Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 20 Nov 2014, 19:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
wireless / wifi cards confirmed to work in puppy - OLD LIST
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 13 [186 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5281
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2008, 05:40    Post subject:  

ken_cat wrote:
On my system, the zd1211b-2.21.0.0-k2.6.21.7.pet file installs from Rox ok, and modprobe works ok on zd1211b, but the file locations are different from what has been discussed.

Just to be clear: zd1211.ko and zd1211b.ko install to exactly where they were intended: /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/net
The other listings in your search for "zd1211b" are system-generated.

Jeffreytooker wrote:
... all that I have found leads me to believe there is a difference between the Puppy kernel that you are using and the 4.0 kernel that others of us are using.

Possibly there are differences between Puppy3.x and 4.0 (like ROX?) but the kernel is 100% identical.

Of course, there are other Puppy4.x variants which have different kernels - the "experimental" 4.0 release has a 2.6.25 kernel, and earlier alphas and betas were different again.
But even then, zd1211b-2.21.0.0-k2.6.21.7.pet will still install to its intended location. Dotpets install to absolute locations, regardless of whether the intended location is compatible with the host Puppy version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jeffreytooker

Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2008, 10:06    Post subject:
Subject description: Progress Made
 

tempestuous wrote:
ken_cat wrote:
On my system, the zd1211b-2.21.0.0-k2.6.21.7.pet file installs from Rox ok, and modprobe works ok on zd1211b, but the file locations are different from what has been discussed.

Just to be clear: zd1211.ko and zd1211b.ko install to exactly where they were intended: /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/net
The other listings in your search for "zd1211b" are system-generated.

Jeffreytooker wrote:
... all that I have found leads me to believe there is a difference between the Puppy kernel that you are using and the 4.0 kernel that others of us are using.

Possibly there are differences between Puppy3.x and 4.0 (like ROX?) but the kernel is 100% identical.

Of course, there are other Puppy4.x variants which have different kernels - the "experimental" 4.0 release has a 2.6.25 kernel, and earlier alphas and betas were different again.
But even then, zd1211b-2.21.0.0-k2.6.21.7.pet will still install to its intended location. Dotpets install to absolute locations, regardless of whether the intended location is compatible with the host Puppy version.


tempestuous and ken_cat:

I made some progress last night. I believe I know what the problem is and it is mine Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed . Newbie ignorance. I have an idea about what I have done wrong. Now I have to prove it. I believe both the 4.0 disk and the zd1211b driver are fine. I believe I have a system problem. Your collective advice turned the trick. I will work it out before I say more.

Thank you both.

Jeffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jeffreytooker

Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2008, 16:05    Post subject:
Subject description: zd1211b Installed
 

tempestuous and ken_cat:

I made some progress last night. I believe I know what the problem is and it is mine Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed . Newbie ignorance. I have an idea about what I have done wrong. Now I have to prove it. I believe both the 4.0 disk and the zd1211b driver are fine. I believe I have a system problem. Your collective advice turned the trick. I will work it out before I say more.

Thank you both.

Jeffrey[/quote]


tempestuous and ken_cat:

It as I supposed above. It was a formatting and partitioning problem. I ran a complete installation(including fdisk and re partitioning) as per forum member Shadow, link: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=29302&sid=4303b6d713d4cf8a9b004e28eb6056ac Half way down page. I had to tweak it a bit for Puppy 4.0.

I now have zd1211b installed. I ran both lines of code. It is in the Petget Package Manager, in the installed section. It is in the location /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/net/zd1211b.ko. zd1211b is not in the driver list of the network wizard. zd1211rw is. I have tried the wizard setup and it only loads the zd1211rw (the wrong driver). I have made progress but I am not there yet because zd1211b is not in the wizard driver list. Still need a bit of help.

In considering the failure to load problem, not loading is reasonable if Puppy is not working in a properly established partition. I will post Solved to the ROX Not Loading thread.

My appologies.

Jeffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ken_cat

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2008, 18:35    Post subject:  

Jeffrey,

Progress is a good thing. Nice to see you are past that hurdle.

I am also new (~week) to Puppy and Linux, so hopefully tempestuous can help from this point. I can offer two good threads here that if you haven't read yet you should do. They'll let you try some manual loading of the module and manually connect the card. I'll keep following to learn more as well.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=649095676&t=29664
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jeffreytooker

Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2008, 19:45    Post subject:  

ken_cat wrote:
Jeffrey,

Progress is a good thing. Nice to see you are past that hurdle.

I am also new (~week) to Puppy and Linux, so hopefully tempestuous can help from this point. I can offer two good threads here that if you haven't read yet you should do. They'll let you try some manual loading of the module and manually connect the card. I'll keep following to learn more as well.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=649095676&t=29664


ken_cat:

Will checkout the links. Now that I have found wiping and formatting disks so important, I am sending you links for wiping a HDD.

http://puppylinux.org/wiki/archives/old-wikka-wikki/categorydocumentation/harddiskinstall

http://dban.sourceforge.net/

I am using GParted to re partition. I am actually setting up an old machine to wipe disks as I have it laying around. It has been a learning experience.

Jeffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5281
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jun 2008, 21:16    Post subject:  

Jeffreytooker wrote:
zd1211b is not in the driver list of the network wizard.
Still need a bit of help.


tempestuous wrote:
After installing zd1211+b-2.21.0.0-k2.6.21.7.pet do this -
Code:
rmmod zd1211rw
modprobe zd1211b

Now you should be able to configure your wifi network with the Network Wizard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jeffreytooker

Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jun 2008, 00:22    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Jeffreytooker wrote:
zd1211b is not in the driver list of the network wizard.
Still need a bit of help.


tempestuous wrote:
After installing zd1211+b-2.21.0.0-k2.6.21.7.pet do this -
Code:
rmmod zd1211rw
modprobe zd1211b

Now you should be able to configure your wifi network with the Network Wizard.


Have done that already, but will continue to work on problem. Cool

Thank you.

Jeffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ken_cat

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jun 2008, 01:44    Post subject:  

Jeffrey,

If the modprobe zd1211b works without error, what is happening with the wizard? It should detect the interface yes? If not, maybe you have a bios issue or......????.

FYI - I have switched to version 3.01. The Networking Wizard works sooo sweet compared to 4.00, and with a full install, after loading the proper module, and entering the WPA data, on subsequent reboots the wireless card is now configured and up and running automagically. V4.00 would not do that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5281
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jun 2008, 01:53    Post subject:  

Now that I think about it, the new interface may need to be brought up, and a bit of diagnosis is in order, so -
after the "modprobe zd1211b" check if there is a valid wifi interface as such -
Code:
ifconfig -a

Hopefully you should see a wifi interface listed ... probably called "wlan0". This may need to be brought up -
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up

Now this interface (wlan0) should certainly be seen by the Network Wizard.

or OPTION B - how to add "zd1211b" module to Network Wizard driver list -
open /etc/networkmodules in Geany, add these lines, and save.
Code:
zd1211 "usb:  ZyDAS 802.11b/g USB Wireless LAN adapter"
zd1211b "usb:  ZyDAS 802.11b/g USB Wireless LAN adapter"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jeffreytooker

Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jun 2008, 12:17    Post subject:  

ken_cat wrote:
Jeffrey,

If the modprobe zd1211b works without error, what is happening with the wizard? It should detect the interface yes? If not, maybe you have a bios issue or......????.

FYI - I have switched to version 3.01. The Networking Wizard works sooo sweet compared to 4.00, and with a full install, after loading the proper module, and entering the WPA data, on subsequent reboots the wireless card is now configured and up and running automagically. V4.00 would not do that.


Ken_cat:

For now I will keep working in 4.0 so we can have continuity with the Wifi driver problem. I will be working my way through the info from tempestuous. It seems that there are others out there with the same problem and seem to have gotten stopped. Fixing the problem will help others. As far as 3.01 I have been thinking about reverting to it. The machine I am writing from now is in Ubuntu 7.10 which is one version behind the present 8.04. I was advised by an Ubuntu list member that it is better for newbies to stay one version behind as the problems are less. I would believe the same would hold for Puppy. A friend is bringing an old computer in a week or so. I will see if I can set it up for 3.01.

As far as reverting to 3.01, can one run 3.01 over 4.0 just by booting from the 3.01 disk in the same machine, or does it have to be a clean install?

I got my old machine set up to scrub HDD's. The machine is slow and I just leave it run until it is done. The DBAN program works very well. I do however keep the disk put away as it will wipe a drive completely out.

Jeffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ken_cat

Joined: 05 Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jun 2008, 12:51    Post subject:  

Jeffreytooker wrote:


As far as reverting to 3.01, can one run 3.01 over 4.0 just by booting from the 3.01 disk in the same machine, or does it have to be a clean install?

Jeffrey


Without word from an expert, I would clear the partition that has 4.0. I used Gparted to delete the partition and then reformatted it (tried out reiserfs). To me this wipes out anything that was on the partition. Then installed 3.01. Ran the Grub install to put it in MBR on same partition as the Puppy3.01.

Makes sense continuing with 4.0 on your issue. Once you get the module recognized in the Wizard, watch out for an incorrect message that says WPA connection not established when in fact it has. Read the next window carefully after you see that little "Lie", and carry on to get the IP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jeffreytooker

Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jun 2008, 15:38    Post subject:
Subject description: Status Report 06-28-08
 

tempestuous wrote:
Now that I think about it, the new interface may need to be brought up, and a bit of diagnosis is in order, so -
after the "modprobe zd1211b" check if there is a valid wifi interface as such -
Code:
ifconfig -a

Hopefully you should see a wifi interface listed ... probably called "wlan0". This may need to be brought up -
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up

Now this interface (wlan0) should certainly be seen by the Network Wizard.

or OPTION B - how to add "zd1211b" module to Network Wizard driver list -
open /etc/networkmodules in Geany, add these lines, and save.
Code:
zd1211 "usb:  ZyDAS 802.11b/g USB Wireless LAN adapter"
zd1211b "usb:  ZyDAS 802.11b/g USB Wireless LAN adapter"



tempestuous:

<<<after the "modprobe zd1211b">>>
Done, yields Command Prompt.

<<<check if there is a valid wifi interface as such -
Code:
ifconfig -a
>>>
Done, yields eth0 plus other stuff.

<<<This may need to be brought up -
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up

Now this interface (wlan0) should certainly be seen by the Network Wizard.>>>
Done, used eth0, yields CP. Not in NW wizard. Rebooted, not in NW wizard.

<<<or OPTION B - how to add "zd1211b" module to Network Wizard driver list -
open /etc/networkmodules in Geany, add these lines, and save.
Code:
zd1211 "usb:  ZyDAS 802.11b/g USB Wireless LAN adapter"
zd1211b "usb:  ZyDAS 802.11b/g USB Wireless LAN adapter"
[/quote]>>>
Pasted both as required and saved. zd1211b now in NW wizard list. Loads from list OK. Does not find interface, zd1211rw does.

Blacklisted zd1211rw and rebooted. NW wizard "Autoload USB", no interface found. Un blacklisted zd1211rw. NW wizard "Autoload USB", Has interface with zd1211rw, eth0.

zd1211b.ko and zd1211.ko located at: /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/net. zd1211rw.ko located at: /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/z/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/zd1211rw. Reboot, NW wizard install failed. Moved zd1211b back to /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/net. Rebooted NW wizard loads OK, no interface.

zd1211b.ko is properly located and in list. NW wizard can find it and load it. zd1211b.ko just does not find interface. Wifi unit seems to have connection to the modem with zd1211rw.ko, so the RF link seems to be good.

Jeffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jeffreytooker

Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jun 2008, 21:00    Post subject:
Subject description: Autoconnect-0.5
 

tempestuous wrote:
Now that I think about it, the new interface may need to be brought up, and a bit of diagnosis is in order, so -
after the "modprobe zd1211b" check if there is a valid wifi interface as such -
Code:
ifconfig -a

Hopefully you should see a wifi interface listed ... probably called "wlan0". This may need to be brought up -
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up

Now this interface (wlan0) should certainly be seen by the Network Wizard.

or OPTION B - how to add "zd1211b" module to Network Wizard driver list -
open /etc/networkmodules in Geany, add these lines, and save.
Code:
zd1211 "usb:  ZyDAS 802.11b/g USB Wireless LAN adapter"
zd1211b "usb:  ZyDAS 802.11b/g USB Wireless LAN adapter"



tempestuous:

Here FYI is the Autoconnect-0.5 that I told you about. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=26935

Jeffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5281
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 28 Jun 2008, 22:46    Post subject:  

Jeffreytooker wrote:
Code:
ifconfig -a

>>>
Done, yields eth0 plus other stuff.

Ah, wouldn't that be your ethernet interface?
It looks to me that the zd1211b driver fails to create an interface, so end of story.
You could try the zd1211 module, or just wait for the improved zd1211rw with Puppy 4.1.

When replying, please don't quote the entire contents of our earlier posts.
It makes the thread twice as verbose as it needs to be, and makes it harder for readers to follow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jeffreytooker

Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 119

PostPosted: Tue 01 Jul 2008, 01:33    Post subject:  

ken_cat wrote:
Jeffrey,

If the modprobe zd1211b works without error, what is happening with the wizard? It should detect the interface yes? If not, maybe you have a bios issue or......????.

FYI - I have switched to version 3.01. The Networking Wizard works sooo sweet compared to 4.00, and with a full install, after loading the proper module, and entering the WPA data, on subsequent reboots the wireless card is now configured and up and running automagically. V4.00 would not do that.


ken_cat:

What did you find was the proper driver for PP 3.01?

Jeffrey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 13 [186 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1322s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0182s) ][ GZIP on ]