Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 18 Jul 2018, 03:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Quirky Pyro64 version 0.6 (alpha) -- and Pyro32 0.5
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 15 [213 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 11:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
Quirky Pyro64 0.6 is out:
.iso
Sadly, getting KP. Ironically on a well-endowed P4, not the usual AMD+nV/Radeon, etc.
Double checked with new d/l from nluug instead of ibiblio -
same KP. Conclusion:
There must be something wrong with the .iso?
Triple check:
it runs on an ancient ECS/AMD 754/onboard SiS chipset/video - amazing. Should've stuck with the old bangers rather than pander to the Wintel cr*p. Except that it won't see my wired NIC by default (neither SNS nor Fris) - had this issue before! Unable to get DCHP to switch on.
Seems there's a number of rogue HW combos out here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 488
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 13:45    Post subject: kernel panic - INSTALL_SPECS  

Sage wrote:
.iso
Sadly, getting KP.

I had it running in 2 ways now. First I did dd the iso to a usb and started that. Next I clicked on the install button on the desktop and had it installed frugally to a partition on my harddisk. I added it to my grub.cfg. It boots alright from the harddisk, I am in it now.
Sage, maybe you just did the install manually by copying the init, kernel and q.sfs from the iso. If you did that, you will see the init does not have a INSTALL_SPECS, which pyro needs to find its installation. This is what is in it for me:
Code:
INSTALL_DEV=sda9
INSTALL_FS=ext3
INSTALL_FOLDER=pyro64-0.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 14:38    Post subject:  

I don't install at all, main interest is liveCD for testing, diagnosis, demonstration, etc. as you'll see from my earliest missives. My results are kosher, as given. It has to run as a liveCD, anyway, before any install options and this one doesn't over a range of HW for which it is intended.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 488
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 15:09    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
and this one doesn't over a range of HW for which it is intended.
I only install quirky on nearly new machines. Is that what it is intended for, or not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8593
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 19:42    Post subject: Re: feedback pyro-0.5  

foxpup wrote:
Another little thing:
Show Location does not do anything in pFind.


That one came up before, and I tested it and it worked.

you need to highlight the file first.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8593
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 20:02    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
There must be something wrong with the .iso?
Triple check:
it runs on an ancient ECS/AMD 754/onboard SiS chipset/video - amazing. Should've stuck with the old bangers rather than pander to the Wintel cr*p. Except that it won't see my wired NIC by default (neither SNS nor Fris) - had this issue before! Unable to get DCHP to switch on.
Seems there's a number of rogue HW combos out here.


I booted the iso on my Acer Aspire 5742G, with Intel graphics, Intel i3 CPU, 4GB RAM, running it now, typing this post from it.

Booted, no issues, video resolution correct. Sound, wifi, working.

I bought that laptop in July 2011, so, not so new.

EDIT
saved the session, rebooted, wifi works. Typing from it right now.

Last edited by BarryK on Sun 26 Nov 2017, 20:11; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
upnorth


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 283
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 20:10    Post subject:  

Barry, the link in OP is broken:

http://bkhome.org/news/201711/quirky-pyro64-version-06-released.htm,
the l at the end is black.

Updated a 32 gb stick with full install using the 05-06 pet, took awhile but worked fine.

Using a frugall install to directory now on desktop with grub2, only problem was audio settings would not stick for a few boots, but is ok now.
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8593
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 20:13    Post subject:  

upnorth wrote:
Barry, the link in OP is broken:

http://bkhome.org/news/201711/quirky-pyro64-version-06-released.htm,
the l at the end is black.

Updated a 32 gb stick with full install using the 05-06 pet, took awhile but worked fine.

Using a frugall install to directory now on desktop with grub2, only problem was audio settings would not stick for a few boots, but is ok now.
Thanks.


Thanks, I will fix that link.

I never tested that Service Pack, good to know that it does work!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8593
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Nov 2017, 20:23    Post subject:  

What's next?

I need to do a 32-bit rebuild in OE and build Pyro32 0.6.

Right now though, doing an experimental musl build in OE. technosaurus expressed an interest in that.

Just running "bitbake core-image-sato-dev', which builds a pre-defined set of packages. Probably if/when I build with my set of packages, many won't compile. It will be interesting to see how far it gets though.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 27 Nov 2017, 05:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
iso on my Acer Aspire 5742G, with Intel graphics, Intel i3 CPU, 4GB RAM,
Booted, no issues, video resolution correct. Sound, wifi, working.
... laptop in July 2011,

GA78LMT-USB3/Radeon HD3000 April2014 - unable to display all icons inside screen area, none of ControlPanel adjustments effective for AOC LE19K097 any resolution, 60Hz (checked correct).
Quote:
I need to do a 32-bit rebuild in OE
probably mission critical for older kit/testing/diagnosis/etc. Too many kernel changes/options in the last couple of years pushing out old HW - an old story in this business! All about $$$, never mind the landfill. Instructive to examine polls of what most punters use their PCs for! Puppy-users probably atypical in that respect?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 488
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Mon 27 Nov 2017, 06:21    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
I need to do a 32-bit rebuild in OE
probably mission critical for older kit/testing/diagnosis/etc. Too many kernel changes/options in the last couple of years pushing out old HW - an old story in this business! All about $$$, never mind the landfill. Instructive to examine polls of what most punters use their PCs for! Puppy-users probably atypical in that respect?
Good point Sage. The latest 214 and legacyOS2017 releases are maybe a better option for the typical Puppy user who has a single >10y old machine.
On the other side, there are more and more Puppy users with newer machines, but these are mostly 64bit and if EFI, cannot boot 32bit easily from the harddisk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5389
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 27 Nov 2017, 07:01    Post subject:  

Correct. Personally, as a privileged owner of the lot, old&new, portable, pocket, mobiles & full towers, even museum pieces, it behoves the more fortunates to be mindful of others, the planet and, not least actual requirements! Alien concepts in some quarters.
Frankly, the RPi is underrated for performance low power drain and cheapness. That might be a better path to tread? I still run BK's original offering on a B+.
As for UEFI, we need more of those proverbial six-year olds with their rusty screwdrivers to build NewEgg's (CCLonline - UK) specify-your-own HW with full (de)structions including pictures, choosing m/b s that include the 'Legacy' option. Too busy won't wash.
At one time Puppy was the panacea for alcomers: wondering whether recent kernels have killed the golden goose?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 326

PostPosted: Mon 27 Nov 2017, 11:49    Post subject: a few comments
Subject description: CD/DVD load time
 

Good day:

I am on a fast 4GH system, 16gb of memory. Please let everyone know that load time of the CD iso can be very long, be patient. It might by my system but the average boot up with the CD is over five minutes to a desktop.

Booting after Installing to a 8gb stick, was very fast.

Running directly from the CD/ I do not believe plugging in a stick is detected. In order for me to install to the stick I had to manually mount the stick that contained the ISO. Copy the ISO to downloads folder.

Speaking of that. At first I plugged in a used - older version - 0.5 stick, clicked on Install icon, selected full to a stick... and it sat and looked at me. I presumed it dropped to the desktop. I have no idea what it was doing. Next I Gparted the stick. Encounter quite a bit of monkeying around till I found I needed the ISO directly from a download, not the bootable CD.

Installer will not use the CD to acquitted the files.... and does not give any error messages. Simply sits, or drops to desktop.

Barry, would you please restore to future versions Dongl's Network Wizard.

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8593
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 05:57    Post subject:  

Oh botheration, printing is broken in 0.6.

How did that go wrong?

Kernel upgrade? Have no idea.

Will test printing in older versions, find what works. Hopefully then I will have an idea where the blame lies.

Apart from it won't print, there is another problem:

Can choose a new printer OK, and the CUPS browser interface the printer is shown as available, but in the GTK print dialog it isn't listed!!!!

...this seems suspiciously like a kernel problem, especially as 0.6 has upgraded to the 4.14.1 kernel.


Also, the CUPS test-print, fails.

Have any of you guys tried printing, from an earlier version?

EDIT
tested Pyro64 0.5 and 0.4, printing fails.

I could have sworn that I testing printing in an earlier version and it was ok.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/

Last edited by BarryK on Tue 28 Nov 2017, 06:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1332
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 28 Nov 2017, 06:09    Post subject: pyro64-0.6 test  

wifi wlan0 seems to work for me (and my wireless is tempremental at the best of times).

did notice an acpid: error when it shot down the first time, but it was too fast to follow and it hasn't reappeared the three times i've started it since so I take it it needed to setup something the first time.

added pmusic to test out both d/l'ing and installing a pet, was ok, I still prefer pmusic for a downloaded track to xine as it seems to use less cpu to do the same thing, but xine is definately the way better for a cd or video music track.

Other than problem3 from my earlier message against 0.5 (and not worrying about it as as barry said need s gtk programmer to sort), I think i'm happy for now.

I shall test further later in the week to see what I can break Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 15 [213 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0669s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]