Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Aug 2017, 09:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Easy Linux 0.3 alpha, released May 29 2017
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 9 [128 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 3414
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

PostPosted: Fri 24 Mar 2017, 13:10    Post subject: Re: kernel config
Subject description: KMS EDID
 

BarryK wrote:
L18L wrote:
Formerly my computer was running with video driver modesetting only.

drm can be enabled now but kernel needs to be configured for EDID.

Kernel configuration contains:
Code:
#
# Direct Rendering Manager
#
CONFIG_DRM=m
CONFIG_DRM_MIPI_DSI=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
# CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE is not set
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=m


Please set CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE (m or y?)

More about my findings here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=944217#944217

Thank you


Yesterday I compiled the 4.10.4 kernel, with the express purpose of enabling that option. However, from the description, is seems that it doesn't really do anything, only provides a fallback if special firmware is provided, and a kernel boot commandline option provided.

Also, it seems to only be required if the monitor is "broken" and the kernel is unable to read its edid.

Have I understood this correctly?


As far as I know there is no special firmware
- see image
-
Code:
# lsmod |  grep drm
drm_kms_helper         92485  1 gma500_gfx
syscopyarea             3262  1 drm_kms_helper
sysfillrect             3690  1 drm_kms_helper
sysimgblt               2239  1 drm_kms_helper
fb_sys_fops             1442  1 drm_kms_helper
drm                   257144  4 drm_kms_helper,gma500_gfx


CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE enables use of kernel command line option e.g.
Code:
  drm_kms_helper.edid_firmware=edid/1920x1080.bin

1920x1080 is one of the (very few Crying or Very sad ) built-in EDIDs.
See Forcing modes and EDID at
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/kernel_mode_setting (again?)

The web is full of bad notes about my Intel poulsbo graphics.
But I am happy having found a practical solution for me this is adding the boot option drm_kms_helper.edid_firmware=edid/1920x1080.bin.

Disadvantage is that the resolution cannot be changed after booted.
Using the pre-defined built-in EDIDs in the boot menu could be a fallback choice as last resort in case of unsolved "black screen" problem.

What I do like: this is no special Intel or poulsbo solution......

Thanks for taking the time
drm.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14.71 KB
 Viewed   1387 Time(s)

drm.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 4279
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 24 Mar 2017, 15:25    Post subject:  

Posting from "Easy Linux 0.2->seamonkey".
Followed the instructions offered.
Quite routine.
"Just works" at first attempt. Very Happy

Not yet customized.
Desktop appearance nicer than usual BK offerings.
default menus rather basic in appearance.
All seems very efficient and fast.

Running on:
Desktop PC.
Mobo = Asrock H61M-S
8GB RAM
CPU = Pentium 1600MHz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2004

PostPosted: Fri 24 Mar 2017, 20:27    Post subject:  

Downloaded, dd'd, booted ... failed (likely because a pre-used USB). Booted my normal desktop and used gparted to erase all partitions (during that process it highlighted that a GPT error existed and it prompted to fix that - which I accepted). Re dd'd the image ... and booted ... Pressed F12 (BIOS), selected the Toshiba Transmemory USB stick (16GB) and started fine - reasonably quickly (taking around a minute or so - didn't really time it as I went off to put the kettle on).

Code:
root@debian:/# lscpu
Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                4
On-line CPU(s) list:   0-3
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    4
Socket(s):             1
NUMA node(s):          1
Vendor ID:             AuthenticAMD
CPU family:            16
Model:                 2
Model name:            AMD Phenom(tm) 9150e Quad-Core Processor
Stepping:              3
CPU MHz:               900.000
CPU max MHz:           1800.0000
CPU min MHz:           900.0000
BogoMIPS:              3598.79
Virtualization:        AMD-V
L1d cache:             64K
L1i cache:             64K
L2 cache:              512K
L3 cache:              2048K
NUMA node0 CPU(s):     0-3
Flags:                 fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid eagerfpu pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs hw_pstate vmmcall npt lbrv svm_lock
root@debian:/#



(clickable thumbnail)

Grabbed a full screen snapshot, opened browser and posting this (far as I've got so far). A little (acceptably so) slow to load the browser, usb light flashing (past experience of that usb stick is it is slow anyway).

Was pleasantly surprised, as my hardware normally requires a kernel nomodeset cheat code being required otherwise tends to black screen on first time bootup's of new puppy versions (nvidia card and 32 inch TV as monitor).

Wow! Impressed. Need to re-run through the 'easy' guide again as it was a bit glazing (technical detail), but a nicely leveled amount of detail. BTW the "About root, spot and fido" link near the bottom is dead.

EDIT/UPDATE. After having set recompress using gzip instead of xz ... after a reboot the browser loaded a lot quicker (as indicated in the guide/article).

galculator fails to launch

# galculator
galculator: error while loading shared libraries: libquadmath.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2004

PostPosted: Sat 25 Mar 2017, 00:31    Post subject:  

Pre-alpha !!! Understatement of the year. More like a release candidate Smile It's running really well.

I installed mpv along with its dependencies and that's working fine. Changed that to be the default media player instead of vlc.

(Tip : in your home folder create a .mpv folder and in that .mpv folder create a input.conf file and add
Code:
# flip (mirror)
f vf add mirror
ctrl+f vf del mirror

to that file. Then during a movie that is mirrored you can press f to flip the display (ctrl-f to delete that filter). Also once you change default media player to mpv from vlc (menu, setup, default application chooser), then right click the play desktop icon, select edit item and add
Code:
--profile=pseudo-gui --
as the additional arguments).

Made a few snapshots and they're working great as well.

Wouldn't adjust the resolution for me via the main system. Manually editing xorg.conf worked ok for me however (I increased it from 1024x768 to 1280x768).

Question : How do you make backup's and potentially restore copies of the USB (is it ok to just dd image copy the entire thing and if so would it adjust if you copied it to a larger sized USB to account for the extra space) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2004

PostPosted: Sat 25 Mar 2017, 10:20    Post subject:  

I've downloaded the devx, but I can't get it to load

Filesystem, easy container management, sh0 contains
Code:
#Information for setting up and running the container
#the "sh[0-9]" names are special, does not run an app, just opens a terminal in the container.

#Connect to Xorg by abstract socket or pipe. Former not work if Xorg started with '-nolisten local'. Piped socket will still work if '-nolisten tcp'
EC_XORG_SOCKET='abstract'

#For security, unshare these namespaces:
EC_NS_UNSHARE_MOUNT='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_UTS='true'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_IPC='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_NETWORK='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_PID='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_USER='true'

#a good use for the "sh[0-9]" container is to compile source packages.
#for that download the appropriate "devx.sfs" file to match the current version of Easy.
#for example, put it into repository/easy-0.1.6
#then create an entry here, like this, with correct name of the devx sfs file:
#EC_LAYER_RO1='devx.sfs'

#Clear environment variables, except some such as TERM and DISPLAY:
EC_UNSHARE_ENV_VARS='false'
EC_LAYER_RO1=devx-0.2-xerus64.sfs

However after a reboot, the likes of cc command aren't available.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1230
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 25 Mar 2017, 18:50    Post subject:  

same here rutwolf (bottom of last page), I even tried putting it in different spots in case it had to be somewhere specific. Only spot I didn't put it was the first partition as Easy won't allow resizing of that partition to put it there.
We will have to await barry's response as i'm sure it's something simple.

EDIT1 Quick and late idea, wonder if we need to rename it as devx.sfs rather than the other way, or change the EC_LAYER_RO? to a higher number in case that one is already in use? It is ~pre-alpha?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 2004

PostPosted: Sat 25 Mar 2017, 21:09    Post subject:  

Rox doesn't seem to support disabling the pinboard either. Or if you remove all desktop icons (I like a clean desktop, with the programs I use more often in the tray) ... and then restartX - the desktop icons all reappear again Sad

I've temporary set a startup script to copy in a empty PuppyPin, but that's a crude workaround as if you hotplug in another USB its icon overlaps the others.
capture31889.png
 Description   
 Filesize   12.1 KB
 Viewed   1144 Time(s)

capture31889.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8194
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Mar 2017, 17:34    Post subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
I've downloaded the devx, but I can't get it to load

Filesystem, easy container management, sh0 contains
Code:
#Information for setting up and running the container
#the "sh[0-9]" names are special, does not run an app, just opens a terminal in the container.

#Connect to Xorg by abstract socket or pipe. Former not work if Xorg started with '-nolisten local'. Piped socket will still work if '-nolisten tcp'
EC_XORG_SOCKET='abstract'

#For security, unshare these namespaces:
EC_NS_UNSHARE_MOUNT='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_UTS='true'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_IPC='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_NETWORK='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_PID='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_USER='true'

#a good use for the "sh[0-9]" container is to compile source packages.
#for that download the appropriate "devx.sfs" file to match the current version of Easy.
#for example, put it into repository/easy-0.1.6
#then create an entry here, like this, with correct name of the devx sfs file:
#EC_LAYER_RO1='devx.sfs'

#Clear environment variables, except some such as TERM and DISPLAY:
EC_UNSHARE_ENV_VARS='false'
EC_LAYER_RO1=devx-0.2-xerus64.sfs

However after a reboot, the likes of cc command aren't available.


Because the sfs files can be shared by all containers, the devx*.sfs has to be in /mnt/wkg/repository/easy-0.2

You can see this by looking at script /usr/local/easy_containers/start-container.

...at least, that is how it is supposed to work!

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1230
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 27 Mar 2017, 06:55    Post subject:  

That's what i thought to start with Barry, before I tried others. But on reboot it's not loading the devx.sfs (under any of it's names, including altering the sh0 container to devx). The only way I could get it there and available was to open the devx in one window, a second window stepped up to / and copy the contents from the devx to the /, close the devx, check it's there and finally it stays there then through a reboot. Which means i'm installing it like a pet rather than loading it like a sfs.

by the way, I found another missing link, but i'm not near those boxes at present so I can't write it in now, will update this when i'm in my workshop next (most likely tomorrow evening).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 131
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 27 Mar 2017, 15:25    Post subject:  

The devx*.sfs goes in the /mnt/wkg/repository/easy-0.2
Then its available by using menu-utility-urvxt in container sh0
which runs "ec-chroot sh0".
I dont know if you can install it not in a container.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8194
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 28 Mar 2017, 05:19    Post subject: Re: kernel config
Subject description: KMS EDID
 

L18L wrote:
Formerly my computer was running with video driver modesetting only.

drm can be enabled now but kernel needs to be configured for EDID.

Kernel configuration contains:
Code:
#
# Direct Rendering Manager
#
CONFIG_DRM=m
CONFIG_DRM_MIPI_DSI=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
# CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE is not set
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=m


Please set CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE (m or y?)

More about my findings here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=944217#944217

Thank you


OK, I have compiled kernel 4.10.6, with CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE set to "y".
This will be used, most likely, in the next Easy (and Quirky).

_________________
http://barryk.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
2n3638

Joined: 27 Dec 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue 28 Mar 2017, 19:04    Post subject:  

Tried a second older 32bit CPU with Pentium D, 3G Ram. Also tested two usb DACs a C-media and a Music Streamer II. Both set up without problems using Alsa tool. Very nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jd7654

Joined: 06 Apr 2015
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Tue 28 Mar 2017, 20:01    Post subject:  

2n3638 wrote:
Tried a second older 32bit CPU with Pentium D . . .


Pentium D is 64-bit, like Easy is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
2n3638

Joined: 27 Dec 2016
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 29 Mar 2017, 08:17    Post subject:  

Must be an implementation issue in this machine as it will only run older Puppy versions and Windows 7 32 bit. Anyway it runs Easy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
doggone

Joined: 09 Jul 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 30 Mar 2017, 19:36    Post subject: Easy Linux 0.2 pre-alpha  

First time poster, so be kind. I'm a looker, not a poster. Also, poor typer and old, almost 78.
Been playing with EasyLinux_0.2 since it was released. Every thing works as expected except 2 things for me. These haven't been mentioned by anyone yet so I'll give it a try.
1st CUPS is broken. The browser can not find localhost:631.
2nd Remaster Easy Linux. The dialog boxes are easy to follow and ever thing worked fine except the final q.sfs has 3 directories re-root, re-ect, and re-var incorrectly named. I tried to rename these with EDIT-SFS.pet but the resulting q.sfs was to large to fit in the image file. The origional modified q.sfs was 468M. The file edited with EDIT-SFS.pet ended up 579M, to large to fit in the image (said it run out of space). I then tried it manually with unsquashfs and mksquashfs with the -comp xz option. The result was size of 486M and this was larger than the origional but still fit into the image file. From here I was able to copy the image to a jump drive and the new remaster easylinux booted, configured the jump drive and worked just fine.

That's all I have. Waiting for Easy Linux that I can install to a HD partition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 9 [128 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0739s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0091s) ][ GZIP on ]