Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Nov 2017, 09:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-700 rc3
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 22 of 26 [377 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26 Next
Author Message
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4755
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 17 Aug 2017, 12:26    Post subject:  

Simple Samba Management is used by Barryk in Xerus.
It simplifies Samba a bit.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=896005#896005
http://barryk.org/news/?viewDetailed=00328
_____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
festus


Joined: 14 Jan 2015
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Thu 17 Aug 2017, 17:22    Post subject:  

A pkg that would be useful in case one hooked up an external monitor to a laptop is lxrandr.

I installed lxrandr-0.3.1-i486-1.pet from ppm. For some reason after the install, the entry didn't show up in the menu, so I reworked the pet's icon in the .desktop file and that did the trick, and works well.

Here it is, if one would want it:
lxrandr-0.3.1-i486-1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  lxrandr-0.3.1-i486-1.pet 
Filesize  18.28 KB 
Downloaded  25 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2548
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 19 Aug 2017, 10:11    Post subject:  

festus wrote:
A pkg that would be useful in case one hooked up an external monitor to a laptop is lxrandr.

I installed lxrandr-0.3.1-i486-1.pet from ppm. For some reason after the install, the entry didn't show up in the menu, so I reworked the pet's icon in the .desktop file and that did the trick, and works well.

Here it is, if one would want it:

Thanks, that's great.. Worked nicely, but the gui froze after i changed my settings, but i loaded it through the terminal and then used Ctrl-C to kill it.. so no biggie..


Does anyone have trouble making sudo work in the latest Slacko woof builds?

I have tried running a few apps as spot, but it never accepts the password for root, even if i change or delete roots password..

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 4755
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 19 Aug 2017, 11:45    Post subject:  

The latest Blender 3d graphics program will run in Slacko 700 rc3
https://builder.blender.org/download/blender-2.79-5492d2cb673-linux-glibc219-i686.tar.bz2
_________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3266
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 19 Aug 2017, 12:03    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:

I have tried running a few apps as spot, but it never accepts the password for root, even if i change or delete roots password..


Hi

To run applications as spot I edit the hidden .spot-status file in the
root directory and then run QuickSetup first-run settings in the setup menu.

.spot-status
firefox=true
seamonkey=true
mplayer=true
kodi=true
vlc=true

All entries =false before running QuickSetup first-run settings.

Maybe you're talking about something else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 20 Aug 2017, 02:39    Post subject: how is it build ??
Subject description: Playing Puppy, but unable to repair Linux
 

my Slacko is only 6.9.6.4..
Release candidate, so perhaps i should wait for a Final release.. how is it build ?? i don't know, my purpose is to feed back what works;
Just a glance at the menu :
puppy phone, Peasydiff, xvkbd (feed back soon)
Medion Akoya is 64 bits, but since 2012 i have been using it with Puppy Linux 32 bits.. What difference will that do with Slacko 64..
(unfortunately i know the answer)

xvkbd-3.7-x86_64_s700|xvkbd|3.7-x86_64_s700||Desktop|304||xvkbd-3.7-x86_64_s700.pet||a virtual keyboard for the desktop
Size on screen is huge..
Recordings :
pAVrecord sure does the job, but SSR is much easier..Xvidcap will always work everywhere, even with 64 bits, won'it ?
Razz good news by mikeslr Xvidcap available 64 bits Click the blue, as usual,

Gnome-mplayer to test later with a DVD.

Blender ? who practiced Corel-Draw know what that means,

Smile it's a nice Slacko, just improve desktop. IMO 64bits has not advantage for Puppy Linux, Games provided will not explode your computer, as they don't exist , and passengers are more seniors than juniors. They will play only games that remember 'happy days', when they were teenagers.

some only play to un-build and rebuild their own Puppies, no need to go fast.But most of us use Puppy Linux to practice hobbies or surf the web.
64 bit could be an advantage for downloading large movies, i think...

Evil or Very Mad some Linux feed back : kernel 4.1.32 does not freeze.. this is worth to be underlined
portuguais.jpg
 Description   Repaired, size now is suitable to my screen
 Filesize   35.37 KB
 Viewed   340 Time(s)

portuguais.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Mon 21 Aug 2017, 00:31; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sun 20 Aug 2017, 05:19    Post subject: Wireless indoor : success SFRWiFIFON , hotspots Wifi  

what about moving with my laptop ? first tries.. Wait and see.
Wireless indoor : success SFRWiFIFON , hotspots Wifi
Wireless Indoor with wpa secured : Works using Frisbee

I Just bought a battery; to take advantage of my laptop
Wireless Oudoor (with dongle) : no need to load Rcrsn51 pets, my access point appears, but fails to connect
Test going on..
Shocked i you buy an electric car, and then you must stay connected to the wall socket, that will not be very fun..
freebox.png
 Description   Fails with SNS
 Filesize   53 KB
 Viewed   345 Time(s)

freebox.png


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Mon 21 Aug 2017, 00:19; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
norgo


Joined: 13 Nov 2015
Posts: 161
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 20 Aug 2017, 05:57    Post subject: Re: how is it build ??
Subject description: Playing Puppy, but unable to repair Linux
 

Pelo wrote:
my Slacko is only 6.9.6.4..
@Pelo
please use a current version for testing.
Test of an outdated version is not helpful.

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 21 Aug 2017, 00:39    Post subject: slacko64-6.9.9.9-uefi-k4.4-FF-LO.iso
Subject description: 367MB
 

norgo i was ready to update to the last version 64 bits, when i saw that none is without Libre Office... This is for people having typist work to do..
The 32 bits versions are provided with Abiword and Gnumeric..
64bits is for fun, games, videos and so on.. Not for typing end of month letters with two fingers Evil or Very Mad

Of course i Have Libre-Office at Home.. Somewhere.. Smile
At least one version without would be a good idea.. L.O is bigger than the Puppy. At home, only writer is useful. Really do you intend to use Puppy to do slides at work, your boss will tell you to use his software. Unless you are the boss.
LibreOffice Base : création de bases de données
LibreOffice Calc : tableur
LibreOffice Draw (aussi disponible sous Applications → Graphisme) : application de dessin
LibreOffice Impress : logiciel de présentation
LibreOffice Math : création de formules mathématiques
LibreOffice Writer : traitement de texte

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 244
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Mon 21 Aug 2017, 04:15    Post subject: Re: slacko64-6.9.9.9-uefi-k4.4-FF-LO.iso
Subject description: 367MB
 

Pelo wrote:
At least one version without [Libreoffice] would be a good idea..
I agree, Pelo.

I have the same idea about the browser, although the firefox included is great.
I'd put in a (very) small one, e.g. Dillo, and leave it to the user to make his choice for the main browser.
The user may choose a portable one then (with the tools of Shinobar e.g.) to use with other puppies/linuxes installed on the same computer.

And to go one step further: LibreOffice can be installed by the user as a portable as well.
Just unpack the downloaded package. You still have to copy the .destop files and change the path in the exec line, but that takes just a few minutes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
issac99289928

Joined: 19 Jan 2016
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 21 Aug 2017, 05:01    Post subject:  

I am using Slacko64 6.9.9.9 (64 bit) with firefox .Firefox cannot keep zoom level per website . need help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 21 Aug 2017, 05:24    Post subject: Firefox will be enough for 64bits, Dillo is a ...Wooden leg  

about the browser i have a different opinion that for LIBRE OFFICE.
Browser is used everyday by everybody. and is not so big as Libre Office.
Firefox included as default is a better idea than Dillo, that you will have to replace the day you install puppy. It is lost money.
Firefox will satisfy ninety per cent of new comers, because Firefox is known everywhere.
Dillo is for geeks, speaking English, and only using there laptop for rebuild there own puppies, for their brainstorming not for public release. If Dillo is enough, they will install it and remove Firefox, usually there are experts in computing. It would be easy. Why to install Dillo if you need 64 bits, that seems strange. Dillo won't play games or videos.

French devs took the habit not to include a browser (or include links or Dillo). An OS without a popular browser will be trashed by most newbies, Difficulty can be a challenge for someone, but ready and easy to use is the rule for Public Puppy Linux.

_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Mon 21 Aug 2017, 05:42; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Mon 21 Aug 2017, 05:30    Post subject: Perhaps firefox forum has an answer  

issac99289928, sure Slacko is not guilty in that fact.. Perhaps firefox forum has an answer
_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 244
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Mon 21 Aug 2017, 06:05    Post subject:  

Hello Pelo
You're right about Dillo, it won't play games or videos, but I don't mind. Smile
And it is true, first thing you will have to do is install a big browser like firefox or chrome. And most people don't like that, don't even like to have to choose their browser. And LBNL: firefox is not so big. So, I agree about firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
foxpup


Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Posts: 244
Location: europa near northsea

PostPosted: Mon 21 Aug 2017, 06:06    Post subject: zoom in FF  

Hello issac99289928
I noticed the bad zooming in firefox too. There is an item "zoom" under View in the Menu. Maybe it helps, I haven't tried it. I always do <cntrl><+>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 22 of 26 [377 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1417s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]