Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Oct 2019, 19:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 29 of 30 [440 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3552

PostPosted: Thu 22 Nov 2018, 19:18    Post subject:  

What's the best/easiest way to set up a headless Fatdog (on a amd64/desktop tower)? i.e. liveCD boot, no HDD (config changes saved to multi-session), then once up and running as desired 'permanently' disconnecting the monitor/keyboard/mouse.

I've seen suggestions of re-configuring by connecting/disconnecting the monitor and waiting x minutes before ... type method (that seems a bit hit and miss) to get it configured to boot without a monitor. Another suggestion of using a xorg.conf with vnc device/monitor/screen type settings. Was wondering what is considered the more appropriate method/approach.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5354
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 22 Nov 2018, 19:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
liveCD boot, no HDD


It should be possible but you would need to have a savefile somewhere???
Hopefully a USB port still works.
Perhaps the savefile can be somewhere on a network??

I run raspberry pi3 headless with fatdogarm --> no hard disk and no CD
and it gets its settings for ethernet and wifi from the save file located
on the SD card.

Reading the boot-options.html it appears to be possible if SAMBA can be set up.

Quote:

savefile
This parameter tells Fatdog64 where to find the savefile. It can be specified in three different ways:

savefile=layer:location
This instructs Fatdog64 to load the savefile from the specified location, and using the layering mode specified.

cifs:user:pass:unc:path
Where:
"cifs" is the command, you have to specify it as is. It tells Fatdog64 that the savefile is available on the specified CIFS (SAMBA/Windows) share. For this command to work, you also need to tell Fatdog64 to enable network during boot - use the net parameter.
"user" is the userid for the cifs share. If user is set as +, Fatdog64 will ask you for the user/password at boot time.
"pass" is the password for the cifs share.
Note: whatever you specify here can be seen in /proc/cmdline after the system boots up. If you don't want anyone to see your cifs password, use +:+ as the user password and Fatdog64 will ask it at boot time - nothing will be shown in /proc/cmdline.
"unc" is the UNC (Universal Naming Convention) path to the CIFS share. Specify the IP address (or the hostname) of the CIFS server, as well as the shared folder name. Do not include path within the shared folder - if you need to specify this, use "path" option below. UNC cannot include space. Example: //192.168.1.5/MyShare.
"path" is the path to the savefile including the filename. Path is optional, if you don't specify it, the default of /fd64save.ext4 will be used.

____________________________________________________

Edit: I did a trick with my raspberry pi board so I didn't
need a pupsavefile-->

I opened up fd-arm.sfs and placed the wifi settings there
Then remade the fd-arm.sfs. Then put fd-arm.sfs back on sd card.
It worked!! It automatically recognized my home wifi network without
a pupsave file.
__________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3552

PostPosted: Thu 22 Nov 2018, 20:50    Post subject:  

It's a multi-session DVD Don, so in effect saves are incremental save files (sfs's) that get added to the DVD whenever you run a save and when booted the main sfs get's loaded and then each of those save files are applied in the order they were created. You can 'defrag' them by burning a new DVD with the main sfs, and then just save the latest (accumulative) snapshot alongside that. If a RW DVD then you can even use the same DVD to boot from, blank it, burn the main fatdog iso to that, then run save. RO are safer however as there's no way to delete all/any of the past saves. There's also a option to skip the last n saves, so if you mess up you can revert to any earlier version.

My focus was on the best way, once things are set up as desired - configured/made saves etc. with the monitor connected, how to then turn that into a headless setup i.e. disconnect the monitor and still have it boot to desktop/gui despite no monitor being connected. Primarily I use fatdog to vnc into from my main boot/desktop (OpenBSD), so I use fatdog's browser/internet etc. ... which is isolated from the OpenBSD system. So I want to setup fatdog to just be a PC without monitor/keyboard/mouse that just boots up to desktop loaded with vnc server (x11vnc) running, ready to be vncviewer connected to from my OpenBSD box. Presently I use the TV as the fatdogs monitor, so no issues there, but there's a group that are setting up shared servers/network access that we'll each be able to ssh into and in effect provides a degree of anonymity (so for instance I'll have a DVD slot for a fatdog livecd, but unlike at home, they'll be no monitor/keyboard/mouse that I could easily plug in as/when the need arose (servers located in a different country)).

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5354
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 22 Nov 2018, 21:15    Post subject:  

It shouldn't be hard to make your computer headless.

[url]and still have it boot to desktop/gui despite no monitor being connected. [/url]

To make the computer remember the wifi setting required only one line in a config file if my memory hasn't failed me. Laughing
__________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3552

PostPosted: Thu 22 Nov 2018, 21:36    Post subject:  

Adding nomodeset as a kernel boot parameter seems to do the trick. But that loses acceleration (vesa) and resolution (drops to 1024x768 in my case).

That said, the lower res makes things fly a lot quicker, just watched a youtube and it played really well.

I'm using ssvnc-viewer and F8, Scale and entering "fit" maximises it to full screen, F8, Scale, 1 ... resets it (to a relatively smaller window size). With that 'zooming' in and out it works quite well IMO. Scrolling/video's are more jerky when zoomed, but play OK when no scaling is applied. Zoomed is nice in other cases such as when entering this text.
s.png
 Description   
 Filesize   140.71 KB
 Viewed   800 Time(s)

s.png


_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1210

PostPosted: Fri 23 Nov 2018, 15:16    Post subject:  

I love that picture, rufwoof Smile
_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof


Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 3552

PostPosted: Fri 23 Nov 2018, 18:24    Post subject: mongoose web server and MTP browser  

First time I've tried/used Fatdog's mongoose (web server).

Logged into my router and set Port forwarding for port 80 to my fatdog PC's IP.

In fatdogs Control Panel, Manage Services I enabled both mongoose and eztables (firewall).

In /etc/eztables.cfg I added a line for
Code:
allow_in any $eth0 any "$WEB"

Created a web page in /var/lib/www called index.html with content of
<html><body>testing</body</html>
and browsing to that the test page displays fine. I have a dynamic domain name service (free) under ddnsfree (dynu) so that web page can be viewed from anywhere on the internet via that domain name (i.e. associates a domain name to whatever IP I set); Otherwise you'd have to share your PC's external IP for others to access it.


Menu, Filesystem, MTP Browser also works great. Connect my android via USB cable to my PC, run MTP Browser and you're ready to go transferring files to/from your phone using rox filer drag/drop.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Fatdog multi-session usb

echo url|sed -e 's/^/(c/' -e 's/$/ hashbang.sh)/'|sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Blackbird

Joined: 27 Nov 2012
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2018, 09:49    Post subject: Chrome
Subject description: Paakage Fail
 

Hi Guys

I have run into a snag

I have used the update chrome function from the control panel.
It appeared to download and make the package and install OK
However when I tried to run it from the App menu nothing happened.
I then rebooted and the Chrome menu item has disappeared.
I am running a fresh save file with devx loaded
I have been unable to research a solution.
Any ideas on what I have failed to do or
steps to remedy,
or places I haven't looked at or
a .sfs link will be much appreciated
Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Anniekin


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 246

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2018, 23:38    Post subject:  

HELLO I WOULD LIKE TO CHANGE THE DEFAULT SAVE DIRECTORY FOR XSCREENSHOT IN 721
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1210

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2018, 09:10    Post subject:  

Anniekin wrote:
HELLO I WOULD LIKE TO CHANGE THE DEFAULT SAVE DIRECTORY FOR XSCREENSHOT IN 721


One way is to edit file /etc/xdg/Startup/xscreenshot and change
Code:

#!/bin/dash
exec xscreenshot -k Print

to
Code:

#!/bin/dash
exec xscreenshot -k Print -p '/root/Downloads/CAPTURE/xscreenshot'

This will place captures in folder /root/Downloads/CAPTURE. Each file name will start with prefix "xscreenshot".

I can't remember if option -p was added after the 721 release, so please first check that the above line works at the command line. If it doesn't work look for an updated xscreenshot package using Gslapt Package Manager.

_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ron911

Joined: 22 Feb 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2019, 03:37    Post subject: ANKI for Fatdog64 721
Subject description: ANKI not found in repository
 

Hi Guys,

I did install Fatdog64 to my new Acer Aspire A111 and all goes well (with some help from Noryb009 for a dual install with Windows 10), but now I am stuck with the installation of Anki.
I am learning Spanish and use Anki for my vocabulary flash cards. I find this quite helpful and had this on my older computer(s) with other Puppy versions.

In the Gslapt package manager I cannot find ANKI.
Is it possible to download that program somewhere else? What with the dependencies?

I would be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.

Thanks
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3367
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2019, 09:16    Post subject:  

Ron911, this is the wrong thread. This thread is about release 721, while I believe you're running the 800RC.

Anyway, I tried packaging anki for you, unfortunately it's not that easy. The promoted download package depends on systemd - which we don't have in Fatdog.
So the only way to do it is to build from scratch, but it has non-trivial dependencies (that must also be built). We will still try to package it but will take sometime.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ron911

Joined: 22 Feb 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2019, 15:39    Post subject:  

Hello Jamsbond,

Thank you very much for your help.
I am running Fatdog64 - 721 (that is what my downloaded iso is called).
I am not in a hurry, still have the older computer with Anki running on it.
If you decide building it is too much of a hassle then just let it be, I don't want to push anyone.

Best regards
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 3367
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 27 Feb 2019, 11:13    Post subject:  

Ah ok. I saw your post from the LICK thread and I assumed you were running 800RC.

Anyway, I managed to package anki with a lot less effort. I'm uploading it here: http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/sfs/800/anki-2.1.9-amd64.sfs and I have only tested this with FD 800, however it might work with 721 too. No harm trying.

This is the re-packaged binary from Anki's official binaries. I don't build it, just re-package it. I tested it to the point that it launched and showed its window; I didn't do any further testing with it.

Good luck.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ron911

Joined: 22 Feb 2019
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri 01 Mar 2019, 05:47    Post subject:  

Hello JB,

Thank you very much.
I installed Anki, the program opens and almost everything works.
I could log in to anki, import decks and synchronize my decks with the Anki web site.
Only problem left: I do not hear the audio files associated with the pictures in the flashcards.

The first time I tried a card the program warned that it was unable to play audio because mplayer or mpv was not installed.
So I installed mplayer with the gslapt package manager from fatdog.
After installation and reboot I could see mplayer in the menu (multimedia tab) but clicking on it does nothing, mplayer does not open. Also, in Anki there is still no audio.

As a test I also installed mpv from "slackware.pkgs.org" and even though I see mpv in the menu it does not open.
Could it be a dependency problem in both mplayer and mpv???
I checked for dependencies in "slackware.pkgs.org" but there are so many and each dependency has again other dependencies...
I am out of my league here...

Another question, do you advice to start right away with RC800 or continue with fatdog64-721? Once I have everything working I count on using this configuration for quit a while. I am just a regular user, web browsing, Anki, a chess game and some document processing.

Thank you again and best regards
Ron
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 29 of 30 [440 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1067s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0332s) ][ GZIP on ]