(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Sep 2020, 02:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 31 [453 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3721
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jan 2018, 17:59    Post subject:  

step wrote:
@Billtoo, thanks for the report. Was wifi working OOTB for the "slow bios" option, or did you need to add a driver?
On a side note, I like that you add local weather conditions to your reports!


@step

I wanted to make sure that wireless was supported OOTB when using the
"slow bios" option so I booted the DVD using the option and setup wireless in the
control panel then rebooted after installing Firefox Quantum 58.0.1
creating the savefile on the hard drive.
After rebooting to the desktop I needed to configure wireless once
again in the control panel.
I don't have any sfs files loaded yet so wireless is supported OOTB,
don't have to wait for anything to load from a flash drive either so
this is working better that my first attempt.

System: Host: fatdog64-e81 Kernel: 4.14.12 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Openbox 3.5.2 Distro: Fatdog64 Linux 721
Machine: Device: desktop System: ACER product: Aspire M5620 v: R01-A4 serial: PTS860X0348050CF642700
Mobo: ACER model: G33T-AM v: 1.0 serial: 00000000 BIOS: American Megatrends v: R01-A4 date: 12/19/2007
Battery hidpp__0: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh
hidpp__1: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh
CPU: Quad core Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 (-MCP-) speed/max: 1603/2403 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA GF108 [GeForce GT 430]
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.5 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,nv,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: NVC1 version: 4.3 Mesa 17.2.8
Network: Card-1: Intel 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
Card-2: D-Link System AirPlus G DWL-G122 Wireless Adapter(rev.C1) [Ralink RT2571W] driver: rt73usb
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (2.2% used)
Weather: Conditions: 25 F (-4 C) - Overcast Time: January 31, 4:40 PM EST
Info: Processes: 161 Uptime: 13 min Memory: 606.4/7981.0MB Client: Shell (sh) inxi: 2.3.56

I will continue to setup this install now.

Thanks

EDIT: I finished the setup, Ubuntu is on the hard drive and it didn't interfere with that (still boots) and Windows is long gone.
It's working well,

Last edited by Billtoo on Thu 01 Feb 2018, 01:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gordie

Joined: 23 Aug 2016
Posts: 156
Location: Nolalu, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jan 2018, 21:04    Post subject:  

step wrote:
@Gordie, perhaps you need to add a kernel module specific to your adapter. In brief, connect to the Internet somehow, start SFS Manager from Control Panel > System, download and load the "additional firmware SFS", depmod the kernel module of your interest (this might be a bit difficult if are inexperienced with depmod), test wifi by clicking "Restart Connection" from the right click menu of the wpa_gui icon in the tray (read Fatdog's Networking help topic for more info). If wifi works then you can make the changes permanent by extracting from the SFS the module files of your interest and adding them to the file system.
Please report the make and model of your wireless adapter so we can add it to the ISO. To keep Fatdog slim the ISO doesn't include all possible firmware but just a selection of mainstream hardware. Occasionally we need to tune the selection. This is better explained in the second post in this thread.
Other people before you have had this problem, so you can search this thread for more tips and additional instructions.


Network controller [0280]: Intel Corporation Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 [8086:4238] (rev 35)
• Kernel Driver: iwlwifi
• Description: Intel(R) Wireless WiFi driver for Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Thu 01 Feb 2018, 14:50    Post subject: Problem with latest Vivaldi browser  

vivaldi-stable 1.14.1077.41 fails to run (opens a gray window with the V logo only) in Fatdog 721 with the message
Code:
# run-as-spot /opt/vivaldi/vivaldi-bin
[10797:10849:0201/082534.460020:ERROR:bus.cc(394)] Failed to connect to the bus: Could not parse server address: Unknown address type (examples of valid types are "tcp" and on UNIX "unix")
[10797:10797:0201/082534.734602:ERROR:gpu_process_transport_factory.cc(1009)] Lost UI shared context.

I see no mention of this in Vivaldi forum, so I guess it's a peculiarity of FD. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

sfs from the deb. gtk3 package from the repo installed.

EDIT: I had said that Vivaldi-stable_1.13.1008.44 runs with just 4 libs from gtk3 pkg, and Opera_50.0.2762.67 runs with those plus libnotify.so.4. However, some fairly common actions cause them to crash. They appear to be ok with the full gtk3 package.

Last edited by Wognath on Thu 08 Feb 2018, 14:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LateAdopter

Joined: 27 May 2011
Posts: 362
Location: Reading UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2018, 05:18    Post subject:  

Hello Wognath

I ran vivaldi-stable 1.14.1077.41 on Xenialpup64 for a couple of minutes before I switched back to 1.11. It seems to be far from finished.
It wouldn't display history and it ignored some settings that were present in the settings menu.

I guess there must have been some last minute changes in Chromium that Vivaldi haven't accommodated yet.

I won't try it on FD64 until it's working on Xenialpup64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
snayak

Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 422

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2018, 05:48    Post subject:  

Thanks step for your guide.

I did a debug of rc.shutdown file.

Coded like this...

Code:

echo $(date +%F.%T) >> /aufs/devsave/shutdown.log
chvt 1
echo $(date +%F.%T) >> /aufs/devsave/shutdown.log


Found that chvt is taking a long time... not always, but sometime. So chvt is the culprit for slow shutdown.

Tried several chvt on my terminal. It killed my puppy. Sad

Any way out?

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak

_________________
[Precise 571 on AMD Athlon XP 2000+ with 512MB RAM]
[Fatdog 720 on Intel Pentium B960 with 4GB RAM]

http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2018, 09:35    Post subject:  

I'm not too familiar with this piece of Fatdog64, but you could try another chvt. There's /usr/bin/chvt, and /bin/chvt (the busybox applet). Most likely rc.shutdown picks /usr/bin/chvt. So try if replacing "chvt" with /bin/chvt helps.
_________________
Fatdog64-810|+Packages|Kodi|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FanDog

Joined: 25 May 2017
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2018, 14:14    Post subject: openCL
Subject description: how hard to get it running?
 

hello, hoping this is the place to ask:

how hard would it be to get openCL up and running on FatDog64?

I once done it on gentoo, same machine, so it can be done. However I think we here use the open source driver, which I thought already had openCL working but, according to [1], is still WIP for my card (R9 270).

This means it would require the closed driver [2].

I also read this[3], but doesn't say much, basically just installing the driver should be enough.

I tried "pip install pyopencl", but after going quite far into the installation, complained about not finding the headers for CL/cl.h (which I suppose would also be solved by the right drivers?)


Thanks.

Refs:

[1] S.Islands, on the table here: https://wiki.freedesktop.org/xorg/RadeonFeature/#index1h2

[2] " Thus, the closed-source driver is mostly useful to users who want to [...], or want to run anything that uses Vulkan with advanced shaders, or want to fully exploit OpenCL. " @ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU-PRO

[3] https://wiki.tiker.net/OpenCLHowTo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Fri 02 Feb 2018, 18:33    Post subject:  

LateAdopter, thanks for the information. The gray screen issue has now been reported by several people in the Vivaldi blog. One moderator says it's a bug in Chromium 64. I can wait while they fix it since 1.13 works well. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 423
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 02:04    Post subject:  

Please Howto install Opera Browser, that's Not in the Package Manager, So when I Downloaded it from opera.com, I got a .deb file that doesn't play well w/ Fatdog64, then I noticed that I could Converter it 2 a Gslapt Happy Format, But that didn't work either, Then I Noticed that I could Convert that 2 a SFS Package,... But Alas that didn't work Either!

How Hard could it be?

SmileK

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer! Boycott the Evil M$ & Google!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 03:55    Post subject:  

Max Headroom - libnotify 0.7.7 is required and available via Gslapt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 423
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 06:46    Post subject:  

Thanx Jake29, 4 your Reply, I've installed the libnotify 0.7.7 as instructed, But Alas still No joy... Wot am I Missing Please?

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer! Boycott the Evil M$ & Google!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 11:39    Post subject:  

Max Headroom wrote:
Thanx Jake29, 4 your Reply, I've installed the libnotify 0.7.7 as instructed, But Alas still No joy... Wot am I Missing Please?

Confused K

In Terminal:
Code:
 run-as-spot opera

If unsuccessful, go to actual folder (see above) and run the command there.

And as last resort, in Terminal:
Code:
 opera --no-sandbox

Note: You also need to install (for video playback) ffmpeg-codecs available here: https://repo.herecura.eu/herecura/x86_64/
Extract libffmpeg.so to usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/lib_extra/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1352

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 13:38    Post subject:  

@Max Headroom, in addition to what jake29 already well said, this is the list of packages that I installed in order to get Opera working
at-spi2-atk-2.18.1-x86_64-1
at-spi2-core-2.18.3-x86_64-1
gtk3-3.18.7-x86_64-1
libnspr-4.17-x86_64-1
libnss-3.33-x86_64-1
libnotify-0.7.7-x86_64-1
You can install them from Fatdog64 Control Panel > System >Gslapt Package Manager.

After the installation open a terminal window and run the following commands

chown root.root /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/opera_sandbox
chmod 4755 /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/opera_sandbox

Note: commands adapted from my notes for opera-developer. I didn't actually test them for opera, but they should be the same.

_________________
Fatdog64-810|+Packages|Kodi|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Max Headroom


Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 423
Location: GodZone Kiwi

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 16:22    Post subject:  

Thanx Step 4 your Help

I think I've installed all the Packages as instructed ( I only say I think because of How Weird / Unfamiliar Gslapt Behaves Compared 2 Puppy Package Manager or Synaptic )

So Assuming the Packages aRe installed by Gslapt

When I Typed chown root.root /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/opera_sandbox
chown: cannot access '/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/opera_sandbox': No such file or directory

or without the Space after root

chown root.root/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/opera_sandbox
chown: missing operand after 'root.root/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/opera_sandbox'
Try 'chown --help' for more infomation.

I don't understand what operand is, so I di an iNet Search & Red a Wiki about it, But it still doesn't Compute ie. Makes No sCents!

I've Red the chown --help & I'm still Confused... Confused

I'm Sorry if I'm a Pain!

Confused K

_________________
PC is Not Political Correctness Razz , it's a Personal Computer! Boycott the Evil M$ & Google!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 253

PostPosted: Sun 04 Feb 2018, 17:02    Post subject:  

@Max Headroom - If /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/opera/ does not exist, then Opera has not been installed. Maybe you should start again with the .deb. Right-click on the .deb - Convert to Fatdog Package Format and install that new file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 31 [453 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, ..., 29, 30, 31 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1750s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1160s) ][ GZIP on ]