Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 17 Nov 2019, 20:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox Quantum portable with apulse All-in
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 19:22    Post subject:  

it's ff

# ff
bash: ff: command not found

Last edited by kuman11 on Tue 05 Feb 2019, 20:56; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 19:46    Post subject:  

[quote="fredx181"]
kuman11 wrote:
fred,
I wouldn't know why it would mess up, can you give more details about how you did your setup ?
(e.g. is the portable Quantum part of your system e.g. in /opt or do you have it elsewhere, e,g, in /mnt/home)
Also, what's the output of "ff" when you run it from terminal ?

Fred


it's a folder under /root/firefox32
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5550
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 05 Feb 2019, 21:49    Post subject:  

@ kuman11:-

/Root's a bit of a silly place to have it, in my opinion. Far better to have it in /mnt/home, then symlink the /firefox32 directory into /opt. Once you've done that, you can use my Menu entry .pet for it to place a menu entry into Menu->Internet. That way, it's not occupying 'Puppy-space'.

See attached.


Mike. Wink
FF_Quantum_portable-MenuEntry.pet
Description  Menu Entry item for Fred's FF-Quantum-portable, running from /opt...
pet

 Download 
Filename  FF_Quantum_portable-MenuEntry.pet 
Filesize  77.29 KB 
Downloaded  67 Time(s) 

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4159
Location: holland

PostPosted: Wed 06 Feb 2019, 04:18    Post subject:  

kuman11 wrote:
it's ff

# ff
bash: ff: command not found


Use full path, e.g.
Code:
/root/firefox32/ff

Or from terminal standing in your firefox32 directory:
Code:
./ff

Sorry, I could have been more clear about it earlier.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2019, 17:07    Post subject:  

Both ways got me errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4159
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2019, 04:59    Post subject:  

kuman11 wrote:
Both ways got me errors.


And what are these errors ?

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2019, 05:52    Post subject:  

Both got me to 'Input/output error'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12771
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2019, 06:12    Post subject:  

kuman11 wrote:
Both got me to 'Input/output error'

That suggests that your download is corrupted.

Or you are having hardware problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Fri 08 Feb 2019, 07:23    Post subject:  

'That suggests that your download is corrupted.'

It's better to re-download it directly on the usb stick or in XSlacko?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 05:37    Post subject:  

Gee, re-downloaded it directly on the usb stick, put firefox32 in /opt, got gtk3
& then nothing again with ff ...

What a drag ...

got this:
/opt/firefox32/ff
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /opt/firefox32/libmozgtk.so:
libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1281
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 11:01    Post subject:  

hello kuman11,

it looks like the needed libgtk-3 is missing....try an experiment and open the puppy package manager and use the search bar look for libgtk-3 and install it .

see if firefox works now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4159
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 12:43    Post subject:  

kuman11 wrote:
Gee, re-downloaded it directly on the usb stick, put firefox32 in /opt, got gtk3
& then nothing again with ff ...

What a drag ...

got this:
/opt/firefox32/ff
XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /opt/firefox32/libmozgtk.so:
libgtk-3.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.


History is repeating itself here !
Same as you mentioned earlier and installing gtk3 from PPM was the solution:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=983319#983319

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 14:40    Post subject:  

fred,

it worked but not b4 I put gtk in the save, so now I'm left with about 110 Mb of space. So it'll crash again soon ...

how can I get the Slacko boot menu to run it in RAM as I'd prefer. It takes me right into the save.

Midori browser's horrible, can't save anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kuman11

Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Posts: 212

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 14:59    Post subject: /opt  

Even though firefox32 is in /opt it's somehow still in the save in /mnt/home ... occupies space, what's the point of putting it in there?

I still have 647 Mb free in /mnt though nothing goes in there ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SolusUmbra

Joined: 11 May 2017
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 09 Feb 2019, 17:15    Post subject:  

I'm running dpup 32bit (not sure if this makes a difference to anything but thought I would list it) and I've updated to 65.0 but I have no sound. I tried on Netflix and youtube. Just to make sure it wasn't my computer I started pmusic radio and I get sound from that. I also tried youtube on pale moon and had sound. So what did I do wrong?

*Edit Nevermind, I restarted the system and everything works now.

Last edited by SolusUmbra on Sat 09 Feb 2019, 19:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0639s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0158s) ][ GZIP on ]