Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 11 Dec 2019, 09:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Firefox Quantum portable with apulse All-in
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 674
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2019, 17:24    Post subject:  

I updated a portable 32 bit firefox 64 install today to firefox 66.0.1, as my main issue with browsers is the automatic playing of videos. I checked news websites and unfortunately videos are still playing automatically.

The setting which is supposed to stop all media from playing is "Stop websites from automatically playing sound" which is checked by default. Unchecking and re-checking seems to have no effect. I don't have any websites set as exceptions.

Are others using firefox 66 having the same results?
image-2.png
 Description   Block websites from automatically playing sound is checked.
 Filesize   50.53 KB
 Viewed   1590 Time(s)

image-2.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2019, 18:59    Post subject:  

Terry, supposing you have an add-on or two, is the behavior the same in safe mode?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5652
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2019, 19:25    Post subject:  

@ Terry H:-

Can't speak from personal experience with this specific extension:-

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/disable-autoplay/

.....but I use a similar extension in Chrome/Iron, which literally stops all auto-playing vids dead in their tracks. Worth investigating, perhaps? (Just a thought, like...)

There's only 3 sites I visit at all regularly that are 'blessed' Rolling Eyes with these things, but one is the type where the damn video 'follows' you around the website; prominently at the top when you first land, then as soon as you scroll past it, a small version 'jumps' to the side of the page, and keeps pace with you (so as to stay within your eye-line at all times...)

Those, I really hate. Grrr!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terry H

Joined: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 674
Location: The Heart of Muskoka, ON Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2019, 19:49    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Terry, supposing you have an add-on or two, is the behavior the same in safe mode?


Thanks semme, not sure what safe mode is, but videos still play when using private browsing, if that is what you are referring to.


Mike Walsh wrote:
@ Terry H:-

Can't speak from personal experience with this specific extension:-

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/disable-autoplay/

.....but I use a similar extension in Chrome/Iron, which literally stops all auto-playing vids dead in their tracks. Worth investigating, perhaps? (Just a thought, like...)


Mike. Wink


Thanks Mike. My issue is that this was seemingly the advertised big ticket update item in v66 and it has no effect here, it's just really annoying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 23 Mar 2019, 19:58    Post subject:  

Nevermind..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2095
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Mar 2019, 15:54    Post subject:  

I have a question about the 'ff' script, and making a new profile.
Can I link the about:config in the default profile to the new #2 profile?

When I open the new profile, the settings in about:config are back to a default setting, instead of the modified srtttings in the default profile. I'd hate to edit 430 lines of config a 2nd time.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4208
Location: holland

PostPosted: Thu 28 Mar 2019, 02:29    Post subject:  

Hi 8Geee,

I think it's best to copy all the contents from your ~/.mozilla/firefox/xxxxxxxx.default folder to the profile folder (better empty profile folder first), similar as I described here (for thunderbird):
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1019107#1019107

Only thing I'm not sure of is compatibility with older FF version (i.e. if the default folder is from very old FF, it may not work)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2095
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 28 Mar 2019, 21:28    Post subject:  

Thanx Fred, I am intending to swap 65.0.2 default across to a 'ff' defined 2nd profile. I'll have a read,

regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4208
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 13 Apr 2019, 13:15    Post subject:  

Hi All,

EDIT 2019-08-02: important: After removing the, fake .gz extension and making executable, run the attached script from terminal, e.g.:
Code:
./ffportable-inst

Do NOT just click it. After succesful run: click on the "ff" file inside new created directory (e.g. "firefox_68.0.1_64") to run Firefox portable.
See also here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1033555#1033555
==============================================================
Updated 2019-05-31, changed the contents of the 'extralibs' folder containing the pulse libs, now should work on older systems also, e.g. PrecisePup, attached script and download links replaced (32bit-additions and 64bit-additions)
==============================================================

Instead of updating FF-portable once in a while, I've now made a simple script that will download, extract latest Firefox and add some files to the portable folder (e.g. ff script, apulse etc...) so that the result wil be a folder named: firefox_<version>_<arch>, e.g. firefox_66.0.3_32 (version 66.0.3 is latest now) (32 bit) or firefox_66.0.3_64, (64bit) (according to running the script from 64bit OS or from 32bit OS) , rename as you wish.
Run the script from terminal standing in the directory where you want the portable folder to be created.Updated 2019-05-31

One of the advantages is that the language can be set by making a simple edit on top of the script, default it is en-US, change it to e.g. French:
Code:
FFLANG=fr

Or e.g. German:
Code:
FFLANG=de

Complete list of available languages, see here:
https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/latest/README.txt

Attached ffportable-inst.gz, remove fake .gz extension and make executable.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
EDIT: Another way is to download newest firefox from Here or Here in your language
Unpack it, firefox directory will appear, then download: 32bit-additions or 64bit-additions and extract in the new firefox folder (contains "ff" script and "extralibs" folder)
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Fred
ffportable-inst.gz
Description  Updated 2019-05-31, Remove fake .gz extension, make executable and run from terminal
gz

 Download 
Filename  ffportable-inst.gz 
Filesize  1.85 KB 
Downloaded  262 Time(s) 

Last edited by fredx181 on Fri 02 Aug 2019, 03:58; edited 7 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5652
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 13 Apr 2019, 20:07    Post subject:  

@ Fred/8Geee:-

8Geee wrote:
I have a question about the 'ff' script, and making a new profile.
Can I link the about:config in the default profile to the new #2 profile?

When I open the new profile, the settings in about:config are back to a default setting, instead of the modified srtttings in the default profile. I'd hate to edit 430 lines of config a 2nd time.

<----snip---->

...Thanx Fred, I am intending to swap 65.0.2 default across to a 'ff' defined 2nd profile. I'll have a read.


8Geee:-

Perhaps this might give you some ideas....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2095
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2019, 01:02    Post subject:  

Terry H:

unfortunatly these "rouge video-clips" can only be stopped with an ad-blocker. You will have to go to each site and block the container they are in. But you will find a common pattern that will universally stop them all on one site. A few years ago, I did this for yahoo websites. I need 17 rules to stop the pictures and the videos, but it works there. I would say its not easy. For yahoo these rules below can be copy then paste in to user rules, or my rules, etc. Remember to close the app, then browser. Waite a minute and reopen the browser. If you get a warning that the browser is still running, then Shutdown --> Restart graphical server will fix. Then open browser again.

*.yahoo.com/video/*
||yep.video.yahoo.com/*
https://*.yahoo.com/m/*
https://s.yimg.com/uu/*
||v4s.yimg.com/rx/builds/*/assets/*
||*.http.atlas.cdn.yimg.com^
https://*.yahoo.com/video/*
/http://d.yimg.com/hd/cnbc*/*
/https://d.yimg.com/hd/cnbc*/*
||https://www.yahoo.com/sy/uu/
|http://l.yimg.com/*/player.swf
||s1.yimg.com^
||https://*rack*.*.yimg.com/
||https://*.yimg.com/uu/api/*
||https://*.yimg.com/os/mit/media/*
||edgecast-vod.yahoo.net^
||s.yimg.com/uc/fin/img/*

Its a start
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5652
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2019, 06:47    Post subject:  

Re: Portable 'installer'

Fred:-

Very neat idea, man. Nice one.

You really do care about making Puppy as easy & accessible to everyone as you can, don't you? You're an inspiration to this forum nowadays!

Excellent work. Keep 'em coming..... Laughing

Just one question, if I may? Having run it through once to see how it works, I take it you simply run it from the location where you want the portable to be, yes? (Edit:- Sorry, missed that bit in the post..! Embarassed)

Any problem with my sharing this info with the Puppy users over at BleepingComputer & TechSupportGuy?




Mike.

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4208
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2019, 15:26    Post subject:  

Thanks Mike !

Quote:
Any problem with my sharing this info with the Puppy users over at BleepingComputer & TechSupportGuy?


No problem.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3672

PostPosted: Tue 16 Apr 2019, 16:19    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:
@ Fred/8Geee:-
8Geee wrote:
I have a question about the 'ff' script, and making a new profile.
Can I link the about:config in the default profile to the new #2 profile?

When I open the new profile, the settings in about:config are back to a default setting, instead of the modified srtttings in the default profile. I'd hate to edit 430 lines of config a 2nd time.

<----snip---->

...Thanx Fred, I am intending to swap 65.0.2 default across to a 'ff' defined 2nd profile. I'll have a read.

8Geee:-
Perhaps this might give you some ideas....
Mike. Wink

Very useful thanks Mike
Quote:
set-up a second profile within my install of Fred's portable-Quantum

I run Fred's FF Quantum portable inside a EasyOS container like environment (Xephyr separate X session, unshare/chroot/capsh), where firefox runs as spot (I've set spots default shell in /etc/passwd to be bespoke shell (script) with very limited commands available).

I now have one profile where a socks proxy is automatically engaged, so all https traffic routes via a ssh tunnel (as does dns, so http server doesn't see my IP and my ISP doesn't see the http connections) to one of the public ssh servers I use, and another that's conventional (local ISP's dns/routing).

The two profiles saves on having to 'preferences, network, socks proxy active/not' - just have two desktop icons ff-spot-socks and ff-spot-nosocks ... according to whether spot is wearings socks or not Smile

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
s243a

Joined: 02 Sep 2014
Posts: 2203

PostPosted: Wed 17 Apr 2019, 15:44    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Hi All,

Instead of updating FF-portable once in a while, I've now made a simple script that will download, extract latest Firefox and add some files to the portable folder (e.g. ff script, apulse etc...) so that the result wil be a folder named: firefox_<version>_<arch>, e.g. firefox_66.0.3_32 (version 66.0.3 is latest now) (32 bit) or firefox_66.0.3_64, (64bit) (according to running the script from 64bit OS or from 32bit OS) , rename as you wish.
Run the script from terminal standing in the directory where you want the portable folder to be created.

One of the advantages is that the language can be set by making a simple edit on top of the script, default it is en-US, change it to e.g. French:
Code:
FFLANG=fr

Or e.g. German:
Code:
FFLANG=de

Complete list of available languages, see here:
https://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/latest/README.txt

Attached ffportable-inst.gz, remove fake .gz extension and make executable.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
EDIT: Another way is to download newest firefox from Here or Here in your language
Unpack it, firefox directory will appear, then download: 32bit-additions or 64bit-additions and extract in the new firefox folder (contains "ff" script and "extralibs" folder)
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Fred


Apologies if these questions are already answered but:
1. What is the purpose of libatomic and will any version do or is there something special about this version in the way that it is compiled? (also is this specific to Firefox or do we probably want to add libatomic for any portable browser?)
2. I'm not clear about the syntax where you assign variables before executing the command. Is this a bash short hand for the export statement? Do you have a link to documentation about this?
3. I also see that you are prepending the extra-lib path to the LD_LIBRARY_PATH. It seems clear on what this does but at the same time I wouldn't mind some documentation about this in case I want to explain it to other people.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0858s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0175s) ][ GZIP on ]