Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 18 Nov 2018, 08:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EasyOS Pyro 0.9.8, November 14, 2018
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 67 of 72 [1068 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72 Next
Author Message
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1570
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2018, 13:12    Post subject:  

BarryK:

I put together with help from the web, a mouse and keyboard reset and made a menu entry under Utility called Reset Mouse and Keyboard. If you F12 and arrow down to choose, it should reset the mouse without rebooting. Feel free to adopt as needed....

#!/bin/bash
Xdialog -center -title "Mouse Reset" --no-buttons -infobox "USB mouse resetting now..." 0 0 3000
mousie=`lsusb|grep -i "mouse"`
bus1=$(echo $mousie | awk 'BEGIN {FS=" " }{print $2}')
device1=$(echo $mousie | awk 'BEGIN {FS=" " }{print $4}')
device2=$(echo $device1 | awk 'BEGIN {FS=":" }{print $1}')
usbreset /dev/bus/usb/$bus1/$device2 &&
Xdialog -center -title "Keyboard Reset" --no-buttons -infobox "Keyboard resetting now..." 0 0 3000
keyboard1=`lsusb|grep -i "keyboard"`
bus2=$(echo $keyboard1 | awk 'BEGIN {FS=" " }{print $2}')
device1b=$(echo $keyboard1 | awk 'BEGIN {FS=" " }{print $4}')
device2b=$(echo $device1b | awk 'BEGIN {FS=":" }{print $1}')
usbreset /dev/bus/usb/$bus2/$device2b &&
Xdialog -center -title "USB Resets Completed" --no-buttons -infobox "USB resets completed..." 0 0 2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5422
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2018, 14:02    Post subject:  

Quote:
USB mouse can repeatedly trigger interrupts
- it must do this because it's an 'hot-pluggable (unpluggable) device", although some of the early v1.1 were not entirely reliably h-p. USB is sometimes claimed to be just a direct development of the PS/2 plug with hot-pluggability. Like all things in this field, early adopters will always encounter early flaws and oversights in the technology! Some keyboards were claimed to be USB or PS/2, some were supplied with an 'adapter' - most of the early 'adapters' didn't work, although some of the dual-purpose k/b s did actually work.
As for Easy32, bit of another catch-22. Loads of 'old' 32bit kit, BIOS-only, were not able to boot to an USB fob or SD card. Various SW utilities were offered to achieve this but for non-SW literaties like YT these weren't always easy to operate, esp. as some require a FDD as well and these are/were a disappearing feature. ipso facto, - thanks for the 32bit offering, very grateful, but generally speaking an .iso might be more reliable on anything over 5yrs old? Seem to remember an .iso writer from a running Puppy system? Never used it as it seem a bit beyond my ability, although that contention may need testing!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1364
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2018, 18:48    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Need an i686 CPU and has 4GB RAM limit -- the PC can have more, but the extra won't be recognized.


quick thought

?4gig limit is 32bit, but maybe .....

extra ram => ramdisk

ramdisk => ram swapfile

ram swapfile could be set to be used before the hard drive swapfile, or disable use of hard drive swapfile if exists

can't remember what the program or lib was barry, but it was about the era of the mageia puppy's

regards

scsijon

damn class in ten minutes (teaching), got to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2018, 19:39    Post subject:  

For the 32-bit Easy 0.9.6, the desktop "sfsget" icon doesn't work.

You need to gunzip the attached and copy it to /root/.packages

It has a variable that specifies where the sfs files are on ibiblio.org.
DISTRO_PET_REPOS.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  DISTRO_PET_REPOS.gz 
Filesize  581 Bytes 
Downloaded  74 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5175
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2018, 19:48    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Replugged the mouse, it is working again. Interesting, anyone else ever had that problem?


I was having a strange freeze of my mouse in Fatdog64 linux 710.
I thought it was serious, but after a lot of effort I discovered that fatdog has
set the function keys (by default) so that 'Xscreenshot' is launched if the print key is pressed.
http://www.lightofdawn.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/Xscreenshot

So I was accidentally pressing the print key and a cursor was appearing that I couldn't move.
My keyboard worked though. I should have pressed the ENTER key to take the screenshot.
____________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2636

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2018, 20:07    Post subject:  

don570 wrote:
I was having a strange freeze of my mouse in Fatdog64 linux 710.
I thought it was serious, but after a lot of effort I discovered that fatdog has
set the function keys (by default) so that 'Xscreenshot' is launched if the print key is pressed.
http://www.lightofdawn.org/wiki/wiki.cgi/Xscreenshot

So I was accidentally pressing the print key and a cursor was appearing that I couldn't move.
My keyboard worked though. I should have pressed the ENTER key to take the screenshot.
____________________________________________

For me (FD 721), when you press Print Screen the select cursor remains until you press Print Screen again. you can mouse click/drag regions and each time you release the mouse it creates a new image in your home folder of that region.

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 5175
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2018, 20:12    Post subject:  

Yes that's how it done in 710 . Embarassed
_______________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1570
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Wed 22 Aug 2018, 20:20    Post subject:  

BarryK:

Thank you. I note there are only 2 sfs files so far, though important ones.

Best,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tigs

Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2018, 01:04    Post subject:  

Trying the 0.9.6. It works perfectly fine booting from USB. But unable to boot to x from HDD. lots of kernel loading error. reverted back to 0.9.2 to check if the drive or partition was corrupted, the 0.9.2 booted just fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tigs

Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Sat 15 Sep 2018, 18:01    Post subject:  

what happened to the forum?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2018, 05:02    Post subject:  

tigs wrote:
what happened to the forum?


Do you mean lack of recent posts to this thread?

I have been working on other things.

There are various issues reported, intend to get onto them soon. Also; planning a Bionic Beaver easyOS release soon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2018, 05:45    Post subject:  

Can't find the post, think it was quite a way back in this thread, a report that booting with "qfix=bak" (or just choose from boot menu), it rolls back to a pristine first-bootup, not to last saved session. I think it was rufwoof who reported that.

Fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2636

PostPosted: Sun 16 Sep 2018, 05:53    Post subject:  

Quote:
a report that booting with "qfix=bak" (or just choose from boot menu), it rolls back to a pristine first-bootup, not to last saved session. I think it was rufwoof who reported that

Tip : A good way to search the forum is to use google and append
Code:
site:murga-linux.com

to your search criteria. For instance when I did a google search of
Code:
rufwoof qfix=bak site:murga-linux.com

that came back with a link to this threads page 57 link that contains
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=994363#994363
Smile

_________________
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) :wq
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3605
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 02:00    Post subject: EasyOS Pyro 0.9.6 (August 22), Beaver 0.9.2 (May 15), 2018  

I installed to a 64gb flash drive:

System: Host: EASYPC28367 Kernel: 4.18.8 x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: JWM git-1685 Distro: Quirky 0.9.3 beaver64
Machine: Device: desktop System: HP product: 260-p029 serial: CNV6240BWP
Mobo: HP model: 81B4 v: 01 serial: PFPSK0BWJ301LW UEFI [Legacy]: AMI v: F.04 date: 05/10/2016
CPU: Dual core Intel Core i3-6100T (-MT-MCP-) speed/max: 823/3101 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel HD Graphics 530
Display Server: X.Org 1.19.6 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1600x900@60.00hz
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 530 (Skylake GT2) version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
Card-2: Realtek RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter driver: rtl8723be
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1064.7GB (0.9% used)
Weather: Conditions: 68 F (20 C) Time: September 19, 1:52 AM EDT
Info: Processes: 128 Uptime: 55 min Memory: 325.5/3873.7MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

Installed some applications with petget, haven't explored much yet.

Thanks for the new version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8710
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 19 Sep 2018, 05:52    Post subject:  

Yes, EasyOS "Easy Beaver" 0.9.3 is out, built from Ubuntu Bionic Beaver 18.04.1 LTS DEBs. Blog announcement:

http://bkhome.org/news/201809/easy-beaver-093-released.html

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 67 of 72 [1068 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2370s ][ Queries: 12 (0.1083s) ][ GZIP on ]