FF 45.9.0 ESR incompatable with newly updated Banking Portal

Booting, installing, newbie
Alberz

FF 45.9.0 ESR incompatable with newly updated Banking Portal

#1 Post by Alberz »

(Setup - HP Compaq 6720s - Slacko 64 Puppy 6.3.0 - Flash Drive install)

Hi, I've been using Puppy Linux for a couple of years for secure Online Banking and just ran into trouble when trying to access My Banks newly updated site.

It appears that FF 45.9.0 ESR is no longer a suitable browser for the banking portal - Is there a way to install an updated browser to Puppy 64?
If not, does anyone have recommendations for an alternative Linux Distro with a more up-to date Browser, suitable for USB install?

The Banks site lists the Minimum Browser requirements as follows :

The latest versions of the following browsers:

Google Chrome
Microsoft Edge
Internet explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox

Minimum Settings

Session Cookies Enabled
JavaScript/Scripting Enabled

Code: Select all

https://www.heritage.com.au/help-centre/system-requirements

Help would be most welcome !

dancytron

#2 Post by dancytron »

The newest version of Firefox should work for you. The only hiccup is getting the sound to work. I assume your bank doesn't need sound.

It comes as a compressed file. Unzip it to /opt/ and then go into /opt/firefox and click on the file called firefox. (you can really unzip it anywhere, including on your drive outside the filesystem, but /opt is the usual place to put it). For convenience you can drag the firefox file to your desktop to make a shortcut.
https://download.mozilla.org/?product=f ... lang=en-US

Search for "apulse" for how to get the sound working.

Alberz

#3 Post by Alberz »

Thanks very much for your help dancytron.

Sorry, but could I please ask what "opt" stands for?

dancytron

#4 Post by dancytron »

Alberz wrote:Thanks very much for your help dancytron.

Sorry, but could I please ask what "opt" stands for?