Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Oct 2018, 20:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
I deleted all thumbnails, How to get them back?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 7 [97 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 12843
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 19:50    Post subject:  

That depends. What kind of PC do you have?
_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Fidèle elle commença, ainsi elle restera. (Prov. canadien) /
Faithful she began, so will she stay. (Canadian prov.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 571
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 19:50    Post subject:  

Choices in /root/, is that something like that too?
And how about the programs not working?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 571
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 19:52    Post subject:  

Dare I say it?
Read the third post on this topic from Mike. It is golden. Go the real puppy way (frugal, save and with sfs) and you will prosper.

I read a bit about bleachbit too: it scares me and my Puppies. It discards, wipes, deletes, shreds, it hides traces of files deleted and it vacuums firefox. It is really frightning. What good is all that? I used to do things like that on windows, except XP, but I don't like windows, except XP. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1663
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 19:54    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
Just another little test: if you click on a triangel on your desktop, does the application start?
It should because it is just a link to the .desktop in /usr/share/applications.
No, they are not links to the .desktop files in /usr/share/applications. This explains why he can still start application by clicking on a .desktop file but not by clicking on a ROX desktop shortcut.

@lolo69 Did you read my post?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 12843
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 19:58    Post subject:  

By the way, maybe contact the people at BleachBit about your problem.

It it is not the 1st time this problem is reported to them, they might have suggestions
about repair.

Just a thought.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Fidèle elle commença, ainsi elle restera. (Prov. canadien) /
Faithful she began, so will she stay. (Canadian prov.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1547

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:03    Post subject:  

lolo69 wrote:
Quote:
Type the gdk-pixbuf...etc. line in a console and hit Enter.
What happens?


Code:
root# gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders --update-cache
Failed to create file '/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/gdk-pixbuf-2.0/2.10.0/loaders.cache.KO2JCZ': No such file or directory


This.

I think this is the problem. Do you still have this directory? It sounds like BleachBit deleted it?

I tried the command in Slacko and it worked for me (but mine saved it somewhere else, or i386-linux-gnu might be a symlink).
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   24.55 KB
 Viewed   106 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 571
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:10    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
foxpup wrote:
It should because it is just a link to the .desktop in /usr/share/applications.
No, they are not links to the .desktop files in /usr/share/applications. This explains why he can still start application by clicking on a .desktop file but not by clicking on a ROX desktop shortcut.
Thank you! You are right: they are defined/described in some file(s), right? The one you named in your post : PuppyPin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0

Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 12843
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:14    Post subject:  

Sailor Enceladus said:
Quote:
(...) or i386-linux-gnu might be a symlink).

In all recent Puppies, it is.

_________________
musher0
~~~~~~~~~~
Fidèle elle commença, ainsi elle restera. (Prov. canadien) /
Faithful she began, so will she stay. (Canadian prov.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lolo69


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 77
Location: Your heart <3

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:19    Post subject:  

musher0
Quote:
That depends. What kind of PC do you have?

Motherboard: 915P-ICH6
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Ram Memory: 512mb

This?

foxpup
Quote:
And how about the programs not working?


Please be more specific.
Quote:

Read the third post on this topic from Mike. It is golden. Go the real puppy way (frugal, save and with sfs) and you will prosper.


Again more especific, exactly what do you want me to try?

MochiMoppel
Quote:
@lolo69 Did you read my post?


Yes, i did. But look at this: Running VLC by its .desktop file works, by its menu entry works, by its terminal code works, chrome doesn't do it in any of them, i believe the .desktops are not the problem.

Sailor Enceladus
Quote:
I think this is the problem. Do you still have this directory? It sounds like BleachBit deleted it?




I found this.

Last edited by lolo69 on Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 571
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:19    Post subject:  

On 64bit it is under /usr/lib64/gdk-... of course
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lolo69


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 77
Location: Your heart <3

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:20    Post subject:  

mine is 32bits
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 571
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:27    Post subject:  

lolo69 wrote:

Quote:
And how about the programs not working?


Please be more specific.

I was wondering why and how come, the difference between desktop and .desktop. MochiMoppel already gave some explanation.
Quote:
Quote:

Read the third post on this topic from Mike. It is golden. Go the real puppy way (frugal, save and with sfs) and you will prosper.


Again more especific, exactly what do you want me to try?
You don't have to try anything. That was just advice to install and use Puppy like Mike explains.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lolo69


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 77
Location: Your heart <3

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:34    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
lolo69 wrote:

Quote:
And how about the programs not working?


Please be more specific.

I was wondering why and how come, the difference between desktop and .desktop. MochiMoppel already gave some explanation.
Quote:
Quote:

Read the third post on this topic from Mike. It is golden. Go the real puppy way (frugal, save and with sfs) and you will prosper.


Again more especific, exactly what do you want me to try?
You don't have to try anything. That was just advice to install and use Puppy like Mike explains.


Programs not working? this is my answer:

I think programs not working is because of the lack of data that bleachbit caused, not because links and stuff if not because programs cant work well because there is a big amount of files(images all of them) that they cant read.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1663
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:40    Post subject:  

lolo69 wrote:
Quote:
@lolo69 Did you read my post?

Yes, i did. But look at this: Running VLC by its .desktop file works, by its menu entry works, by its terminal code works, chrome doesn't do it in any of them, i believe the .desktops are not the problem.
I never said that ".desktops" are the problem (if by that you mean .desktop files). What I'm trying to say is that you may have a link problem. Now please do me a favor and check any of the triangle desktop shortcuts that do not work: Right click => Edit item. The first entry in the dialog shows you the full path to your application. Are you sure that this path is still valid? Does that path work when you copy it to a terminal and press Enter?

Also please answer my very first question: What happens when you reboot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lolo69


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Posts: 77
Location: Your heart <3

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jan 2018, 20:50    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
lolo69 wrote:
Quote:
@lolo69 Did you read my post?

Yes, i did. But look at this: Running VLC by its .desktop file works, by its menu entry works, by its terminal code works, chrome doesn't do it in any of them, i believe the .desktops are not the problem.
I never said that ".desktops" are the problem (if by that you mean .desktop files). What I'm trying to say is that you may have a link problem. Now please do me a favor and check any of the triangle desktop shortcuts that do not work: Right click => Edit item. The first entry in the dialog shows you the full path to your application. Are you sure that this path is still valid? Does that path work when you copy it to a terminal and press Enter?


None of them work neither the ones that work clicking on them nor the ones that not.

Code:
root# /usr/share/applications/palemoon.desktop
bash: /usr/share/applications/palemoon.desktop: Permission denied


That happens when you try to use the path, but clicking on it, it works

Code:
root# palemoon

Doing that also works.

Code:
root# /usr/share/applications/google-chrome.desktop
bash: /usr/share/applications/google-chrome.desktop: Permission denied


When i try with the chrome path the same, by clicking on it nothing happens.

Code:
root# googlechrome
/usr/bin/googlechrome: line 2: export: `GOOGLE-CHROME=/opt/google/chrome/google-chrome': not a valid identifier
Inconsistency detected by ld.so: dl-open.c: 689: _dl_open: Assertion `_dl_debug_initialize (0, args.nsid)->r_state == RT_CONSISTENT' failed!


And starting it from terminal shows this.

I even tried to run them from /usr/bin/googlechrome and also did not work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 7 [97 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0893s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0147s) ][ GZIP on ]