Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Sep 2018, 04:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
How to use Netgear WNDA3100 USB dongle?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
obelix4d

Joined: 04 Dec 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 14:38    Post subject:  How to use Netgear WNDA3100 USB dongle?  

Hi all,

i tryed to use puppy linux in an old machine wit win xp.
But I have problem to connect to the web with a USB Netgear WNDA3100

Someone can tell me how I have to configure puppy so I can use the browser?

Thank you for your help.

bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 799
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 15:06    Post subject:  

I use a Ndiswrapper to run the Windows drivers for the Netgear WNDA3100.
http://www.puppylinuxforum.org/thread-596.html

click on the Connect icon and select wired or wireless LAN
then select the Puppy Network Wizard. Select Load Module
now select the tab Ndiswrapper Select Use Ndiswrapper
then you will select the WNDA3100 and then select the location of the .ini file for your window drivers. If you do not have the drivers you will download the correct one from NETGEAR and extract it using Wine...it will not install correctly with Wine but it will be now a folder containing the driver. someplace in /root/.wine/c_drive and you could move the folder or not. then use the Network Wizard or the Simple Network Setup to install the Windows driver....remember it is used through the Ndiswrapper or Windows tab in the
Simple Network Setup.

Good Luck! let us know how you make out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
obelix4d

Joined: 04 Dec 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 15:29    Post subject:  

thank you very much. I will try and then I let you know Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
obelix4d

Joined: 04 Dec 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:09    Post subject:  

I downloaded the driver but when I open it in puppy I see two files:
ReleaseNotes_WNDA3100v1_sw_3.0.0.2.html
WNDA3100 v3.0.0.2 setup.exe

Did I downloaded the wrong file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 4305
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:12    Post subject:  

We don't do Sudo in Puppy.

Take the advice of rockedge but be aware you might need
to re-insert the usb to get it working if rockyy' advice doesn't get you connected.

::::::::

https://askubuntu.com/questions/727287/getting-netgear-wnda3100-usb-adapter-working-on-ubuntu-15-10

" 0
down vote


I was finally able to get wireless working by reading and rereading posts at this site:

http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1964173.html

as chili555 worked with another user.

I think by removing and reinserting the USB transceiver allowed it to make the connection.
On reboot, I did have to reinsert the USB device once again to get a connection.
Thanks for all that responded. Robbo

note: Since that first reboot, the wlan connects automatically on each subsequent reboot."

""""""""

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
obelix4d

Joined: 04 Dec 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:32    Post subject:  

Thank you but now I'm lost. It's my first time in linux Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11016
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:51    Post subject:  

What version of Puppy are you trying to use?

Run Menu->System->Pup-Sysinfo->Devices->USB devices->Complete

Find the info for your netgear WNDA3100.
Need to know what chip set it is using.
It is probably Broadcom, but Netgear uses several different ones.

This is the info we need:
Example:
My netgear WNA1100
Mine uses Atheros
ID = 0846:9030 NetGear, Inc. WNA1100 Wireless-N 150 [Atheros AR9271]
USB Version = 2.00
Manufacturer =6 NETGEAR WNA
Product =2 WNA1100

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
obelix4d

Joined: 04 Dec 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 17:23    Post subject:  

6.3

====> USB DEVICES (lsusb) <====

Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0846:9011 NetGear, Inc. WNDA3100v2 802.11abgn [Broadcom BCM4323]
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 054c:0243 Sony Corp. MicroVault Flash Drive
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 276d:1119
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub


====> USB DEVICES (lsusb -t) <====

Bus 03.Port 1: Device 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=ohci-pci/3p, 12Mbit/s
|__ Port 3: Device 2, Interface 0, Class=Human Interface Device, Driver=usbhid, 1.5Mbit/s
Bus 02.Port 1: Device 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=ohci-pci/3p, 12Mbit/s
Bus 01.Port 1: Device 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=ehci-pci/6p, 480Mbit/s
|__ Port 3: Device 2, Interface 0, Class=Vendor Specific Class, Driver=, 480Mbit/s
|__ Port 5: Device 4, Interface 0, Class=Mass Storage, Driver=usb-storage, 480Mbit/s


====> USB DEVICES (lsusb -v) <====

Bus 001 Device 002:
ID = 0846:9011 NetGear, Inc. WNDA3100v2 802.11abgn [Broadcom BCM4323]
USB Version = 2.00
Manufacturer = Broadcom
Product = Remote Download Wireless Adapter
Serial Number = 0
Max Current = 200mA

Bus 001 Device 004:
ID = 054c:0243 Sony Corp. MicroVault Flash Drive
USB Version = 2.00
Manufacturer = Sony
Product = Storage Media
Serial Number = 2A08090168602
Max Current = 200mA
Class = Mass Storage

Bus 003 Device 002:
ID = 276d:1119
USB Version = 1.10
Manufacturer = YSTEK
Product = G Mouse
Max Current = 100mA
Class = Human Interface Device

Bus 001 Device 001:
ID = 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
USB Version = 2.00
Manufacturer = Linux 3.14.55 ehci_hcd
Product = EHCI Host Controller
Serial Number = 0000:00:02.2
Class = Hub

Bus 002 Device 001:
ID = 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
USB Version = 1.10
Manufacturer = Linux 3.14.55 ohci_hcd
Product = OHCI PCI host controller
Serial Number = 0000:00:02.0
Class = Hub

Bus 003 Device 001:
ID = 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
USB Version = 1.10
Manufacturer = Linux 3.14.55 ohci_hcd
Product = OHCI PCI host controller
Serial Number = 0000:00:02.1
Class = Hub

https://wikidevi.com/wiki/Netgear_WNDA3100v2

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11016
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 17:58    Post subject:  

That could be about 7 different versions of Puppy.

We always need specific info! Always!!!!

The complete version name.
Example:
Slacko 6.3.2
Slacko 6.3.0
Slacko64 6.3.0
Slacko64 6.3.2
Etc......

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11016
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 18:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
Broadcom BCM4323


You have some bad luck.
Broadcom hardware is the hardest to get working.

Give us a little time to find something you may be able to use.

Still need to know the exact Slacko Puppy version.
Also is it:
32bit?
64bit?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 11016
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 18:30    Post subject:  

Just to make sure the Puppy you are using does not work.

Do this:

menu->Setup->Internet Connection Wizard->Wired or wireless LAN->Network Wizard

Network Wizard wireless connection steps.

1. Select Network Wizard
2. Select wlan0 (your network card may have a different description)
3. Select Wireless in the Configure wireless network box.
4. Select Scan and your ESSID should come up.
5. Select your ESSID and OK
6. Give a name to your profile. It should already be what you selected in step 5.
7. Most people use WPA/TKIP - select it or WPA2.
8. A box will open for you to write the WPA password. It is called a Shared Key. Enter the password.
9. Leave the other boxes as they are. Rarely do these need adjustment.
9. Select Save
10. Select Use This Profile
11. A box will appear showing Puppy trying to connect
12. A box will come up “REPORT ON TEST 0f wlan0CONNECTION”
13. Select Auto DHCP in the Configure interface box and it will go through a handshake routine. and declare itself successful
14. Select done

If something does not work.
What step?
You do what?
You see what?

Also make sure your system's time zone setting is correct - if not, many website's certificates then act as if they are expired, and the webpage won't display.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 4143
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 18:50    Post subject:  

It's a real shame it's not the WNA3100M. That uses the trusty old RealTek rtl8192cu kernel driver module, which has been around pretty much since the Ark was launched..!

I've got one myself....in fact I'm posting this through it right now. Works in every Pup I've ever tried it in.

Agree with bigpup. Broadcom is 'bad luck', where Linux is concerned. It can be 'coaxed' into life, but it's an unecessary PITA to have to do so.... Rolling Eyes

cthisbear wrote:
I was finally able to get wireless working by reading and rereading posts at this site:

http://ubuntuforums.org/archive/index.php/t-1964173.html

as chili555 worked with another user.


Hah! I remember chili555 well. Broadcom was his specialty.....and he was always snowed under with requests for help. Haven't been a 'buntu Forums member for at least 2 years or more...



Mike. Wink

Last edited by Mike Walsh on Mon 04 Dec 2017, 18:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
obelix4d

Joined: 04 Dec 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 04 Dec 2017, 18:52    Post subject:  

I have Slacko Puppy version 6.3.0
32bit

I need to connect only via netgear.

Tomorrow morning I'll try to find the other informations that you need.

Thank you again Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
obelix4d

Joined: 04 Dec 2017
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 04:38    Post subject:  

When I open Puppy Network Wizard (step 1) I don't see wlan0 but only eth0 -> Ethernet -> forcedeth -> pci: NVIDIA nForce2 Ethernet Controller
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Limbomusic


Joined: 15 Apr 2016
Posts: 269
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue 05 Dec 2017, 11:57    Post subject: maybe
Subject description: try
 

I am far from an expert in puppy but maybe updating the kernel would help. Slacko 6.3.0 uses version 3.14.55
I downloaded the 4.9.13 (32 bit) kernel and renamed the files for your convenience - so u can download the zip-file - extract - and copy and replace the vmlinuz and zdrv_slacko_6.3.0.sfs files in your frugal install-folder (or usb stick) - and reboot and see if your wifi card/dongle is recognized.

http://helledussen.com/linux/files/hey_man.zip

That helped the guy in this post:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=110714
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0723s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]