Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 May 2018, 15:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Wireless Setup
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Boopup

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 23:18    Post subject:  Wireless Setup
Subject description: Trouble setting up wireless connections on a Dell Latitude C400 running SlackoPuppy 6.3.2

Hi. I'm new to Linux; running a full installation of SlackoPuppy 6.3.2 on an old Latitude C400. Ethernet works just fine, but I'm running around in circles trying to get it connected to wifi. Both frisbee and the Network Wizard fail to find anything but the ethernet adapter, even autodetecting for modules in the Network Wizard failed.

I've done a bunch of searching in general on this, but I've still gotten no where. I tried using ndiswrapper on some drivers for the Truemobile 1150 wireless card (which apparently has problems when used with Linux, although people have gotten it to work before) downloaded directly from Dell, but that didn't work. I also tried installing the Orinoco firmware from http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69721, but the modules that installed didn't work either. Most recently I followed the discussion in http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=7113 and installed rerwin's slmodem pets (found through the Puppy Package Manager), but it doesn't seem to have worked either