Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Oct 2018, 03:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Which version to use for booting from CD/DVD on MacBook Pro
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 2 [19 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
mr108

PostPosted: Sat 25 Nov 2017, 00:13    Post subject:  Which version to use for booting from CD/DVD on MacBook Pro  

Hello,

I'm completely new in this and never used Linux. I have MacBook Pro early 2001, 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, Intel Graphics 3000, 384MB, with 4 GB memory. Most of the time I'm running Windows 7 on it, installed with Bootcamp.

I'd like to boot my laptop from CD/DVD or pendrive using Puppy.

Which version should I use?

Thanks for any help
cthisbear

PostPosted: Sat 25 Nov 2017, 06:43    Post subject:  

Did you mean 2011???

https://support.apple.com/kb/sp645?locale=en_US

Others will assist...hang in there mate.

Welcome to Puppy.

Chris.
mr108

PostPosted: Sat 25 Nov 2017, 07:41    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Did you mean 2011???
https://support.apple.com/kb/sp645?locale=en_US
Others will assist...hang in there mate.
Welcome to Puppy.
Chris.

Thanks Chris,

Yes, of course I meant 2011 model
bigpup

PostPosted: Sat 25 Nov 2017, 08:26    Post subject:  

With that hardware any of the newer Puppies should work.
Tahrpup 6.0.5 or 6.0.6
Xenialpup 7.5
Slacko 5.7
Slacko 6.9.9.9 which will be Slacko 7.0. Still being tested.
Artfullpup (still in testing)

Probably want the 64 bit versions of any of these, but 32 bit versions will work too.

Look in the Puppy Projects section of the forum to get any of them.