Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 20 Jul 2018, 18:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Create Debian 9 (Stretch) minimal ISO similar to DebianDog
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 59 of 82 [1225 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, ..., 80, 81, 82 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12219
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 23 Nov 2017, 15:33    Post subject: Re: ISOBooter works with one glitch  

mikeslr wrote:
However, after clicking isobooter-stretch, it reported that it could not find any OS and did not generate a menu.lst.

Did you copy an ISO file onto the first partition?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2475
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Thu 23 Nov 2017, 16:09    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn51,

Missed that part. Smile

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3174
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 07:10    Post subject:  

Made small improvement for "flashplayerchoice", v1.0.3, it will check at start if a flashplayer update is available and display info, see pic.
Install with Synaptic or apt-get.
Thanks to Geoffrey for his "Flashplayer updater" (I took some code from it to download directly from Adobe)

Fred
flashplayer_update.jpg
 Description   Before and after updating flashplayer
 Filesize   33.39 KB
 Viewed   605 Time(s)

flashplayer_update.jpg


_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3174
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 08:08    Post subject:  

Hi rcrsn51, everyone

When I click on BIOS in Peasyclock I get the date with ½ in it (see pic), you or anyone have any idea how comes and if/how it can be solved ? (although not a big problem IMO).
More a general question, btw, because I've seen it often (e.g. date displayed by lxpanel and some more I can't remember now), using yad does similar:
Code:
yad --text=ext2/3/4


Results in displaying:
ext2/¾

Fred
2017-11-24-124800_140x139_scrot.png
 Description   displaying 2017/1½4 instead of 2017/11/24
 Filesize   8.21 KB
 Viewed   593 Time(s)

2017-11-24-124800_140x139_scrot.png


_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 13:26    Post subject:  

I saw your notice about the new kernel, so I tried to run Upgrade Kernel.

It says my kernel is up to date, but I think I can see the new kernel in synaptic.

Maybe a bug?

Quote:
root@live:~# uname -a
Linux live 4.9.0-3-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.30-2+deb9u5 (2017-09-19) x86_64 GNU/Linux
2017-11-24-112349_907x538_scrot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   64.65 KB
 Viewed   548 Time(s)

2017-11-24-112349_907x538_scrot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2393

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 13:54    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
Hi rcrsn51, everyone

When I click on BIOS in Peasyclock I get the date with ½ in it (see pic), you or anyone have any idea how comes and if/how it can be solved ? (although not a big problem IMO).
More a general question, btw, because I've seen it often (e.g. date displayed by lxpanel and some more I can't remember now), using yad does similar:
Code:
yad --text=ext2/3/4


Results in displaying:
ext2/¾

Fred

Sounds like the choice of font you have set for your gtk2 (gtk3)
Try
Code:
yad --font

and in the Preview frame type 1/2/3/4 and then select different choices of fonts and you might see some being interpreted as fractions and others simply showing 'correctly'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3174
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 15:26    Post subject:  

dancytron wrote:
I saw your notice about the new kernel, so I tried to run Upgrade Kernel.

It says my kernel is up to date, but I think I can see the new kernel in synaptic.

Maybe a bug?

Quote:
root@live:~# uname -a
Linux live 4.9.0-3-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.30-2+deb9u5 (2017-09-19) x86_64 GNU/Linux


This is a problem, there are 2 different kernels now in Debian repos, 4.9.0-3 and 4.9.0-4
The 4.9.0-3 kernel you have now is at version 4.9.30-2+deb9u5, it could well be that it will not be updated anymore (but to be honest I don't know)
The new standard kernel is 4.9.0-4 now and upgrade-kernel cannot upgrade from 4.9.0-3 to 4.9.0-4 (it can only upgrade 4.9.0-3 to newer version higher than 4.9.30-2+deb9u5)
This is new situation for me, I'll think about how to handle best way for those running older build.

@rufwoof
Quote:
Sounds like the choice of font you have set for your gtk2 (gtk3)
Try
Code:
yad --font

and in the Preview frame type 1/2/3/4 and then select different choices of fonts and you might see some being interpreted as fractions and others simply showing 'correctly'


Exactly! Thanks, it's because of the 'Oxygen' font set as default, all the other fonts display correct.

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 16:08    Post subject:  

Don't hurry on my account, there is nothing wrong with the old kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Fri 24 Nov 2017, 18:47    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
fredx181 wrote:
Hi rcrsn51, everyone

When I click on BIOS in Peasyclock I get the date with ½ in it (see pic), you or anyone have any idea how comes and if/how it can be solved ? (although not a big problem IMO).
More a general question, btw, because I've seen it often (e.g. date displayed by lxpanel and some more I can't remember now), using yad does similar:
Code:
yad --text=ext2/3/4


Results in displaying:
ext2/¾

Fred

Sounds like the choice of font you have set for your gtk2 (gtk3)
Try
Code:
yad --font

and in the Preview frame type 1/2/3/4 and then select different choices of fonts and you might see some being interpreted as fractions and others simply showing 'correctly'


Changing the font in Dog Control-Customize Look and Feel didn't fix this. I could change it but the setting wouldn't stick. I also changed it in Open Box Configuration Manager, which stuck but didn't seem to do anything.

Changed it in the settings files, which seemed to work.

There are two /root/.config/gtk-3.0/settings.ini and /root/.config/settings.ini. I used "sans" as the new font.

edit: and in /home/puppy/... to to make Chrome running as puppy stop doing it.

edit again: I was still getting the error when I right click and chose properties in pcmanfm. I used pfinder and changed it everywhere I found it. A bunch of places in /etc/skel, which I don't think matter.

In root,

/root/.config/pcmanfm/default/desktop-items-0.conf
/root/.gtkrc-2.0
/root/.jwmrc
/root/.jwm/jwm.tail

I suspect that it was .gtkrc-2.0 that fixed it.

Maybe a different default theme?

edit yet again: pretty much confirmed it was .gtkrc-2.0. Logged in as puppy and changed it in /home/puppy and that fixed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12219
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 04:46    Post subject:  

PeasyPartView upated here.

Touchpad updated here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 17:55    Post subject: Setup latest Firefox as portable application  

Not sure portable application is exactly the right word, but to set it up outside the save folder.

I am using Porteus save on exit with a save folder on a ext* drive. I am not sure this will work with other setups with the paths I am using, but I don't see any reason it wouldn't work if you used the correct path for each different setup.

1. Download the firefox install file from https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/new/ I clicked the "Advanced install options & other platforms" to make sure I got the right one. It will be a tar.bz2 file, the one I downloaded was firefox-57.0.tar.bz2.

2. Unzip it into the same drive that your frugal install is on. in my case sda2. This is also /live/image. So you end up with all the files in /live/image/firefox/.

3. Install apulse with apt-get or from synaptic.
.
4. Edit firefox-apulse.desktop in /usr/shared/applications to change the exec line to:

Code:
Exec=apulse /live/image/firefox/firefox -profile "/live/image/firefox/profile"


5. In /live/image/firefox/, add a /profile folder.

6. Launch firefox-apulse.desktop. type "about:config" in firefox address bar , then search for "security.sandbox.content.write_path_whitelist", double click it and type "/dev/snd/" (without the quotes). Restart firefox.

That's it, the main firefox program and the profile and cache should all be under /live/image/firefox, with less than a megabyte of little stuff under /root. When it downloads the widevine stuff for netflix and if you install any addons, those seem to be going under /live/image/firefox too.

It remains to be seen if the internal firefox automatic update will work. I guess we'll have to wait for a new version to come out in order to see.

One issue I did have is that it locked up on my first time into Netflix while it was downloading the widevine and other files. I had Chrome open with probably 8 tabs and qbittorrent at the same time, so I think I just ran out of memory. Anyway, I shut it down with the power switch and when it rebooted everything was fine and Netflix was ready to go, so I don't think it is a repeating issue.

I don't see any reason this wouldn't work on Fatdog and/or Puppy with a few little adjustments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3174
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 02 Dec 2017, 10:52    Post subject:  

In case of running older build (with kernel 4.9.0-3), new package "upgrade-kernel" available
It can upgrade the kernel to 4.9.0-4 now, see also here for more info:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=975872#975872

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Sat 02 Dec 2017, 18:47    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
In case of running older build (with kernel 4.9.0-3), new package "upgrade-kernel" available
It can upgrade the kernel to 4.9.0-4 now, see also here for more info:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=975872#975872

Fred


Ran this, seems to have worked fine.

Quote:
root@live:~# uname -a
Linux live 4.9.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.51-1 (2017-09-2Cool x86_64 GNU/Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3174
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sun 03 Dec 2017, 13:49    Post subject:  

dancytron wrote:
fredx181 wrote:
In case of running older build (with kernel 4.9.0-3), new package "upgrade-kernel" available
It can upgrade the kernel to 4.9.0-4 now, see also here for more info:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=975872#975872

Fred


Ran this, seems to have worked fine.

Quote:
root@live:~# uname -a
Linux live 4.9.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.51-1 (2017-09-2Cool x86_64 GNU/Linux


OK, nice! For info: Now you have 2 kernels installed, so you can uninstall the 4.9.0-3 kernel safely. (in Jessie it was different, upgrade-kernel just did replace the older kernel with the newer one)

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1092

PostPosted: Sun 03 Dec 2017, 13:53    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
dancytron wrote:
fredx181 wrote:
In case of running older build (with kernel 4.9.0-3), new package "upgrade-kernel" available
It can upgrade the kernel to 4.9.0-4 now, see also here for more info:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=975872#975872

Fred


Ran this, seems to have worked fine.

Quote:
root@live:~# uname -a
Linux live 4.9.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.9.51-1 (2017-09-2Cool x86_64 GNU/Linux


OK, nice! For info: Now you have 2 kernels installed, so you can uninstall the 4.9.0-3 kernel safely. (in Jessie it was different, upgrade-kernel just did replace the older kernel with the newer one)

Fred


I figured that out and already uninstalled it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 59 of 82 [1225 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, ..., 80, 81, 82 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1458s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0529s) ][ GZIP on ]