TazPuppy 5.0 rc2

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#271 Post by mistfire »

On my latest experiment underdog gui script is now working. modem initialization from puppy is added. ISO, build kit, and delta file will be release pretty soon.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#272 Post by mistfire »

I wonder if remaster tool in tazpup worked? Did someone tested it?

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#273 Post by s243a »

don570 wrote:I am checking devx from precise puppy 5.7.1
with alpha7
http://distro.ibiblio.org/quirky/precis ... _5.7.1.sfs

Report: perl language seems to work....
terminal output....

Code: Select all

slitaz:~# perl -v
perl: warning: Setting locale failed.
perl: warning: Please check that your locale settings:
        LANGUAGE = (unset),
        LC_ALL = (unset),
        LANG = "en_US"
    are supported and installed on your system.
perl: warning: Falling back to the standard locale ("C").

This is perl 5, version 14, subversion 2 (v5.14.2) built for i686-linux-gnu-thread-multi-64int
(with 56 registered patches, see perl -V for more detail)

Copyright 1987-2011, Larry Wall

Perl may be copied only under the terms of either the Artistic License or the
GNU General Public License, which may be found in the Perl 5 source kit.

Complete documentation for Perl, including FAQ lists, should be found on
this system using "man perl" or "perldoc perl".  If you have access to the
Internet, point your browser at http://www.perl.org/, the Perl Home Page.

_________________________________________________

python won't work, but it's not needed....

Code: Select all


# python -v
python: /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.1.0.0: no version information available (required by python)
python: /lib/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.15' not found (required by python)
python: /usr/lib/libssl.so.1.0.0: no version information available (required by python)
_____________________________________________________


cmake needs some dependencies....

Code: Select all



cmake: error while loading shared libraries: libarchive.so.12: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
root@slitaz:~# which cmake
/usr/bin/cmake
root@slitaz:~# ldd /usr/bin/cmake

/usr/bin/cmake:
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xb7f2c000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb7f23000)
        libz.so.1 => /usr/lib/libz.so.1 (0xb7f10000)
        libarchive.so.12 => not found
        libcurl-gnutls.so.4 => not found
        libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0xb7e48000)
        libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xb7e30000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb7cba000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xb7c9f000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 => /lib/ld-2.14.1.so (0xb7f2d000)
        libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb7c71000)
------------------------------------------

gcc seems to work. I compiled mtpaint a day ago

Code: Select all

root@slitaz:~# ldd /usr/bin/gcc

/usr/bin/gcc:
        linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xb7eed000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb7d73000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.2 => /lib/ld-2.14.1.so (0xb7eee000)


_________________________________________________________

Part of me thinks that we should try the lucid devX but I still want to see if I can build one from scratch.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#274 Post by s243a »

mistfire wrote:@s243a yes it is tazpkg is a command line package manager of slitaz. Can perform also upgrade.
Thankyou :)

I added it to a draft script:

https://pastebin.com/aFvzwU6Y

Code: Select all

while read PKG; do
   [ -f "$PKG" ] || tazpkg get-install "$( basename "$PKG" )"
done <"$TMP/To_Install"

copyPackage(){
    PACKAGE=$1
    if [ -n "$2" ]; then
      aRoot="$2"
    else
      aROOT="$ROOT"
    fi
    if [ -f $PACKAGE ]; then 
      while read line; do
        DIR=$(dirname "$line")
        mkdir -p "$aROOT$DIR"
        cp -a -u "$line" "$aROOT$line"
      done <$PACKAGE/files.list 
    else
      cd $TMP
      PKG_Name="$( basename "$PACKAGE" )"
      tazpkg get $PKG_Name
      tazpkg extract $PKG_Name "$ROOT"
    fi
}
while read PKG; do
  copyPackage "$PKG"
done <"$TMP/For_DevX"
mksquashfs "$ROOT" devX_TazPup_s243a_1.0.sfs -comp xz -Xbcj arm -noappend 
More about this later. The script is very rough at this point and I may need to fork the thread.

It's just a very rough draft and not tested yet. I want to be able to automatically install a list of packages and at the same time generate a devX. I'm using a heredoc to create a text file like structure and options say if I want it installed or only included as part of devX or both and also some items are only flagged for larger installations. Syntax
i - install
d - include in devX
I - install only in a new installation
L_i - install only for large installations
id - install and include in devX
s - this should be included as part of the standard ISO , flag it and verify.
# - do nothing. The file name is only included for future reference
Last edited by s243a on Sat 26 May 2018, 08:18, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#275 Post by fredx181 »

@mistfire, you said already to have plans (I think?) to make /bin/sh symlinked to busybox again, just reporting that the package manager doesn't work properly with sh > bash (as is now on alpha-8 ). It doesn't install required dependencies, only the package selected.
Symlinking sh back to busybox again fixed that for me.

@darry19662018
I have made a new Dogradio 0.0.8 package which has changes in the program. Also the behavior mentioned in previous post seems to be corrected in this version.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/tazpup ... g/download
That's nice, I wouldn't expect this could work in Slitaz. I tested quickly, so not sure if everything works as it should.
Note that conky is a dependency of v0.0.8, without it, dogradio doesn't run.
(should show a message about conky required before exiting by xmessage, but xmessage isn't installed in tazpup, so it exits silently).
Also, the radiosure server is currently down (hopefully temporarily), so "Update Index" won't work (to get the database required for the search option).

Fred

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

#276 Post by s243a »

with regards, to compiling stuff.

Tux doesn't seem to be able to sudo to root.

if you use su, it doesn't keep the environmental variables like LD_LIBRARY_PATH

there is an option to su and end up in the enviornment of root but then you are no longer in the same directory. My solution is to su, and then source /etc/profile

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

#277 Post by darry19662018 »

fredx181 wrote:@mistfire, you said already to have plans (I think?) to make /bin/sh symlinked to busybox again, just reporting that the package manager doesn't work properly with sh > bash (as is now on alpha-8 ). It doesn't install required dependencies, only the package selected.
Symlinking sh back to busybox again fixed that for me.

@darry19662018
I have made a new Dogradio 0.0.8 package which has changes in the program. Also the behavior mentioned in previous post seems to be corrected in this version.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/tazpup ... g/download
That's nice, I wouldn't expect this could work in Slitaz. I tested quickly, so not sure if everything works as it should.
Note that conky is a dependency of v0.0.8, without it, dogradio doesn't run.
(should show a message about conky required before exiting by xmessage, but xmessage isn't installed in tazpup, so it exits silently).
Also, the radiosure server is currently down (hopefully temporarily), so "Update Index" won't work (to get the database required for the search option).

Fred
Yes I noticed in Yradio that updating from radiosure server brings up an error.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#278 Post by fredx181 »

s243a wrote:Tux doesn't seem to be able to sudo to root.
I've investigated that and found that it can be solved by:

- Uncommenting the line in /etc/sudoers : # %sudo ALL=(ALL) ALL, so becomes:

Code: Select all

%sudo	ALL=(ALL) ALL
- Create sudo group and add tux to it, in /etc/group will be something like:

Code: Select all

sudo:x:201:tux
(I changed to 201, was previously 1000 (after addgroup sudo), if I remember well, not sure, maybe it can be any number if not exists already)

Also, in case sudo is activated, I think it would be best to create a password for tux (rather than no password as it is now).

Fred

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

#279 Post by darry19662018 »

Guys I know there is some stuff to be fixed but crikey it is fun playing with this to see what it can do, haven't had this much fun with a distro for ages.:)

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#280 Post by mistfire »

@fredx181 sh was already linked to busybox-pup on next alpha release. Tazpup has 2 busybox. One for slitaz and one for puppy (busybox-pup) because there are some applets in busybox slitaz was missing while busybox of puppy does have and vice-versa.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#281 Post by fredx181 »

mistfire wrote:@fredx181 sh was already linked to busybox-pup on next alpha release. Tazpup has 2 busybox. One for slitaz and one for puppy (busybox-pup) because there are some applets in busybox slitaz was missing while busybox of puppy does have and vice-versa.
OK, and you checked if the package manager does install required dependencies with sh > busybox-pup ?

Fred

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#282 Post by mistfire »

Not yet @fred because I have a very limited bandwidth to do that but you can try it. by symlinking sh to busybox-pup.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#283 Post by fredx181 »

mistfire wrote:Not yet @fred because I have a very limited bandwidth to do that but you can try it. by symlinking sh to busybox-pup.
Ah, didn't notice earlier that busybox-pup was already in /bin
Yes, when linking sh to busybox-pup the package manager works fine checking for and installing dependencies.

Another thing: (but maybe I missed something earlier discussed, in that case, just ignore).
Problems with snapmergepuppy (and therefore changes not saved for me).

Code: Select all

bash-4.3# snapmergepuppy
readlink: invalid option -- 'm'

Command line: readlink -n -m /initrd/pup_ro1 

BusyBox v1.27.2 (2018-03-05 16:01:00 CET) multi-call binary.

Usage: readlink [-fnv] FILE

Display the value of a symlink

	-f	Canonicalize by following all symlinks
	-n	Don't add newline
	-v	Verbose
Merging /initrd/pup_rw onto ...
touch: setting times of '/etc/.wh.mtab': Operation not permitted
df-FULL: cannot read table of mounted file systems: No such file or directory
ash: -gt: argument expected
/usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy: line 205: df: not found
ash: -gt: argument expected
ash: -gt: argument expected
/usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy: line 205: df: not found
ash: -gt: argument expected
ash: -gt: argument expected
/usr/sbin/snapmergepuppy: line 205: df: not found
.......
..... and so on.....
bash-4.3# 
Fred

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#284 Post by mistfire »

@fred it looks like that I will create another symlink of readlink to busybox-pup.

mistfire
Posts: 1411
Joined: Wed 05 Nov 2008, 00:35
Location: PH

#285 Post by mistfire »

OFF TOPIC: This forum was under attacked by spam posts. We need help now.

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#286 Post by don570 »

I noticed that 'gxmessage' is installed, however not 'xmessage'

With many puppies the situation is reversed.

'xmessage ' is installed because it is smaller.
_______________________________________

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

pupmd5sum 1.5

#287 Post by don570 »

I've been studying how to make a right click menu with pcmanfm file manager.

Read this
https://askubuntu.com/questions/936896/ ... e-managers
https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?titl ... PCmanFM-Qt

I made a package to find md5sum of a file .
It works for root user only apparently.

pupmd5sum-tazpup-1.5.tazpkg
Size 11k
see here for download
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 499#993499
_______________________________________________
Last edited by don570 on Sun 27 May 2018, 19:52, edited 1 time in total.

s243a
Posts: 2580
Joined: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 04:48
Contact:

Re: pupmd5sum 1.5

#288 Post by s243a »

don570 wrote:I've been studying how to make a right click menu with pcmanfm file manager.

Read this
https://askubuntu.com/questions/936896/ ... e-managers
https://wiki.manjaro.org/index.php?titl ... PCmanFM-Qt

I made a package to find md5sum of a file .
It works for root user only apparently.

pupmd5sum-tazpup-1.5.tazpkg
Size 11k
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1BqXOn ... DOhRnXJF46
That's okay just su or sudo to root and start pcmannfm from the terminal.

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

Xmessage

#289 Post by darry19662018 »

[quote] I noticed that 'gxmessage' is installed, however not 'xmessage'

With many puppies the situation is reversed.

'xmessage ' is installed because it is smaller.




Here is a copy of xmessage from StretchPup which goes in /usr/local/bin with a shortcut in /usr/bin for anyone who wants it. Rename the .gz

In StretchPup both gxmessage and xmessage are installed.
Attachments
xmessage.gz
(18.12 KiB) Downloaded 100 times

darry19662018
Posts: 721
Joined: Sat 31 Mar 2018, 08:01
Location: Rakaia
Contact:

#290 Post by darry19662018 »

Hi Mistfire,

For next release could xmessage be a default in the install and perhaps Puppy linux firewall with iptables?

Post Reply