Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Aug 2017, 06:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Bizarre results attempting tahr-6.0.6 install to flash drive
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Sat 01 Jul 2017, 23:48    Post subject:  Bizarre results attempting tahr-6.0.6 install to flash drive  

I have been rolling along with tahr-6.0.5 for quite a whle.
I thought I'd try out tahr-6.0.6 but it hasn't worked out so far - not on my flash drives, though the burnt CD works fine, So, it must be the method of installation although I think I have followed the same procedure I have used in the past. That is, format as FAT with gParted, set boot flag and copy initrd.gz, vmlinuz, puppy _tahr_6.0.6.sfs from the iso to a tahr606 directory in the boot flash drive. (see populated_drive.png)

There are some things in the iso that are new to me and may not have been handled correctly - (a)- where to place (or not place) efi.img (b) vesamenu.32, grub, isolinux whereas I use a syslinux menu (see syslinuxcfg.png).

I can't capture the screen output when it fails, but here are a few lines:
Code:
Waiting for USB storage
Finding puppy main sfs file      [color=red]failed[/color]

Dumping lines of /tmp/bootinit.log
lines of text follow
Dumping lines of kernel log
lines of text follow
sda1 /puppy_tahr_6.0.6.sfs not found

Why looking in sda1 (Windows hard drive)


I saved zz_initrd_tmp as the text suggested.. (see zz_initrd_tmp.png).

===================
Can anyone suggest what I am doing incorrectly?

I never used isobooter before, but decided to do so now using the iso for tahr-6.0.6 and slacko700_rc3.
That failed too with similar type output.
zz_initrd_tmp.png
 Description   File created by save debug
 Filesize   43.45 KB
 Viewed   519 Time(s)

zz_initrd_tmp.png

syslinuxcfg.png
 Description   syslinux.cfg
 Filesize   26.04 KB
 Viewed   519 Time(s)

syslinuxcfg.png

populated_drive.png
 Description   flash drive with components
 Filesize   22.06 KB
 Viewed   515 Time(s)

populated_drive.png


_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM


Last edited by B.K. Johnson on Yesterday, at 11:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 376
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jul 2017, 00:01    Post subject:  

try doing exactly what you have been doing. Format USB stick with GParted to ext4 (your choice) set the boot flag then create a directory.
open the tahr 6.0.6 iso and copy all the contents to the directory you have created.
Now run GRUB4DOS just searching the USB stick. Let it finish and install an mbr.

Now try and boot into tahr 6.0.6 on the USB stick.

let me know if you make it! Good Luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jul 2017, 01:29    Post subject:  

@rockedge
Thanks for your interest and suggestion.

I did as you suggested. Got a nice looking menu, but soon thereafter, the same output I described in my first post.

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 1236
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jul 2017, 08:10    Post subject:  

Hi !
Maybe try to place init.gz puppy_tahr_606.sfs vimlinux and zdrv_tahr_606.sfs
outside (without) the tahr606 folder and use grub4dos again.
Had once similar problem.Or maybe try to rename tahr606 Folder to just tahr (without numbers ).....as far as i remember ......changing folder name without numbers did somehow help .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11535
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jul 2017, 09:32    Post subject:  

@B.K.: I set up an ISObooter flash drive with tahr606. It worked correctly for me in both "splashscreen" modes.

Since you reported that you can boot successfully off a CD, I would try ISObooter again with "splashscreen=y".

If that method still fails, I'm guessing that your machine has some kind of conflict with the USB detection stuff in new Puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jeff757

Joined: 11 Dec 2012
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Sun 02 Jul 2017, 11:56    Post subject: /puppy_tahr_6.0.6.sfs not found  

@B.K.
In your syslinux.cfg please place psubdir=/tahr606 before pmedia=usbflash, this is needed by the new init search routine.
Posting from live tahr606 test using syslinux. My only difference is I use one line for initrd and one line for append


jeff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1400
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 05:18    Post subject:  

@B.K.
I wouldn't hurt to add a "pupsfs=sdb1" as well.
Tell "init" where your puppy files are.
gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 9091
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 08:37    Post subject:  

Try using this installer run from the Tahrpup CD.
Yapi
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
It will install Grub4dos bootloader, but the advanced menu does give you some troubleshooting ways to boot if something goes wrong with the install.

The newer Puppies do have more needed files, because they are tweaked for booting in computers with UEFI bios.
It is best to just copy all that is in the ISO.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 1143
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 10:04    Post subject:  

What else is is on sda1???
Win10
Win8
Win7
Other pups?

Do the formats in sda1 and sdb1 match?

I also note the devx_sfs is loaded in sdb1.

Regards
8Geee

_________________
Linux user #498913
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 10:40    Post subject:  

Apologies guys for my unavoidable delay in reporting back!

@backi
Your suggestion of no directory did not work. It got to the grub menu and shortly after the timeout for it to go to the tahr, it crashed out as before. Same result when I selected the advanced menu.

I rebooted, but this time selected Windows.
It was slow getting to the log-in. The mouse froze there but came alive after a couple minutes and then went on to complete the boot. It was extrely slow, much slower than I remember from my last use. I escaped from the Windows world as fast as I could when bombarded with a host of warnings, notifications and the like.

@rcrsn51
Slow read/write on FAT32 is of no concern to me. Neither do I want to use save folder/directory. So this time, I followed your tutorial
here
rather than the multiple pups I tried before. Furthermore, you were successful with it. I answered 'n' rather than 'y' as you suggested. It worked! Cool Very Happy

I would like to suggest a review of your tutorial for clarification/completeness. It appears that when you defined the method for pupfolder, you included a new step/question (Choose a partition for Puppy save files [1,2,3]) but didn't include it at the main
thread. Also, 1,2,3 etc. is appropriate for multiple installations but only 1 for single installs. See the screenie, missing_from_isobooter_tuto.png, attached.

Thanks for helping.
I am still intrigued as to what could be the cause of the earlier results.
I am wondering if the fact that my tahr-6.0.5 was arrived at by updating 6.0 to 6.0.3 to 6.0.5 via quickpet was a contributing factor. A latent bug may exist therein. I'll get around to doing the 6.0.6 installation from a pristine tahr-6.0.5.

BK
missing_from_isobooter_tuto.png
 Description   missing instruction in main/original isobooter tutorial
 Filesize   12.16 KB
 Viewed   313 Time(s)

missing_from_isobooter_tuto.png


_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 10:55    Post subject:  

@jeff757
Nice catch. At some time in my ordeal, the thought came to mind but slipped by.
I'll try it on my first flash drive set up for multiple puppies.

@ gyro
Thanks. "pupsfs=sdb1" is new to me; I am aware of "psubdir=sdb1" with a syslinux menu as jeff757 suggested. If this is not a "lapsus fingerosa" Smile , in which bootloader do I use pupsfs? syslinux, Grb4Dos or either? How?

@bigpup
Thanks for your input. I'll try Yapi.

@01micko, mavrathol and the other CE honchos Smile
Is it time to look at the Puppy installer that comes standard with puppies?

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11535
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 12:12    Post subject:  

@B.K.

That's good news. I have added an additional step to the main instructions.

BTW, you can still have multiple Puppy ISOs on a one-partition setup, but you would be limited to using savefiles.

Quote:
I am still intrigued as to what could be the cause of the earlier results.
I am wondering if the fact that my tahr-6.0.5 was arrived at by updating 6.0 to 6.0.3 to 6.0.5 via quickpet was a contributing factor. A latent bug may exist therein. I'll get around to doing the 6.0.6 installation from a pristine tahr-6.0.5.


I ran my tests with a pristine Tahr 6.0.6 ISO and a clean flash drive. So I cannot comment on the problems you had with your updated setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jul 2017, 23:45    Post subject:  

@8Geee
You asked:
Quote:
What else is is on sda1???

WinXP
Quote:
Other pups?

No! All my pups run from a flash drive, some drives with multiple pups.
Quote:
Do the formats in sda1 and sdb1 match?

Yes! Both are FAT32 formatted.
Quote:
I also note the devx_sfs is loaded in sdb1.

devx is not really loaded. It is on the drive in anticipation that when I got tahr-6.0.6 up and running, I would need to do some work with ndiswrapper to get internet access. That's a long story if you haven't been around.

BFN
BK

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
B.K. Johnson

Joined: 12 Oct 2009
Posts: 602

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jul 2017, 22:48    Post subject:  

@rcrsn51
I reported that the flash drive I created with isobooter worked for it booted OK, I connected to the internet, downloaded and installed. Then I ceased playing with it, intending to go back when time allowed.

I have now noticed something strange: When I boot from both the CD and flashdrive, it is the sda1 which is displayed with the boot drive indicator, not the boot drive (flash).
Screenies attached show:
Using 606 CD

sda1-as-boot-drive-via-CD.png

Using isob made flash


drives-via-isob.png
remains-after-umount-all.png

Compare with this screenie of my tahr-6.0.5 flash drive booter which has sdb1 with the boot indicator, not sda1.

no indicator on sda1 normally.png

@bigpup

Bad news! I could not get YaPI to work. After a long time searching, I got a xdialog error. When closed, I got pop-up messages of 'Bye'! and 'No isos found'-. Zigbert's pfind tells me that I have 28 isos on my drive. I had 2 copies of the tahr-6.0.6 as shown in the screenie,

where-are-isos.png


As an aside: A Browse button would have been a better design choice than to search all mounted drives. Most people would know where the target ISO is located. And search and list seems to me a bad choice especially since the search is nor particularly fast.

What's your experience?
sda1-as-boot-drive-via-CD.png
 Description   Using tahr-6.0.6 CD, sda1 is shown with boot indicator
 Filesize   15.4 KB
 Viewed   234 Time(s)

sda1-as-boot-drive-via-CD.png

drives-via-isob.png
 Description   state of drive icons after isobooter
 Filesize   88.44 KB
 Viewed   233 Time(s)

drives-via-isob.png

remains-after-umount-all.png
 Description   At boot and after umount, sda1 shows boot indicator
 Filesize   42.48 KB
 Viewed   237 Time(s)

remains-after-umount-all.png

no indicator on sda1 normally.png
 Description   A normal install does not have boot indicator on sda1 e.g my 605
 Filesize   14.64 KB
 Viewed   236 Time(s)

no indicator on sda1 normally.png

where-are-isos.png
Description  28 ISO on drives including these 2 of tahr-6.0.6
png

 Download 
Filename  where-are-isos.png 
Filesize  56.62 KB 
Downloaded  8 Time(s) 

_________________
B.K. Johnson
tahrpup-6.0.5 PAE (upgraded from 6.0 =>6.0.2=>6.0.3=>6.0.5 via quickpet/PPM=Not installed); slacko-5.7 occasionally. Frugal install, pupsave file, multi OS flashdrive, FAT32 , SYSLINUX boot, CPU-Dual E2140, 4GB RAM

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11535
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jul 2017, 22:58    Post subject:  

That tab on the drive icon indicates that Puppy found some core files on that drive, like the main SFS file, and mounted it.

If you look on sda1, I'm guessing that you will find some core Puppy files.

Look at ISObooter's menu.lst entry. It probably has "pmedia=cd". This has traditionally been Puppy's most aggressive search method when looking for SFS files. Some older Puppies need it for ISObooter to work correctly. Also, some users prefer to put the SFS file on the hard drive where it will load faster.

Change it to "pmedia=usbflash".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1213s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]