Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Oct 2018, 08:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
WHAT? I can't hear....sound won't turn up loud enough
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
Cruissser

Joined: 18 Apr 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 18 Apr 2018, 22:59    Post subject:  WHAT? I can't hear....sound won't turn up loud enough
Subject description: Sound volume is to low
 

I just installed xenial pup 64 7.5 release. I get some sound, but not enough. I have the main sound turned all the way up and the sound control in Youtube turned all the way up, but still not high enough.

I opened ALSA sound checker to try and trouble shoot. Not real sure, but it looks like the right driver is loaded, but just not the volume you should have.

Any ideas???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11137
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 04:11    Post subject:  

Right click on the speaker icon on the desktop tray.
Select full window.
Make sure master is turned up.

To set a item.
Check item to turn on.
Move slider to adjust volume of that item.

Check and adjust anything that seems to be needed for your setup.
capture21256.png
 Description   
 Filesize   24.52 KB
 Viewed   102 Time(s)

capture21256.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5239
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 04:24    Post subject:  

The solution will depend on the particular structure of your soundcard.

There are a variety of things to try.

First try using a terminal to enter the following command:

Code:
amixer sset 'Master' 100%

That will set the Master mixer control to max volume.

Sometimes that is not enough so also try:

Code:
amixer sset 'Speaker' 100%

If that doesn't work then your mixer controls may have different names, so try the following:

Code:
amixer scontrols

That will list the control functions that your soundcard has. We may need to try some other commands or set up a virtual preamp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11137
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 04:25    Post subject:  

Quote:
Not real sure, but it looks like the right driver is loaded

You got some sound, so it probably is using the correct sound device.

But to check and make sure it is using the correct device.

menu>Setup>AlSA Sound Wizard>Multiple Cards
Usually card 0 is the correct one.
That is usually the main audio device.

Could list other devices that provide some type of audio, but those you usually do not want to use.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1841
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 05:01    Post subject:  

Quote:
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "softvol"
}

pcm.softvol {
type softvol
slave {
pcm "dmix"
}
control {
name "Pre-Amp"
card 0
}
min_dB -5.0
max_dB 20.0
resolution 6
}

Afterwards, save this script, name it asound.conf , and place it inside the etc directory (click on the File icon on desktop and look for etc folder). Next, re-start the Alsa sound wizard (Menu -> Setup -> Alsa sound Wizard) and follow instructions. Finally, to see the new pre-amp, open Alsamixer (Menu -> Multimedia -> Alsamixer audio mixer). And to control it, use the right arrow key on your keyboard and, once on the pre-amp, use the up or down arrow keys to change values.


can take a couple of reboots to appear in my experience

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Cruissser

Joined: 18 Apr 2018
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 09:40    Post subject:  

ally wrote:
Quote:
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "softvol"
}

pcm.softvol {
type softvol
slave {
pcm "dmix"
}
control {
name "Pre-Amp"
card 0
}
min_dB -5.0
max_dB 20.0
resolution 6
}

Afterwards, save this script, name it asound.conf , and place it inside the etc directory (click on the File icon on desktop and look for etc folder). Next, re-start the Alsa sound wizard (Menu -> Setup -> Alsa sound Wizard) and follow instructions. Finally, to see the new pre-amp, open Alsamixer (Menu -> Multimedia -> Alsamixer audio mixer). And to control it, use the right arrow key on your keyboard and, once on the pre-amp, use the up or down arrow keys to change values.


can take a couple of reboots to appear in my experience

Smile


Thanks alley and all who have commented. I tried everything suggested, but with no luck.

I copy and pasted exactly what you have alley, renamed and placed in the etc directory, rebooted but no success. I cannot find Alsamixer under multimedia .....only "Mixer generic sound mixer"

should the command all be on one line? for example:

pcm.softvol {type softvol slave {pcm "dmix"}

Thanks for the help! Lots to learn on this end......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1841
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 19 Apr 2018, 11:19    Post subject:  

you need to right click the speaker icon for the mixer

again, last time I did this it didn't appear straight away

script as you see it

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0620s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0097s) ][ GZIP on ]