Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Oct 2018, 05:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Create Debian 9 (Stretch) minimal ISO similar to DebianDog
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 90 of 93 [1386 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93 Next
Author Message
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 16:49    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
In one of your previous messages you wrote about making a JWM build with added XFCE, and asked about removing JWM afterwards, not logical IMHO.


i agree. i wasn't trying to remove jwm afterwards.
rather, to get to xfce, i had to exit jwm.

-----

i tried adding opera repo, and seemed to work.
Code:
## CUSTOM REPOS
deb http://deb.opera.com/opera-stable/ stable non-free


However, during install, got:
Code:
WARNING: The following packages cannot be authenticated!
  opera-stable
E: There were unauthenticated packages and -y was used without --allow-unauthenticated
FAILED


i'm guessing i need to append `--allow-unauthenticated` to one of your apt-get statements. Any idea which one?

THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3470
Location: holland

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 17:01    Post subject:  

Ah, told you, it ain't easy !!
For sure it's possible to add Opera repo including gpg secured key, but in my opinion, better do it after booting the system and if desired, make a remaster.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 17:43    Post subject:  

I made iso using mklive. It's the 'default full' 64 bit from GUI. Nothing added or removed.

OOTB - Cosmetic issue... Smile
Attached screenshots show desktop login as root and puppy.
The icons shifted to the right for non-root user.
I didn't notice this until I installed on a laptop that has 'narrow' screen (1024x768).

What files can I copy (or modified) from default 'root' to non-root users so that the desktop icons do not get under conky?
fuj-root.png
 Description   
 Filesize   164.4 KB
 Viewed   225 Time(s)

fuj-root.png

fuj-puppy.png
 Description   
 Filesize   167.49 KB
 Viewed   223 Time(s)

fuj-puppy.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 1143

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 18:04    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
I made iso using mklive. It's the 'default full' 64 bit from GUI. Nothing added or removed.

OOTB - Cosmetic issue... Smile
Attached screenshots show desktop login as root and puppy.
The icons shifted to the right for non-root user.
I didn't notice this until I installed on a laptop that has 'narrow' screen (1024x768).

What files can I copy (or modified) from default 'root' to non-root users so that the desktop icons do not get under conky?


That's a pretty minor adjustment to try to do in the script.

How about just select all those icons and drag them an inch (2.54 cm) or so to the left?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dcung

Joined: 13 Jul 2018
Posts: 229
Location: Down Under - 3rd rock from Sun.

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 19:11    Post subject:  

dancytron wrote:
That's a pretty minor adjustment to try to do in the script.

How about just select all those icons and drag them an inch (2.54 cm) or so to the left?


I did not ask modification of the script. That's an assumption on your part.

I am positive that there's config files that dictates such placement of icons.
And I'm trying to learn and find out. Something that I will find out in due time. Or earlier with the help of someone who knows.

You obviously do not know.

I for one knows that it is a minor thing, hence I said COSMETIC!

Your suggestion to drag an inch is obviously a provocation?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Fri 21 Sep 2018, 22:00    Post subject:  

i created good Devuan xfce iso using Fred's newest script. Used default options/packages.

Able to login into puppy desktop without any special tweaks.
Great!

i notice on clicking Log Out button in puppy whisker, only "Logout" is available. Shutdown and others are grayed out.

Any idea why?

----

I notice other partitions aren't listed in puppy Thunar or desktop. However, those partitions are available in the /mnt directory.

Any ideas?

----

Also, i notice many icons are missing from puppy desktop and menu, cuz icon theme isn't set correctly.

if i set icon theme in Appearance to Faenza, now all icons display correctly. Great! Now i'll research a way to set default theme for all users, so puppy (and any other new users) get correct icons on first boot.

cheers!

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy

Last edited by johnywhy on Sat 22 Sep 2018, 15:04; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3470
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 06:27    Post subject:  

Hi johnywhy,

Instead of describing how to fix, here's a new "zz_xfce_config.squashfs"
https://debiandog.github.io/MakeLive/modules/xfce4/zz_xfce_config.squashfs
Just replace the old one in your frugal install "live" folder with this one (and reboot).
It's a lot smaller because in the old one I forgot to remove folder 'new' in /root (no need for that)

This will fix most of the problems that we discussed before, e.g. logged in as puppy:
- startx works
- synaptic and gparted work (modified .desktop launchers in ~/.local/share/applications)
- logout from whisker menu is obshutdown (original is xfce4-session-logout, but couldn't figure out to make it work, indeed, as you said, only Logout is visible)
- drive icons will show on the desktop and in Thunar

Note: if you use this .squashfs, you must start with fresh, empty save file or folder.

Any new build with mklive-stretch or mklive-devuan (using XFCE option) will now make use of this new zz_xfce_config.squashfs

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3470
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 06:42    Post subject:  

dcung wrote:
What files can I copy (or modified) from default 'root' to non-root users so that the desktop icons do not get under conky?

Configuration for that is in ~/.config/xfce4/desktop/
It's name depends on your resolution, for me it's "icons.screen0-1264x756.rc"
So, the best you can do is: move the icons to where you want, and it will be reflected in that config file.

EDIT: But (after you did above) if you want it resolution independent, rename it to "icons.screen0.rc" (which already exist, delete that first)
Then delete the others with resolution in the name so that only "icons.screen0.rc" exist in that directory (but note, after restarting X, the file with resolution in the name will be recreated)
A bit complicated it is, but that's how I did it to make remaster for sharing.
Also I deleted the lines for the drive icons from icons.screen0.rc e.g.
Code:
[435ca105-39cb-496b-a789-70bd2ecee7e2]
row=5
col=0


Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 2689
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 09:42    Post subject: Whisker Menu Exit/Shutdown command  

johnywhy wrote:

i notice on clicking Log Out button in puppy whisker, only "Logout" is available. Shutdown and others are grayed out. Any idea why?


Hi johnywhy,

I'm not running this OS, but from experience with Whisker menu on others, it would appear that the correct Exit command is not being used. What you'll have to do is track down the correct command. If you still have jwm, examine the Exec= arguments in the desktop files at /usr/share/applications which would trigger shut down routines. These files may actually bear "shutdown" in its name. Then pfind (or equivalent) the executable. If desktop files don't provide a hint, start with pfind and search for Exit, Shutdown and any other term you think may be appropriate. Sometimes the entire path will be required.

It would help is someone already knows what command triggers the correct shutdown routine.

Once you've identified the correct Exit/shutdown routine, Right-Click the Whisker Icon, Select Properties, Left-Click the Commands Tab, and replace the command in the Log Out box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3470
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 13:46    Post subject:  

mikeslr wrote:
It would help is someone already knows what command triggers the correct shutdown routine.


Thanks Mike, but it has not to do with .desktop files in /usr/share/applications.
It's about the default logout dialog command for xfce4, which is:
Code:
xfce4-session-logout

When logged in as root, it will display everything, e.g. shutdown reboot etc..
But when logged in as unprivileged user, it only shows "Logout" (others greyed out).
As I said, no idea how to solve that, but the obshutdown dialog does the job ok, so no real problem IMO.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 15:07    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
here's a new "zz_xfce_config.squashfs"
https://debiandog.github.io/MakeLive/modules/xfce4/zz_xfce_config.squashfs
Just replace the old one

Fantastic. Thx Fred! Will this new one be used next time i run your mk script?

======

fredx181 wrote:
the obshutdown dialog does the job ok, so no real problem

but, in obshutdown window, only logout is visible. Other options are grayed out. I have to get to root to shutdown.

i suspect permissions issue, and usergroup fix.

====

fredx181 wrote:
johnywhy wrote:
Is it possible to boot to command prompt, without logging in, instead of booting into X?

Yes, do from terminal:
Code:
cp -af /etc/inittab-noauto /etc/inittab

After save and reboot, autologin should be disabled then.

Great!

My goal is to use command line as login screen, so we're not consuming RAM and diskspace with Slim or other login eye-candy.

But, still want xfce desktop to start as soon as the user logs in at the command line, without having to type startx or startxfce4. That should happen for all users, including new ones added later.

How to do that? You're already doing that (or something like it) to boot to desktop for root. But i want to do it from command-line login.

One of these?

Quote:
Adding the command to the end of ~/.profile
https://askubuntu.com/questions/270049/how-to-run-a-command-at-login


Quote:
put a .desktop file in ~/.config/autostart to run applications after a user login. This may have following content:
[Desktop Entry]
Type=Application
Name=<Name of application as displayed>
Exec=<command to execute>
Icon=<full path to icon>
Comment=<optinal comments>
X-GNOME-Autostart-enabled=true
https://askubuntu.com/a/48327


Quote:
xfce4-terminal -e "/batch-path/batch-name.sh"
xfce4-terminal: open the terminal after user login with current user privileges
-e: set the terminal to execute the batch file
/batch-path/batch-name.sh: is the batch full path and full name
https://askubuntu.com/a/310333


Quote:
various
https://unix.stackexchange.com/a/122430


Quote:
pam
https://unix.stackexchange.com/a/122486


THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3470
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 15:37    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
Will this new one be used next time i run your mk script?

Yes.
Quote:
but, in obshutdown window, only logout is visible. Other options are grayed out. I have to get to root to shutdown.

Don't know what you did exacly, you started with fresh save ? (recommended)
For me (logged in as puppy) when I click on the button at bottom-right in Whsiker menu I get the obshutdown dialog, see pic.

EDIT:
Quote:
But, still want xfce desktop to start as soon as the user logs in at the command line, without having to type startx or startxfce4

It should do that now with the new zz_xfce_config.squashfs (automatic startx, just the same as when logged in as root)

Fred
obshutdown.png
 Description   obshutdown dialog
 Filesize   67.16 KB
 Viewed   62 Time(s)

obshutdown.png


_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 16:01    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
johnywhy wrote:
in obshutdown window, only logout is visible.

For me (logged in as puppy) when I click on the button at bottom-right in Whsiker menu I get the obshutdown dialog, see pic.

indeed, this is now fixed with your new zz_xfce_config.squashfs.
great!
Quote:
want xfce desktop to start as soon as the user logs in at the command line

It should do that now with the new zz_xfce_config.squashfs[/quote]
it does!
thx!

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 16:19    Post subject:  

fredx181 wrote:
do from terminal:
Code:
cp -af /etc/inittab-noauto /etc/inittab   

After save and reboot, autologin should be disabled then.


works, but i get this on boot. It gets stuck there, without a command-prompt. then i must press enter to get command prompt. Any fix?


_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3470
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2018, 16:23    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
works, but i get this on boot. It gets stuck there, without a command-prompt. then i must press enter to get command prompt. Any fix?


Yes, I noticed similar, need to press Enter, not too much trouble I hope ? Smile

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 90 of 93 [1386 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2672s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1872s) ][ GZIP on ]