Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 06 Dec 2019, 07:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 30 [441 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1222

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jan 2018, 17:55    Post subject:  

dr. Dan wrote:
jake29 wrote:
step / dr. Dan - Thanks for the replies. That answered my question. I think it's time I set up a proper Boot loader.

Just FYI, recently I needed to lend my (just purchased) laptop to someone who had to have that other OS in order to use Photoshop and Lightroom. Somewhere I read that W7 (probably others as well) won't perform updates properly when booted from a different boot loader, but I was able to perform them without issue. Not that I would recommend their new "updates".
I have seen some corner-case, multi-partition boot loader setups where W7 wasn't marked genuine anymore, therefore Windows Update failed.
_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jan 2018, 06:31    Post subject:  

step wrote:
dr. Dan wrote:
jake29 wrote:
step / dr. Dan - Thanks for the replies. That answered my question. I think it's time I set up a proper Boot loader.

Just FYI, recently I needed to lend my (just purchased) laptop to someone who had to have that other OS in order to use Photoshop and Lightroom. Somewhere I read that W7 (probably others as well) won't perform updates properly when booted from a different boot loader, but I was able to perform them without issue. Not that I would recommend their new "updates".
I have seen some corner-case, multi-partition boot loader setups where W7 wasn't marked genuine anymore, therefore Windows Update failed.

I will report back how I get on. The only reason I have the Windows partition is for games. And I certainly can't afford to take the performance hit of the Intel Meltdown patch on my current CPU. So dr. Dan, you don't need to talk to me about avoiding updates Smile

I hope in the near future to upgrade to an i5 based system (I only realised recently how cheap an Ivy Bridge refurb sells for) - and then play Windows games via VGA PCI Passthrough using Looking Glass.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jan 2018, 01:50    Post subject: Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]  

I moved the usb-3.0 SSD install from my Lenovo desktop to my HP desktop and
it has a new savefile:

System: Host: fatdog64-ccf Kernel: 4.14.12 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Openbox 3.5.2
Distro: Fatdog64 Linux 721
Machine: Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HPE-410f serial: MXX0370KF3
Mobo: FOXCONN model: 2AB1 v: 1.00 serial: N/A
BIOS: American Megatrends v: 6.02 date: 07/21/2010
CPU: 6 core AMD Phenom II X6 1045T (-MCP-) speed/max: 800/2700 MHz
Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5550/5570/5630/6510/6610/770]
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.5 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: AMD REDWOOD (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.14.12, LLVM 4.0.1)
version: 3.3 Mesa 17.2.8
Network: Card-1: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCIE Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1127.5GB (0.4% used)
Weather: Conditions: 41 F (5 C) - Scattered Clouds Time: January 28, 12:33 AM EST
Info: Processes: 180 Uptime: 1:29 Memory: 787.5/7981.2MB Client: Shell (sh) inxi: 2.3.53

It's now using Firefox Quantum 58.0 + added dosbox with package
manager + Gkrellm from source code.

The radeon graphics driver is working pretty well.

Thanks.
xscreenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   113.04 KB
 Viewed   698 Time(s)

xscreenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amn87

Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun 28 Jan 2018, 17:28    Post subject: Screen Tearing  

I was previously using Slacko 6.3.2 but because of screen tearing I decided to test Fatdog64 but to my disappointment the same issue persisted. Not just in video playback, but just moving any window real fast or scrolling in browser etc. I also experimented with Compiz-reloaded but the recommended settings did nothing to fix this issue. I tried switching to the nv drivers but x server will always fail to initialise. In Slacko I was successful in installing the proprietary Nvidia drivers but to no avail.
System specs : Intel Core 2 Duo @2GHz, Nvidia 9600M GT and 3GB RAM
Running Fatdog64 721.
Doesn't anybody else face this issue?
Edit: With Kodi screen tearing is almost eliminated.

Last edited by amn87 on Mon 29 Jan 2018, 09:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amn87

Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2018, 03:43    Post subject: Broken link for Nvidia driver.  

In SFS Manager I get the error "Failed to download" and in ibiblio website 404 error. Please reupload if possible. With Kodi finally I have screen tearing free playback. But for some reason with the inbuilt Nouveau drivers the GPU always seems to run at its highest voltage (resulting in high temps) whereas with the proprietary Nv drivers in Slacko it was not the case.
Edit: The link to the guide to compiling SFS for Nvidia drivers is also not working. http://lightofdawn.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/CreateNvidiaDriverSFS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12959
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2018, 06:31    Post subject:  

amn87,

If your computer is a laptop it could be using the Nvidia Optimus setup.
Basically it uses the Processors Intel Graphics for the normal stuff and Nvidia for high demand stuff.
Puppy is not setup to use this.
Puppy is using the Intel only, unless the computers bios has option to turn this off and only use the Nvidia hardware.

Try this:
In /etc/x11/xorg.conf.d
create an empty text file named 20-intel.conf.
Edit this empty file "20-intel.conf" and add the following content:

Code:
n "Device"
   Identifier  "Intel Graphics"
   Driver      "intel"
   Option      "AccelMethod"  "uxa"
EndSection

Reboot.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amn87

Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2018, 09:23    Post subject:  

Thanks for the response. Optimus is not to blame here as it was launched much later. Atleast with Kodi video playback which was the main issue has been taken care of. Although screen tearing persists elsewhere. The proprietary Nvidia drivers might have helped if nothing else but to tame the high GPU temps. but the links to the Nvidia SFS are broken. The drivers listed on Nvidia website for Linux 64-bit they can't be installed in Fatdog64, right? Although many years back I had installed them in Ubuntu without any modification.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2018, 11:10    Post subject: Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]  

I installed to a 32gb usb-3.0 flash drive:

System: Host: fatdog64-b6a Kernel: 4.14.12 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Openbox 3.5.2 Distro: Fatdog64 Linux 721
Machine: Device: desktop Mobo: Acer model: Aspire X3950 serial: U02C120500059
BIOS: American Megatrends v: P01-A3 date: 05/05/2010
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3 540 (-MT-MCP-) speed/max: 1333/3067 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.5 driver: intel Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Desktop version: 2.1 Mesa 17.2.8
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: D-Link System AirPlus G DWL-G122 Wireless Adapter(rev.C1) [Ralink RT2571W] driver: rt73usb
Drives: HDD Total Size: 531.6GB (0.5% used)
Weather: Conditions: 21 F (-6 C) - Mostly Cloudy Time: January 29, 9:51 AM EST
Info: Processes: 175 Uptime: 1:59 Memory: 866.4/5892.3MB Client: Shell (sh) inxi: 2.3.56

Added dosbox,gkrellm,inxi,Firefox Quantum 58.0.
Configured monitor positions with zarfy.

Works well so far,
Thanks.
xscreenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   79.21 KB
 Viewed   506 Time(s)

xscreenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amn87

Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2018, 11:31    Post subject: Re: Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]  

.
Last edited by amn87 on Tue 30 Jan 2018, 00:45; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 29 Jan 2018, 19:56    Post subject: Fatdog64-720 and 721 Final [11 Jan 2018]  

I installed to a 32gb SDHC card:

I loaded fd64-devx_721.sfs,kernel-source-4.14.12.sfs, and downloaded NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-390.25.run
from the nvidia site.The driver was just released today.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 29 Jan 2018 on Fatdog64 721 Linux 4.14.12 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF108 [GeForce GT 430] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v0p1 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.19.5
dimensions: 3200x900 pixels (883x251 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 390.25

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz
Core 0: @2003 1: @2003 MHz

Seems to be working okay so far.
Thanks.

EDIT: Firefox Quantum is now at 58.0.1
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.97 KB
 Viewed   452 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Tue 30 Jan 2018, 05:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1222

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jan 2018, 04:51    Post subject:  

@amn87, if the correct driver version for your nvidia is 340, then I have compiled 340.106 for Fatdog64-721. I uploaded and SFS here https://drive.google.com/open?id=12oXcbYf2oToFyo3wGk_tOfQXdLxmLHyR
This being an SFS, you need to load it early and to blacklist nouveau. Personally I do it by modifying the kernel line in the boot loader entry for Fatdog64-721, i.e.,
Code:

kernel WHATEVER blacklist=nouveau extrasfs=label:LABEL:PATH-TO/NVIDIA_64_32_4_14_12-340.106-x86_64-1_721.sfs

where you should replace "LABEL" with the partition label of the disk, and "PATH-TO" with the full path of the directory where the SFS file is located in the disk, and "WHATEVER" is whatever is currently in the kernel line.
Note that Fatdog64's initrd supports other ways to specify file locations without partition labels - See FAQ in "Fatdog help".

_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus

Last edited by step on Tue 30 Jan 2018, 15:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jake29

Joined: 24 Jul 2015
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jan 2018, 07:38    Post subject: run-as-spot wine  

I've mentioned before about an issue around being unable to kill certain apps - specifically wine / windows apps.

To recap, what would happen was that when running certain windows apps via wine - explorer.exe would start using a very high percentage of CPU. The process could not be killed despite trying everything.

I had not encountered this prior to the moving of spot from /root/ to /home/ in Fatdog v720.

For over a week now, I have used run-as-spot for all wine activities, with 'run-as-spot winecfg' initially to create /home/spot/.wine. All windows apps are run with run-as-spot prefix.

This so far has stopped the issue with explorer.exe resurfacing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DrDeaf

Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 69

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jan 2018, 13:34    Post subject:  

I used 710 until 721 came out, and even then I have been slow to begin with it. So, I am just now giving up on a problem I discovered with 721.
I think I read somewhere of something at least similar in a thread somewhere but I can not find it. I am using a Thinkpad X230T notebook with 16GB system RAM.
Just to get started, I burned 721 on a CD and it seems to work perfectly until I close the screen down. When I lift it back up all seems to look OK except that the wpa-gui shows I have a connection but no IP address is listed. A browser can not connect.
I have tried to find a way around this to no avail. I can "suspend" 721 from the menu and everything will restore OK. Only when I close the display down to the keyboard does this problem occur.
A fresh boot works OK until, again, I close the screen down.
Sorry if this has already been addressed, but I can't find it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dr. Dan


Joined: 20 Apr 2015
Posts: 85
Location: Oregon, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jan 2018, 15:14    Post subject:  

DrDeaf wrote:
I used 710 until 721 came out, and even then I have been slow to begin with it. So, I am just now giving up on a problem I discovered with 721.
I think I read somewhere of something at least similar in a thread somewhere but I can not find it. I am using a Thinkpad X230T notebook with 16GB system RAM.
Just to get started, I burned 721 on a CD and it seems to work perfectly until I close the screen down. When I lift it back up all seems to look OK except that the wpa-gui shows I have a connection but no IP address is listed. A browser can not connect.
I have tried to find a way around this to no avail. I can "suspend" 721 from the menu and everything will restore OK. Only when I close the display down to the keyboard does this problem occur.
A fresh boot works OK until, again, I close the screen down.
Sorry if this has already been addressed, but I can't find it.

I have had suspend issues with wpa-gui on one particular Dell laptop for a while. I haven't solved it yet, but I can get around it by right clicking the wpa-gui icon and clicking "restart connection". Have you already tried that?
jamesbond gave me instructions for adding a hook.

[quote="jamesbond"]The suspend/wakeup script is located at /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh. The default contents stops network before suspend, and re-starts it after resume. If network doesn't work well after resume, it might well be the network driver. The usual suggested approach is to unload the network driver ("rmmod module-name") and load it again after suspend.[quote/]
I still haven't dug into making it work, but I expect it will work in my case when I apply it correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
step

Joined: 04 May 2012
Posts: 1222

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jan 2018, 15:52    Post subject: Re: run-as-spot wine  

@jake29, I haven't announced it, yet, but I built wine-3.0 SFS. Load it from SFS manager for a test run. Backup spot's wine prefix to be safe. It's working well for me.
_________________
Fatdog64-802|+Packages|Kodi|Findnrun|+forum|gtkmenuplus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 30 [441 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0722s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0128s) ][ GZIP on ]