Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 13 Dec 2017, 22:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
(solved) Mouseover/hover is black blank in Firefox 57
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 Nov 2017, 10:57    Post subject:  (solved) Mouseover/hover is black blank in Firefox 57  

This is a frugal install of Tahr 605. I installed FF57 from repo. Mouseovers or hovers above navigational icons in the address bar are black blanks. Why? How to fix?
Last edited by nubc on Sat 25 Nov 2017, 14:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1643
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 23 Nov 2017, 11:47    Post subject:  

Those are tooltips and the colours within them are controlled by the GTK3 theme.
Puppy doesn't really fully support GTK3 but we can usually get stuff to work.
Look for the file /root/.config/gtk-3.0/settings.ini
If you find it, open it as text
Edit to gtk-theme-name = Default (if it does not already show this - i.e remove oxygen-gtk as theme name)
Save and close and restart X
tooltip.jpg
 Description   Use Default as theme name in place of oxygen-gtk and tooltips look like this
 Filesize   16.11 KB
 Viewed   73 Time(s)

tooltip.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3220
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 11:13    Post subject:  

Thanks for that, Oscar.

As you know, I'm not a FireFox fan.....and therefore wasn't taking very much notice when you were all thrashing this stuff out last year. I remembered seeing summat about it, but have only needed this in Tahr64 for 'Quantum' (which I tried out to see what all the fuss was about).

It's almost good enough to become my 'official' back-up browser again..! Laughing

Cheers, mate!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 1897
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 13:58    Post subject:  

That edit seems to fix the dark tooltips.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0289s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0046s) ][ GZIP on ]