Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 10 Dec 2018, 14:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
*EASY* CUPS printer installation dotpup for Puppy 1.xx/2.xx
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 779

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2006, 09:16    Post subject: CUPS Software Pup  

per the announcement in Barry's newsblog, I decided to download the CUPs Software package.

I have a parallel HP672C printer.

I was able to access the CUPs interface in the web browser and followed the steps indicated.

But no printing results from either the browser or from Abiword as a test.

I have the Cups printer in the interface, but no action.

Any suggestions appreciated. I am using Puppy Linux 2.0

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2006, 09:33    Post subject:  

ndujoe1, what did you use for 'Device URI' in the CUPS web interface?

Also, if you look at the 'Printer State:' for your printer in the CUPS web interface, does it say 'idle, accepting jobs' ?

_________________
Puppy unofficial tester (off and on) since v0.9.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 779

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2006, 09:44    Post subject: CUBs help  

it states :

Printer State : idle acceptiing jobs
Device URL:parallel:/dev/lp0

After I selected Print TEst page the completed job listing said :

HP672C-1 Test page 15k aborted

When I clicked Resend JOb it reproted : client-error-not possible.

-------

How does one bring up the Cups web printer manager interface after it is loaded. Do you need to reinstall the software each time ?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2006, 10:06    Post subject:  

Strange... as far as I can see, your printer is set up right. It isn't something simple like a badly-connected cable or such is it ? Does it work with Windows or another OS (Knoppix live-CD, etc) ?

The URL to the CUPS web interface is: http://localhost:631/

_________________
Puppy unofficial tester (off and on) since v0.9.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 779

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2006, 10:09    Post subject: Cups Update  

I have used the PDQ system with it fine. I was just trying out the CUPS system that you put together to see if it did things better or more effeciently.

I have a Lexmark X83 which I though the Cups software would have a greater chance of supporting in the future.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 779

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2006, 10:11    Post subject: Cups update - 2  

on the PDQ side of the ledger is uses a ijs-pci-601 driver and also has the parallel port identified as /dev/lp0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 24 Oct 2006, 10:41    Post subject: Re: Cups Update  

ndujoe1 wrote:
I have a Lexmark X83 which I though the Cups software would have a greater chance of supporting in the future.

ndujoe1, the new experimental CUPS-install dotpup I'm playing with now installs the new gutenprint tarball instead of the older gimp-print one. It has a lot more printer drivers including eight from Lexmark. Unfortunately, it does not have the X83 listed.

_________________
Puppy unofficial tester (off and on) since v0.9.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Germanpup


Joined: 21 May 2005
Posts: 45
Location: Germany, in front of my puppypc

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2006, 13:29    Post subject:  

thank you very much, now my puppy prints!
Here's my ppd-file for brother hl2040 if anyone cares. rename to brother.ppd, copy to /root and run CUPS as described.
brother.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  brother.jpg 
Filesize  12 KB 
Downloaded  2155 Time(s) 

_________________
www.weiss-lampertheim.de
built and maintained with Puppy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6266
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Oct 2006, 22:12    Post subject:  

Renaming as .jpg appears to be a no no. It tries to display it, fails, and doesn't let anyone download. I'm assuming it doesn't let you use .ppd, so try .gz instead.

To change it, edit the post and go down to the attach field. It may let you do it there, but you'll probably have to re-upload it. There is a button that automatically replaces it called something like "update".

EDIT: It can be gotten from the above attachment. You must right-click it, choose "view image", and then you save the page. By choosing save-as you can download and rename it in one step.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shankargopal

Joined: 03 Dec 2005
Posts: 295

PostPosted: Mon 06 Nov 2006, 02:10    Post subject:  

How does one remove the CUPS dotpup after it's been installed? It doesn't seem to register with pupget.

I ask because I can't get it to work with a Windows network printer whose naming service doesn't seem to work properly (I couldn't even get xpdq to work with it properly, so now printing to file and then using smbclient to print directly, which works - for no apparent reason).

Tried CUPS, didn't work, don't really have time to try and fix it, so now would like to get rid of it, but not sure how to do so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Nov 2006, 22:37    Post subject: Re: CUBs help  

ndujoe1 wrote:

After I selected Print TEst page the completed job listing said :
HP672C-1 Test page 15k aborted
When I clicked Resend JOb it reproted : client-error-not possible.


I have wrestled with CUPS with mixed results, works really well with one printer and
struggles with another.

The client-error-not possible thing was sometimes resolved via an old Apple computer
method -- shut down and restart -- sometimes just the CUPS app, sometimes the whole
PC ... so much for uptime competitions. :-/

I am guessing that something is getting corrupted and stuck in a buffer, no idea what.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 10 Nov 2006, 05:39    Post subject:  

The CUPS printing system is rather complex and if the installation of a printer isn't successful, it can be difficult to troubleshoot.

My suggestion is to try an alternative .ppd driver (if one can be found) for the troublesome printer and re-run the CUPS installation dotpup.

_________________
Puppy unofficial tester (off and on) since v0.9.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Nov 2006, 22:10    Post subject:  

pakt wrote:
The CUPS printing system is rather complex and if the installation of a printer isn't successful, it can be difficult to troubleshoot.

My suggestion is to try an alternative .ppd driver (if one can be found) for the troublesome printer and re-run the CUPS installation dotpup.


Just ran the latest CUPS on my laptop with 2.11 and I am pleased to report that I have
both my HP 4215 and Samsung laser printer working perfectly!

BIG thanks to all!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 171
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2006, 01:47    Post subject:  

I have success also!

Plus a few things I learned:

Here are a few things I did *after* I had a stable working cups system.

in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf:

MaxLogSize 200000000

Thats 200meg! The Cups manual and I recommend:

MaxLogSize 1m

When I first intalled into 2.12 I was having problem so I changed

LogLevel info
to
LogLevel debug

and /var/log/cups/error_log went 52meg after a few aborted print jobs. All I knew was something was chewing up my disk space and I had to search to find it was this file. I also set:

PreserveJobHistory Off

PreserveJobFiles Off

AutoPurgeJobs Yes

The concept is to purge the jobs *after* they are completed. Otherwise they end up staying in /var/spool/cups/

Some users may want the feature of keeping the jobs for awhile. I personally would rather recover the disk space and have them gone when completed ( I can always reprint). AFAIK, keeping completed jobs only allows you reprint without having to redo the job from the beginning.

Also, For Epson InkJet Users. If you use ekpd make sure it is started before cups in /etc/rc.d/rc.local


These are a few things I learned that I thought others may want to know about.

Best Regards

OverDrive

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1156
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2006, 04:04    Post subject:  

Good tips, OverDrive, and thanks for the feedback Smile

I hadn't seen the huge MaxLogSize - that should definitely be much smaller.

When I revise the CUPS dotpup (I'm replacing gimp-print with gutenprint - it has many more printers), I will use your suggestions as defaults in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf Cool

Paul

_________________
Puppy unofficial tester (off and on) since v0.9.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0655s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0143s) ][ GZIP on ]