Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 20 Feb 2018, 14:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Xenialpup 7.5 CE black screen blinking line after install
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
jamespoo

Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 00:28    Post subject:  Xenialpup 7.5 CE black screen blinking line after install  

so i have been give an old dell mini 910 had no os on it so wanted to install Xenialpup 7.5 CE to the 8gb ssd

i put it on a flash stick booted it up and everything works great as it loaded drivers for wifi sound and Intel video so i formatted the the 8gb ssd ect in GParted ready to install it i have the iso on another usb so i plugged it in and mounted it and did the setup one done i shut down the pc and took the usb out and after the dell logo went away it just booted to a black screen with a blinking white line in the top left side

so i tried installing it again with a boot loader and when i select it on the list i still got the same thing

what could be causing this as this is a really good os and runs really well on this netbook but don't want to have to have the usb plugged in all the time to use it

or is there another popular os that is still getting updates and has lots of support i should use on this netbook ? i heard you can run mac os but i think i need to have the 16gb ssd model

Last edited by jamespoo on Sun 04 Feb 2018, 01:13; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linbie

Joined: 09 Jan 2010
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 00:58    Post subject: Xenialpup 7.5 CE black screen blinking line after install
Subject description: 32 V 64
 

Are you trying to install 32bit or 64bit? I have had situations where the 64bit will run off USB but will not install. Dell Mini 9 with 1GB RAM and Atom based processor would work best with 32 Bit IMO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamespoo

Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 01:11    Post subject: Re: Xenialpup 7.5 CE black screen blinking line after install
Subject description: 32 V 64
 

linbie wrote:
Are you trying to install 32bit or 64bit? I have had situations where the 64bit will run off USB but will not install. Dell Mini 9 with 1GB RAM and Atom based processor would work best with 32 Bit IMO


its the 32-bit version and my netbook has 2gb ram
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamespoo

Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 03:02    Post subject:  

forgot to say i used this iso

xenialpup-7.5-uefi.iso
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 372
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 05:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
i formatted the the 8gb ssd ect
Do you mean ext4? ext3 is also good, even better for Puppy.
And did you set the boot flag on the partition? You can do that in gParted.

Next thing would be to look into the menu.lst on the ssd. Something could be set up not quite right there by grub4dos.

BTW, the iso you use looks like the right one, 32bit, for your machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamespoo

Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 06:31    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
Quote:
i formatted the the 8gb ssd ect
Do you mean ext4? ext3 is also good, even better for Puppy.
And did you set the boot flag on the partition? You can do that in gParted.

Next thing would be to look into the menu.lst on the ssd. Something could be set up not quite right there by grub4dos.

BTW, the iso you use looks like the right one, 32bit, for your machine.


i used ext4 msdos in gparted and ticked boot on the flag list

also do i even need to have grub4dos installed as this will be the only os i install on the netbook
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 372
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:02    Post subject:  

Did you see this topic? http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106783Maybe it is something with SSD.

Quote:
i used ext4 msdos in gparted and ticked boot on the flag list
I do not find "ext4 msdos" in my gParted, only "ext4", but I guess that is the same.

Quote:
also do i even need to have grub4dos installed as this will be the only os i install on the netbook
You do need some bootloader, but not necessarily grub4dos. It used to be the preferred bootloader for Puppy though, maybe bot anymore. Maybe grub4dos does not install well on SSD? I have never installed it on SSD.

Anyway, what is in your menu.lst?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamespoo

Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:06    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
Did you see this topic? http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=106783Maybe it is something with SSD.

Quote:
i used ext4 msdos in gparted and ticked boot on the flag list
I do not find "ext4 msdos" in my gParted, only "ext4", but I guess that is the same.

Quote:
also do i even need to have grub4dos installed as this will be the only os i install on the netbook
You do need some bootloader, but not necessarily grub4dos. It used to be the preferred bootloader for Puppy though, maybe bot anymore. Maybe grub4dos does not install well on SSD? I have never installed it on SSD.

Anyway, what is in your menu.lst?


how to view menu.lst?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 372
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:09    Post subject:  

Boot up from usb and look on you SSD. It should be on there together with grldr (grub loader).

When you installed with bootloader, did you install also mbr?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamespoo

Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:18    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
Boot up from usb and look on you SSD. It should be on there together with grldr (grub loader).

When you installed with bootloader, did you install also mbr?


what is mbr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 372
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:29    Post subject:  

If you use the installer from Puppy, it is an option to install it. It is hidden at the beginning of your booting device and it is the first thing that starts, before the loader. That is the way "legacy" boot goes.
Maybe there is no mbr yet on the ssd. Was there an os on it before? If not you have to install an mbr.
Maybe there is still an old one on it, and if it was from windows, it will search for "bootmgr" and not "grldr".
You could try to rename "grldr" to "bootmgr" then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamespoo

Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:35    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
If you use the installer from Puppy, it is an option to install it. It is hidden at the beginning of your booting device and it is the first thing that starts, before the loader. That is the way "legacy" boot goes.
Maybe there is no mbr yet on the ssd. Was there an os on it before? If not you have to install an mbr.
Maybe there is still an old one on it, and if it was from windows, it will search for "bootmgr" and not "grldr".
You could try to rename "grldr" to "bootmgr" then.


when i got the netbook i formatted the ssd because it was running windows xp on it and had porn and other stuff i did not want
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 372
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:37    Post subject:  

I'm not sure reformatting it will have removed the windows mbr, so try renaming the grldr to "bootmgr" (boot manager).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 372
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:42    Post subject:  

correction:
I am checking here myself on a XP windows, and I find that the name of the bootloader is "ntldr" and not "bootmgr".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamespoo

Joined: 04 Feb 2018
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 07:52    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
correction:
I am checking here myself on a XP windows, and I find that the name of the bootloader is "ntldr" and not "bootmgr".


how do i get to boot manger ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0473s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0028s) ][ GZIP on ]