Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Jul 2018, 21:35
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Pulseaudio on xenial pup?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
idontregister

Joined: 10 Oct 2017
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 10 Oct 2017, 03:05    Post subject:  Pulseaudio on xenial pup?  

Any recipe exist for xenial pup to support Firefox 52 and pulse?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1601
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue 10 Oct 2017, 06:10    Post subject:  

For xenialpup 32 bit:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=969259#969259

The apulse solution also works for xenialpup64:

http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/apulse-0.1.10-x86_64.pet

The main thread for troubleshooting firefox and sound issues should be:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=109902
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hikohan

Joined: 29 Nov 2011
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat 05 May 2018, 22:19    Post subject: xenial x64
Subject description: pulseAudio 8.0 enable
 

setup packages from manager

#1 update repos

#2 add:
pulseaudio pulseaudio-module-x11 paman pavucontrol pulseaudio-esound-compat pulseaudio-utils

make sure all success installed, append startup script

"pulseaudio &"

works fine with Firefox 58, no more annoying tips on flash playing.

my blogged:
https://vegalou.blogspot.tw/2018/05/puppy-linux-enable-pulseaudio-sound.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 10727
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2018, 03:58    Post subject:  

Just have the apulse 0.1.11 from here installed. Nothing else.
Make sure to use the correct bit version.
http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/
Reboot after you install it to make sure it is saved and loaded at the correct place.

That shuold be all you need for Firefox 52.

You will also need this if using Firefox 57 or newer:

/root/.mozilla/firefox
Look for a directory that ends in .default

Put the user.js file in that directory.

Use Geany to make this user.js file.
This is what needs to be in it.
watchdog's code
Code:
// for using apulse with latest firefox
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.read_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
[/quote]

Build 58 requires user_pref("security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", "/dev/snd/"); to be set to "16" now instead of /dev/snd/, so am currently using

Code:
// for using apulse with latest firefox
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", "16");
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.read_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");


Firefox and sound seems to be a moving target.
Each version of Firefox wants something different for sound.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2394

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2018, 06:25    Post subject:  

I downloaded firefox quantum (59.0.2 64 bit) and just extracted it. With Oscar's apulse also installed I have just
Code:
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");

in my user.js and youtube video's etc play sound fine.

I wonder if those extra user.js lines are required when running firefox as root? I run firefox inside a EasyOS Pyro 0.9 container, running it as restricted user "rover" (and where root is pretty crippled i.e. /sbin, /usr/sbin etc. all chmod'd to 000 along with PID 1 being set to /bin/sh (so even a breakout from a sandboxed firefox session drops into a restricted userid and even if elevation to root could be achieved from that then root is pretty much useless as well (so difficult to break out of the EasyOS Pyro container)). Conceptually still open to Spectre/Meltdown type attacks, but with firefox having adjusted timer precision down from 5 microseconds to 20 microseconds that makes javascript speculative processing hacks more likely to be unsuccessful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1601
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2018, 13:59    Post subject:  

Tested firefox 59.0.3 in xenialpup 7.5 32 bit using apulse by OscarTalks version 0.1.11 with a wrapper script apulse. Sound working with these settings in "about:config" (search sandbox) or prefs.js:

Code:
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", "54");
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.read_path_whitelist", "/dev/snd/");


Note that the security.sandbox.content.level is at 3 by default (do not touch it):

user_pref("security.sandbox.content.level", 3);

I would recommend to use the user.js trick only in a new fresh profile because I have experimented conflicting settings between prefs.js and user.js. The best way could be to set the values using "about:config" and restart firefox.

EDIT: as reported by bigpup for 64 bit pups use:

Code:
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.syscall_whitelist", "16");
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1781
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 06 May 2018, 17:42    Post subject:  

Folks may wish to try writing the custom settings into a system file eg:-
/usr/lib/firefox/browser/default/preferences/firefox.js
Starting the lines with "pref" not "user_pref"
Create directories and file if necessary.
This defines defaults from first run
No need to do anything manually in the profile.
I have tried to write about this in the HOW TO section here:-
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=113312

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0411s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]