Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 18 Dec 2017, 16:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Quirky Pyro64 version 0.6 (alpha) -- and Pyro32 0.5
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 14 [209 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 285
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 09:10    Post subject: Re: feedback pyro-0.6  

BarryK wrote:
foxpup wrote:
Another little thing:
Show Location does not do anything in pFind.


That one came up before, and I tested it and it worked.

you need to highlight the file first.
I knew that Wink . It gives a warning that nothing is selected. But it gave nothing to me.
I installed 0.6 and it works alright. Bizar?
The wifi persistence problem is still there in pyro-0.6, for me. Am I the only one?
Could the output in console, running rc.network, be of any help to solve it? There is an error "ifconfig: SIOCSIFFLAGS: Unknown error 132" which looks like a clue. When I google this error the solution is often something with rfkill.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:46    Post subject:  

foxpup wrote:
Another little thing:
Show Location does not do anything in pFind.

Works for me. Use pfind to find the 'defaultfilemanager' file.

_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:48    Post subject:  

Good . Version 0.6
Mypaint 1.3 now works properly with external apps Cool

However gimp hasn't been upgraded to
gimp-2.8.22

_________________________________________________
screenshot-mypaint.png
 Description   mypaint shows list of external apps
 Filesize   22.25 KB
 Viewed   410 Time(s)

screenshot-mypaint.png


Last edited by don570 on Wed 29 Nov 2017, 15:09; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:59    Post subject: Samba not working  

Installed on 32 gb USB stick using 4install-quirky-to-drive-mbr.gz script
- IBM Thinkcentre desktop

I wasn't able to set up a Samba server with Pyro64 0.6
I am using Simple Samba Management. It appears to go smoothly.
The other computer can see the share but doesn't connect,
apparently because there isn't a user defined??

However I defined root (password = woofwoof)

Another interesting thing I discovered...
When I tried to define another samba user
Code:

smbpasswd -a don570


It wouldn't accept this. Rolling Eyes
Code:

# smbpasswd -a don570
New SMB password:
Retype new SMB password:
Failed to add entry for user don570.


__________________________

Last edited by don570 on Wed 29 Nov 2017, 15:09; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1265
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 05:17    Post subject: Cups  

If you haven't already found it, cups seems to be in "task-core-lsb-command-add", together with localedef, fontconfig-utils, mailx, msmtp, chkconfig, xdg-utils, foomatic-filters, and ghostscript. Makes me wonder about them also?

That's if i'm not having you "suck eggs".

EDIT1: Ok I apologise, looks like I really need to re-read OE and get my knowledgebase updated on this one.
from BLFS:
The CUPS Filters package contains backends, filters and other software that was once part of the core CUPS distribution but is no longer maintained by Apple Inc.
BLFS uses cups-filters 1.17.2, is it worth trying that rather than going backward.
I wonder if OE is using pdf-printing still https://wiki.linuxfoundation.org/openprinting/pdf_as_standard_print_job_format.

Last edited by scsijon on Wed 29 Nov 2017, 12:50; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8349
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 08:26    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
Good . Version 0.6
Mypaint 1.3 now works properly with external apps Cool

However gimp hasn't been upgraded to
gimp-2.8.22

_________________________________________________


Yeah, I am using the gimp in OE.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8349
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 08:31    Post subject:  

I got printing working in Pyro64 0.6:

http://bkhome.org/news/201711/no-cups-support-in-gtk-in-openembedded.html

That was by manually compiling packages in Pyro64. Now the challenge is to apply the fixes in OE.

Not so good that I had to rollback cups-filters, fixing it, but I don't know why. But then, have had mysterious things like that before, with cups.

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 29 Nov 2017, 15:15    Post subject: pclock 0.7.2 installed  

I was able to get pclock to work in pyro64 v0.6
by installing pclock 0.7.2

Then changing one line to recognize the music player from pmusic to 'defaultmediaplayer' (or xinewrapper)



Code:
   pschedule -s -e "defaultmediaplayer '$ALARM'" "music Alarm" &


Code:
pschedule -s -e "xinewrapper '$ALARM'" "music Alarm" &


There is a splash screen which I can't get rid of but that's okay with me.

__________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5318
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 11:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
Note, I am now doing a complete x86 32-bit (i686) recompile in OE.

Yippee^2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Nov 2017, 18:04    Post subject:  

The open file window...

has 'floppy' and another item 'pts'

The icon is missing beside floppy.

My computer does have a floppy drive but I never use it.

Could it be a line in fstab file???
Stretch linux has same problem
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=975155#975155
______________________________________________
screenshot-open-file.png
 Description   
 Filesize   35.34 KB
 Viewed   324 Time(s)

screenshot-open-file.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Dec 2017, 12:07    Post subject:  

Here is quick solution to the cluttered open file window....

I commented out all the lines in fstab file and the puppy still booted fine

Code:
#none          /proc        proc     defaults               0 0
#none          /sys         sysfs    defaults               0 0
#none          /dev/pts     devpts   gid=2,mode=620         0 0
#/dev/fd0      /mnt/floppy  auto     noauto,rw              0 0

This cleaned up my file open window.

However there was a complaint while booting that 'pts' wasn't defined.
____________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Dec 2017, 12:16    Post subject:  

Blender 2.7.8 worked. Cool
That means that there is no problem with openGL 2.1

https://builder.blender.org/download/
_______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Dec 2017, 13:33    Post subject:  

gimp app can use gmic plug-in v1.7.9
-includes fftw3

Available:
4mb
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-TGcuKr3baMV11V8DuJ2uLbk6h_A6rgp
_____________________________________

Last edited by don570 on Sat 02 Dec 2017, 16:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4815
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 02 Dec 2017, 16:15    Post subject: mtpaint version 3.49.13  

A new version is available at git
mtpaint version 3.49.13

Quote:
@wjaguar wjaguar Version 3.49.13

Updated & fixed packaging for Windows
Fixed compilation for GTK+1
Added workaround for KDE's "dialogparent" effect
Other assorted fixes

______________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 1016
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 03 Dec 2017, 00:58    Post subject: Open File Places in a 32-bit Frugal
Subject description: Could not install a Full Pyro32 on this computer
 

G'day,

Quote:
Here is quick solution to the cluttered open file window....

I commented out all the lines in fstab file and the puppy still booted fine

Code:
#none /proc proc defaults 0 0
#none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
#none /dev/pts devpts gid=2,mode=620 0 0
#/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,rw 0 0


In my Frugal Pup of Pyro32, I can confirm that by clearing the contents of the fstab file in /etc, I have a cleaner 'Places' panel when wanting to 'Open file' in, say, gimp.

This default listing of unwanted 'Places' (to look for files to open as a user) seems to be a problem (well, a minor iritation) only in recent StretchPups as well as Pyro, but not Ubuntu-Pups such as Xenial and Artful, nor in Slacko.

Re Pyro32-0.5:
I could not get a Pyro32 Full install to boot and run (blinking cursor on black screen) after installing from this Frugal or a Live-DVD (both of which do run). With just under 2GB RAM, maybe that's not enough for a Full? I tried an 8GB ext4 partition which ended up with well under 2GB of installed files for the Full (last screenshot).
As the Frugal Pyro32 seems not to utilise sfs as in normal Pups, the Frugal Pyro is at a big disadvantage when all my packages/applications are in sfs formats.

Waiting with interest to try Pyro32-0.6.

David S.
wiped-fstab-contents.jpg
 Description   fstab in /etc has no text as work-around to unclutter 'Open file' 'Places'
 Filesize   49.89 KB
 Viewed   151 Time(s)

wiped-fstab-contents.jpg

Places-after-clearing-fstab.jpg
 Description   Places in an 'Open file' dialog after clearing fstab file
 Filesize   87.66 KB
 Viewed   150 Time(s)

Places-after-clearing-fstab.jpg

frugalpyro32-hardinfo.jpg
 Description   Hardinfo report via Pyro32 Frugal for this old desktop
 Filesize   86.05 KB
 Viewed   152 Time(s)

frugalpyro32-hardinfo.jpg

Pyro32Full-partition-use.jpg
 Description   Properties of sdb15 with non-running Full Pyro32
 Filesize   78.37 KB
 Viewed   150 Time(s)

Pyro32Full-partition-use.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 14 [209 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0797s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]