Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Nov 2019, 15:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Dpup Stretch 7.5 CE (RC-5)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 34 of 47 [694 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12779
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2019, 15:39    Post subject:  

In /usr/local/pupdial/pupdial at line 822, the file /etc/ppp/wvdial gets automatically copied to the target folder /etc/ppp/peers.

But it's missing in this Puppy.

So get the file wvdial from an older Puppy and drop it into the folder /etc/ppp.

[Edit] The file wvdial is already in /etc/ppp/peers, so line 822 is redundant.

[Edit] OTOH, I doubt if that's the root cause of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dogle

Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 398

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2019, 19:39    Post subject:  

Thanks again, rcrsn51 - yes, wvdial was missing from my /etc/ppp/peers.

- copying an old wvdial into that folder worked, but just once - it was gone on subsequent connection attempts.

- copying same into /etc/ppp is working - kinda - allowing repeated working connections, although the PupDial dialogue box remains blank in this case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1955
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Mar 2019, 21:30    Post subject: Pupdial fix  

To prevent the pupdial files in /etc/ppp/peers from disappearing, modify file:

/usr/local/pupdial/modemdisconnect

Comment out or delete lines 22 & 23:

#rm -f /etc/ppp/peers/wvdial
#rm -f /etc/ppp/peers/wvdial-pipe 2>/dev/null #432

I have been successful in connecting through a wired dialup USB modem.

To restore /etc/ppp/peers/wvdial and wvdial-pipe, copy them from:
/initrd/pup_ro2/etc/ppp/peers/

However, pupdial has been updated since the version in dpup_stretch. I have submitted another updated package to woofCE. Until that version is built into dpup_stretch, you can use the pupdial-2.2 package available here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1001408#1001408
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 894
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2019, 03:57    Post subject: DpupStretch 7.5 RC-4 JWM multiple monitor problem
Subject description: Second monitor seen by the system, not getting called up for action
 

Hi radky,
loving DpupStretch in all successive RCs - have installed fairly religiously on my laptops - a Panasonic CF-52, Lenovos X120e, T60 and now a (new-to-me) T61, which I'm writing from now.

I haven't spotted anyone else mentioning the neat little extras you seem to include with each iteration - really appreciating the "Recently used" file tracking from the menu, the layout and trays super-efficient for my laptop functions - and nobody has mentioned you slipped in Win-key hotkey combos; ideal for us MacroShafted refugees who still remember some happier highlights from those dark ages. Really nice touches, thank you.

Coming off an old XenialPup 7.0.4 partition that I had preserved for specific time-in-a-bottle operations (old versions of Zotero, FireFox, SoftMaker all working 'just right' together), I notice that I can't get my multiple monitors going in Stretch7.5, as per ye olde XenialPup. Here I'm in k4.9.149 I have tried in both the T60 (with working XenialPup for direct contrast) and T61. They are tested in the Advanced Dock 2503 with PCIe graphics card and DVI output at present, and PupSysInfo reports:
Code:
▶—— Video ——◀

Display Specifications:
• Monitor VertRefresh: 59.91 times/s
• Screen Dimensions: 1280x800 pixels (338x211 millimeters)
• Screen Depth: 24 bits (planes)

Xorg Startup Log (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
• Xorg Driver in use: nouveau
• Loaded Modules: ati dbe dri2 exa fb fbdevhw glx kbd mouse radeon ramdac shadowfb synaptics
• X.Org version: 1.19.2

OpenGL 2D/3D Rendering:
• Direct Rendering: Yes
• Vendor: nouveau
• Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NV86
• Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6

VGA controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation G86M [Quadro NVS 140M] [10de:0429] (rev a1)
• Kernel Driver: nouveau
• Memory Used by Driver: 1318.47 KB
• Path: /lib/modules/4.9.149-stretch/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/nouveau/nouveau.ko
• Description: nVidia Riva/TNT/GeForce/Quadro/Tesla

VGA controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos XTX [Radeon HD 8490 / R5 235X OEM] [1002:6771]
• Kernel Driver: radeon
• Memory Used by Driver: 1386.63 KB
• Path: /lib/modules/4.9.149-stretch/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko
• Description: ATI Radeon

So both GPUs are online (and indeed the second, DVI monitor flashes up some boot verbose before Xorg starts up), but Zarfy and LXRandR deny the existence of monitor 2. I downloaded ARandR which I have success in the past with other Puppy versions, in case something was missed, but no luck with that route either. I haven't yet tested FbBox or indeed a VGA port straight from the laptops (without using dock). Am I missing something obvious? That wouldn't surprise me... Any pointers gratefully accepted,
Cheers

UPDATE:A few hours later, and still not able to get dual screens in Stretch7.5 on the T61 (3Gb RAM, T7500 2.2GHz, 15.4" + Advanced Dock), but a quick ringaround with XenialPup64 and BionicPup64 8.0 has them both registering the additional monitor fine. I had a look into potential missing dependencies, but Dpup Stretch7.5 had everything I was considering in the python2.7 line (hunch only).
image-2.png
 Description   Screenie showing 2nd monitor option greyed out in ARandR, as per Zarfy
 Filesize   154.91 KB
 Viewed   840 Time(s)

image-2.png


_________________
Search engines for Puppy
http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html; Google Custom Search; http://wellminded.net63.net/ others TBA...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
radky

Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 980

PostPosted: Wed 06 Mar 2019, 15:38    Post subject: Re: DpupStretch 7.5 RC-4 JWM multiple monitor problem
Subject description: Second monitor seen by the system, not getting called up for action
 

Puppyt wrote:
... not able to get dual screens in Stretch7.5 on the T61 (3Gb RAM, T7500 2.2GHz, 15.4" + Advanced Dock), but a quick ringaround with XenialPup64 and BionicPup64 8.0 has them both registering the additional monitor fine.

Hi Puppyt,

Thanks for your report!

My testing hardware is limited (old Acer Aspire 5742Z notebook with built-in Intel graphics) with no HDMI or DVI ports, and I have no external dock for pass-through connections to notebook ports.

So, I attached an external LCD monitor to the vga port of my Acer notebook and booted Dpup Stretch 7.5 with the 4.9.149 kernel.

On reaching the desktop, the notebook screen and external LCD monitor are recognized and function properly.

Code:
# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3046 x 1050, maximum 8192 x 8192

LVDS-1 connected primary 1366x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 193mm
   1366x768      60.04*+

VGA-1 connected 1680x1050+1366+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 473mm x 296mm
   1680x1050     59.85*+

HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)


In your setup, does the second monitor register correctly if you attach the external monitor directly to the notebook vga port?

Is nouveau the Xorg driver for each of your testing scenarios?

Maybe other users with multi-monitor experience will offer additional advice, particularly for HDMI or DVI connections.

_________________
PupMates
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 894
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 08 Mar 2019, 19:55    Post subject:  

Hi again radky,
thank you very much for your reply. I have just tested the RGB and the DVI to the Lenovo 2503 Advanced dock and confirm that both routes are working natively in Dpup Stretch (4.1.48 on the ol T60, 3Gb RAM, 2.2Ghz Centrino Duo). Moreover, without a savefile used in this fresh frugal install, the 15.4" LCD and Acer X193hq monitor are automatically sync'ed as a single wide screen - 2646x800 (24bit), using the ATI video driver this time.
My current PCIe videocard doesn't have RGB/VGA so unable to check that the VGA route to the 2nd monitor is viable, or disregarded as per the earlier post re the DVI. It seems likely that the PCIe graphics card doesn't gel with the nouveau Xorg driver settings. I do have another PCIe video card I can test, down the line. Apologies for my delay in reporting and absence for a few days - RL beckons Wink

EDIT: oops forgot - hope the following is useful for comparison
Code:
▶—— Video ——◀

Display Specifications:
• Monitor VertRefresh: 60.00 times/s
• Screen Dimensions: 2646x800 pixels (700x211 millimeters)
• Screen Depth: 24 bits (planes)

Xorg Startup Log (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
• Xorg Driver in use: ati
• Loaded Modules: dbe dri2 exa fb fbdevhw glx kbd mouse radeon ramdac synaptics
• X.Org version: 1.19.2

OpenGL 2D/3D Rendering:
• Direct Rendering: Yes
• Vendor: X.Org R300 Project
• Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV515
• Version: 2.1 Mesa 13.0.6

VGA controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV515/M54 [Mobility Radeon X1400] [1002:7145]
• Kernel Driver: radeon
--
VGA controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos XTX [Radeon HD 8490 / R5 235X OEM] [1002:6771]
• Kernel Driver: radeon
• Memory Used by Driver: 1415.58 KB
• Path: /lib/modules/4.1.48/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko
• Description: ATI Radeon

VGA controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV515/M54 [Mobility Radeon X1400] [1002:7145]
• Kernel Driver: radeon
--
VGA controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Caicos XTX [Radeon HD 8490 / R5 235X OEM] [1002:6771]
• Kernel Driver: radeon
• Memory Used by Driver: 1415.58 KB
• Path: /lib/modules/4.1.48/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko
• Description: ATI Radeon

_________________
Search engines for Puppy
http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html; Google Custom Search; http://wellminded.net63.net/ others TBA...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
proebler

Joined: 24 Jan 2012
Posts: 159
Location: TAS

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2019, 05:38    Post subject:
Subject description: a curious observation
 

A curious observation after going from Dpup Stretch 7.5 CE RC-2 to RC-4.
I used the savefile created under RC-2. This included a modification to rc.shutdown so that on shutdown/re-boot the prompt to save or not save defaulted to "NO" [-- defaultno].
Under RC-4 the prompt no longer appeared.
That seemed strange until I discovered that rc.shutdown had gone in size from 18 kB in RC-2 to 16 kB in RC-4, indicating that the shutdown process was changed in some way.
I replaced the 18 kB version of rc.shutdown in the savefile with the 16 kB version [with "-- defaultno" added], now the prompt appears again.

I like this Dpup Stretch 7.5 CE a lot.
regards
proebler
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2549
Location: near here

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2019, 09:55    Post subject:  

Trying to run Pup on old Intel T2080 laptop. Using legacy version. Screen cuts out and goes blank at Booting to Kernel...

Is laptop too old for the kernel being using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 894
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Mon 11 Mar 2019, 21:26    Post subject:  

ooooh darkcity - looks like you have a project on your hands! Quick squiz with a search engine gives me specs like "1M Cache, 1.73 GHz, 533 MHz FSB". Dunno what your RAM might be. I respond *not because* I know the first thing about Intel lappies, but because I like to attempt to pull such machines out of landfill. Do you get the same crash-type behaviour the same way every time you try to boot? Are you able to leave it go for a few hours in case it crawls into life? Does the hard drive (?) have a swap partition installed - that can make a big difference to success.
Your symptoms sound familiar to me. I have found that dodgey RAM sticks but more particularly dying hard drives (those old PATA drives especially) can throw shoes and spanners into any well-intentioned project. If you are able to swap out the drive into a laptop you know is good, try installing there and swap it back. Or, if you have any version of Puppy already working on your Intel T2080, you could try a "bootstrap" install where you copy the 4 main files over into a new directory, and manually change the Grub menu.lst file to "see" the new directory on bootup. That is the only way I really do (frugal) installs now - avoids having to burn ISO's onto CD's and wrangle old CD player issues - which might possibly be another issue on your machine? I invariably run any new (to ME) machine with a CD copy of UBCD and give the innards a good looking over (health check memory, hard drives, cpu etc) before tilting at new windmills. Just some ideas.

_________________
Search engines for Puppy
http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html; Google Custom Search; http://wellminded.net63.net/ others TBA...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WiZard

Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 114
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2019, 11:08    Post subject: Intel T2080
Subject description: is it to old to run 7.5 CE
 

@darkcity

The short answer is no it is not to old. I have a much older 1.8ghz, P4 with 512kb ram that can boot and run a frugal install of the latest RC4 .149 kernel.

The Intel T2080 is a dual core, 32 bit cpu, so it can only run 32bit Linux distributions and Dpup Stretch 7.5 RC4 is 32bit. You shouldn't need to run the legacy version.

As Puppyt suggested, you need to start verifying that your hardware, ram, harddrive, optical drive, etc are good. Also, test your boot media on another computer if using a usb flash drive or cdrom disk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WiZard

Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 114
Location: Oklahoma USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2019, 15:48    Post subject: RC4 4.9.149 kernel  

Hi radky,
Thought I'd relay my experience with RC4 to you. I've done about 10 installs ranging from an old Intel P4 with 512ram to Intel I5 & I7 laptops. All have gone smoothly and without problems. They're running the openbox/fbpanel desktop and I've done a couple of remasters that include the following applications:

vlc-3.0.2-i686-stretch.sfs
firefox62 in external folder
apulse-0.1.10-i686-wz.pet
chromium_64.0.3282.186+pepper_29.0.0.113_lx_spot.sfs
LibreOffice-6.1.0_en-US_xz.sfs
XFE 1.42 file manager
fox-1.6.31.pet reqd for xfe
teamviewer_linux6.pet
xtightvncviewer_1.3.9-9.deb
x11vnc_server-0.9.14.pet
bleachbit_1.12-1
handbrake-170421.pet
Mencoder-2009-v2.1_sfs4.sfs
xvidcap 1.1.7.pet

All are working nicely.

Dpup Stretch & RC4 are big winners, thanks for your work.

wiz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3497
Location: wales

PostPosted: Tue 12 Mar 2019, 19:19    Post subject:  

darkcity wrote:
Trying to run Pup on old Intel T2080 laptop. Using legacy version. Screen cuts out and goes blank at Booting to Kernel...

Is laptop too old for the kernel being using?


try changing the kernel ... download https://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/huge_kernels/huge-3.0.103-tahr_noPAE_retro.tar.bz2 extract ... then rename to match stretches vmlinuz & zdrv.sfs

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 1925
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 13 Mar 2019, 22:22    Post subject:  

Wrong symlink:
/usr/bin/pkill is symlinked to /usr/bin/pgrep, should be symlinked to /bin/busybox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3497
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 17:03    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Wrong symlink:
/usr/bin/pkill is symlinked to /usr/bin/pgrep, should be symlinked to /bin/busybox.


hi MochiMoppel,

this symlink to pgrep is in the official procps.deb both in debian & ubuntu

_________________
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Peter444

Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 36
Location: Brisbane Queensland Australia

PostPosted: Mon 18 Mar 2019, 18:07    Post subject: Dpup Stretch 7.5 CE RC-3
Subject description: error message keepassxc install rc3
 

Hi Radky, thank you for a very stable RC3

have managed to load it up with calibre and a few games

keepass is causing me some grief, downloaded keepassxc 2.3.4-1 i386 stable stretch.deb
Installed, icon ok under utility menu, but will not load

Tried from terminal with the resulting error message

# keepassxc

keepassxc: error while loading shared libraries: libQt5Network.so.5 cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Found a copy of libQt5Network.so.5 in the Calibre files, but not sure where I should copy it to?

Any help would be appreciated

Regards
stretch7.5CE RC3.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  stretch7.5CE RC3.jpg 
Filesize  117.02 KB 
Downloaded  46 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 34 of 47 [694 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0960s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0235s) ][ GZIP on ]