwoof/slitaz-devx/packages.list
++ grep -E '^libmediainfo-dev-[0-9]'
+ pkgname=libmediainfo-dev-0.7.79
+ '[' libmediainfo-dev-0.7.79 '!=' '' ']'
+ wget --timeout=10 http://mirror1.slitaz.org/packages/cooking/libmediainfo-dev-0.7.79.tazpkg -O /mnt/sdc6/TazPup/tazwoof-test/tazwoof/slitaz-devx/libmediainfo-dev-0.7.79.tazpkg
--2018-06-19 17:55:05--  http://mirror1.slitaz.org/packages/cooking/libmediainfo-dev-0.7.79.tazpkg
Resolving mirror1.slitaz.org (mirror1.slitaz.org)... 188.165.229.172
Connecting to mirror1.slitaz.org (mirror1.slitaz.org)|188.165.229.172|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 502 Proxy Error
2018-06-19 17:55:06 ERROR 502: Proxy Error.

+ '[' 8 -ne 0 ']'
+ echo 'Downloading package failed: libmediainfo-dev-0.7.79'
Downloading package failed: libmediainfo-dev-0.7.79
+ exit
Edit: I suggest something link this

Now lines 19 to 25 of tazwoof-devx.sh in the function download_pkgs()

Code: Select all

		if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
		echo "Downloading package failed: $pkgname"
		#exit
		    echo "$pkgname.tazpkg" >> "$curdir/slitaz-devx/packages.list.fail"
		else
		    echo "$pkgname.tazpkg" >> "$curdir/slitaz-devx/packages.list.success"		
		fi

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#538 Post by mistfire »

Thanks @ally and @s243a for the comment. I will make some modifications on tazwoof

Take note: You can adjust brightness of laptop monitor in tazpanel. It was located at Hardware > Disks

Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#539 Post by Terry H »

Running alpha 15, all is running well now. Updated with Package Manager and also installed DeadBeef. Running Palemoon manually installed in /opt.

Shutdown / Reboot functioning well.

All is working excellent with latest release. Great work mistfire. Thank you.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#540 Post by s243a »

mistfire wrote:Thanks @ally and @s243a for the comment. I will make some modifications on tazwoof
Excellent :) The other thing I would consider is the addition is a NO_CLEAN option or environmental variable because on might run the script then decide later that they want to add a package. They shouldn't have to download all the packages again. Actually even if they reduce the number of packages they shouldn't have to download all the packages again.

Terry H
Posts: 708
Joined: Sun 29 Mar 2009, 16:48
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

#541 Post by Terry H »

Just one thing has come up which has changed rom the last version I was using. On version 12 the screen brightness Function keys worked (which was probably surprising), on version 15 they no longer work. This is only a report for functionality which was working in an earlier version, which no longer is functioning.

I am able to control the backlight from the command line. For intel processor:

Code: Select all

root@TazPup:/home/tux# echo [1 - 937] > /sys/class/backlight//intel_backlight/brightness
N.B. If you "echo 0' it will turn the baclight off completely and you will have a black screen

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#542 Post by mistfire »

@Terry H this might be a kernel issue. Try to use other kernel version to see if my deductions is correct. If it is a kernel then we need to try linux 4.17.2 kernel

I hope that hotkey issue is fixed also that kernel version can provide more battery life on laptops.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#543 Post by s243a »

Terry H wrote:Just one thing has come up which has changed rom the last version I was using. On version 12 the screen brightness Function keys worked (which was probably surprising), on version 15 they no longer work. This is only a report for functionality which was working in an earlier version, which no longer is functioning.

I am able to control the backlight from the command line. For intel processor:

Code: Select all

root@TazPup:/home/tux# echo [1 - 937] > /sys/class/backlight//intel_backlight/brightness
N.B. If you "echo 0' it will turn the baclight off completely and you will have a black screen
This is a long short but did you try the "auto install xorg video drivers"? It's located in TazPanel->Hardware->Summary

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#544 Post by s243a »

ally wrote:I've tried running the tazwoof script, failed to squash with 'cannot stat source directory "rootfs" No such file or directory

not clever enough to go any further

:)

ps - can you add a -nc to wget so it doesn't download local files again
I got a simillar error on the tazwoof-devx.sh

Code: Select all

bash -x tazwoof-devx.sh
...
+ mksquashfs rootfs devx_tazpup.sfs -comp xz -Xbcj x86 -b 1M -Xdict-size 100%
Cannot stat source directory "rootfs" because No such file or directory
For my case, I think we need to replace:

------

Code: Select all

make_sfs(){
  mksquashfs "rootfs" "devx_tazpup.sfs" -comp xz -Xbcj x86 -b 1M -Xdict-size 100%	
}
with

Code: Select all

make_sfs(){
  mksquashfs "$curdir/devx-rootfs/" "devx_tazpup.sfs" -comp xz -Xbcj x86 -b 1M -Xdict-size 100%	
}
----------

For your case I think wee need to replace:

Code: Select all

make_sfs(){
. $curdir/patches/etc/DISTRO_SPECS	
mksquashfs "rootfs" "$DISTRO_PUPPYSFS" -comp xz -Xbcj x86 -b 1M -Xdict-size 100%

mv -f $curdir/$DISTRO_PUPPYSFS $curdir/preiso/
	
}
with

Code: Select all

make_sfs(){
. $curdir/patches/etc/DISTRO_SPECS	
mksquashfs "$curdir/rootfs" "$DISTRO_PUPPYSFS" -comp xz -Xbcj x86 -b 1M -Xdict-size 100%

mv -f $curdir/$DISTRO_PUPPYSFS $curdir/preiso/
	
}
but I'm actually surprised that you got this error because the call to this function is commented out on the end of the script that I downloaded. Note also that we need to make another sfs for the kernal modules.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#545 Post by s243a »

mistfire wrote:This is the experimental TazWoof. This will build TazPup entirely from Slitaz Packages. The missing part was compiling kernel for TazPup (I put a blank function to place that routine) also make live cd was disabled.

I hope someone will complete this build system.

Download: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1VyhLlf ... sp=sharing
I put a slightly modified version of tazwoof-devx.sh at:

https://pastebin.com/Lb81j6mf

Note that technically you should have a license on your script before people start posting modification to it...but I suppose you might want to take the time to figure out what license you want because some licenses can't be changed.

Post Reply