Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 20 Apr 2018, 03:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Skype Desktop Client to quit working as of July 1, 2017
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3580
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 08:04    Post subject:  

Morning, CatDude. Long time no see....

rockedge wrote:
Hello CatDude ..... how do you convince Skype v 4.3.0.37 to think it is version 8.3.0.37? What is the modification? Is your version 32 bit?


CatDude wrote:
Very similar to what watchdog used.

Code:

sed -i 's/4\.3\.0\.37/8\.3\.0\.37/' /usr/share/skype/skype


Change the path to your skype binary location, if different to above.



Just a query, really. Does this code need to be applied every time you start Skype? Or do you just apply it the once?

I don't intend re-installing this right across the kennels, but just in a couple of my favourite Pups. Obviously, if it needs running every time, 'twould be easier to put it into a script for ease of operation.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1570
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 08:29    Post subject:  

@ Mike Walsh
Hello Mike
Mike Walsh wrote:
Just a query, really. Does this code need to be applied every time you start Skype? Or do you just apply it the once?

Just the once mate.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3580
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 08:43    Post subject:  

CatDude wrote:
@ Mike Walsh
Hello Mike
Mike Walsh wrote:
Just a query, really. Does this code need to be applied every time you start Skype? Or do you just apply it the once?

Just the once mate.

CatDude
.


Fair do's, mate; much appreciated. I replaced Tahr 6.0.5 a while back with the newer 6.0.6; let's see what happens with watchdog's 'workaround' and your version 'fix'. (I even had audio and video-calling working properly in 605; I want to see if I can repeat it..!)

Cheers.


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Fri 02 Mar 2018, 17:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3580
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 02 Mar 2018, 12:09    Post subject:  

Hi again, CatDude.

Gracias, mi amigo! That's worked nicely. Skype 4.3 now seems to think it's 8.3.0.37 (*hee, hee*)





Nice one.

Like so many of us, even though I'm not a die-hard Skype user (it's there more for friends & family who refuse to even try any of the multitude of alternatives that are now available), I detest the 'new-look' version.....I'm happier with the older GUI if I have to use the darn thing.

Personally, I much prefer WIRE.... Far more intuitive, to my way of thinking. Hell, even Google's Hangouts is preferable..!! That's one good thing about MyCrudSoft's 'messing about' with Skype the way they have this last year or so; it's triggered an explosion of development. And there's some decent alternatives out there. I just like WIRE, though.....and the fact that the AppImages run in Pup without issue helps enormously.

Anyway, cheers for this, mate. Much appreciated.


Mike. Wink

(EDIT:- Curiously, since re-installing Skype, along with pulseaudio and pavucontrol, Openshot, the video editor, has now started working. I installed this when I upgraded from 605 to 606 about 4-5 months ago; it never did work properly, and I seem to recall it wanted PulseAudio (which I was loathe to install just for that).

Oh, well. I'm not complaining. Openshot's always been my favourite video editor, despite being a major PITA to get running sometimes..!)

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2018, 08:34    Post subject:  

Anybody got webcams working in new 64-bit SkypeForLinux??

With skypeforlinux_8.17.76.3_amd64.deb
it detects I have a webcam plugged in
but doesn't display any video from the webcam (screenshot #1)

Pavrecord shows that the webcam is working fine (screenshot #2)

Test system is LxPupSc64
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   58.23 KB
 Viewed   97 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Screenshot1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   143.97 KB
 Viewed   97 Time(s)

Screenshot1.png


_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3580
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2018, 10:39    Post subject:  

Afternoon, peebee.

I suspect it's more to do with the webcam itself than anything else, y'know. I've always found that they just seem to work better under Linux if you go out of your way to make sure the model you want to purchase is 'UVC-compliant'.

That way, it makes use of the built-in UVC kernel driver module. Mine have always been UVC-compliant, and they work without issue in the majority of VOIP apps that are available. There's always the odd one that refuses to play ball, though. I'm afraid I don't have any 'pearls of wisdom' to dispense regarding those..!

Weird codecs, perchance? Confused (There again, Skype just is 'weird'...)


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY PUPPY PACKAGES | 'Thanks' are always appreciated!
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Sat 03 Mar 2018, 11:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1556
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat 03 Mar 2018, 10:48    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
Anybody got webcams working in new 64-bit SkypeForLinux??

With skypeforlinux_8.17.76.3_amd64.deb


skypeforlinux_8.17.76.3_amd64 does not work at all in fatdog64 721: it does not start and no errors I have found in log. skypeforlinux-64 stable release works with webcam too. I have ceased to test experimental builds of skypeforlinux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [52 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0657s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]