(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Sep 2020, 14:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Who's treated themselves to some new hardware recently?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [89 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2020, 20:46    Post subject:  

Point taken, David..!

Yes, I shall have to have a re-think on that one, too. Thanks for reminding me; it simply hadn't yet occurred to me. I've been familiarising myself with the hardware, this last few days; haven't had that much time to do owt else thus far..... Laughing


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 1502
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2020, 08:31    Post subject:  

Mike - boot up a modern Pup, install Virtualbox, and then play with the older ones in that. Voila, best of both worlds Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jan 2020, 08:48    Post subject:  

p310don wrote:
Mike - boot up a modern Pup, install Virtualbox, and then play with the older ones in that. Voila, best of both worlds Smile


Yah, that's an idea. This does support VT-x, etc, so I might try that, too. Decisions, decisions.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5834
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jan 2020, 02:38    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:

I'm weeping here over the loss of 'old reliable'; my 'perfect' Slacko 560. But on this hardware, it's not to be.....unless anybody knows different.
I have been buying pre-UEFI hardware (ie Vista era) in the hope of forever escaping the need to upgrade beyond Slacko 5.6

Maybe there is a way of upgrading S5.6 to a newer kernel?

I know it is not as easily done as kernel swaps in newer puppies, but still, maybe someone already achieved this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 3444
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jan 2020, 05:00    Post subject:  

Easy. I've done some fairly recent kernel swops for older Puppy's. Only inconvenience was first startup and time lost waiting for x to load. You should get good results after the swap by booting pfix=nox and then running xorgwizard and xwin. Once your settings are saved the delay at starting X to desktop will be shorter.
_________________
nicOS-Utility-Suite
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2177

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jan 2020, 07:50    Post subject:  

My local computer shop put a machine together for me this week after my old one failed unexpectedly (it only cost me £20 and I got eIght months' use out of it, so not bad at all and I'm not complaining).

I now have an Athlon II X4 (quad core) processor and 6GB of RAM (5.58 indicated ) to use, which is more than enough for anything I'm likely to want to do online.

_________________
Gigabyte M68MT-52P motherboard, AMD Athlon II X4 630, 5.8 GB of DDR3 RAM and a 250 GB Hitachi hard drive running Ubuntu 16.04.6, MX-19.2, Peppermint 10, PCLinuxOS 20.02, LXLE 18.04.3, Pardus 19.2, exGENT 200119, Bionic Pup 8.0 and Xenial CE 7.5 XL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1555

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jan 2020, 16:10    Post subject:  

My faithful 1.8 Gigahertz duo core intel with 3 Gig of ram exandable to 4 bit the dust last week. I paid almost $800 for it when it was new.

For $38 plus shipping and sales tax, I got a HP 8000 elite small form factor Intel duo core 3.0 Gigahertz with 4 Gig of ram, expandable to 16, complete with Windows 7 oem license sticker.

I've defeated some annoying quirks and now are running exactly what I had before.

I'll document it in the right thread, but it will not boot grub4dos drives on usb. It was very strange and annoying since the only bootable DVD/CD I had was Windows XP Black and my old usb DVD burner has also apparently died. I had to install XP, use Universal USB Installer to make a not grub4dos Puppy thumb drive, and then install from that. Rolling Eyes

But, hard to complain for $38

edit: it may be the ext4 file system, not the grub4dos that kept it from usb booting
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jan 2020, 16:46    Post subject:  

.....and further 'ramblings'.

I had a good look inside the new desktop last night. I'd removed the main 500 GB drive from the Compaq yesterday, and last night installed it before hitting the sack. It's been neatly put together, this thing; HP have definitely given some thought to how to make best use of the limited space.

The hard drive cage swivels out, after undoing just 4 screws. The 500 GB WD slots in nicely beside the 1 TB Tosh, giving me a total of 4.5 TB of internal & external storage, running @ SATA3/USB 3.0/3.1 transfer speeds. The second power lead is just sitting there, waiting; I re-used my own SATA 'data' leads. All wiring is very neatly routed out of the way, with dozens of wee clips all over the place for securing things.

-----------------------

Interestingly, this thing is using high-rated ceramic SMD (surface-mount) power caps most of the way round the motherboard, with a number of polyester SMDs and just the odd electrolytic 'leaded' variety here & there. Should make it easier to spot any 'blown' ones, some years down the line.

Despite the limited space, compared to the old tower, there still seems to be more room to work in than the old one.......probably due to the fact that everything seems so much smaller to begin with!

I'll still feel happier if I can "up" the output from the PSU; that diminutive 180W worries me, I tell you...


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1555

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jan 2020, 17:53    Post subject:  

I just added the hard drive from my old computer to it and mine is built the same way.

No tools required. Flip up the cage with the DVD drive in it, slide the hard drive in underneath it, hook up 2 wires, flip it back down, close the case, and that's it.

A lot of nice engineering.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2177

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2020, 00:05    Post subject:  

Not exactly new, but I'd like to give a reminder that it's worth checking on EBay if you're looking for hardware. After my old monitor started failing I was lucky enough to get a 22" EIZO Flexscan (model number S2202W) this week, used but in good condition and for less than I would have had to pay for a new monitor of the same size from the likes of Argos. It supposedly has a scratch on the casing but I haven't seen it yet.
_________________
Gigabyte M68MT-52P motherboard, AMD Athlon II X4 630, 5.8 GB of DDR3 RAM and a 250 GB Hitachi hard drive running Ubuntu 16.04.6, MX-19.2, Peppermint 10, PCLinuxOS 20.02, LXLE 18.04.3, Pardus 19.2, exGENT 200119, Bionic Pup 8.0 and Xenial CE 7.5 XL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2020, 06:28    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Not exactly new, but I'd like to give a reminder that it's worth checking on EBay if you're looking for hardware.


Ah, don't I know it, mate. Where d'you think the beating heart of the old Compaq tower came from.....that dual-core Athlon64 X2? From eBay.....for all of around £6.....and it gave me almost 5 years sterling, trouble-free service before the old girl decided to "croak" back in early January (for whatever the reason was).

You can get some real bargains on eBay, that's for sure. (You can also get some real 'lemons', too, but usually your nose'll tell ya what to avoid!)


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 11 Mar 2020, 20:23    Post subject:  

Well, I'm just about now set with this new machine.....

Storage setup is now 4 TB, all internal. The 1 TB Toshie is the default installed HDD; the 3 TB is the Seagate Barracuda, which has been 'removed' from the fancy external case with USB 3.0/SATA adapter it originally came in, and is now plugged directly into the mobo's SATA3 ports.

The WD 500GB Caviar 'Blue' is now a 'spare', in case I ever need one.

RAM has been upped from 4 DB DDR4 to 8 GB DDR4 - still 2400 MHz (this is the max the custom HP board supports, though it's interesting they supplied it with a stick of 2666!) This is, I feel, a perfect amount for my use case; allows plenty of multi-tasking if necessary, and gives Openshot a good chunk of space to play with when rendering. Which leads me nicely onto my latest, and probably final purchase.....

.....an Asus GeForce GT710 GPU, with its own, dedicated, 2 GB of GDDR5 VRAM. Far more modern than the very basic GeForce 210 I'd purchased a few years ago, and with which I was experimenting some weeks back.....never having been able to use it in ye olde Compaq tower due to a damaged PCI-e slot. Plenty of folks have been recommending GTX 1080s and 2080s, and look at you 'gone-out' when you explain that you just want a usable GPU for every day stuff, with enough grunt for the odd mad session. Serious gamers just seem incapable of understanding anything other than their passion..... Laughing

This is one of these silent, 'passively-cooled' cards, with a large, oversized heatsink and no fan. 'Passive radiation' is the cooling method of choice, y'see. I definitely didn't want a fan anymore after playing with the 210; the teeny fan on the 210's diminutive heatsink did a fair impression of an angry hornet trying to break out and win its freedom. I wouldn't have believed it possible for something so small to create such a persistent, intrusive whine.....3 or 4 days of that, and I had to take it out, or I'd have gone bonkers!

Specs-wise, it's not much of an improvement on the Pentium 'Gold's on-die UHD 630 GPU; a few more cores, a few more execution units, slightly higher memory and base clock speeds, etc, etc. Increased performance wasn't the overall reason for the 710's purchase; I'm happy enough with the UHD 630's performance, but like all on-board graphics, it eats into system RAM for its VRAM. I wanted, essentially, to keep all 8 GB for Puppy & what I want to do, yet have a card with the same level of performance that had its own pool of dedicated RAM to play with, and which would have enough grunt to handle video rendering in Puppy.....Openshot likes to offload this stuff to the GPU whenever possible, and this thing will handle it nicely.

I think power draw was the biggest surprise. The older 210 pulls around 30W from the slot itself; the GT 710, despite having a vastly higher number of cores/execution/shader/texture units, etc, because of being built on a much smaller fab process, sips a mere 19W from that small, 180W PSU.

(Which was quite a relief, 'cos research has already shown the PSU on these HP 'mini-towers' is not easy to upgrade; not only are they a weird size to start with, but HP, being sneaky, have carefully fitted it with custom, one-off connectors, haven't they? No 20/24-pin ATX connector here; the entire board is supplied via just 4 pins, plus a 4-pin for the CPU supply.... (*Grrrr....*))

----------------------------

Overall, though, I'm satisfied with my new set-up. It'll keep me productive for quite a while to come, I feel..! Very Happy


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Thu 12 Mar 2020, 07:03    Post subject:  

I transferred my data to Solid state hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1323

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2020, 07:27    Post subject:  

Because many PC stuff broke down, I had to buy :
Second hand stuff :
- an old USB logitech M90 mouse. (simple, practical)
- an old fujistu siemens keyboard. (simple, robust, practical)
- an old gpu card MSI GTX 750 2GD5/OCV1 , but it broke after 2 months LOL.
- an old 24" HP screen (average image quality but enough for my needs)
- some old DDR2 RAM sticks (average but enough for my needs)
And new stuff :
- a "spirit of gamer pro-h5" headset. (sound quality is bad, but it's enough for my needs).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ndujoe1

Joined: 04 Dec 2005
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Fri 13 Mar 2020, 13:17    Post subject:  

Mike I like your graphic logo. May I share to my friends. It is says it all and is true.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [89 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1587s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0578s) ][ GZIP on ]