(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Sep 2020, 02:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Skype 'musings' & related stuff...
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1874
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2020, 10:01    Post subject:  

the main problem is running Skype as root.

The people over at micropuppet have made the code for skype unable to be started with --no-chrome-sandbox which used to work or any other work around that I have tried. Search engine the issue and you'll see the attempts.

So I revert back to the last newer version that will run as root.

This also has become a problem in WeeDog as well. The Void Linux package manager installs the latest skype but since WeeDog setups I made run as root I have no joy running Skype. So also there I go back to an older version

I do not like to be forced by know-it-all's to not use root.....I run as root with no fear and NEVER had an issue to this very moment running as root

Skype version 8.50.0.38 works well still in Bionic64.

I am going to use your suggestion Mike which looks like a great way to start skype with the run-as-spot wrapper!

**
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1874
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2020, 10:50    Post subject:  

Nice!!

Hello Mike...I don't know why I did not think of using run-as-spot before but I used your suggestion with the latest preview version of Skype and it started and works great.

Thanks for the tip!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2020, 11:43    Post subject:  

Hi, rockedge.

Ah, you know me by now; if there's an easy, simple way of doing summat, it's what I prefer to go with. We get so used to thinking of everything we do in 'complex' terms, we tend to forget to try the simple things first.....

I always start stuff like this from the terminal to begin with (I keep remembering all the different hassles the early 'beta' versions of SkypeforLinux presented us with, a couple of years ago.) When it just kept returning to the prompt, I immediately suspected permissions, since it's happening with pretty much everything else these days!

'Run-as-spot' worked perfectly for me, so I figured I'd put together a simple MenuEntry 'overwrite' for it; should work for everybody else, too.

That start script in /usr/bin is a bloody nightmare; I know it's fairly 'standard' as far as mainstream distros are concerned, but TBH, most of it is totally unnecessary.....and anyway, we're used to 'hacking' things to get 'em running in Puppy, aren't we? Laughing

I'm like you; there's no end of perfectly good, open-source replacements for Skype that I'd be more than happy to use instead.....but when everyone you know refuses to use anything other than Skype, it doesn't leave you a lot of choice..! I'm just glad the current versions seem to be fairly well 'sorted' at long last.

-------------------------------

Hang on to the Menu 'overwrite' .pet, 'cos you'll need to re-install it each time you upgrade Skype.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1874
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jan 2020, 13:14    Post subject:  

Hi Mike,

Good stuff...so far just the small script I put into /root/my-applications/bin is doing the trick starting the latest Skype. Which I don't think will be affected.

I have the PET and will keep it stored in case I need it!

I still use it since my world wide connections are still using skype as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2020, 16:04    Post subject:  

Just some info:-

Have just this moment installed the 'current' version of this in Bionicpup64 - 8.57.76.109. I'm noticing a degree of 'sluggishness' & 'hesitation' with this version.....and this is on the new, modern hardware. God knows what it'd be like on the old Compaq!

Apart from that, everything appears to be still functional, though I can't say as I'm keen on MyCrudSoft having removed the ability to 'maximize' the app. It's now either 'fullscreen' (via F11 - covering the tray up), or a smallish window off to one side of the screen.

Ah, well; I guess I shouldn't complain. It does still work.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2020, 21:48    Post subject:  

Now on 8.59.76.11.....and 'maximize/minimize' is working correctly again!

(Thank Christ for small mercies, eh?)


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gabtech

Joined: 14 Apr 2013
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2020, 10:13    Post subject: Skype for tahr64  

Hello people,

I can not find Oscar's skype fot tahr64.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2020, 11:56    Post subject: Re: Skype for tahr64  

gabtech wrote:
Hello people,

I can not find Oscar's skype fot tahr64.


@ gabtech:-

You probably won't, either. Oscar periodically builds experimental 'test' packages, and, I think, depending on the amount of interest any given package receives - i.e., how many people download it - it may stay up for a long time, or it may be removed after only a short while.

I'm guessing that for this particular package, it was the latter; at any rate, it's been removed. Or Oscar may have simply removed it for the simple reason that it's now an ancient package.....not in terms of how old it actually is, more in terms of how many 'upgrades' there's been since.

Like, somewhere in excess of 60 newer versions, if I don't miss my guess.....and we all know how prone M$ are to just dropping support for things, simply on a whim.

Like Oscar, even I periodically review & prune the contents of my cloud hosting a/cs.....there's a limit to how much storage space you get, before having to start paying for it.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 2202
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2020, 13:47    Post subject:  

Yeah, I haven't done any experimenting with Skype for quite some time and don't have any uploaded at the moment. The most recent version I have locally is 8.16.x which obviously is very outdated so no point offering that. Other packages (or instructions on how to adapt for Puppy) can be found if you hunt around I believe.
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4481
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 24 Mar 2020, 16:12    Post subject:  

Just in case it's useful for anyone, here's (older) skype version 8.34 that can run as root.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2020, 11:05    Post subject:  

Afternoon, boys & girls. Just a quick update for y'all.

The latest version of Skype - 8.59.76.26 - released, um, just yesterday (*shakes head.....again!!*), will run OOTB in Bionicpup64.

After a wee bit of experimentation, it appears it will run under Xenialpup64, but you'll need to 'borrow' libsecret from Bionicpup64; looks like they've compiled it with a slightly newer version, and Xenial's default one is now just a bit too old.

I'm not going into a 'rant' here, but I wish to Christ MyCrudSoft would quit suppressing the terminal output from these Electron Chromium-based packages. It often proves very helpful when running any of the Chromium-based browsers, because it's essentially an ongoing, 'real-time' debug report all the time the things are running.

MyCrudSoft once again demonstrating what a bunch of all-round 'control freaks' they are...... I'm not saying there aren't plenty of clever folks over on the 'dark side', but it's not beyond the majority of Linux users to do a bit of detective work and track down updated dependencies if, as & when necessary. Like this, it's left down to guesswork; I had the bright idea of trying a newer version of libsecret, seeing as it's been mentioned so often as the prime suspect over the last year..... Rolling Eyes

As it happens, it turns out my guess was right!


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 1874
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2020, 14:10    Post subject:  

Hello Mike,

Micropuppets are a devious bunch.

I can't even keep up with the fast rate of updates for Skype. I think they are scrambling because they know they've blown it and lost to the new comer Zoom. One would think such "great" programmers would be allowed to create programs so lean and mean our heads would spin......but nooooo......not happening, we get bloat ware, dubious tracking and sluggish operating junk code.

I have used Skype since the beginning and I really appreciated it having family spread across the planet, so I stick with it...but all the tricks necessary to keep it running are a noticeable drag...a real buzz kill. Although I'll be the first to admit it is a sort of a thrill when it starts up and presents the login screen.

Question....do you have persistence with the Skype profile and staying logged in after a restart of Skype? I so far have not successfully gotten the profile to be saved so I need to login every time I start skype.

I am really happy that the run-as-spot makes it easy to run.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 4481
Location: holland

PostPosted: Sat 28 Mar 2020, 15:04    Post subject:  

rockedge wrote:
Question....do you have persistence with the Skype profile and staying logged in after a restart of Skype? I so far have not successfully gotten the profile to be saved so I need to login every time I start skype.


Yes, automatic login is problematic, I use older Skype version on Stretchdog and have gnome-keyring installed which makes autologin working, but with newest Skype I could not figure out how.

Fred

_________________
Dog Linux website
Tinylinux blog by wiak
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6397
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2020, 13:51    Post subject:  

Hi, rockedge.

No, I haven't bothered with auto-login, TBH. I don't use it that often - an hour-long chat with my sister last night, and the same with my mate tuxtoo a couple of weeks ago is the most I've used it for months!

However; I've had my MyCrudSoft a/c for a very long time, and despite all the transitions it's been through over the last couple of decades, my username & password (although certainly not easy to guess, easy for me to remember) are pretty much 'burned-in' to my memory by now. I doubt I could forget 'em if I tried..... Laughing

If the web-app had the functionality of the desktop client, I'd use that instead - and LastPass would do the honours for me - but it's not got video-calling.....only chat messaging. Which is a bugger, right enough, 'cos if you use the web-app running under Microsoft Edge (the Windoze version, of course!), video-calling is present & correct.

I have absolutely NO faith that the promised Linux version of Edge, even if any of us were daft enough to use it, would offer the same.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Makoto


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 2267
Location: Out wandering... maybe.

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2020, 15:13    Post subject:  

So you're saying that if it's used under Edge, the web version does have video capability? If that's the case, it sounds like it's excluding features from 'older' browsers again... a useragent string from a recent version of Edge (not Chrome, if Microsoft and Google are still having that 'spat') would probably do the trick, as opposed to the Chrome useragent string I haven't changed since we first got it working.

Edit: Try this one: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/64.0.3282.140 Safari/537.36 Edge/17.17134 (the latest listed here.
They have a 'latest' page (What is the latest user agent for Edge? - WhatIsMyBrowser.com) that claims it's Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/80.0.3987.149 Safari/537.36 Edge/80.0.361.62 instead, though. (Note that that page leaves out the last 'e' on the 'Edge' in the string as well...))

_________________
[ Puppy 4.3.1 JP, Frugal install ] * [ XenialPup 7.5, Frugal install ] * [XenialPup 64 7.5, Frugal install] * [ 4GB RAM | 512MB swap ]
In memory of our beloved American Eskimo puppy (1995-2010) and black Lab puppy (1997-2011).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1069s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0216s) ][ GZIP on ]