Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 May 2018, 08:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
puppy on Lenovo MIIX 320 (Atom X5)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
confirm_pwd


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 08:55    Post subject:  puppy on Lenovo MIIX 320 (Atom X5)  

Hi guys,
I'm trying to boot puppy on this Lenovo MIIX 32010ICR (cpu is an Atom X5) on which at the moment there's Win10.

I looked in several places on the web but couldn't find any conclusive information.

Trying to boot slacko-6.3.2-uefi.iso (created on a USB stick with Rufus), the system boots but what I get is an unreadable scrolling of characters (sort of Matrix-like but not numbers Smile) and in portrait mode, i.e. scrolling from left to right instead of up-down.
I can enter commands but I cannot see what I'm typing. Some sort of prompt seems to be available, albeit unreadable.
Nevertheless, I think commands are recognized because if I enter ctrl-alt-del for example, the system reboots.

I then tried to boot the 64 version of slacko, i.e. slacko64-6.3.2-uefi.iso (always on a USB stick with Rufus): it boots but then I'm stuck at the following errors:
"[i]error: invalid magic number
error: you need to load the kernel first
press any key to continue".


I know this is not a really "standard" machine but for the price paid is not so bad: I just want to install Linux on it because Windows needs too many resoruces.
Remembering how fast Puppy was on my old Vaio, I hope I could replay its magic here. Cool

Any advise would be much appreciated (also with different puppy flavours obviously).

thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10424
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 10:28    Post subject:  

Quote:
slacko-6.3.2-uefi


This is probably a graphics driver issue.

I think you are using the processors internal Intel graphics.

This added command can help sometimes.
Code:
i915.modeset=0


Not sure what you see when booting from a Rufus install.

If it boots to a Puppy boot screen that has at bottom option to press F2.
At the boot screen press/hold F2 until options screen pops up.
Add the command
Press enter to continue boot.
(May have to make the command puppy i915.modeset=0)

If Rufus has a menu that pops up.
Edit the menu entry and add the command to the end of the kernel line.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked

Last edited by bigpup on Sat 27 Jan 2018, 10:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10424
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 10:32    Post subject:  

Until your are sure you no longer want Windows 10.
I strongly suggest running Puppy from USB.
Windows 10 goes nuts when something messes with the hard drive and it was not done by Windows 10.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10424
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 10:33    Post subject:  

Tahrpup 6.0.5
Xenialpup 7.5
These may work better for you.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
confirm_pwd


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 10:50    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
slacko-6.3.2-uefi


This is probably a graphics driver issue.

I think you are using the processors internal Intel graphics.

This added command can help sometimes.
Code:
i915.modeset=0


Not sure what you see when booting from a Rufus install.

If it boots to a Puppy boot screen that has at bottom option to press F2.
At the boot screen press/hold F2 until options screen pops up.
Add the command
Press enter to continue boot.
(May have to make the command puppy i915.modeset=0)

If Rufus has a menu that pops up.
Edit the menu entry and add the command to the end of the kernel line.


Thx bigpup for your quick reply.
Yes I'm using Intel HD Graphics 400.

Sorry I didn't get where to put the command "i915.modeset=0": you mean inside GRUB?
At boot I get:
GNU GRUB version 2.00
Start Slacko
Start Slacko RAM only
etc.


Pressing "e" I can change the GRUB paramaters.
For the moment there's:
setparams 'Start Slacko'
linux /vmlinuz
initrd /initrd.gz


Shall I append the i915.modeset=0 here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
confirm_pwd


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 11:29    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Tahrpup 6.0.5
Xenialpup 7.5
These may work better for you.


No joy with those.

Xenialpup 7.5 (iso = xenialpup-7.5-uefi.iso)

error: file '/vmlinuz' not found
error: you need to load the kernel first


tahrpup 6.0.5 (iso = tahr-6.0.5_PAE.iso)
This is another story: Rufus refuses to create a GPT partition scheme on the USB stick, it forces to MBR partition scheme for UEFI, which I tried but then the BIOS doesn't see it.

tried their 64-bit counterparts but no joy either:
xenialpup64-7.5-uefi.iso
Rufus forces again to MBR partition scheme for UEFI but then the stick is not bootable.
tahr64-6.0.5.iso
In this case Rufus forces to "MBR partition scheme for BIOS or UEFI-CSM" which is not bootable.

I don't understand why the only bootable iso a 32bit version; this is supposed to be a 64bit architecture...
I read somewhere that this UEFI implementation is 32 bit, despite the CPU being 64 bit.
Anyway, that's for future investigations. I will play with your graphic driver suggestion for the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
confirm_pwd


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 11:56    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Quote:
slacko-6.3.2-uefi


This is probably a graphics driver issue.

I think you are using the processors internal Intel graphics.

This added command can help sometimes.
Code:
i915.modeset=0


Not sure what you see when booting from a Rufus install.

If it boots to a Puppy boot screen that has at bottom option to press F2.
At the boot screen press/hold F2 until options screen pops up.
Add the command
Press enter to continue boot.
(May have to make the command puppy i915.modeset=0)

If Rufus has a menu that pops up.
Edit the menu entry and add the command to the end of the kernel line.


I don't think I'm allowed to upload images, so let's try this way:
https://ibb.co/guiXjG (the slacko menu)
https://ibb.co/m9JnJb (that's after boot has finished, i.e. after choosing "start slacko" from the boot menu)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 1001
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 12:57    Post subject:  

Hi, when you're at this point
confirm_pwd wrote:
https://ibb.co/guiXjG (the slacko menu)

edit the first line to be like this:
Code:
linux /vmlinuz i915.modeset=0

that's the kernel line Bigpup says.

-----------------------------------------

Seeing your second screenshot, it seems you're near to enter in The Matrix, so ask Neo, he knows everything... Wink

Saludos.

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
confirm_pwd


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 13:08    Post subject:  

Galbi wrote:
Hi, when you're at this point
confirm_pwd wrote:
https://ibb.co/guiXjG (the slacko menu)

edit the first line to be like this:
Code:
linux /vmlinuz i915.modeset=0

that's the kernel line Bigpup says.

-----------------------------------------

Seeing your second screenshot, it seems you're near to enter in The Matrix, so ask Neo, he knows everything... Wink

Saludos.


Ok, will try it tonight! Thx.

In the meanwhile Trinity popped up on my desktop (or was it Morpheus? not sure Rolling Eyes ) and told me to try FATDOG.
Which I did and... it worked!
So this fatdog (64 bit by the way) seems to be a bit more intelligent than the lean Cool slacko 32 bit.

If anybody else happens to try fatdog on this machine: after it boots, screen gets black, but if you close and re-open the lid the desktop reappers.
Ah yes: it's in portrait mode obviously Twisted Evil but reaching for the control panel you can change it to landscape mode (after some head-spinning Wink ).

I'll post here after I re-try with Slacko.
For now, thx everybody!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 1001
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 13:19    Post subject:  

You can try the i915.modeset=0 thing in Fatdog too, to see what happens...
--------
It coudn't have be Morpheus, he retired and entered to work in CSI.

(Sorry, no more bad jokes, I promise)

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 426
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 13:20    Post subject:  

The first image is the grub2 menu for slacko. Did you try the different options? no X or no KMS may help.
You could also try to edit the first option and add bigpup's code
Code:
i915.modeset=0
to the kernel/vmlinuz/linux line and boot (F10?).
Quote:
error: you need to load the kernel first
That comes from grub, and IIRC I got this trying to boot 32bit builds on 64bit uefi and with grub that is not able to boot 32bit kernels. But the setup from slacko is capable of booting 32bit on 64bit uefi because first refind boots and grub2 is chainloaded from there.
Quote:
I don't understand why the only bootable iso a 32bit version; this is supposed to be a 64bit architecture...
Yes, that is strange. Maybe the way rufus sets it up has something to do with it.
Maybe your machine does a legacy boot and goes straight to grub2.
It's been a long time I've used rufus. Rufus used to work nicely, but a lot has changed since, so I don't know anymore. If yo have linux (on another machine) you could use the command dd to put an iso on an usb. It may work better (?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
confirm_pwd


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 18:30    Post subject:  

Update:

I tried several boot options, added the i915.modeset command, no KMS, no graphical, fbcon=rotate:1,...etc. but the system still starts rotated.
It seems GRUB doesn't accept those options or they are meaningless to this machine.

The only solution I found was to add a script that starts at every boot (after X11):
xrandr --output 'DSI1' --rotate right

yeah, not very elegant... but it works. Cool

I'll stick to that for the moment.

I'm using fatdog64.
Lots of things don't work (brightness control is one of them, audio, etc) but Wifi is working.
Overall the system is pretty fast compared to win10 so I'm happy with that for now.

I will explore in more detail in the coming days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
confirm_pwd


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2018, 16:55    Post subject:  

small update

Found additional info (related to lubuntu, but it applies also to puppy) here:
https://gist.github.com/x0wllaar/1bcb64cf59994e8543b30418b6b2a81c

Creating this new .conf file in /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/ solves the rotation problem inside X11 and fixes the screen somehow:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "<default monitor>"
DisplaySize 339 212 # 144 DPI
Option "Rotate" "right"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Intel Graphics"
Driver "intel"
Option "AccelMethod" "sna"
Option "TearFree" "true"
EndSection


To be honest I'm not sure it does everything it says (not the 144 dpi for example) but the rotation is now ok and there's only 1 fatdog in the middle instead of 2... Laughing (I think 1 fatdog is enough Rolling Eyes ).

Concerning the font size, I've found 120 dpi to be a good compromise (at least for my eyes), but I did it via the fatdog ctrl panel.
It sticks as long as you have a savefile obviously.

No need for the xrandr boot script anymore.

The consoles (ctrl-alt-Fn) are still rotated but so far I couldn't find a workaround for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3692
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jan 2018, 20:36    Post subject:  

@confirm_pwd:-

You could try creating Puppy on a USB with UNetbootin, instead. I've heard Rufus does strange things with Pup..!

The thing I can't figure out is how you've ended up with GRUB2; it's the most misbegotten abortion of a bootloader that was ever foisted on Linux users. Bloated; overcomplicated.....and the most awkward thing to edit and set-up bar none. On top of which, it simply doesn't see the SFS files that comprise Puppy.....

(Why d'you think so many of us prefer the built-in Grub4DOS..? It's been specially 'tweaked' to work with Pup...)

I, too, was going to suggest Tahrpup or Xenialpup.....but if FatDog is doing the trick for you, that's great. If it works, stick with it! And yes; stick with a USB install for now, too.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
confirm_pwd


Joined: 23 Jan 2018
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jan 2018, 07:17    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
@confirm_pwd:-

You could try creating Puppy on a USB with UNetbootin, instead. I've heard Rufus does strange things with Pup..!

The thing I can't figure out is how you've ended up with GRUB2; it's the most misbegotten abortion of a bootloader that was ever foisted on Linux users. Bloated; overcomplicated.....and the most awkward thing to edit and set-up bar none. On top of which, it simply doesn't see the SFS files that comprise Puppy.....

(Why d'you think so many of us prefer the built-in Grub4DOS..? It's been specially 'tweaked' to work with Pup...)

I, too, was going to suggest Tahrpup or Xenialpup.....but if FatDog is doing the trick for you, that's great. If it works, stick with it! And yes; stick with a USB install for now, too.


Mike. Wink


Thx Mike for the suggestion: will try UNetbootin tonight.
Anyway, so far I tried Etcher and even dd-ing from the current Fatdog but Rufus was the only one able to boot something.

Concerning GRUB2, I totally agree with you! It's pretty "convoluted" to say the least Laughing
But I didn't choose it, found it when booting fatdog.
I thought it was the standard bootloader for fatdog.
If it's possible to change it, I would be really glad to remove it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0624s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]