EasyOS version 2.3.2, June 22, 2020

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
L18L
Posts: 3479
Joined: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 18:56
Location: www.eussenheim.de/

Re: kernel config

#31 Post by L18L »

BarryK wrote:
L18L wrote:Formerly my computer was running with video driver modesetting only.

drm can be enabled now but kernel needs to be configured for EDID.

Kernel configuration contains:

Code: Select all

#
# Direct Rendering Manager
#
CONFIG_DRM=m
CONFIG_DRM_MIPI_DSI=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
# CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE is not set
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=m
Please set CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE (m or y?)

More about my findings here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 217#944217

Thank you
Yesterday I compiled the 4.10.4 kernel, with the express purpose of enabling that option. However, from the description, is seems that it doesn't really do anything, only provides a fallback if special firmware is provided, and a kernel boot commandline option provided.

Also, it seems to only be required if the monitor is "broken" and the kernel is unable to read its edid.

Have I understood this correctly?
As far as I know there is no special firmware
- see image
-

Code: Select all

# lsmod |  grep drm
drm_kms_helper         92485  1 gma500_gfx
syscopyarea             3262  1 drm_kms_helper
sysfillrect             3690  1 drm_kms_helper
sysimgblt               2239  1 drm_kms_helper
fb_sys_fops             1442  1 drm_kms_helper
drm                   257144  4 drm_kms_helper,gma500_gfx
CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE enables use of kernel command line option e.g.

Code: Select all

  drm_kms_helper.edid_firmware=edid/1920x1080.bin
1920x1080 is one of the (very few :cry: ) built-in EDIDs.
See Forcing modes and EDID at
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ke ... de_setting (again?)

The web is full of bad notes about my Intel poulsbo graphics.
But I am happy having found a practical solution for me this is adding the boot option drm_kms_helper.edid_firmware=edid/1920x1080.bin.

Disadvantage is that the resolution cannot be changed after booted.
Using the pre-defined built-in EDIDs in the boot menu could be a fallback choice as last resort in case of unsolved "black screen" problem.

What I do like: this is no special Intel or poulsbo solution......

Thanks for taking the time
Attachments
drm.png
(14.71 KiB) Downloaded 2697 times

Sylvander
Posts: 4416
Joined: Mon 15 Dec 2008, 11:06
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

#32 Post by Sylvander »

Posting from "Easy Linux 0.2->seamonkey".
Followed the instructions offered.
Quite routine.
"Just works" at first attempt. :D

Not yet customized.
Desktop appearance nicer than usual BK offerings.
default menus rather basic in appearance.
All seems very efficient and fast.

Running on:
Desktop PC.
Mobo = Asrock H61M-S
8GB RAM
CPU = Pentium 1600MHz

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#33 Post by rufwoof »

Downloaded, dd'd, booted ... failed (likely because a pre-used USB). Booted my normal desktop and used gparted to erase all partitions (during that process it highlighted that a GPT error existed and it prompted to fix that - which I accepted). Re dd'd the image ... and booted ... Pressed F12 (BIOS), selected the Toshiba Transmemory USB stick (16GB) and started fine - reasonably quickly (taking around a minute or so - didn't really time it as I went off to put the kettle on).

Code: Select all

root@debian:/# lscpu
Architecture:          x86_64
CPU op-mode(s):        32-bit, 64-bit
Byte Order:            Little Endian
CPU(s):                4
On-line CPU(s) list:   0-3
Thread(s) per core:    1
Core(s) per socket:    4
Socket(s):             1
NUMA node(s):          1
Vendor ID:             AuthenticAMD
CPU family:            16
Model:                 2
Model name:            AMD Phenom(tm) 9150e Quad-Core Processor
Stepping:              3
CPU MHz:               900.000
CPU max MHz:           1800.0000
CPU min MHz:           900.0000
BogoMIPS:              3598.79
Virtualization:        AMD-V
L1d cache:             64K
L1i cache:             64K
L2 cache:              512K
L3 cache:              2048K
NUMA node0 CPU(s):     0-3
Flags:                 fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid eagerfpu pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs hw_pstate vmmcall npt lbrv svm_lock
root@debian:/# 
Image
(clickable thumbnail)

Grabbed a full screen snapshot, opened browser and posting this (far as I've got so far). A little (acceptably so) slow to load the browser, usb light flashing (past experience of that usb stick is it is slow anyway).

Was pleasantly surprised, as my hardware normally requires a kernel nomodeset cheat code being required otherwise tends to black screen on first time bootup's of new puppy versions (nvidia card and 32 inch TV as monitor).

Wow! Impressed. Need to re-run through the 'easy' guide again as it was a bit glazing (technical detail), but a nicely leveled amount of detail. BTW the "About root, spot and fido" link near the bottom is dead.

EDIT/UPDATE. After having set recompress using gzip instead of xz ... after a reboot the browser loaded a lot quicker (as indicated in the guide/article).

galculator fails to launch

# galculator
galculator: error while loading shared libraries: libquadmath.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#34 Post by rufwoof »

Pre-alpha !!! Understatement of the year. More like a release candidate :) It's running really well.

I installed mpv along with its dependencies and that's working fine. Changed that to be the default media player instead of vlc.

(Tip : in your home folder create a .mpv folder and in that .mpv folder create a input.conf file and add

Code: Select all

# flip (mirror)
f vf add mirror
ctrl+f vf del mirror
to that file. Then during a movie that is mirrored you can press f to flip the display (ctrl-f to delete that filter). Also once you change default media player to mpv from vlc (menu, setup, default application chooser), then right click the play desktop icon, select edit item and add

Code: Select all

--profile=pseudo-gui --
as the additional arguments).

Made a few snapshots and they're working great as well.

Wouldn't adjust the resolution for me via the main system. Manually editing xorg.conf worked ok for me however (I increased it from 1024x768 to 1280x768).

Question : How do you make backup's and potentially restore copies of the USB (is it ok to just dd image copy the entire thing and if so would it adjust if you copied it to a larger sized USB to account for the extra space) ?

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#35 Post by rufwoof »

I've downloaded the devx, but I can't get it to load

Filesystem, easy container management, sh0 contains

Code: Select all

#Information for setting up and running the container
#the "sh[0-9]" names are special, does not run an app, just opens a terminal in the container.

#Connect to Xorg by abstract socket or pipe. Former not work if Xorg started with '-nolisten local'. Piped socket will still work if '-nolisten tcp'
EC_XORG_SOCKET='abstract'

#For security, unshare these namespaces:
EC_NS_UNSHARE_MOUNT='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_UTS='true'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_IPC='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_NETWORK='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_PID='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_USER='true'

#a good use for the "sh[0-9]" container is to compile source packages.
#for that download the appropriate "devx.sfs" file to match the current version of Easy.
#for example, put it into repository/easy-0.1.6
#then create an entry here, like this, with correct name of the devx sfs file:
#EC_LAYER_RO1='devx.sfs'

#Clear environment variables, except some such as TERM and DISPLAY:
EC_UNSHARE_ENV_VARS='false'
EC_LAYER_RO1=devx-0.2-xerus64.sfs
However after a reboot, the likes of cc command aren't available.

scsijon
Posts: 1596
Joined: Thu 24 May 2007, 03:59
Location: the australian mallee
Contact:

#36 Post by scsijon »

same here rutwolf (bottom of last page), I even tried putting it in different spots in case it had to be somewhere specific. Only spot I didn't put it was the first partition as Easy won't allow resizing of that partition to put it there.
We will have to await barry's response as i'm sure it's something simple.

EDIT1 Quick and late idea, wonder if we need to rename it as devx.sfs rather than the other way, or change the EC_LAYER_RO? to a higher number in case that one is already in use? It is ~pre-alpha?

User avatar
rufwoof
Posts: 3690
Joined: Mon 24 Feb 2014, 17:47

#37 Post by rufwoof »

Rox doesn't seem to support disabling the pinboard either. Or if you remove all desktop icons (I like a clean desktop, with the programs I use more often in the tray) ... and then restartX - the desktop icons all reappear again :(

I've temporary set a startup script to copy in a empty PuppyPin, but that's a crude workaround as if you hotplug in another USB its icon overlaps the others.
Attachments
capture31889.png
(12.1 KiB) Downloaded 2470 times

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#38 Post by BarryK »

rufwoof wrote:I've downloaded the devx, but I can't get it to load

Filesystem, easy container management, sh0 contains

Code: Select all

#Information for setting up and running the container
#the "sh[0-9]" names are special, does not run an app, just opens a terminal in the container.

#Connect to Xorg by abstract socket or pipe. Former not work if Xorg started with '-nolisten local'. Piped socket will still work if '-nolisten tcp'
EC_XORG_SOCKET='abstract'

#For security, unshare these namespaces:
EC_NS_UNSHARE_MOUNT='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_UTS='true'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_IPC='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_NETWORK='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_PID='false'
EC_NS_UNSHARE_USER='true'

#a good use for the "sh[0-9]" container is to compile source packages.
#for that download the appropriate "devx.sfs" file to match the current version of Easy.
#for example, put it into repository/easy-0.1.6
#then create an entry here, like this, with correct name of the devx sfs file:
#EC_LAYER_RO1='devx.sfs'

#Clear environment variables, except some such as TERM and DISPLAY:
EC_UNSHARE_ENV_VARS='false'
EC_LAYER_RO1=devx-0.2-xerus64.sfs
However after a reboot, the likes of cc command aren't available.
Because the sfs files can be shared by all containers, the devx*.sfs has to be in /mnt/wkg/repository/easy-0.2

You can see this by looking at script /usr/local/easy_containers/start-container.

...at least, that is how it is supposed to work!
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

scsijon
Posts: 1596
Joined: Thu 24 May 2007, 03:59
Location: the australian mallee
Contact:

#39 Post by scsijon »

That's what i thought to start with Barry, before I tried others. But on reboot it's not loading the devx.sfs (under any of it's names, including altering the sh0 container to devx). The only way I could get it there and available was to open the devx in one window, a second window stepped up to / and copy the contents from the devx to the /, close the devx, check it's there and finally it stays there then through a reboot. Which means i'm installing it like a pet rather than loading it like a sfs.

by the way, I found another missing link, but i'm not near those boxes at present so I can't write it in now, will update this when i'm in my workshop next (most likely tomorrow evening).

Philh
Posts: 150
Joined: Wed 17 May 2006, 13:26
Location: England

#40 Post by Philh »

The devx*.sfs goes in the /mnt/wkg/repository/easy-0.2
Then its available by using menu-utility-urvxt in container sh0
which runs "ec-chroot sh0".
I dont know if you can install it not in a container.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: kernel config

#41 Post by BarryK »

L18L wrote:Formerly my computer was running with video driver modesetting only.

drm can be enabled now but kernel needs to be configured for EDID.

Kernel configuration contains:

Code: Select all

#
# Direct Rendering Manager
#
CONFIG_DRM=m
CONFIG_DRM_MIPI_DSI=y
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_FB_HELPER=y
# CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE is not set
CONFIG_DRM_TTM=m
Please set CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE (m or y?)

More about my findings here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 217#944217

Thank you
OK, I have compiled kernel 4.10.6, with CONFIG_DRM_LOAD_EDID_FIRMWARE set to "y".
This will be used, most likely, in the next Easy (and Quirky).
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

2n3638
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue 27 Dec 2016, 19:16

#42 Post by 2n3638 »

Tried a second older 32bit CPU with Pentium D, 3G Ram. Also tested two usb DACs a C-media and a Music Streamer II. Both set up without problems using Alsa tool. Very nice.

jd7654
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 16:10

#43 Post by jd7654 »

2n3638 wrote:Tried a second older 32bit CPU with Pentium D . . .
Pentium D is 64-bit, like Easy is.

2n3638
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue 27 Dec 2016, 19:16

#44 Post by 2n3638 »

Must be an implementation issue in this machine as it will only run older Puppy versions and Windows 7 32 bit. Anyway it runs Easy.

doggone
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue 09 Jul 2013, 18:37

Easy Linux 0.2 pre-alpha

#45 Post by doggone »

First time poster, so be kind. I'm a looker, not a poster. Also, poor typer and old, almost 78.
Been playing with EasyLinux_0.2 since it was released. Every thing works as expected except 2 things for me. These haven't been mentioned by anyone yet so I'll give it a try.
1st CUPS is broken. The browser can not find localhost:631.
2nd Remaster Easy Linux. The dialog boxes are easy to follow and ever thing worked fine except the final q.sfs has 3 directories re-root, re-ect, and re-var incorrectly named. I tried to rename these with EDIT-SFS.pet but the resulting q.sfs was to large to fit in the image file. The origional modified q.sfs was 468M. The file edited with EDIT-SFS.pet ended up 579M, to large to fit in the image (said it run out of space). I then tried it manually with unsquashfs and mksquashfs with the -comp xz option. The result was size of 486M and this was larger than the origional but still fit into the image file. From here I was able to copy the image to a jump drive and the new remaster easylinux booted, configured the jump drive and worked just fine.

That's all I have. Waiting for Easy Linux that I can install to a HD partition.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Easy Linux 0.2 pre-alpha

#46 Post by BarryK »

doggone wrote:First time poster, so be kind. I'm a looker, not a poster. Also, poor typer and old, almost 78.
Been playing with EasyLinux_0.2 since it was released. Every thing works as expected except 2 things for me. These haven't been mentioned by anyone yet so I'll give it a try.
1st CUPS is broken. The browser can not find localhost:631.
2nd Remaster Easy Linux. The dialog boxes are easy to follow and ever thing worked fine except the final q.sfs has 3 directories re-root, re-ect, and re-var incorrectly named. I tried to rename these with EDIT-SFS.pet but the resulting q.sfs was to large to fit in the image file. The origional modified q.sfs was 468M. The file edited with EDIT-SFS.pet ended up 579M, to large to fit in the image (said it run out of space). I then tried it manually with unsquashfs and mksquashfs with the -comp xz option. The result was size of 486M and this was larger than the origional but still fit into the image file. From here I was able to copy the image to a jump drive and the new remaster easylinux booted, configured the jump drive and worked just fine.

That's all I have. Waiting for Easy Linux that I can install to a HD partition.
Thanks, I have made a note of these problems and will investigate.

Regarding the remaster script, I rewrote it for Easy, but never got around to actually testing it. Good to know that it is almost OK.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

lp-dolittle
Posts: 156
Joined: Mon 25 Apr 2016, 17:35

Easy Linux Pre-Alpha 0.2

#47 Post by lp-dolittle »

Hi all,
fascinated with Puppy since 2003, I'm impressed with the new features of Easy Linux, but I'm also faced with an unexpected keyboard-layout/Xorg issue.
Running Easy Linux from a Dell desktop (Optiplex 980) or a Dell Laptop (Latitude E6500), the QuickSetup Settings are (country: de_CH German,Switzerland; time zone: Europe/Zurich; keyboard-layout: de Germany or de-latini Germany).
As in previous Quirkies, the desktop's usb-keyboard only works correctly after correcting the country configuration via the desktop setup-icon (XKB configuration manager > layouts > change > Switzerland).
Trying to boot the same way on the Laptop (SD-card connected via an external card-reader to an usb2-port, on the desktop as well as on the laptop), superficially the QuickSetup settings appear to remain unchanged, yet the keyboard-layout spontaneously is reset to the default(US?) layout, and I'm unable to really correct that issue via the setup-button. Choosing Swiss-German layout leads to German layout, and third-level chooser configuration mostly fails. Furthermore, every change is lost after restarting X!
Even worse, trying to now boot the desktop with the SD-card which was used on the laptop, QuickSetup configuration still appears to be correct, but internally the keyboard-layout is reset, and restarting X after re-configuration via the setup-button results in an Xvideo issue. The desktop is unable to spontaneously restart the Xvideo, and running the Xorgwizard proves to be a rather haphazard workaround.
How to explain that kind of unexpected changes in the configuration settings...... and how to correct this problem?

kind regards

dolittle

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#48 Post by don570 »

I was successful installing Easy linux .2 on a USB stick 32 gb
and running on an old IBM thinkcentre with intel graphics chip

I used PLOP bootmanager

I chose USB from plop menu (see image)

First install requires patience . Rather confusing screen that doesn't warn of long waiting period while partition is expanded.
_____________________________________________

It was easy to start audio recording using newer mixer and mhwaveedit.

_____________________________________________

mtpaint can use wacom digital tablet out of box :lol:

_________________________________________________


I am using windows machine so I choose 'local'
However this results in pschedule being 4 hours out of sync.
I have only noticed this with some recent Barryk distros.

_______________________________________________

dropbear is installed

___________________________
Attachments
plop-screenshot.png
(49.6 KiB) Downloaded 1208 times

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#49 Post by don570 »

Tip: there is a desktop icon you click to open 'file' folder

You can edit which folder it opens by right clicking on the icon
and then editing the folder path

I like to open /root so I made the change (see image)
Attachments
screenshot-root.jpg
(25.78 KiB) Downloaded 1118 times

User avatar
don570
Posts: 5528
Joined: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:58
Location: Ontario

#50 Post by don570 »

Here is a utility package to add right click menu items .
It especially useful to launch a script in terminal and use uextract.
Attachments
Right-click-Easy-6.8.7.pet
(109.55 KiB) Downloaded 270 times

Post Reply