Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 20 Oct 2017, 23:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
XFCE 4.12 for XenialPup 64bit
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1334
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 02:36    Post subject:  XFCE 4.12 for XenialPup 64bit
Subject description: In development, posting for bug squashing assistance
 

https://xfce.org/ wrote:
Xfce is a lightweight desktop environment for UNIX-like operating systems. It aims to be fast and low on system resources, while still being visually appealing and user friendly.


XFCE-4,12 pet for XenialPup64. ISO version now also available. Work in progress so if you know anything about any of the issues, please suggest away!

Here's my latest endeavor:
X̶F̶C̶E̶-̶4̶.̶1̶2̶r̶4̶.̶p̶e̶t̶
XFCE-4.12r5.pet


ISO version:
x̶f̶c̶e̶x̶e̶n̶i̶a̶l̶-̶R̶2̶.̶i̶s̶o̶
xfcexenial-R3.iso
md5sum:
1d71edb867c4f1661636c6b1f0e4aa5b

Quote:
Issues
    * Proc, sys, pts and floppy are being counted at mount points. I think this is due to the system digging too deep in the filesystem, it should only get mount points from /mnt.

    My semi work around is to remove all drives from the desktop and to hide proc and friends in Thunar

    * Miscellaneous icons aren't using the new icons

    * Rox still gets called by Palemoon when opening download folder






Thanks for your attention Very Happy

Update 7 Sep 2017: R2 pet has the Control panel added as well as a few applications recategorized. Install the r2 pet and then extract this menu_fix.tar.gz to "/" to get the menus right.

Update 11 Sep 2017: R3 pet has GVFS added so the recycle bin works, the "extract here" option added to Thunar action menu and rg66's menus

Update 13 Sep 2017: R4 doesn't need the menu fix anymore. Shutdown and save works properly as well. A save button a has been added to the menu.

Update 21 Sep 2017: Uploaded R2 iso version. It has xfce terminal and xfce screenshooter included as well as fixes up to the pet version r4

Update 26 Sep 2017: R3 iso version has a new kernel, and then fixes to Pupsys and wCPUFrequency to adjust for the change in CPU reporting in kernel 4.13. Both R3 iso and R5 pet version has filemnt fixed so Thunar opens, suspend has been fixed, and a few desktop edits. (Thanks Marv)
capture1106.png
 Description   
 Filesize   119.89 KB
 Viewed   553 Time(s)

capture1106.png


_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8

Last edited by battleshooter on Tue 26 Sep 2017, 02:17; edited 11 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1161

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 08:05    Post subject:  

Hi battleshooter,

Hey, nice, xfce4 in our Xenial64s?? A question though: is it recommended to try your xfce.pet now, or should we nubians wait until you incorporate this that I happen to see just a moment ago?:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=111455


I'm good at setting up/fixing .desktop files & stuff in them, but only 'after' the geniuses (that'd be you) get them all set up for us drongo(s). Thus if setup stuff, like, say, .desktop files have stuff suddenly disappearing and voodoo-ing out of them, crikey, I'd be seriously on an OS walkabout Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 1930
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Wed 06 Sep 2017, 10:57    Post subject:  

Hi battleshooter,

Glad to see that you're again working in the trenches. Very Happy

Your scripting skills are far superior to mine. Mine are near non-existent, extending at best to sometimes being able to follow a script's logic.

As I said in the post you referenced, pretty much all I did was copy peebee's technique. I didn't mention that there's another folder which comes into play in menu creation: /usr/share/desktop-directories. I got lost the couple of times I tried to figure out how it was used. [IIRC, I was trying to figure out why some menu categories didn't show icons]. Perhaps with your greater knowledge you'll have a better result.

The only other suggestion I can make is to download and examine radky's PupMenu-6.0, http://www.smokey01.com/radky/PupMenu-6.0.pet. That pet creates a menu not unlike Whisker, including a Favorites Category. One of the files it installs, named "Puppy-Favorites.directory", is to /usr/share/desktop-directories. You may be able to track how PupMenu employs that directory.

Although Xfce may require that menu creation be handled somewhat differently, perhaps if you follow the logic radky employed it may give you some idea.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1334
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Sep 2017, 08:37    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
A question though: is it recommended to try your xfce.pet now, or should we nubians wait until you incorporate this


Just uploading a new version with the control panel included.

"Voodoo-ing" is a brilliant word for it Confused The files (as far as I've seen) don't change once the pet is installed. So feel free to reorganize the desktop files into more fitting categories as some of them are odd by default.

From my experimenting today, it looks like the files undergo the transformation as the pet is installed. I tested this by adding them directly to puppy_xenialpup64_7.0.8.5 and by installing by SFS instead of via pet. Both times, the desktop files were unaltered so I can only assume something happens to desktop files when they run through the installer?

My fix is to simply include a tar.gz for folks to extract to "/" after the pet is installed. Restarting X then renders the menus as they should be.

mikeslr wrote:
I didn't mention that there's another folder which comes into play in menu creation: /usr/share/desktop-directories.


Yes! I came across this directory while I was pounding my head trying to work out why the Puppy menu icons didn't have icons.

As said earlier, I think I'm convinced it's not the structure of the menu files that's the issue, I think it's something in the pet installation process, but appreciate the radky suggestion nonetheless.

I'm not sure I'm above either of you on the Puppy "genius" chain haha. We're all just users overextending maybe Laughing

So very much appreciate the support and companionship with this journey

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1161

PostPosted: Thu 07 Sep 2017, 08:51    Post subject:  

battleshooter wrote:
belham2 wrote:
A question though: is it recommended to try your xfce.pet now, or should we nubians wait until you incorporate this


Just uploading a new version with the control panel included.

"Voodoo-ing" is a brilliant word for it Confused The files (as far as I've seen) don't change once the pet is installed. So feel free to reorganize the desktop files into more fitting categories as some of them are odd by default.

From my experimenting today, it looks like the files undergo the transformation as the pet is installed. I tested this by adding them directly to puppy_xenialpup64_7.0.8.5 and by installing by SFS instead of via pet. Both times, the desktop files were unaltered so I can only assume something happens to desktop files when they run through the installer?

My fix is to simply include a tar.gz for folks to extract to "/" after the pet is installed. Restarting X then renders the menus as they should be.

mikeslr wrote:
I didn't mention that there's another folder which comes into play in menu creation: /usr/share/desktop-directories.


Yes! I came across this directory while I was pounding my head trying to work out why the Puppy menu icons didn't have icons.

As said earlier, I think I'm convinced it's not the structure of the menu files that's the issue, I think it's something in the pet installation process, but appreciate the radky suggestion nonetheless.

I'm not sure I'm above either of you on the Puppy "genius" chain haha. We're all just users overextending maybe Laughing

So very much appreciate the support and companionship with this journey


Thanks, Battleshooter, going to give things a go tonight. Will first try with an sfs (converting the pet), and see what the sfs does in my XenialPup64 install. If all is reasonably well, will install the pet and cross-my-fingers Wink Much thanks again for doing all this with xfce.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 1125
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 07 Sep 2017, 09:54    Post subject:  

battleshooter wrote:
From my experimenting today, it looks like the files undergo the transformation as the pet is installed.


This has been a problem in X-series puppies as well. I'm sure the culprit is /usr/local/petget/installpkg.sh using /etc/xdg/menus/hierarchy and /usr/local/petget/categories.dat

I've done a lot of mods on the files in /etc/xdg/menus to help with the problem. I've attached the files from X-Slacko, just extract and over write files in /etc/xdg/menus. Toplevel will work as long as the app isn't listed in /usr/local/petget/categories.dat. A work around is to just delete that file and most pets should install without a problem as long as the category is correct.

Edit: FYI, For Toplevel to show up in the menu an entry must be made in /etc/xdg/menus/xfce-applications.menu (or whatever .menu you are using) as per below.

Quote:
<Include>
<Category>Toplevel</Category>
</Include>

<Layout>
<Merge type="all"/>
<Separator/>
<Filename>pfind.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>control-panel.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>Save.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>lock.desktop</Filename>
<Filename>shutdown.desktop</Filename>
</Layout>
menus.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  menus.tar.gz 
Filesize  4.84 KB 
Downloaded  15 Time(s) 

_________________
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
X-series repo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1161

PostPosted: Thu 07 Sep 2017, 13:22    Post subject:  

Battleshooter,

There's a problem with the "r2' download. I tried it a few times, it says it is 32mb size, the download begins, then it becomes a runaway freight train and tries to download I don't know what. I had to physically sever the connection as it was approaching several hundred megabytes & the 2nd time, it showed no end in sight as it was threatening to completely fill my terabyte hard drive. Dam# Shocked Crying or Very sad .

{update: tried across 2 diff pup OSes, 2 different browsers, and it's the same behavior}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 1526
Location: lincoln, uk

PostPosted: Thu 07 Sep 2017, 13:35    Post subject:  

had a oversized download

Code:
wget http://vanguardlinux.tk/xenial64/XFCE/XFCE-4.12_r2.pet


sorted it

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1334
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 07 Sep 2017, 22:24    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Thanks, Battleshooter, going to give things a go tonight. Will first try with an sfs (converting the pet), and see what the sfs does in my XenialPup64 install.


If you've already given this a go you'll probably find the desktop has some issues...I don't think SFS replace files? Puppy pin and rox stuff need to be disabled in /root/.xinitrc

Apologies for the crazy file, I've reuploaded it several times, renamed it, deleted it, it stops at 126m for me consistently now (which still isn't correct) but it only seems to download to the correct size with wget as Ally said. I probably need to find a different file host.

rg66 wrote:
Toplevel will work as long as the app isn't listed in /usr/local/petget/categories.dat


Ah man, that makes so much sense. I figured something like that existed that attempted to correct categories, but I had no idea where to find it. Thanks so much for shedding light on that Rg, I won't have to spend the rest of my life wondering Very Happy

That was my main issue (at least as far as I've noticed) with the menu files. On the bright side, it has been a most educational experience.

Thank you also for the updated menu files, they will be more uptodate than the Carolina ones.

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 1125
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Thu 07 Sep 2017, 22:36    Post subject:  

No probs battleshooter but I forgot to mention that the hierarchy file I posted is also needed for toplevel to work properly or the category becomes X-Toplevel.
_________________
X-slacko-5b1 - X-tahr-2.0 - X-precise-2.4
X-series repo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1334
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 08:37    Post subject:  

rg66 wrote:
No probs battleshooter but I forgot to mention that the hierarchy file I posted is also needed for toplevel to work properly or the category becomes X-Toplevel.


I worked that out somewhere on the journey, but maybe it will help someone else following our bunny trails. I also decided to stop messing around with the menu files and just use the ones you posted so thank you again.

On a side note, Pac-Tools is an amazing tool. Makes life so much easier so thank you again for sending it to me.

I used it to put together the GVFS update in this pet and it was a piece of cake.

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
battleshooter


Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 1334
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 08:46    Post subject:  

Code:
XenialXFCE Release 3

Geoff mentioned GVFS was needed for the recycle bin to work, so added that from the Ubuntu repo

Changed the menus over to rg66's

Added the Thunar archive plugin so one can just "extract here"


Not very big changes, but I find if I don't make myself update often, I lose momentum.

I'm also uploading a XenialPup64 remaster which is essentially just XenialPup64 with the pet installed right now, but as the XFCE aspects get resolved, I hope to branch the remaster away to a more Carolina flavor instead of just Xenial with XFCE. The other current major difference is it is running kernel 4.13.

_________________
LMMS 1.0.2, Ardour 3.5.389, Kdenlive 0.9.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1161

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 12:24    Post subject:  

Hi Battleshooter & rg66,

I downloaded the R1 ISO, booted it up "frugally" with all my other pups on the drive, and it looks great. Just have a problem, and it's sort of a major one: no matter what I do, I cannot get an internet connection. And this is on a pedestrian Realtek Semiconductor RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ehternet Controller that all my other pups (including rg66's latest XFCE-32-4.3) see effortlessly. I even went into my woof-CE built XenialPup64-7.0.8 'frugal' install just now & copied all the same modules (which were identical) into XfceXenialPup64, and it still can't get an ethernet connection. I know it's not a hardware and/or wire issue, as all the other pups boot easily & connect right away, as I checked a few to make sure.

I don't know if this is related or not, but upon setup when XFCEXenialPup64 first booted, I chose my timezone and such, which is it seemed to accept ok, but then as I was working to get the Interent connected, the time in the XFCE tray just up & disappeared. Then, some minutes later, it had reappeared and had changed it's appearance & such, and reset itself to 0:00. Darn weird behavior.

If you have any suggestions how to get Internet going, I'm all ears Wink Can't figure out why all other pups (and Ddogs) see the Internet no problem, and XFCeXenialpup knows that it needs the r8169 module, but doesn't load it. XenialPup64 just ignores everything I try, and loads the 3c59 module (not sure what that is Sad )

Otherwise, haha, things look great so far. Razz
Xfce-XenialPup64.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   197.97 KB
 Viewed   366 Time(s)

Xfce-XenialPup64.jpg

PuppyNetworkWizard-sees-what-is-needed.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   111.63 KB
 Viewed   365 Time(s)

PuppyNetworkWizard-sees-what-is-needed.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1161

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 14:22    Post subject:  

Hi Battleshooter,

Just wanted to follow up: I fooled with this some more, then it struck me to start fresh booting it every time trying different things. All fresh boots failed (regarding internet setup & connecting) except when I decided once to check the box of 'NTP Time Server'. Soon as I checked that, and initial setup finished running through its stuff, internet was suddenly connected without me lifting a finger. There's something in the setup process (the init maybe?) that dictates whether you get Internet or not, and you force its hand by choosing NTP because setup has to look for time setting. I'm just speculating here......

Anyhow, I tested it again, setup another fresh install, this time I didn't mark the box for using "NTP". Sure enough, the system would not connect to the wired lan Internet (at least for me) no matter what I did and/or tried after initial setup finished.

So, am not real sure what's going on here.....also, the behavior of the tray system time clock does the same thing.....disappearing, then reppearing in different format, requires you to delete it completely, then set it up again, from the tray...but it is still buggy......which is a weird thing in itself.

Oh well, at least I have Internet now (am in fact posting from XfceXenialPup64-R1)! Wink Now on to more testing.
for-some-reason-ticking-ntptimeserver-in-boot-setup-initial-screen-enabled-internet.png
 Description   
 Filesize   10.21 KB
 Viewed   356 Time(s)

for-some-reason-ticking-ntptimeserver-in-boot-setup-initial-screen-enabled-internet.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1161

PostPosted: Mon 11 Sep 2017, 15:39    Post subject:  

[followup 2]

--found problems

1) First, when setting up a savefile after first boot, one of the standard popup screens asking you questions is messed up. It concerns the popup asking if you want to encrypt your savefile or not. If you choose 'NO', I don't want encryption, it creates an encryption. If you choose "YES', it doesn't create encryption. Where's the choices of "NORMAL" vs "ENCRYPTED" so it is not confusing?

2) URXVT Terminal Control does nothing to urxvt itself, no matter what settings tried

3) Desktop icons are not produced for mounting anything (SFS, USBs, Hard Drives, etc) despite it being checked to do so in Desktop Settings

4) Every time Palemoon starts, you are greeted with a Popup Error Box that says "No Daemon is Running"...(Palemoon still runs though). This is a bug I first saw reported by rufwoof (Palemoon running in Spot is the problem, as Root you don't see this popup) in the latest Xenial and Phil has provided a fix yet.

5) XFCE tray: Retrovol is not working nor is it showing, and can find no way at present to get it showing without installing other XFCE4-plugins. But DO NOT DO THIS at the moment. Do not install anything from PPM. Why?? If you do, you will be faced with the dreaded BIG problem of....

6) ........the XFCE Menu Snafu! Once you try to install (from PPM) any plugin or anything for XFCE4, the overall XFCE Desktop Environment suddenly goes ape-sh!t and reverts its complete MENU back to some other form and format. Then, you are staring in disbelief as nearly all Menu items either disappear and/or are put elsewhere. XFCE took over 112 .desktop files and changed the "Category" in every one of them. Items that had been appearing correctly before messing with PPM (which has to add a Menu entry when you install something) were either made to vanish totally out of the MENU and/or XFCE put them in a new "Other" menu category. 112 items----112 fricking items Evil or Very Mad !!---- in the Other Category is not fun, not fun at all.

That's it for now. It's too late and am too tired to go & manually fix all these 112 items .desktop files plus try to fix the other problems mentioned above it. This MENU problem, it's a pain-in-the-arse, and it took the wind right out of my sails Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0699s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]