Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 21 Nov 2018, 06:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
What's with FIDO? (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 13:03    Post subject:  What's with FIDO? (Solved)  

Hi,
I don't really think that this thread belongs here but where else would it fit?

FIDO has been "experimental" and a warning is displayed advising to not use for-eeeeeever now so what is the deal? I tried it and it works quite well. I can accomplish everything I need to do from FIDO. The best part is no browsers bark at me that they refuse to run in ROOT and so I do not have to mess with workarounds.

Does anyone run as FIDO?

Why or why not?

Cheers

Last edited by Gordie on Sun 04 Feb 2018, 13:59; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4392
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 13:55    Post subject:  

Hi, Gordie.

I daresay you probably can accomplish all you need to from FIDO.. But don't forget that your daily driver is Slackware; a bog-standard, mainstream Linux distro. You're used to /home, sudo, etc.

Asking the 'faithful' to abandon their normal way of running Puppy is tantamount to saying to them, 'Now, look; you've been a bit of a silly-billy all these years, running as root. It's time to wake up and join the 'real' world...'

Next you'll be telling me Pup's an anachronism.....and has no place in today's world of the big, bad internet, etc.

On top of which a good deal of Pup's basic building-blocks would have to be re-written, to accomodate sudo, etc. And once that's been accomplished, Pup's forever lost its character, and become just another middle-of-the-road lightweight distro. There's hundreds of those out there already...

Y'know, there's an alternate way of looking at things. You could consider that Pup's for those brave, foolhardy souls who like living dangerously...! Laughing

You'll probably turn round and tell me I've already ignored the whole point of your post... As it is, we've already started running browsers as 'spot', 'cos they now won't have it any other way. Fido would be just as easy, of course.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 857

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 14:48    Post subject:  

Puppy was designed, built, and is supported by linux users who want to run as root.

You're asking why people like apple pie instead of pineapple cake.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 16:39    Post subject:  

@Mike Walsh
I have taken possession of a free core2 duo desktop that came with 2Gig ram and a 500 Gig hdd. I started by deleting all partions, creating 6 Gig swap partition, formatting ext4 and frugal installs of 8 Puppies that interested me. Now there are only 3 puppies left in my kennel.
Last night I was trying to get Chromium that I installed to run as ROOT in Slacko64 6.9.9.9 so I hide my savefile and rebooted to make a savefile as FIDO and no problem running Chromium now. Got me to thinking rhat that "experimental" statement when you make a savefile has cobwebs on it. Just looking for opinions, not a flame war.

Still need a way to run Chromium as ROOT too

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 857

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 17:07    Post subject:  

To run Chromium as ROOT:

On mine, in /usr/local/bin you will find the "defaultbrowser" script which starts chromium. You need to add the "--user-data-dir" switch to the exec command like this:
Code:

exec chromium-browser "--user-data-dir" "--enable-extensions" "--allow-outdated-plugins"


I hope this works for you ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11286
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 18:56    Post subject:  

FIDO has been "experimental" because it was never totally worked on to make sure it had no bugs.
It was made to the point it would work, but never fully tested to 100% bug free.

Spot and Fido were in answer to people complaining about running stuff as root.
Barry K put it into Puppy to see how others liked using it and if they found any problems.
Thing is, not too many used it and it never really got fully tested and code tweaked.

With Barry K gone from Puppy.
I am not sure anyone really understands how it works and can tweak the code to fix any bugs.

If it works for you. Use it!
However, if it gives you any problems, good luck correcting them.

This info may help you.
http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/spot?redirect=no

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13089
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 19:04    Post subject:  

No flame war yet. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 19:06    Post subject:  

jafadmin wrote:
To run Chromium as ROOT:

On mine, in /usr/local/bin you will find the "defaultbrowser" script which starts chromium. You need to add the "--user-data-dir" switch to the exec command like this:
Code:

exec chromium-browser "--user-data-dir" "--enable-extensions" "--allow-outdated-plugins"


I hope this works for you ..


If that doesn't work, try adding "--no-sandbox" on the end of it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 857

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 19:31    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
No flame war yet. Smile


Have you tried the pineapple cake, hmmmm ..? Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4392
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 21:05    Post subject:  

Hi, Gordie.

Gordie wrote:
Got me to thinking that that "experimental" statement when you make a savefile has cobwebs on it. Just looking for opinions, not a flame war.


Nah, you're OK, mate. Not looking to start one either.

I think bigpup's probably got the right of it. The concept does have 'cobwebs on it', I guess; as far as I can tell, it's been there in Puppy since long before I started with Pup myself. I don't suppose there are too many folks about from those dim, distant days that fully understand the coding that supports it any more.

And I know for a fact that I've never actually tried it out myself. I don't do too much experimenting with that side of things; I'm too busy keeping the 10 Pups I do run operational.....and ticking over like a well-oiled timepiece!

Good idea to bring the subject to the surface for an 'airing', though. Nice to hear other Puppian's views on this one.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Sun 04 Feb 2018, 11:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3482
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 21:51    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
I think this was a case of creating an option that had no following.
No one really bug tweaked it because no one really wants to run as a guest user. The majority of Puppy users are quite content to run as Root. I assume most of us don't consider it dangerous. I however certainly find it convenient. In fact I can't stand to run any other way.
Puppy has certainly spoiled me.

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
I am Lead Dog of the
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook
Join us!

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 22:00    Post subject:  

jafadmin wrote:
To run Chromium as ROOT:

On mine, in /usr/local/bin you will find the "defaultbrowser" script which starts chromium. You need to add the "--user-data-dir" switch to the exec command like this:
Code:

exec chromium-browser "--user-data-dir" "--enable-extensions" "--allow-outdated-plugins"


I hope this works for you ..


Thanks for the help but doesn't work. I have been trying --user-data-dir" in many different places now but this advice appears to have been working prior to 2013 but not with the new releases

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 22:02    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
FIDO has been "experimental" because it was never totally worked on to make sure it had no bugs.
It was made to the point it would work, but never fully tested to 100% bug free.

Spot and Fido were in answer to people complaining about running stuff as root.
Barry K put it into Puppy to see how others liked using it and if they found any problems.
Thing is, not too many used it and it never really got fully tested and code tweaked.

With Barry K gone from Puppy.
I am not sure anyone really understands how it works and can tweak the code to fix any bugs.

If it works for you. Use it!
However, if it gives you any problems, good luck correcting them.

This info may help you.
http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/spot?redirect=no


Thanks. That explains volumes to me

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1155

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 22:03    Post subject:  

Gordie wrote:
jafadmin wrote:
To run Chromium as ROOT:

On mine, in /usr/local/bin you will find the "defaultbrowser" script which starts chromium. You need to add the "--user-data-dir" switch to the exec command like this:
Code:

exec chromium-browser "--user-data-dir" "--enable-extensions" "--allow-outdated-plugins"


I hope this works for you ..


Thanks for the help but doesn't work. I have been trying --user-data-dir" in many different places now but this advice appears to have been working prior to 2013 but not with the new releases

Cheers


Yes, it now needs"--no-sandbox" .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 03 Feb 2018, 22:10    Post subject:  

dancytron wrote:
jafadmin wrote:
To run Chromium as ROOT:

On mine, in /usr/local/bin you will find the "defaultbrowser" script which starts chromium. You need to add the "--user-data-dir" switch to the exec command like this:
Code:

exec chromium-browser "--user-data-dir" "--enable-extensions" "--allow-outdated-plugins"


I hope this works for you ..


If that doesn't work, try adding "--no-sandbox" on the end of it.


--no-sandbox was close but no cigar. There is a banner at the top of the browser complaining about an unsupported command-line flag. This is not what I am looking for

Last edited by Gordie on Sat 03 Feb 2018, 23:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0666s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]