Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 25 Feb 2018, 15:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Skype Desktop Client to quit working as of July 1, 2017
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3422
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jan 2018, 19:02    Post subject:  

Just FYI:-

Skype4Linux 8.15.76.1 desktop client still stuck in an endless log-in loop..... Rolling Eyes

Why am I not surprised? (Why am I even bothering?)

-----------------------------------------------

Skype 4 web, however, continues to function like it's supposed to.


Mike. Confused

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 466
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2018, 12:09    Post subject:  

Hello Mike! I experienced the same problem with the latest Skypeforlinux....so I removed it and rolled back to a previous version which saved which works but is not quite out of the Beta stage either....... I will download the latest and see if I can get to run.... I use skype to talk to my son who lives in Germany! just a what we have used for years. Microstuff's lack of effort on the Linux version is stunning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3422
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2018, 16:24    Post subject:  

Hiya, rockedge.

Oh, I shall probably give the current version yet another try.....though I don't know why I bother! I see there's been another 3 releases since I posted about that last one the other day; probably more unnecessary 'bling' (I rather doubt it's been anything to do with functionality...)

Have you got libsecret installed? I believe that's got summat to do with it, according to Oscar...


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 466
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2018, 17:52    Post subject:  

I do have libsecret installed! I just tried the latest v8.15 I think it is but nothing but a white window after login. v 8.11 works for me.

the v 8.15 throws this:
Code:
seg fault error 6 libc-2.23.so
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3422
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Fri 16 Feb 2018, 18:50    Post subject:  

Mm. Looks like that might work in Xenial; that uses glibc 2.23.

Worth a try, perhaps? If not, fancy giving WIRE a try? It's what I use myself nowadays; it's available as an AppImage, which works brilliantly in any Pup with a glibc of 1.5 or higher. Certainly in Tahrpup, 32- or 64-bit...

https://wire.com/

It's cross-platform, too; they have clients for all the major platforms. Video calling, as well.....and solidly encrypted from end to end.

One thing about M$ having messed Skype up so badly; it's triggered an explosion of development. There's lots of choice out there, now.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1678
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat 17 Feb 2018, 19:35    Post subject:  

Just tested Skype version 8.16.76.8
In Xenial64, Tahr64 and Slacko64 6.3.0
No libsecret or any other extra libs added.
It starts and runs and signs in OK in all three of those Puppies.
Calls to Echo Test crash on playback but this has been the case with the earlier versions for quite some time. I didn't try any calls to other users.
Repack as .sfs uploaded strictly for testing only.
http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3422
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 22 Feb 2018, 06:41    Post subject:  

Well, I'm pleased to be able to report that Oscar's package for 8.16.76.8 does indeed work fine in Tahr64. Everything's behaving itself.....for now.

I wonder how long it'll be before MyCrudSoft bollix things up again? Really, you'd think they would have learnt by now that it's when something's working properly (at long last), then that is the time to step back for a while and take a breather...

I wonder, too, how long it'll be before all these recent 8-series versions are 'retired from service'. Currently, M$ seem to be updating the darn thing roughly every 4-5 days... How the hell can anybody keep up with all that?

If I keep this particular version in place for a while (because it actually works; no, I don't particularly like it - much prefer WIRE, personally - but certain of my acquaintances seem to adore it, and won't even consider owt else), I'm curious as to just how long it'll be until it stops working in favour of yet another 'upgrade'...

We shall see.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Thu 22 Feb 2018, 16:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1568
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 22 Feb 2018, 08:53    Post subject:  

Hi

Mike Walsh wrote:
... I'm curious as to just how long it'll be until it stops working in favour of yet another 'upgrade'...


I often wonder the same thing, as i am still running version 4.3.0.37 (it thinks it is 8.3.0.37) Laughing

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 328
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Thu 22 Feb 2018, 13:49    Post subject:  

Hi Mike and Oscar,

thanks for your posts. I've just got skype back on tahr64 after using wire for a few months. I prefer wire but it's difficult to wean all your friends and relatives off skype.

We should regard ourselves as unwanted tenants and will probably be fighting Linux v m$ again soon.

Regards Tony.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rockedge


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 466
Location: Connecticut, United States

PostPosted: Thu 22 Feb 2018, 16:20    Post subject:  

Hello CatDude ..... how do you convince Skype v 4.3.0.37 to think it is version 8.3.0.37? What is the modification? Is your version 32 bit?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1519
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Fri 23 Feb 2018, 02:56    Post subject:  

Wow Smile . Thanks Catdude! It's a spoofing... I used:

Code:
perl -pi -e 's/4\.3\.0\.37/8.3.0.37/g' /usr/share/skype/skype
pic.png
 Description   
 Filesize   87.06 KB
 Viewed   59 Time(s)

pic.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1568
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 23 Feb 2018, 04:19    Post subject:  

Hi

rockedge wrote:
Hello CatDude ..... how do you convince Skype v 4.3.0.37 to think it is version 8.3.0.37? What is the modification? Is your version 32 bit?


Very similar to what watchdog used.

Code:
sed -i 's/4\.3\.0\.37/8\.3\.0\.37/' /usr/share/skype/skype

Change the path to your skype binary location, if different to above.

rockedge wrote:
Is your version 32 bit?

Yes it is mate, though i am running it in Fatdog64

All the best
CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 3 [42 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0945s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0239s) ][ GZIP on ]